Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 1, 1996
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 97 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
56
Mixed:
20
Negative:
21
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
SteveNov 3, 2008
I think the action scenes were ok but the ancient language completely ruined the play.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
GaryDFNov 17, 2008
A play which should be worshiped no mocked!! And the moder day adaption is all it does in its pathetic attempts to impress!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
PatrickApr 3, 2007
Romeo and Juliet in a modern-day setting. Does any more need to be said?
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
TerrificoNov 15, 2012
Very poor at giving one who has not read the books before an accurate impression of the story. The difficult to understand dialogue made any attempt to comprehend the story extremely difficult, and the setting of a fictional Florida city didVery poor at giving one who has not read the books before an accurate impression of the story. The difficult to understand dialogue made any attempt to comprehend the story extremely difficult, and the setting of a fictional Florida city did not help, nor did the African-American cross dressing dancer with a moustache. The party scenes that attempted to show what a party in Renaissance era may have looked come off as very overdone and look very poor in contrast with the somewhat serious scenes the movie contains. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
StealthyK1LLsApr 10, 2015
This has to be the worst movie I have ever seen in my entire life. I'd have to take the drugs Romeo took at the party to even remotely enjoy this horrible piece of s*** that has been taken upon the chest of Shakespeare himself.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
LansdenrsJun 4, 2013
Embarrassing lazy piece of crap ever made. The Shakespeare language made it insulting to America. Acting was terrible and the directing was horrendous. Don't watch it
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
FranzHcriticJun 15, 2014
Quite possibly one of the only few movies I could not physically tolerate to hear or watch. Modernizing the Shakespeare play, which I think is hyped up exceedingly too much as it is, is made worse by, a surprise, the faithfulness of theQuite possibly one of the only few movies I could not physically tolerate to hear or watch. Modernizing the Shakespeare play, which I think is hyped up exceedingly too much as it is, is made worse by, a surprise, the faithfulness of the dialogue from the play. DiCaprio acted exactly like Romeo, which I think is the worst that he could ever achieve. Shakespeare should be left to the British actors. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
IronGaming_Feb 8, 2016
This movie tries so hard to be different, but this movie has serious problems. Bad acting, lifeless dialogue, and unchohesive plot. This compiles to the most cringe worthy 120 minutes I've had in a long time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
ELZELCHO07May 22, 2015
Well first of all... the first action scene is poorly put together and all other action scenes follow suit. Also the dialogue doesn't fit into the modern day setting, also shaky cam and lots of it this is Leonardo Dicaprio's worst film andWell first of all... the first action scene is poorly put together and all other action scenes follow suit. Also the dialogue doesn't fit into the modern day setting, also shaky cam and lots of it this is Leonardo Dicaprio's worst film and will continue to hold this title forever more! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews