User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 324 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 324
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Who would have ever believed that Rocky VI would be good?! Oh how we laughed at Stallone's desperation! Then we saw the movie. Rocky Balboa is the best Rocky movie by FAR and is one of my favorite movies of all time. It makes me cry and feel unbelievably happy every time I see it. Absolutely perfect!
  2. CarlosG.
    Sep 10, 2007
    10
    This movie was good but as good as Rocky 4.
  3. akeemg
    Jan 21, 2009
    10
    This movie was touching. I really love and enjoyed hearing those great little speeches that rocky made through out the movie,those are my favorite parts to watch.This is the best rocky movie in the entire series
  4. MarioG.
    Jan 9, 2007
    10
    Just a few words to describe this movie: wonderful, perfect, fantastic. It has been the first film in my life that has made me crying! Thank you, Italian Stallion!
  5. PaulL.
    Jan 3, 2007
    9
    Rocky Balboa succeeds because it was a movie that needed to be made. Unlike the previous 3 movies, this isn't a sequel for sequel's sake, it's a conclusion to a story that needed a good conclusion. Stallone and Balboa are both perenial underdogs that people love to see succeed since we know they can. Neither dissappoint this time around and it makes you feel great for both Rocky Balboa succeeds because it was a movie that needed to be made. Unlike the previous 3 movies, this isn't a sequel for sequel's sake, it's a conclusion to a story that needed a good conclusion. Stallone and Balboa are both perenial underdogs that people love to see succeed since we know they can. Neither dissappoint this time around and it makes you feel great for both the filmmaker and the character. Expand
  6. FranciscoB.
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    I think this is a wonderful movie, it is going beyond a boxing exhibition. It is about the challenges an ordinary person can run into his/her life. Characters are well defined, I think this is a two thumbs up movie.
  7. TianaB.
    Feb 20, 2007
    10
    Awesome movie! Brought me back to when I just turned 16 and saw the first Rocky. It teaches about growing older, grief, loss, kindness, compassion and courage...It Ain't Over Till It's Over! Athough Adrian wasn't in this movie, she was its heart and soul. Yo, Rocky and Adrian, you did it again!!!
  8. adieb.
    Aug 1, 2007
    9
    very good..it brings back the glory of the first film.many nostalgic scene and places,the pet shop adrian used to work,the city hall stairs, even the boxing gym where rocky used to train.when i saw rocky's mummbling and his gesture just like in the first film,man it was an amazing acting,perfect actually, to brought back the character he created almost 30 years ago and he didn't very good..it brings back the glory of the first film.many nostalgic scene and places,the pet shop adrian used to work,the city hall stairs, even the boxing gym where rocky used to train.when i saw rocky's mummbling and his gesture just like in the first film,man it was an amazing acting,perfect actually, to brought back the character he created almost 30 years ago and he didn't forgot.at first i though its gonna be a crappy low budget sequel like some other movies.but its nowhere near that category..it truly is a great movie Expand
  9. lolan
    Aug 3, 2008
    10
    Joe is an amazing fighter, has a bright future ahead of him hope to see him in many more pictures.
  10. BobHutt
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    There are very few movies that could move me to tears but this one did. The other was Field of Dreams when Kevin Costner said, "Dad, do you want to have a catch?" Rocky Balboa is the fitting ending to a saga that started over 30 years ago. It turned an unknown actor who share the same philosophy as his character on the screen Rocky into the American symbol of never-give-up the good fight. There are very few movies that could move me to tears but this one did. The other was Field of Dreams when Kevin Costner said, "Dad, do you want to have a catch?" Rocky Balboa is the fitting ending to a saga that started over 30 years ago. It turned an unknown actor who share the same philosophy as his character on the screen Rocky into the American symbol of never-give-up the good fight. The message has always been that it's better to try and fail then not to try at all. And Rocky connects again with a knockout blow that will stand the test of time. This movie is truly a holiday gift and we should all thank Sylvester Stallone for allowing us a peek into his alter ego one last time. Go see and enjoy. Expand
  11. David
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    The emotion of the movie reaches to the sky.
  12. Fantasy
    Dec 20, 2006
    10
    Rocky is back and just in time. I just saw it in a packed theater and his human indominable spirit remains as young as ever. Rocky is humble and looking back over the years we realize what a treasure this character truly is. Go see and enjoy!
  13. Randy
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    The professional critics are so hardened in their ways that they don't recognize genius when it hits them right between the eyes. Read what WE the people have to say about Rocky Balboa. This is a LOVEFEST for a character that all of us Americans have come to know, respect, and love for the past 30 years. He symbolizes the American Dream in that we should never give up. As for Paulie The professional critics are so hardened in their ways that they don't recognize genius when it hits them right between the eyes. Read what WE the people have to say about Rocky Balboa. This is a LOVEFEST for a character that all of us Americans have come to know, respect, and love for the past 30 years. He symbolizes the American Dream in that we should never give up. As for Paulie and Rocky they are true to their characters and play their final role in this series straight up and not over the top. As we watch one can't help but think of our own lives and draw inspiration from Sylvester Stallone on the silver screen. After all when Sly wrote this story Hollywood did not want him as Rocky as he was a nobody. Sly would not take NO for an anwser and persevered in real life and the rest is history. When you see this movie it is almost like a watching a loved one heading off into the final chapter of his life. Thank you Rocky because you will live on with honor for all eterity. This is a must see movie. Expand
  14. JeremyG.
    Dec 24, 2006
    10
    Cables your are entitled to your opinion but I have to disagree with you. People like you with ice water flowing through your veins are incapable of understanding the raw emotion that Rocky Balboa generates. Do you really think that you can be correct and 97% of your fellow reveiwers are wrong. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy the movie but don't insult a fantastic movie because Cables your are entitled to your opinion but I have to disagree with you. People like you with ice water flowing through your veins are incapable of understanding the raw emotion that Rocky Balboa generates. Do you really think that you can be correct and 97% of your fellow reveiwers are wrong. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy the movie but don't insult a fantastic movie because of your own insecurites. This is a work of genius and word of mouth and at the box office will prove this review correct. This is a must see movie for anyone who still has dreams and ambition. Expand
  15. JustinD.
    Dec 20, 2006
    9
    Rocky Balboa may not be the greatest movie to ever hit the silver screen, but it does delivers its message with full impact. Stallone gives us a fitting ending to the Rocky series that it has deserved for so long. This is a movie that any genration can enjoy. Its impossible to leave this movie in a bad mood...period.
  16. RobinM.
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    This movie was simply awsome. Stallone was excellent and the story was touching.
  17. DelanoP.
    Jan 1, 2007
    10
    this is the first boxing movie I've ever seen that features HBO's PPV boxing. it made it seem almost real. a must see in my book. And yes it is another classic that will be played again and again in my house.
  18. CarmineD.
    Jan 15, 2007
    10
    I think this was an excellent MOVIE! The story was great. It was not your typical Rocky, action-packed experience. It was real, it was human. Simply a person trying to get through some of life's curveballs thrown at him, and someone not wanting to be told how their life should be lived just because they've reached a certain point in it. The movie comes close to the original, and I think this was an excellent MOVIE! The story was great. It was not your typical Rocky, action-packed experience. It was real, it was human. Simply a person trying to get through some of life's curveballs thrown at him, and someone not wanting to be told how their life should be lived just because they've reached a certain point in it. The movie comes close to the original, and that says a lot for the 6th movie in a saga. GO GET'EM ROCK!! Expand
  19. TrishM.
    Jan 15, 2007
    10
    I couldn't believe what I was seeing! Sly looked just as good (or better) than he looked 30 years ago! Wonderfully written script! Great acting! Loved it!
  20. BobbyB.
    Jan 19, 2007
    10
    The Rocky series is one of the best of all time. I didn't like the way that Part 5 ended though and I've been waiting for 6 to come out for like 15 years. Thank you Sly. Thank you for giving one of the best series of movies a better ending. I grew up on Rocky and his story and this was a perfect ending to a true American Icon.
  21. AnujV.
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    the story of the underdog boxer is highly inspiring to ones who want to take the film in the way they are supposed to, the way stallone would have liked each of his film to have been percieved.. critics beat every story down and sensationalize minor flaws, where i personally believe they should highlight more on the principles the movie is based on rather than jus browbeat irrelevant the story of the underdog boxer is highly inspiring to ones who want to take the film in the way they are supposed to, the way stallone would have liked each of his film to have been percieved.. critics beat every story down and sensationalize minor flaws, where i personally believe they should highlight more on the principles the movie is based on rather than jus browbeat irrelevant stuff.. the world needs optimism. Expand
  22. JeremyK.
    Jan 3, 2007
    9
    I was pleased with the way Stallone went about this movie. Its extremely heartfelt and uplifting. I don't think he could have written it any better. I put this one up there in the top 2 Rocky movies. All in all I was very pleased with this movie. I advise everyone to go see it!
  23. JimC.
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    Superb, heartfelt and perfect. This film allows the audience to relate to Rocky at this stage in his life, and the results are truly inspiring. There are not many movies that have been made in recent memory where the director has a true love of the characters, and this shines through in the movie. More than a movie about fighting and training, this final installment in the Rocky series Superb, heartfelt and perfect. This film allows the audience to relate to Rocky at this stage in his life, and the results are truly inspiring. There are not many movies that have been made in recent memory where the director has a true love of the characters, and this shines through in the movie. More than a movie about fighting and training, this final installment in the Rocky series transcends life, and reaches out to the audience with raw emotion. The music is perfect, and all characters works so well together especially Rocky and Paulie. The perfect final installment to the orginal Rocky and Rocky Two. Thank you to Mr. Stallone for making this movie, and the inspiration you have provided to audience members to take the hits in life and to keep moving forward. Expand
  24. JeffY
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    After much anticipation, the wait is finally over. Despite heavy scrutiny from everyone around me including most of my friends and my coworkers who deemed my excited behavior childish, I went to watch Rocky Balboa on opening night with the only two people who were excited as I was - my brother and one of my coworkers. Before I get deeper into my reactions of Sly's latest installation After much anticipation, the wait is finally over. Despite heavy scrutiny from everyone around me including most of my friends and my coworkers who deemed my excited behavior childish, I went to watch Rocky Balboa on opening night with the only two people who were excited as I was - my brother and one of my coworkers. Before I get deeper into my reactions of Sly's latest installation into the beloved Rocky series, let it be known that whatever I am about to write, I do not intend it as a review as I believe the Rocky series have gone beyond that which needs a movie "review". To me, and hopefully many others as well, Rocky has reached an echelon in it's own class. There are sequels, and there are trilogy's, but the Rocky series has impounded and unsurmountable amount of impact and influence into the lives of those who've kept faith in a character whom I feel is the truest hero that represents the meaning of courage, love and moral values. How many Hollywood heroes can you say that about? The Rocky series, at its core, is not about beating up bad guys, swash buckling adventure, or saving the world. It's a story about Rocky Balboa, a man with a big heart who goes through the ups and down of life in its most extreme. Boxing was always just a tool to illustrate the trials of life that he goes through. All throughout the series, Rocky never fights anyone in particular. In actuality, every one of his fights were internal. In the first Rocky, he "goes the distance" with Apollo Creed, but it was never about winning the fight. He was given an opportunity and the fight was about how far he could take himself. In essence, he was fighting himself. This underlying motif manifests itself best in the first Rocky and the latest, "Rocky Balboa". It does seem to get less apparent as the movies evolves from an Oscar winning drama into quintessential hollywood flicks, but it never really disappears. Some may criticize the series as getting lost from its original meaning, detracting to senseless action and formulaic plots. I would agree to a point, but I am not complaining at all! In fact, I applaud it for what it has become. As extensions of the original, the series has brought us the most memorable moments in film history. Who could forget the fight with Mr. T ("dead meat") in Rocky III or the big Russian dude, Drago ("I will break you") in Rocky IV. Nonetheless, beyond the adrenaline filled fight scenes and cool one-liners, these sequels still contained the core value that brought alive the character Rocky and the unforgiving world that is created. Time and time, Rocky is tested and the result is that he has to fight, but it was never ever for himself in the selfish sense. After going the distance, he fights for Adrian in the second (giving her a better life), and then he fights for Micky (but not for vengeance), and in the fourth he fights for Apollo who stood for America (again not for vengeance). Actually, my man Bill Simmons believes Rocky single handedly ended the Cold War! Like Bill Simmons, I don't know how many times I've watched Rocky. You can not deny the characters' influence over our lucky generation. Rocky Balboa is by far a much better role model than the so-called heroes on film these days. [***SPOILER***] It just brings you to tears to see Rocky after all these years and long after Adrian's death, spending time in front of her grave and revisiting places they've been together. That is true love - undying love. "Adrian is dead, but she never is in here". This concept of love, I believe, is dead in the new generation brought up by MTV. Rocky stands for those heroes, famous athletes, or celebrities who are as nice in person as he is in the media (if there are any). A prime example of this kind of moral value that is lacking in not only movie heroes, but professional athletes and celebrities alike, is a scene in Rocky Balboa where Rocky goes and just casually changes the light bulb for a friend he just met. This kind of gesture is subtle but it is nonetheless powerful and reminds us that nice guys do exist. We are living in a generation of people who are more realists than idealists who accept "darker" versions of classic heroes like Batman and James Bond because to them it seems more "believable". It is nice to be reminded that throughout all these years and even though times have changed, Rocky still retains his high moral esteem. Rocky is still Rocky. The strength of his character has been tested, having been pinned against multiple opponents and the quality of his character comes in full breadth in "Rocky Balboa" and for one last time, it reminds us of an old belief that has been long lost. Thank you Mr. Stallone. You have truly created an unforgettable character and an epic story that should be retold with every generation so that his values can be passed throughout time. Just don't be like George Lucas and re-release the series with inserted scenes and computer graphics. Expand
  25. DL.
    Feb 23, 2007
    10
    Fantastic. A truly inspiring story and a great end to the series. Stallone at his very best. This movie was more about the character and emotion rather than an action fest...Truly a triumph!
  26. LarryB.
    Mar 21, 2007
    9
    In preparation to see this movie I watched all five of the previous movies over the course of a couple of days, and I'd have to say that aside from the Oscar-nominated original, Rocky Balboa is the best in the series. Stallone gives his best and most nuanced performance of the series, going back to some of the more interesting aspects of his character from the first movie. When I In preparation to see this movie I watched all five of the previous movies over the course of a couple of days, and I'd have to say that aside from the Oscar-nominated original, Rocky Balboa is the best in the series. Stallone gives his best and most nuanced performance of the series, going back to some of the more interesting aspects of his character from the first movie. When I first heard the movie was being made, I thought it was a horrible idea but figured I'd see it for laughs. However, it was a legitimately good and inspiring movie that is much lower on cheesiness and implausibility than I had expected. Expand
  27. BillK.
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    I was shocked at how good this was. The best I've seen in a long time. Its like night and day from Rocky V. The acting in this one is great, the story is great and really inspires. It will almost make you irrationally want to see yet another sequel.
  28. Geek
    Apr 6, 2007
    10
    I remember when I saw the first 'Rocky' I thought it was 'pretty good' but not great. I actually liked Rocky 2 better. I thought the rest of the sequel were ridiculous. I thought 'Rocky Balboa' was absolutely outstanding!!! I cried like a child and thought it was BY FAR the best Rocky of all and the others didn't come close. Obviously Rocky I made the I remember when I saw the first 'Rocky' I thought it was 'pretty good' but not great. I actually liked Rocky 2 better. I thought the rest of the sequel were ridiculous. I thought 'Rocky Balboa' was absolutely outstanding!!! I cried like a child and thought it was BY FAR the best Rocky of all and the others didn't come close. Obviously Rocky I made the last Rocky what it was. Without Rocky I this last fillm would not have worked. Rocky Balboa is literally a masterpiece. Expand
  29. BWilliams
    Feb 18, 2008
    9
    I was very impressed that they displayed his physical vurnerabilities because it shows a link to reality, it was nice to show the true spirit of Rocky come out and to those who think Stallone is a bad actor, the bloke always moved me as this character and makes you want to believe hes real and makes you get behind him and theres no better credibility for acting than this. It was also good I was very impressed that they displayed his physical vurnerabilities because it shows a link to reality, it was nice to show the true spirit of Rocky come out and to those who think Stallone is a bad actor, the bloke always moved me as this character and makes you want to believe hes real and makes you get behind him and theres no better credibility for acting than this. It was also good to see he proved his point without winning. If he won it would have given us a predictable less satisfying ending than the way the man won our respects without winning the match. Expand
  30. DonP.
    Apr 7, 2008
    10
    Great Movie, I enjoyed how they focused on the man!
  31. MYOWNCRITIC
    Dec 15, 2006
    10
    I have been a huge Rocky fan for years and although Stallone did not like the way V ended, I loved the film, but it was smart and justified in making another. Everyone thinks it's for the title that I have talked to. WRONG! Stallone needs money. WRONG! It's about heart, getting a second chance, an opportunity, and that you are never to old to climb the highest mountain if that I have been a huge Rocky fan for years and although Stallone did not like the way V ended, I loved the film, but it was smart and justified in making another. Everyone thinks it's for the title that I have talked to. WRONG! Stallone needs money. WRONG! It's about heart, getting a second chance, an opportunity, and that you are never to old to climb the highest mountain if that is what you believe. There is no can't. If you think you are to old, then you are. If you act young and stay young, you can accomplish anything. That is what this movie is all about. Go ahead and crack the jokes, but Rocky is a legend, an icon, a historic figure that will give everyone hope that it's never over till' it's over. If anyone gives this lower than a 9, then do what you normally do... sit on the sofa, eat munchies and drink soda and think that the world always owes you everything. Go out and use Rocky as your idol. He will get you far if you believe in him. A perfect ending to a classic saga. I LOVE YOU ROCKO!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  32. GarrisonE.
    Dec 21, 2006
    9
    One of the best Rocky movies!! Great story and and even greater ending. Only a few complaints;1) I wish the training sequence was longer. In past movies it was some of the best. 2)The night before the fight should have been longer, and more heart felt. Like in Rocky I, the night before the fight is a powerful time, and it seems Rocky is reflecting, but then lil Marie comes in and thats One of the best Rocky movies!! Great story and and even greater ending. Only a few complaints;1) I wish the training sequence was longer. In past movies it was some of the best. 2)The night before the fight should have been longer, and more heart felt. Like in Rocky I, the night before the fight is a powerful time, and it seems Rocky is reflecting, but then lil Marie comes in and thats it. Would have liked that part to be longer. Other than that, it was one of the best movies I have seen in a long time!!! Thank you Mr. Stallone!!!! Expand
  33. WernerL.
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    I watched this movie tonight, and I couldn't believe it, but the theatre was just PACKED. It was truly an experience, the crowd was clapping and was right in to it. it was a great movie.
  34. L.F.
    Dec 20, 2006
    10
    Great flick. It had enough of the previous rocky's to keep the nestalgia and flowed well enough that even if you've never seen a Rocky before, you know what;s going on.
  35. EricR.
    Dec 20, 2006
    9
    For Fans of the series you will cheer the latest Rocky film. I had heard someone say this is Stallones proper farewell to the character and he pulls it off with only minor complaints from this fan. Don't listen to those who will say the series is tired and worn. Go Rock!!
  36. PhiladelphiaMuseumofArt
    Dec 20, 2006
    10
    Let me say that the fact that this movie was even made is a miracle of "Balbo-ic" proportions. I never thought I would feel Rocky on my steps again but that is the true magic of one of the greatest story's ever told in cinematic history. It is so very American with it's simple "work hard, make something of yourself and you can be successful" message. Sylvester Stallone has Let me say that the fact that this movie was even made is a miracle of "Balbo-ic" proportions. I never thought I would feel Rocky on my steps again but that is the true magic of one of the greatest story's ever told in cinematic history. It is so very American with it's simple "work hard, make something of yourself and you can be successful" message. Sylvester Stallone has earned his place among the world's best actors/directors with just this one story...the story of Rocky. Generations to come will learn of this movie franchise as they did the Godfather and I think they will embrace it even more so. Movies one and six are really the only ones that you need to know this story. Expand
  37. AlmarH.
    Dec 20, 2006
    9
    [***possible SPOILERS***] So I recently went to see a pre-screening in the UK and... Despite tickets getting mailed out too late the screening was pretty full and it was a large auditorium. I recognized a good few faces
  38. Horace
    Dec 25, 2006
    10
    Rocky is just a feel good movie which shows where he's been and where he is today. And he goes out on his own terms in the same manner that all of us can only hope to someday. This is a holiday deligt for all Rocky fans.
  39. LarryB
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    Great feel good movie..film was more about a man's struggles than the fight.
  40. ClaudioF
    Jan 15, 2007
    10
    Touching story, this movie mixed up all the ingredients that a great movie can have... Stallone was just great! Now I feel real sad that the Rocky Series are over.
  41. JRock
    Jan 17, 2007
    10
    It was an awesome movie. [***SPOILER***] It was cool when Rocky got punched in the ribs by Mason and he broke his hand (Rocky has abs of steel).
  42. DaveR.
    Jan 2, 2007
    9
    Since when did Drago have a personality, or did I miss something in Rocky IV? Come on, dude. If you're going to make an argument, at least make an intelligtent one. For my part, I felt that Rocky Balboa was the best Rocky movie since Rocky I. This was a classy, well made, well acted film. It wasn't overly sentimental, it wasn't overly preachy. It is an audience movie, more Since when did Drago have a personality, or did I miss something in Rocky IV? Come on, dude. If you're going to make an argument, at least make an intelligtent one. For my part, I felt that Rocky Balboa was the best Rocky movie since Rocky I. This was a classy, well made, well acted film. It wasn't overly sentimental, it wasn't overly preachy. It is an audience movie, more than anything. During Rocky's rousing exchangees with Paulie in the meat plant and his son outside Adrian's restaurant, as well as with the boxing federation, brought passionate reactions from the audience both times I saw the movie. They were incredible moments. The training montage...it was electric when that familiar score came back on, and the fight was realistically done with tension and drama. The movie was excellent. It was heartbreaking, sweet, and electrifying. Expand
  43. CathyA.
    Jan 2, 2007
    9
    I thought the Rocky movie was great. It touched me just like the first one does. It will have you on your feet shouting for Rocky. Very well done.
  44. JohnB.
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    This movie wasn't to continue. It was to nicely conclude the series. Best movie of the year.
  45. DeanoS.
    Feb 15, 2007
    10
    The fight physical side wasn't as good as previous movies but the emotional side was spot on. It tied all the loose ends up and really works well with the previous rocky's, the training scene was a little cheesy but because the film was based around the character instead of the final fight it didnt matter.
  46. Teto
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    Since the original in 1977 this is the best Rocky's sequel...emotive and inspiring.
  47. MatthewS.
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    I smiled from beginning to end. Rocky Balboa is the perfect coda to our greatest modern fairytale. This movie channels the best of the previous installments, particularly the original. Two or three awful (but small) supporting performances and a slow buildup didn't damper my enthusiasm. My favorite movie of 2006.
  48. RafaelO.
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    Its surprising, this realistic drama definitely punched a lot of reviewers from the last Rocky
  49. AdamB.
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    When I first heard about a new Rocky movie, I was screaming "No no no! Don't ruin it even further!" As you all know, "Rocky V" was a terrible mess that ended a great saga. Putting another un-needed sequel into the series is a bad idea. But is it? "Rocky Balboa" somehow not only redeemed Stallone for his awful fifth movie, but it is now the best movie of 2006. Rocky is back, only now When I first heard about a new Rocky movie, I was screaming "No no no! Don't ruin it even further!" As you all know, "Rocky V" was a terrible mess that ended a great saga. Putting another un-needed sequel into the series is a bad idea. But is it? "Rocky Balboa" somehow not only redeemed Stallone for his awful fifth movie, but it is now the best movie of 2006. Rocky is back, only now working as a manager of a small town resteraunt. All he has left are his stories and Pauly. A lot of drama in this film is in the death of Rocky's beloved wife Adrian. It's so well done that your heart breaks. It seems that all movies are mentioned but the fifth one(wonder why.....), so it's not like it's some sort of remake or re-interpretation like everyone mistakingly thought it would be. Now Rocky must take on Mason "The Line" Dixon, currently one of the nastiest boxers active to redeem himself and show the world that he's still got it. No matter what, he does. The final fight is fantastic, and the acting is top notch. Stallone truly taps into the character that is Rocky. By the end, you WANT Rocky to win. Expand
  50. ChrisD.
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    What an awesome end to the series. Im a huge Stallone fan once again - who would have thought! There's so much drama and real emotion in this film, and the training and fight sequences are both believable and incredible. I was on the edge of my seat, nearly in tears - I couldnt believe how well done this flick was. Rocky Balboa the character is an American icon that will live on for What an awesome end to the series. Im a huge Stallone fan once again - who would have thought! There's so much drama and real emotion in this film, and the training and fight sequences are both believable and incredible. I was on the edge of my seat, nearly in tears - I couldnt believe how well done this flick was. Rocky Balboa the character is an American icon that will live on for generations thanks to Sly Stallone's vision - well done!!! Expand
  51. TylerG.
    Jan 27, 2008
    9
    A great ending to a great series that will live on for generations. Rocky Balboa is an excellent movie with something for everyone. Longtime fans will rejoice just by the fact that the series wasnt finished with Rocky V, and casual movie-goers will also love this film. Just watch it.
  52. AnonymousJoe
    Feb 23, 2008
    10
    Four words: A damn good movie.
  53. nomad
    Jul 15, 2008
    10
    The very first scene of Rocky visiting Adrians grave got me 100 percent and i never took my attention off the screen down the line.. Not just a bogus sequel of Indi Jones ilk that came across as a money grab and nothing more but actually a great capper to a great series.. My hat goes of to Sly! YOu are the MAN Sly!!!
  54. scottb
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    This movie was way better then i hoped it to be. This movie had the same feel as the first rocky movie. just the drama which stalone pulls of perfectly. if he made another movie like this i would see it in a heartbeat.
  55. TrentS.
    Dec 19, 2006
    9
    This movie was worth watching. It was intelligent, inspiring and believeable. Stallone was charismatic. A couple actors were mediocre, but not horrible. Nonetheless, check it out.
  56. BrianF.
    Dec 21, 2006
    9
    Anti-"Rocky Balboa" critics, who are just as entitled to their own subjectivity and experience as I or anyone else, baffle me with their criticisms. Are eternal themes such as haunting history, ineffable burns inside, and saying goodbye supposed to be removed from art even though they cannot be removed from the human experience? Or can only King Lear's and pretentious cafe loungers Anti-"Rocky Balboa" critics, who are just as entitled to their own subjectivity and experience as I or anyone else, baffle me with their criticisms. Are eternal themes such as haunting history, ineffable burns inside, and saying goodbye supposed to be removed from art even though they cannot be removed from the human experience? Or can only King Lear's and pretentious cafe loungers do the talking now? Stallone brings poetry from Rocky, Paulie, and others that is powerful--and matches the characters (most of which were solidly acted). Read interviews, check some reviews, and then go enjoy the million-to-one shot saying goodbye in beautiful fashion. I give it a 9.2. Stallone accomplished what seemed insane and impossible. I plan to see it again. Heart exploration trumps ivory cynicism. Expand
  57. Aaron
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    Spectacular ending to a wonderful journey into a comic book champion who became a living breathing symbol for all red blooded Americans. We will miss you Rocky but your legacy will live on forever.
  58. ClaudiaP.
    Dec 21, 2006
    9
    Ho visto il film.Bellissimo. Una curiosità,Suwww. ibs.it,prendete il libro "la luna di mattina"di Raffaello Zizzo.Assomiglia molto a questo film.Lacrime,cuore,muscoli. L'epilogo finale!!!
  59. Tony
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    I loved the movie, brought me back to the first Rocky.
  60. Lenny
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    Not only does it suceed at an emotional level, it draws you in and give you that feeling you felt when you first saw the original. Its not only a great movie, but an important one. its on my agenda to see again!
  61. BrianR.
    Dec 20, 2006
    9
    Going into this movie, I thought it would be hard to take it seriously, but surprisingly it wasn't. It doesn't break new ground, and it is not quite like the original, but there is just something that works with this film. None of the characters are cardboard cutouts (though the son is a nominee for that) and their is an actual depth to the relationships. Stallone does a Going into this movie, I thought it would be hard to take it seriously, but surprisingly it wasn't. It doesn't break new ground, and it is not quite like the original, but there is just something that works with this film. None of the characters are cardboard cutouts (though the son is a nominee for that) and their is an actual depth to the relationships. Stallone does a favorable job at keeping his mumbling character alive, using nostalgia as an advantage but not resting on it. It is nearly impossible to leave this movie without a smile, as it will actually make you feel good. Don't expect an Oscar winner, but have fun with it. Expand
  62. MannyN.
    Dec 20, 2006
    9
    Way better than I expected. Really captures the small character moments from the first film. Parts of this movie are a guilty pleasure and parts are genuinely good filmmaking. Either way, I enjoyed it the whole way through.
  63. BronsonC.
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    I'm not gonna lie...I am a huge fan of the series and the character of Rocky Balboa. This [series] ends on a very high note and is a needed ending to this great story. This film hits all spots and shows us why we love this larger than life character.
  64. TomM.
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    This was a great movie in my opinion but very emotional for me to see my own life presented before me on ths screen. The entire Rocky series is a parallel of our very own lives aside from the actual boxing which many of us don't do. Life, love, the ups and downs, success and failure, mortality and finally the death issue. It's all there. What a great experience for me and I This was a great movie in my opinion but very emotional for me to see my own life presented before me on ths screen. The entire Rocky series is a parallel of our very own lives aside from the actual boxing which many of us don't do. Life, love, the ups and downs, success and failure, mortality and finally the death issue. It's all there. What a great experience for me and I highly recommend it to everyone. Very sad to see my all time fav actress Talia Shire(Adrian) deceased in the movie. A hard one to swallow. Expand
  65. Andrew
    Dec 20, 2006
    10
    Wow. This movie is probably the best Rocky since the origional. You must see this movie.
  66. TonyT.
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    Fresh & inspirational... Balboa Shocks the world....AGAIN
  67. TinaC.
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    I love Rocky..all of them! He is all about heart and this latest Rocky has all of that and more! I give Sly so much credit for creating such an insprirational movie with the Rocky series! My husband and I truly love him!!!! We feel like he is a part of our lives!
  68. BrentM.
    Dec 22, 2006
    9
    This is a great movie...Rocky IV is still the best one followed by Rocky III...this may be the third best film though and is way better than Rocky V...which is the worst of them all.
  69. TIMC.
    Dec 22, 2006
    9
    This is a superb movie. No, We're not comparing it Out of Africa, but for what it is, it could not be much better. The acting is very natural, that's the best word for the movie. No unforced acting, very natural (except the father-son dialogue). The best part of the movie is the believable climatic fight, because Dixon is not some one-dimensional bad guy (like Draco or Mr T), This is a superb movie. No, We're not comparing it Out of Africa, but for what it is, it could not be much better. The acting is very natural, that's the best word for the movie. No unforced acting, very natural (except the father-son dialogue). The best part of the movie is the believable climatic fight, because Dixon is not some one-dimensional bad guy (like Draco or Mr T), because he is not a bad guy. He is a beliveable, true character. How often do you find that? Finally, the music. Oh, so glorious. Along with Ben Hur, Conan, Empire Strikes Back, Conti's Rocky is amonst the best of the past 40 years. Collapse
  70. TomR.
    Dec 22, 2006
    9
    Rocky Balboa does more to teach us about life and hope then any of our political leaders. This movie also shows us how out of touch most critics are with the rest of us.
  71. Jared
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    Wow this was one great conclusion that packs a wallop and wraps up the Rocky saga in one neat package. Rocky and Paulie lay their emotions on the line raw for all the world to see. This movie makes you believe that anything is possible and in the end the entire audience is cheering. What a wonderful Hollywood surprise. For all of us who laughed at Sylvester Stallone when he said he was Wow this was one great conclusion that packs a wallop and wraps up the Rocky saga in one neat package. Rocky and Paulie lay their emotions on the line raw for all the world to see. This movie makes you believe that anything is possible and in the end the entire audience is cheering. What a wonderful Hollywood surprise. For all of us who laughed at Sylvester Stallone when he said he was making this, well, be prepared to eat your words. Expand
  72. PaulP.
    Dec 23, 2006
    9
    I went in a unbeliever and left loving every second of it ! way to go ROCKY !!!!!! great job.
  73. Elena
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    Rocky puts an emotional knockout of on your heartstrings. What a wonderful way to end a beautiful story. Loved it!
  74. dee
    Dec 26, 2006
    9
    Loved this movie. Stallone puts his heart and soul on the screen in this one. His portrayal of Rocky is outstanding. You can feel all of the emotion, the sadness, the emptiness, the lonliness, and the loss of Adrian. He captures it beautifully. His training and the fight scene not overdone. He shows us a old guy trying to give his best. The best! A perfect ending to the story.
  75. RalphieBoy
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    Don't we all wish we can go out like Rocky did in this movie. Not always the brightest of bulbs as he portrayed in all the Rocky movies, in this one he is an absolute genius. Somehow he gained the wisdom of Solomon as he make his own peace and in the process earns the grateful respect of an entire nation. This is a holiday treasure that will long be remembered as a fitting ending to Don't we all wish we can go out like Rocky did in this movie. Not always the brightest of bulbs as he portrayed in all the Rocky movies, in this one he is an absolute genius. Somehow he gained the wisdom of Solomon as he make his own peace and in the process earns the grateful respect of an entire nation. This is a holiday treasure that will long be remembered as a fitting ending to the never give up spirit of its author Sylvester Stallone. Just fantastic! Expand
  76. RoxanneH.
    Dec 28, 2006
    10
    I thought this moving was going to be a disaster, but instead I found myself crying at the end. I didn't want the movie to end! It was a great experience and a great decission to do one more round. Thank you Mr. Stallone!!!
  77. JJK
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    Best of all the rocky's.
  78. Dracula
    Dec 31, 2006
    10
    Ron how old are you ten? You want a realistic boxing movie with a guy approaching 60 years of age. Didn't you hear his trainer say he can't move, has arthitis and can't spar? Ron this movie was about coping with Senior Citizen status and saying good bye on your own terms without fear. It was NOT a boxing movie per se. Even the fight was NOT about a BAD Guy but rather facing Ron how old are you ten? You want a realistic boxing movie with a guy approaching 60 years of age. Didn't you hear his trainer say he can't move, has arthitis and can't spar? Ron this movie was about coping with Senior Citizen status and saying good bye on your own terms without fear. It was NOT a boxing movie per se. Even the fight was NOT about a BAD Guy but rather facing FATHER TIME. And the fight was explained in that Antonio Tarver broke his hand in the first round. Ron obviously you had no clue what was going on and therefore missed one great movie. Rocky is and will always be champion of the underdog in that if you can dream it you can do it. Pity you didn't comprehend what you went to see. This is a fitting climax to a great saga. Expand
  79. MarkW.
    Jan 17, 2007
    10
    I really liked the way it mimicked most of the other Rocky films at some point. Really liked the ending, going back to mimick the first Rocky.
  80. JohnN.
    Jan 17, 2007
    9
    I was raised on Rocky movies. They are a small piece of cinema tape that binds me to my dad. I'm glad I can share this movie "heart" with my son.
  81. Jochra
    Jul 28, 2007
    9
    I expected absolutely nothing from this film but had heard one or two positive comments. I thoroughly enjoyed it. After the ridiculous, increasingly over the top the sequels of the 80s and 90s this was a real return to the stripped back simplicity of the first film. And a fitting return. The training montage had it all, the sides of beef, the (original?) dodgy grey tracksuit, and of I expected absolutely nothing from this film but had heard one or two positive comments. I thoroughly enjoyed it. After the ridiculous, increasingly over the top the sequels of the 80s and 90s this was a real return to the stripped back simplicity of the first film. And a fitting return. The training montage had it all, the sides of beef, the (original?) dodgy grey tracksuit, and of course, the steps. But more than that this film, apart from some schmaltzy stuff, presented a believable development of a character that anyone who enjoyed the first film would welcome. Take one and 6 together and you have some powerful modern cinema that Stallone can be proud to be judged by. Expand
  82. GiullianoS.
    Dec 19, 2006
    10
    Very worthy end to the series, delightfully surprised.
  83. KingChad
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    About the only one's who will not like this movie are the cynics who are failures in their own personal lives and want to knockout Rocky Balboa/ Sylvester Stallone for telling a story that they themselves would love to believe in. Rocky is a symbol for all of us who have bullied in our lives. Take the punch and keep on coming back for more. If you fight the good fight you are a About the only one's who will not like this movie are the cynics who are failures in their own personal lives and want to knockout Rocky Balboa/ Sylvester Stallone for telling a story that they themselves would love to believe in. Rocky is a symbol for all of us who have bullied in our lives. Take the punch and keep on coming back for more. If you fight the good fight you are a winner in life. Thank you Rocky! Expand
  84. Goffy
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    Ten is the extra round I score for Rocky Balboa for making all those who laughed at Sylvestrer Stallone for coming back for another round eat their own words. Never did I imagine that when I entered the theater that I would be swept off my feet the way it did. Rocky make you believe in him and that anything is possible. Pure magic that you don't want to miss. This movie will be a Ten is the extra round I score for Rocky Balboa for making all those who laughed at Sylvestrer Stallone for coming back for another round eat their own words. Never did I imagine that when I entered the theater that I would be swept off my feet the way it did. Rocky make you believe in him and that anything is possible. Pure magic that you don't want to miss. This movie will be a blockbuster as word of mouth spreads. Expand
  85. jp
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    Rocky Balboa has done what Rocky 5 couldn't give closure to one of the greatest american heros of all time. Stallone seems right at home as Rocky and delivers his best performance since Copland.
  86. MichaelB
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    I've gotta tell you, I wasn't expecting much when I sat down. I was just hoping that this last installment would end on a high note. But, by the time the fight actually started, I was standing up yelling "Rocky", "Rocky"!! Sly delivers on this one and remains true to the character of Rocky Balboa. It's not flashy, it's not filled with over used catch phrases, it's I've gotta tell you, I wasn't expecting much when I sat down. I was just hoping that this last installment would end on a high note. But, by the time the fight actually started, I was standing up yelling "Rocky", "Rocky"!! Sly delivers on this one and remains true to the character of Rocky Balboa. It's not flashy, it's not filled with over used catch phrases, it's simply a good movie done well by a good actor. I'm telling all my friends to see it and I'm headed back to see it again!!!! Expand
  87. MG
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    Watching Balboa was like seing an old buddy, I have always been inspired by Rocky and going for that "one last round" that will make you accomplish more than if you quit to early. He closed this one like what he always was...a winner.
  88. JennyE.
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    I absolutely loved this movie!! It's the only movie I've been to where everybody in the theater clapped at the end. It's a really inspirational movie that everyone should see.
  89. Lucas_in_denver
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    Rocky Balboa is a wonderful film, one of the few films this holiday season that I can take the entire family to and not feel that my hard-earned dollar was wasted! As a father to three young boys, I definately had a lump or two in my throat when it came to a few scenes with his son, also at forty-something, I can begin to identify with the "stuff in the basement" scene from the film. Rocky Balboa is a wonderful film, one of the few films this holiday season that I can take the entire family to and not feel that my hard-earned dollar was wasted! As a father to three young boys, I definately had a lump or two in my throat when it came to a few scenes with his son, also at forty-something, I can begin to identify with the "stuff in the basement" scene from the film. There is alot going on in Rock Balboa that is both heart-warming and emotional, yet uplifting. A great end to a great series. Expand
  90. BillC.
    Dec 29, 2006
    9
    Chad s from the advanced scouting team...i see your point, however. All that matters is weather the movie was good or not. And it fit was great, Nostalgia played a big part, but it was part of the movie, and i enjoyed myself immensly. Dont read to much into it, movies are entertainment plain and simple, and this movie WILL entertain you!
  91. Oct 25, 2010
    9
    Rocky Balboa is a great film, which brings back nostalgia. It completely stands on it's own but also is a great sequel to Rocky's franchise. It's a movie which brings back you to the roots, and has a charm of Rocky I and II. The story is really well made, the characters are great and interesting as always. The story brings you in Rocky's perspective right away. Nostalgia is a main engineRocky Balboa is a great film, which brings back nostalgia. It completely stands on it's own but also is a great sequel to Rocky's franchise. It's a movie which brings back you to the roots, and has a charm of Rocky I and II. The story is really well made, the characters are great and interesting as always. The story brings you in Rocky's perspective right away. Nostalgia is a main engine of this movie and if you want remember good old days of Rocky you should definitely check it out. It's little bit disappointing that there is no Survivor song in the movie, but it's good that there is a main Rocky theme "Gonna Fly Now". In conclusion the movie is really worth watching. It's nostalgic, depressing at the moments, but at the end leaves you with warm emotions. I really enjoyed it and in my opinion its better than III and V. If you're a fan of Rocky, this movie won't disappoint you Expand
  92. Aug 17, 2011
    9
    I got the feeling this movie was meant to be more like the first one. We have some action here, but it is almost fully in the background of the main story. This is about ending a great series of movies telling a story about a guy from the slums who fought his way to glory but still remained a human being with all his faults and tragic events. I have never thought Silvester Stallone for aI got the feeling this movie was meant to be more like the first one. We have some action here, but it is almost fully in the background of the main story. This is about ending a great series of movies telling a story about a guy from the slums who fought his way to glory but still remained a human being with all his faults and tragic events. I have never thought Silvester Stallone for a bad actor, average maybe, but still making excellent movies. In this one he plays it really well. We see a broken down boxer struggling to live his life without his wife Adrien, trying to recreate the connection with his son lost somewhere along the way of him growing up. Throught the film he visits the old spots from the previous movies, recalling his biggest moments in life and how it could all have gone a whole different way. He tries to return to the ring one last time to show that the great Rocky Balboa is still here, living amongst us. The champion he challenges is also a likeable characterm not over the top. A guy who respects Rocky deep inside, but he also must maintain his own glory as the best in current times. Also Rocky does it kind of funny, as he is perfectly aware of his age and limitations. This film does not feature the typical villain - hero duel from previous Rocky movies. More like both boxers are level headed persons with their own problems. The music is top class, acting is good. Directing is spot on. The story is well thought and executed. When watching the intro I felt as if I was to be dissapointed. Couple of hours later I was both happy and sad for Rocky, as the story has really ended. Expand
  93. May 31, 2011
    10
    "Yo Adrian! We did it!" Stallone nailed it! This is a beautiful film that truly measures the importance of an aging life and how one copes with losing a loved one and being the "has-been". This film wanders into sweet nostalgia and stays there the whole time, all the while lingering on heartbreak, redemption, and inner peace.
  94. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    Very epic film. Rocky 'The Italian Stallion' Balboa shows that if you want something, you can go get it if you work hard for it. The Rocky series is one of the most epic and awesome movie series there is, and i don't think that there will be movies like this in the close future... Old movies FTW!!!
  95. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    As someone who has sat through all of the Rocky movies, there was no better, more emotional way to bring the entire legend of Rocky to retirement. A roller coaster of emotion and a nostalgic nod to the seasoned Rocky fans this conclusion really couldn't have been more well done, plenty of heart and plenty of spirit, that's what Rocky is all about.
  96. Sep 10, 2014
    9
    Sylvester Still got the fight in him, truly inspirational,totally loved it,a good feel film, rocky balboa has heart ,excellent screenplay ,a lot of touching moments, good supporting cast, good acting and direction by sylverster, i loved that dialogue- "it ain't about how hard you hit; it's about how hard you can get hit, and keep moving forward" i will do that ,if u not watch this filmSylvester Still got the fight in him, truly inspirational,totally loved it,a good feel film, rocky balboa has heart ,excellent screenplay ,a lot of touching moments, good supporting cast, good acting and direction by sylverster, i loved that dialogue- "it ain't about how hard you hit; it's about how hard you can get hit, and keep moving forward" i will do that ,if u not watch this film yet,go and watch it, another favourite quote " it ain't over till 'it is over " Expand
  97. Nov 19, 2014
    9
    Rocky Balboa was FINALLY the sequel that faithfully captured the spirit of the original. Rocky II was simply so that Rocky could win the championship, III and IV were Rocky in some kind of alternate cartoon action universe, and Rocky V was about Rocky not boxing which equals terrible. But this movie comes along and it's like I'm seeing the Rocky I met in the original for the first timeRocky Balboa was FINALLY the sequel that faithfully captured the spirit of the original. Rocky II was simply so that Rocky could win the championship, III and IV were Rocky in some kind of alternate cartoon action universe, and Rocky V was about Rocky not boxing which equals terrible. But this movie comes along and it's like I'm seeing the Rocky I met in the original for the first time in over thirty years. Like the first film, it's all about the characters and the whole theme of being true to yourself and trying your best. Not to mention, we get to see Spider Rico again! No overwrought dramatics about winning the un-winnable fight against some cartoon supervillain like a Clubber or a Drago. There is no villain in this one. Mason Dixon as the current champ isn't a cartoon, he's a fully fleshed-out character who is as troubled about this fight for his own reasons as Rocky is. Without giving away who wins, Rocky himself compliments Dixon as a great champion after the final bell. In the end, it doesn't matter if Rocky wins or loses the fight. Just like in the first movie, he's already won. Expand
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. There is much to poke at in Rocky Balboa, yet the movie, with its amusingly updated ''Gonna Fly Now'' montage and its very niftily staged climactic bout, summons just enough incredulous wit about just how often Rocky has been around this particular block to let Sylvester Stallone earn his nostalgia.
  2. 63
    Just when you're ready to puke, the old Bill Conti theme ("Gonna Fly Now") kicks in -- are you feeling it? -- Stallone steps in the ring and every day is Christmas. All together now: Rock-ee! Rock-ee!
  3. Defies all expectations with a low-key, technically stripped-down production that really does come close to capturing the heart and soul of the original.