MGM Home Entertainment | Release Date: February 8, 2002
1.8
USER SCORE
Overwhelming dislike based on 58 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
9
Mixed:
1
Negative:
48
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JonJul 2, 2004
Everyone always compare things to their predecessors. First off, this isn't a direct remake, it's a rendition. If they were going to just copy it 100%, they would just put the old one on dvd. Second of all, it's an action Everyone always compare things to their predecessors. First off, this isn't a direct remake, it's a rendition. If they were going to just copy it 100%, they would just put the old one on dvd. Second of all, it's an action movie, of course things are fast, it's ACTION. The thing is packed of actions scenes beginning to end. If you can't catch the plot, I don't know how you can even read this. If you're expecting some immaculate movie with some moving theme, well, then go watch the patriot or some crap. This is an action movie. Full of action. For people who like action. If you don't like action, it wasn't meant for you to see it. So stfu. =) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SteveE.May 10, 2005
Amazing Film, lots of action. If you compare it to the original it is better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayS.Jul 27, 2002
It's a modern dadaist masterpiece. The director had such vision to produce it in the way that he did. The average person just can't comprehend the level of genius that this has accomplished. I am truly inspired by this film, as it It's a modern dadaist masterpiece. The director had such vision to produce it in the way that he did. The average person just can't comprehend the level of genius that this has accomplished. I am truly inspired by this film, as it has influenced every aspect of my creative being. I would give this a 10. I would like to add that this is the only movie I would ever give a ten because it is better than any other movie that I have ever had the pleasure of letting glare upon my eyes. Andy Warhol would be quite flattered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DuncanS.Jul 4, 2002
My favorite action movie in a long time. It just got a little weird here and there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AdamE.Nov 25, 2002
Disappointing and stupid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MichaelR.Sep 22, 2002
A disjointed mess. It's only value could be to show film student's what a terrible film looks like.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SteveHFeb 5, 2008
A real disappointment - I didn't expect a copy of the original but I didn't expect something to be this bad. I thought it might get better after a bad start - but it manages to go down hill all the way to the end. It is beyond A real disappointment - I didn't expect a copy of the original but I didn't expect something to be this bad. I thought it might get better after a bad start - but it manages to go down hill all the way to the end. It is beyond belief that it could be rated a ten by anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoeB.Jul 3, 2002
The main character is a wimp, the editing of the so called action scenes left me dizzy. Less than 30 minutes into this dog I turned it off, dumbfounded how anyone could could make a movie so awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JakeM.Jul 2, 2002
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Sorry I was thinking of another movie. Ok for real. BOOOOO!!! This is probably the worst movie i have ever seen. And if this was a real sport, it would be the worst sport on the face of this earth, worst then cricket, worst HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Sorry I was thinking of another movie. Ok for real. BOOOOO!!! This is probably the worst movie i have ever seen. And if this was a real sport, it would be the worst sport on the face of this earth, worst then cricket, worst then golf, and worst then the XFL. This movie puts the word "disgrace" to every person who had anything to do with the making of this movie. Even the extras that no one cares about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BenM.Aug 4, 2002
Just terrible, aside from bad acting and no plot it was boring as sh*t.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChrisD.Aug 5, 2002
I'm sad i watched this movie. It was TERRIBLE. Aside the bad acting, you have terrible editing (the camera would cut for no reason... a character would be looking one way, then an instant later the other direction...) There was no I'm sad i watched this movie. It was TERRIBLE. Aside the bad acting, you have terrible editing (the camera would cut for no reason... a character would be looking one way, then an instant later the other direction...) There was no explanation for why most people died... The rest is just too stupid for words... This kinda movie makes me wanna cry :- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MateuszP.May 8, 2003
Lying on my deathbed, watching this movie might be one of the few things i'll regret having done. it's so moronic you will actually FEEL all your joy, happiness and meaning of life evaporate out of every pore on your body.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GerrickCJan 24, 2007
God only knows you can't get any dumber than this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BobbyMar 5, 2007
The Most Violent PG13 Film ever to hit the states. The intense violence, sex, nudity, drugs and blood is insane. This film is one of the few films that somehow got away with the biggest rating mistake of the last 100 years. You see breasts, The Most Violent PG13 Film ever to hit the states. The intense violence, sex, nudity, drugs and blood is insane. This film is one of the few films that somehow got away with the biggest rating mistake of the last 100 years. You see breasts, watch people break bones and get beaten and shattered to there death, you see man on man fights in which the blood just keeps on coming until the lucky one dies. I have never seen anything so intense and disgusting. A shame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GilbertNov 20, 2002
John McTiernan? John McTIERNAN? JOHN MCTIERNAN?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TerryRAug 30, 2009
I've seen better movies in theaters for the blind.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlekKolchakOct 6, 2011
Having just seen this on cable, I wanted to see if there were any scores above a 1. But as long as I'm here... Not even a so bad it's good, just... bad.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
KadeemluvmusicJan 12, 2017
Oh John McTierren, what happened to your film career as a great director? Die Hard was the Contra of the 80's, Last Action Hero was a pretty good B-movie of the 90's, Medicine Man (I still have to watch that movie). I know it's hard why heOh John McTierren, what happened to your film career as a great director? Die Hard was the Contra of the 80's, Last Action Hero was a pretty good B-movie of the 90's, Medicine Man (I still have to watch that movie). I know it's hard why he was once considered the land of the greats of action movie nostalgia. But then he threw it all away in Rollerball.

I know a lot about Rollerball's messy remake. The production has way sorts of problems like it was originally going to be Rated R for its graphic violence and a lot of sex in this movie. But unlike another movie that cause a stir (Howard The Duck), the MPAA decided to make the movie to a family audience and give it a s***ty PG-13 rating nobody likes. The director of the film hated the script nearing the movie's completion and cause MGM to be re-shooted and re-edit the final product of the movie which was supposed to be released in the Summer of 2001. But before the 9/11 attacks happened, the film's schedule had to be pushed to February 8, 2002. The movie finally came out and I guessed it right, it was a wasted load of crap. Admidst all of the behind-the-scenes scrutiny over its production, not one many moviegoer see this movie in an empty theater because it was extremely panned by everyone. I think Rollerball is the gold standard of "It's Batman & Robin on Ice" of awfully bad movies. Like I said, the script that the studio (allegedly) think it was good, but hell no the story is s**t, the writing is s**t, and why in the hell did Chris Klein and the entire cast (LL Cool J included) decided it was a great idea to star in this dumpster fire. Not even an appearance by Paul Heyman and WWE's residential Hardcore badass Shane Macmahon can't even save this film. It's like telling all the souless fans to get hyped and see the movie promote it on the TNN Network. The movie was so bad, that was pretty much it for John McTiernan's directing career. No wonder why he decided he threw in the towel by getting his ass arrested for failed unpaid taxes and fraud allegations. For those who have Netflix ( or not), then I suggest you shold check out the original 1975 cult classic instead. I just hope MGM just learned their lesson not to remake an iconic classic ever again. I take that back, they did (The Pink Panther, Robocop, Carrie, etc.) Goddamnit, MGM.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews