Picturehouse Entertainment | Release Date: March 28, 2008
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 56 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
31
Mixed:
19
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
HistoryGirlFeb 3, 2010
It is crass, predictable, vulgar, and unbelievable. And I STILL LOVED IT. Don't go into this expecting a high-brow intellectual film. Go in expecting some laughs and that's what you'll get. To me, this is a cut above most It is crass, predictable, vulgar, and unbelievable. And I STILL LOVED IT. Don't go into this expecting a high-brow intellectual film. Go in expecting some laughs and that's what you'll get. To me, this is a cut above most "comedies" in that the characters are genuinely lovable (and despicable, depending). P.S. the outtakes are hilarious and the soundtrack is worth the price on iTunes. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
TJW.Mar 23, 2008
The most important thing I had to keep in my head while watching Run Fatboy Run, the latest comedy to star Simon Pegg, was that this wasn't an Edgar Wright film; I wasn't going to get another Shaun Of The Dead or Hot Fuzz, and Nick The most important thing I had to keep in my head while watching Run Fatboy Run, the latest comedy to star Simon Pegg, was that this wasn't an Edgar Wright film; I wasn't going to get another Shaun Of The Dead or Hot Fuzz, and Nick Frost wasn't going to be showing up anytime soon. This was directed by an American (David Schwimmer of Friends fame) and scripted by an American (The State and Stella's Michael Ian Black), so I had to prepare myself for American comedy in a British setting; after I did that, I found I was able to (moderately) enjoy this film. Pegg stars as Dennis, a man who left his pregnant fiance (Thandie Newton) at the altar five years ago. After meeting her new boyfriend (the ridiculously built Hank Azaria) and finding out he's running in a marathon in three weeks, Dennis decides to do the same to try to win back his girl. Michael Ian Black's script is not the strong point of this film (if you're looking for Edgar Wright wit, it's not here); neither is Schwimmer's direction (give him time, I think he'll get better). Instead, the cast is left to basically fend for themselves, with varying degrees of success. Pegg is fine, in a role that could've easily turned into an opportunity to overact. Azaria and Newton, however, seem to be pretty much phoning it in. The one man you will recognize from Shaun Of The Dead, Dylan Moran (as Dennis' best friend Gordon) provides probably more than 75% of the laughs in this film, and is the sole reason this movie is being recommended. I don't expect this movie will get great reviews, but what I do expect is large box office and Simon Pegg finally getting over the hump in America, to full blown stardom. Now go back to Mr. Wright, you crazy Brit! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
MattC.Mar 25, 2008
I'm the biggest Pegg fan going but I'm sorry, this is a massive mis-step. Simon seems to be just going through the motions, playing a caricature of himself and there's not enough story to carry a feature length movie so the I'm the biggest Pegg fan going but I'm sorry, this is a massive mis-step. Simon seems to be just going through the motions, playing a caricature of himself and there's not enough story to carry a feature length movie so the picture grinds to a predictable halt halfway through. And finally when is someone going to realise that Thandie Newton simply cannot act and certainly not in comedy. It's like watching a damp mop trying to emote. I sincerely hope this isn't indicative of a Simon Pegg movie without Edgar Wright. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
TomL.Mar 27, 2008
A poor movie. Insipid in every way.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MartinR.Oct 17, 2008
Very good job, David Schwimmer! Surprisingly good comedy, way better than the second half of Friends or mainstream of likes of Sandler.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PfillipT.Mar 21, 2008
Very predictable but nonetheless funny thanks to Moran, Patel and Pegg. Unfortunately, Azaria is poorly cast and isn't allowed to showcase his talent. I wasn't expecting it to be as good as it was but it's definitely something Very predictable but nonetheless funny thanks to Moran, Patel and Pegg. Unfortunately, Azaria is poorly cast and isn't allowed to showcase his talent. I wasn't expecting it to be as good as it was but it's definitely something I expected to see from Ross from Friends. The premise of the movie is mostly what drives it but the funniest bits are usually when Dylan Moran's character enters. And, sadly, those scenes weren't vital to the script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TonyS.Mar 29, 2008
I'm not sure what movie the rest of you saw, cause I loved this one! I don't see many Romantic-Comedies so I'll have to take your word that it seemed "text book". I enjoyed it (and so did everyone else at the theater I went to I'm not sure what movie the rest of you saw, cause I loved this one! I don't see many Romantic-Comedies so I'll have to take your word that it seemed "text book". I enjoyed it (and so did everyone else at the theater I went to Yesterday). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Apr 2, 2008
Dennis(Simon Pegg) could be the narrator in The Proclaimers' "I'm Gonna Be(500 Miles)", who "...walked a thousand miles to fall down at your door," which the hapless security guard at a woman's boutique almost literally does Dennis(Simon Pegg) could be the narrator in The Proclaimers' "I'm Gonna Be(500 Miles)", who "...walked a thousand miles to fall down at your door," which the hapless security guard at a woman's boutique almost literally does in "Run, Fatboy, Run", a faux-Brit comedy(a sort of "Rocky" in the U.K.) that walks in the footsteps of the inspirational sports movie, before branching off on its own. Dennis enters the marathon to win back the love and respect of a jilted bride-that-was(Thandie Newton), and go toe-to-toe with her new well-to-do fiance(Hank Azaria) from America. Winning is still the goal, but this time, the prize is a woman's heart. As Dennis tries to prove his worth to Libby, the loser's redemption is two-fold, because "Run, Fatboy, Run", as a narrative, is doing the same for its audience. Are you in total agreement with the film's rhetoric that Dennis deserves a kind and beautiful woman such as Libby? When Dennis gets up from the pavement after his running collision with Whit(which subtly recalls the end-result of Rocky Balboa's rematch against Apollo Creed in "Rocky II"), "Run, Fatboy, Run" will test your heart for hopeless romanticism. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KenH.Apr 5, 2008
Great movie to watch with a girlfriend. It's funny and lighthearted all the way through. Simon Pegg is awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanM.Mar 23, 2008
Brilliantly funny
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MickMar 23, 2008
Unlike Peggs other movies, that spoof genres, this movie is actually a romantic comedy. I found it quite funny as did my girlfriend. This is closer to a 7.5 for me but def better than a 7
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattA.Mar 24, 2008
Not a bad movie. A little "by the books," but Simon Pegg adds charm to his character. Pegg proves that he can be a lead without the help of Edgar Wright. The movie was almost inspirational, if not so far fetched. ...not horrible... but not Not a bad movie. A little "by the books," but Simon Pegg adds charm to his character. Pegg proves that he can be a lead without the help of Edgar Wright. The movie was almost inspirational, if not so far fetched. ...not horrible... but not movie of the year. I'm being generous because of my respect for Pegg. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CraigA.Apr 10, 2008
Really unfairly reviewed!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NickPApr 27, 2008
Not as bad as the "critics" suggest, it is heart warming and funny; what more do you want?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JosephB.Sep 22, 2008
A very good very funny movie. Some top comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KateK.Oct 12, 2008
As an big Simon Pegg fan, my opinion might be a little biased, but for the most part, I did enjoy Run, Fat Boy, Run. Sure, it had its fair share of crotch, fart and snot jokes, but cute, warm-fuzzies inducing performances by Pegg and Dylan As an big Simon Pegg fan, my opinion might be a little biased, but for the most part, I did enjoy Run, Fat Boy, Run. Sure, it had its fair share of crotch, fart and snot jokes, but cute, warm-fuzzies inducing performances by Pegg and Dylan Moran make up for the rest of the film's imperfections. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewH.Mar 26, 2008
Saw this movie in england. Very funny! It isn't simon pegg's best but it is very good. Good acting and a okay story. Im not sure if American audiences are ready for the diffrent comedy style. A little slower and drier witt. David Saw this movie in england. Very funny! It isn't simon pegg's best but it is very good. Good acting and a okay story. Im not sure if American audiences are ready for the diffrent comedy style. A little slower and drier witt. David schwimmer does americanize it somewhat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnF.Mar 29, 2008
I enjoyed this movie so much more than I thought I would. It was a lot funnier than the previews led me to think it would be, with some surprisingly good acting and even some touching moments of real drama. Simon Pegg is a brilliant talent. I enjoyed this movie so much more than I thought I would. It was a lot funnier than the previews led me to think it would be, with some surprisingly good acting and even some touching moments of real drama. Simon Pegg is a brilliant talent. Basically anything he does is hilarious, and when called to perform some actual drama, he pulls it off in a way few comedic actors can. I loved this movie from begining to end. However, if you go in expecting it to be in the same style as "Shaun of the Dead" and "Hot Fuzz" you will be dissappointed. If you go in just expecting a good, solid, romantic comedy that is a cut above the normal fare of that genre, you will be in for a pleasant surprise. I loved this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SteveZ.Mar 31, 2008
Horrible horrible horrible. Corny story (like a Nick Hornby reject) and brutally stupid jokes all the way through. Simon Pegg can do better. As far as the comedy Americans not being ready for the "different comedy style. A little slower and Horrible horrible horrible. Corny story (like a Nick Hornby reject) and brutally stupid jokes all the way through. Simon Pegg can do better. As far as the comedy Americans not being ready for the "different comedy style. A little slower and drier wit." Since when so lame ass and wiener jokes meet that description? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CammieS.Sep 26, 2008
This movie was wonderful, charming witty and laugh out loud funny I would watch it again. It was also romantic and wonderful to watch with my boyfriend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ERG1008Sep 17, 2010
Well it has some funny moments but the story is so ridiculous it's untrue. A few nice cameos here & there but nowhere near as good as Pegg's other work. Dylan Moran plays himself yet again as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
DillinNov 3, 2011
Oh, no. Oh dear. If only this could have been better. It's a kind of funny premise, and Hank Azaria is funny. Oh well; I'm looking forward to At World's End.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
thecurberFeb 5, 2011
Run, fatboy,Run is entertainment. It has a perfect balance of humor, grossout gags and a big heart.What more do you want?It is a film where beneath all the idiocy and goofiness lies a film that has a lesson to it and humor, which most moviesRun, fatboy,Run is entertainment. It has a perfect balance of humor, grossout gags and a big heart.What more do you want?It is a film where beneath all the idiocy and goofiness lies a film that has a lesson to it and humor, which most movies don't possess Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
CooterPatooterMar 4, 2012
Not funny, not inspirational, not convincing, not entertaining, not memorable... actually it's not much of anything.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Predictability is rampant but it still provides a decent amount of laughs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
python2000Aug 28, 2013
Definitely not Simon Peggs best work but an entertaining movie no doubt. Run Fatboy Run is worth watching but don't expect it to be absolutely hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeFeb 19, 2017
It was funny, entertaining, the acting was good and the cinematography was pretty good. It was a little bit too predictable and the characters were all pretty cliché, but it was still a fun movie to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews