Artisan Entertainment | Release Date: October 25, 2002
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 27 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
24
Mixed:
3
Negative:
0
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
RichardApr 2, 2003
I really enjoyed this film. Sure, it doesn't reinvent the male anxiety film wheel, and maybe the final reel's change of heart is slightly left fieldish. None of that changes the sharpness of the dialogue and the wonderful cast that I really enjoyed this film. Sure, it doesn't reinvent the male anxiety film wheel, and maybe the final reel's change of heart is slightly left fieldish. None of that changes the sharpness of the dialogue and the wonderful cast that gets to deliver it. The extended scene with Eisenberg, Scott, Beals and Berkley is a joy. Isabella Rossellini especially impresses in a small role. Eisenberg is a real find, and Scott imbues his hostility with an interesting self-awareness. Why that guy isn't a bigger star is beyond me. Well-judged all around and more than worth your time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HollywoodJediOct 25, 2002
What else can I say, but Campbell Scott's performance was nothing short of f..king spectacular. I only wish this movie was around when I was trying to get laid for the first time. Lord knows I tried, but I always seemed to fall flat on What else can I say, but Campbell Scott's performance was nothing short of f..king spectacular. I only wish this movie was around when I was trying to get laid for the first time. Lord knows I tried, but I always seemed to fall flat on my face. Now today's youth has a new hero and his name is Roger! Go see this film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrewcutNov 13, 2002
Very sharp and funny with surprising depth. In a just world, Campbell Scott gets an Oscar (or at least a nom) for bringing heart to an essentially heartless cad. The women are especially smart and grounded characters, and 16 yr old nephew Very sharp and funny with surprising depth. In a just world, Campbell Scott gets an Oscar (or at least a nom) for bringing heart to an essentially heartless cad. The women are especially smart and grounded characters, and 16 yr old nephew Nick holds out hope for a kinder, gentler style of manhood...but there are a lot of alpha guys like Roger out there. You just don't see them portrayed so honestly in movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexanderR.Nov 6, 2002
Surprisingly good. Campbell Scott was fantastic as the bitter, single guy that is out to exploit single women. Eisenberg was relatively weak in the film and somewhat of a mis-cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BronxvilleFilmFanDec 6, 2002
The script is caustic, and hysterical--Dylan Kidd's observations on gender and sexual politics are incredibly provocative and exciting. Hats off, too, to Campbell Scott, who is nothing less than BRILLIANT as the titular character. He The script is caustic, and hysterical--Dylan Kidd's observations on gender and sexual politics are incredibly provocative and exciting. Hats off, too, to Campbell Scott, who is nothing less than BRILLIANT as the titular character. He deserves every single accolade he gets during awards season, and more! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeyG.Nov 23, 2002
Excellent, excellent flick. Campbell Scott definitely needs to get some award for his performance here. The material might be too edgy for the Oscars, but at least an Independent Spirit Award or something. The movie is bitingly funny and Excellent, excellent flick. Campbell Scott definitely needs to get some award for his performance here. The material might be too edgy for the Oscars, but at least an Independent Spirit Award or something. The movie is bitingly funny and speaks truth in many different ways and levels. Considering the subject matter, it's surprising there's not much nudity. However, the little bit shown is done well and has a purpose. Excellent movie, but don't go see it on a date. You'll never win the arguments that will ensue. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Dec 28, 2002
Campbell Scott is so good here, we let it slide when the script gets soft and shows us that Roger actually has a heart of gold. It would've felt tacked on if Scott wasn't so brilliant. He bails Dylan Kidd out, who has a real flair Campbell Scott is so good here, we let it slide when the script gets soft and shows us that Roger actually has a heart of gold. It would've felt tacked on if Scott wasn't so brilliant. He bails Dylan Kidd out, who has a real flair for dialogue, but may have a weakness for happy endings. We'll see what he does next time out. His most impressive accomplishment? Getting career performances out of Elizabeth Berkley and Jennifer Beals. The scene they share with Scott and his nephew at the park is absolutely perfect. Berkley skirts direct-to-video status for at least two more years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ScraperJan 21, 2017
Destined to be polarizing, Rodger Dodger discusses sexuality from the opposite ends of the experience spectrum with verve. Despite the fact that the main character is a man guiding his younger male relative through his daily sexual life inDestined to be polarizing, Rodger Dodger discusses sexuality from the opposite ends of the experience spectrum with verve. Despite the fact that the main character is a man guiding his younger male relative through his daily sexual life in the city, sharing his thoughts and secrets therein, the film does not alienate women. Women probably will not like this movie ultimately because the main character is a man spitting hot, leaden dialogue non-stop. But from an objective standpoint, it's entertaining. If you can't stand the obnoxiousness, I don't blame you, but I'm also not going to agree with you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews