Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 1, 1996
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 103 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
60
Mixed:
21
Negative:
22
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
SteveNov 3, 2008
I think the action scenes were ok but the ancient language completely ruined the play.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MaeWardNov 23, 2016
This was a beautiful movie, Baz Lurmann's stunning and hyperdelic adaptation of this classic Shakespeare play made even better by the beautiful Leonardo Dicaprio, he was the perfect Romeo. His face alone means even if your understanding ofThis was a beautiful movie, Baz Lurmann's stunning and hyperdelic adaptation of this classic Shakespeare play made even better by the beautiful Leonardo Dicaprio, he was the perfect Romeo. His face alone means even if your understanding of the play is limited you will thoroughly enjoy this movie. Only complaint, I should have been cast as Juliet. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SophieWNov 23, 2016
I enjoyed Leonardo DiCaprio's Beautiful face, It made the movie a delight with pleasing backgrounds especially shots of the irresistible "Romeo".It definitely would make even the most hateful of Shakespeare enjoy the romantic classic and beI enjoyed Leonardo DiCaprio's Beautiful face, It made the movie a delight with pleasing backgrounds especially shots of the irresistible "Romeo".It definitely would make even the most hateful of Shakespeare enjoy the romantic classic and be mesmerized to watch it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
GaryDFNov 17, 2008
A play which should be worshiped no mocked!! And the moder day adaption is all it does in its pathetic attempts to impress!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
PatrickApr 3, 2007
Romeo and Juliet in a modern-day setting. Does any more need to be said?
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
TerrificoNov 15, 2012
Very poor at giving one who has not read the books before an accurate impression of the story. The difficult to understand dialogue made any attempt to comprehend the story extremely difficult, and the setting of a fictional Florida city didVery poor at giving one who has not read the books before an accurate impression of the story. The difficult to understand dialogue made any attempt to comprehend the story extremely difficult, and the setting of a fictional Florida city did not help, nor did the African-American cross dressing dancer with a moustache. The party scenes that attempted to show what a party in Renaissance era may have looked come off as very overdone and look very poor in contrast with the somewhat serious scenes the movie contains. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
StealthyK1LLsApr 10, 2015
This has to be the worst movie I have ever seen in my entire life. I'd have to take the drugs Romeo took at the party to even remotely enjoy this horrible piece of s*** that has been taken upon the chest of Shakespeare himself.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
LouisH.Nov 18, 2007
this is a weird movie. The drama loses all of its touch. Just the modern stuff with the past dialouge makes everbody seem like they all escaped from the nut house. Still, they had the cool modern police gun fights and all that. Final rating=5.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AlexJul 19, 2008
Brilliant adaptation of Shakespeare's tale. In his time, Romeo and Juliet was the equivalent of a soap opera for the masses and frowned upon by the higher classes. This is essentially a retelling for the same audience yet many Brilliant adaptation of Shakespeare's tale. In his time, Romeo and Juliet was the equivalent of a soap opera for the masses and frowned upon by the higher classes. This is essentially a retelling for the same audience yet many generations later, and it is a charming, dramatic piece that will keep you wishing for a different ending, though it is one of the most infamous endings of all-time. Fantastic. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MichelleT.Jul 20, 2008
Quite good compared to the horrible musical 'west side story.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
[Anonymous]Feb 15, 2009
Alright, Baz Lurhmann, with all due respect, what the fuck have you done? Modern day Miami with verona dialog? "get me my longsword"=big gun? Mercution a crossdresser? God, this movie sucked. The only thing that keeps it from being a Alright, Baz Lurhmann, with all due respect, what the fuck have you done? Modern day Miami with verona dialog? "get me my longsword"=big gun? Mercution a crossdresser? God, this movie sucked. The only thing that keeps it from being a complete dud was Leo DiCaprio's performance and the scene where Romeo kills Tybalt. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StefanS.Mar 5, 2009
Baz Luhrmann's take on Romeo + Juliet is - highly emotional - lush and wild - innovative - unforgettable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
jessMay 21, 2009
I think this beautiful adaptation gets no justice, the melodic storytelling and dramatic performances don't seem out of place in this tragic film, it keeps to the Shakespearean roots by maintaining the language which in its form sounds I think this beautiful adaptation gets no justice, the melodic storytelling and dramatic performances don't seem out of place in this tragic film, it keeps to the Shakespearean roots by maintaining the language which in its form sounds poetic, the story has however been updated to suit today's audience. Leonardo DiCaprio and Claire Danes do a excellent job in the lead roles. A must watch for people who like love stories. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ryannMay 30, 2009
A great adaption of the original. It's like listening to the Ramones version of Louis Armstrong's Wonderful World. Some could argue it's an embarrassment but my opinion is that it is genius. Baz Luhrmann totally made this A great adaption of the original. It's like listening to the Ramones version of Louis Armstrong's Wonderful World. Some could argue it's an embarrassment but my opinion is that it is genius. Baz Luhrmann totally made this movie his own. Great acting as well by everyone in it. The only problem with this movie is how hard it is to follow the dialogue but that is to be expected with Shakespeare. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
LansdenrsJun 4, 2013
Embarrassing lazy piece of crap ever made. The Shakespeare language made it insulting to America. Acting was terrible and the directing was horrendous. Don't watch it
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
FranzHcriticJun 15, 2014
Quite possibly one of the only few movies I could not physically tolerate to hear or watch. Modernizing the Shakespeare play, which I think is hyped up exceedingly too much as it is, is made worse by, a surprise, the faithfulness of theQuite possibly one of the only few movies I could not physically tolerate to hear or watch. Modernizing the Shakespeare play, which I think is hyped up exceedingly too much as it is, is made worse by, a surprise, the faithfulness of the dialogue from the play. DiCaprio acted exactly like Romeo, which I think is the worst that he could ever achieve. Shakespeare should be left to the British actors. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
IronGaming_Feb 8, 2016
This movie tries so hard to be different, but this movie has serious problems. Bad acting, lifeless dialogue, and unchohesive plot. This compiles to the most cringe worthy 120 minutes I've had in a long time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Iky009Jan 6, 2014
Bom
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JoesatmoesFeb 11, 2014
This movie is hiLARIOUS! If you think of it as a serious modern adaption of William Shakespeare's play, then you will be pissed off. But from the start, I knew this was a parody of the original play, and I had a lot of fun watching it.This movie is hiLARIOUS! If you think of it as a serious modern adaption of William Shakespeare's play, then you will be pissed off. But from the start, I knew this was a parody of the original play, and I had a lot of fun watching it.

This is the classic Romeo and Juliet story, but more modernized- with guns replacing swords, and rather than the dispute between the families being their religious beliefs, it is a business rivalry. However, the script is the exact same script as the original play, with the same ancient-English lines. Right from there, you should know that this is meant to just be so ridiculously, stupidly over-the-top weird movie, which I find entertaining. It is, in my opinion, utter f*ckng genius.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SpangleDec 22, 2014
Ultimately, Baz Luhrmann's Romeo + Juliet is a mixed bag. On the positive, the second half is great and just as effecting as it should and needs to be. While I obviously know what happens, this story never fails to touch my heart in some waysUltimately, Baz Luhrmann's Romeo + Juliet is a mixed bag. On the positive, the second half is great and just as effecting as it should and needs to be. While I obviously know what happens, this story never fails to touch my heart in some ways and move me in others and Baz Luhrmann's interpretation keeps this alive and does well communicating it. For this, I cannot hate this film. However, there are some negatives. Leonardo DiCaprio and Claire Danes are not awesome. They are not bad, to be sure, but there are some moments that made me cringe. On top of that, the first half is comically bad. I could not help but laugh throughout as the modern interpretation of this one was beyond terrible in this portion. It improves in the second half, but damn is the first half embarassingly stupid and over the top. As a whole, Romeo + Juliet is not a bad film, but it is certainly not a good film. It is an interesting update to the classic tale, but has too many negatives to become anything more than that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
ELZELCHO07May 22, 2015
Well first of all... the first action scene is poorly put together and all other action scenes follow suit. Also the dialogue doesn't fit into the modern day setting, also shaky cam and lots of it this is Leonardo Dicaprio's worst film andWell first of all... the first action scene is poorly put together and all other action scenes follow suit. Also the dialogue doesn't fit into the modern day setting, also shaky cam and lots of it this is Leonardo Dicaprio's worst film and will continue to hold this title forever more! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
IAmNinja27Jul 25, 2015
Watching this film again years later, I decided to post my thoughts on it. There are several things I enjoy about this film...in concept. The juxtaposition of old English Shakespearen within a modern setting, while not revolutionary, wasWatching this film again years later, I decided to post my thoughts on it. There are several things I enjoy about this film...in concept. The juxtaposition of old English Shakespearen within a modern setting, while not revolutionary, was interesting. This film has a great cast of actors, less Daynes. And the set pieces are interesting to the eye. I think some people took this all a little too seriously. The negatives, however, do weigh in. Daynes not only doesn't pull off the "look" of Juliet, but she's wooden in her performance. Bare in mind she was only 16-years-old. The action sequences (because they substitute swordplay with gunplay) don't entirely make sense. Some of the music simply does not hold up. Okay, most of the music. But the biggest issue is simply in the execution. They go too far, too over-the-top, too flamboyant for any of it to be remotely believable. It doesn't work. Good concept, not executed well. But I'd still rate this an average 5/10, if not just for cultural significance and nostalgia. Shut off your brain for a little bit and enjoy it for what it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Uncle_Cake47Aug 26, 2015
I like its effort its just that this movie would have a lot more potential if the script was not literally copy paste right out of Shakespeare's original play. It's a damn shame they got the casting right the acting spot on but they just hadI like its effort its just that this movie would have a lot more potential if the script was not literally copy paste right out of Shakespeare's original play. It's a damn shame they got the casting right the acting spot on but they just had to copy paste. Some people see is as artsy but I see it as pretentious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MrMovieBuffAug 22, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have very mixed thoughts on Baz Lurhmann's take on the famous William Shakespeare tragic love story, "Romeo + Juliet". On the one hand, I think it's a clever way to get teenagers into the story as it does appeal to that demographic perfectly. On the other hand, what we get is a little strange given how it is set during the present time, but the dialogue doesn't match the time period making the tone inconsistent and somewhat confusing.

The two leads are played by Leonardo DiCaprio and Claire Danes who do share some terrific chemistry with their young energy and spirit. The movie, of course, focuses on the war between the Montagues and the Capulets, but, during a ball at the Capulet side, when Romeo crosses over, he sees the one thing he truly desires. Both Romeo and Juliet meet at the ball and they really hit it off, only to later discover that they are from two opposing families.

Things do get a little heated between the two families when they find out that both Romeo and Juliet are seeing each other in secret, which then leads Romeo to run away in exile, and Juliet eventually faking her own death leading an unaware Romeo to believe that she has died since his departure.

As I said above, I admired the movie trying to appeal to a young demographic, but at the same time, the tone is confused and somewhat disjointed. Since the movie is set in modern times, would it just be easier to craft the dialogue with a more contemporary feel? I understand that the Shakespeare-like dialogue is essential when adapting some of his most famous stories, but here, since the setting is different, the dialogue may as well have been.

Although, I also admire Baz Lurhmann's set pieces, and the action is terrific to watch and often intense. The actors in this movie give it their all as well, playing the roles convincingly and offering enough commitment to make this film an unforgettable and emotional experience. Like I said, I have mixed thoughts in regards to this film, but overall, there are some things done well, and other things that could have been done better.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
SuperAquaLuigiMar 3, 2017
While I personally didn't like the book, I can still see that this was a terrible adaptation. The decision to make it take place in modern day was confusing at best, since it added nothing and the dialogue remained the same. Several importantWhile I personally didn't like the book, I can still see that this was a terrible adaptation. The decision to make it take place in modern day was confusing at best, since it added nothing and the dialogue remained the same. Several important scenes were glossed over, such as everyone's reaction to the deaths of the main characters (it's not a spoiler because everybody knows it). The acting, outside of the main cast (with the exception of Mercutio) is laughable at best, and obnoxious at worst. The cinematography was notably off, too, and combined with all of the problems with the book, this movie was a pretty miserable experience overall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Jk9785May 22, 2017
Sigh. That is the only reaction you'll get from me after watching this film. This tries, and ultimately fails, to recreate the magic of Franco Zeffirelli's 1968 version, but in a modern setting, not even following the classic story. This isSigh. That is the only reaction you'll get from me after watching this film. This tries, and ultimately fails, to recreate the magic of Franco Zeffirelli's 1968 version, but in a modern setting, not even following the classic story. This is one you can skip. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews