RV

Columbia Pictures | Release Date: April 28, 2006
5.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 71 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
27
Mixed:
22
Negative:
22
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
StanV.Jul 12, 2006
Didn't think I would enjoy this much when I took my daughter. But I did. Lots of genuinely funny moments, gratifying slapstick and cogent commentary about modern life and family. Not perfect, of course, with its relatively contrived Didn't think I would enjoy this much when I took my daughter. But I did. Lots of genuinely funny moments, gratifying slapstick and cogent commentary about modern life and family. Not perfect, of course, with its relatively contrived plot leaps. But a good time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarleneSep 11, 2006
I really liked it. I was impressed that there was no nudity or cursing. It showed real talent.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
DamonT.Apr 30, 2006
My family enjoyed it a great deal!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikeM.May 6, 2006
I have to agree with several reviewers that Jeff Daniels and Kristin Chenoweth were a joy to watch as the tacky family that William's family kept running into. My son, age 13, thought it was very funny, however, and I do think the I have to agree with several reviewers that Jeff Daniels and Kristin Chenoweth were a joy to watch as the tacky family that William's family kept running into. My son, age 13, thought it was very funny, however, and I do think the characters were generally likable overall. Not a wonderful movie, but I didn't regret going to it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GregC.Apr 30, 2006
I have a hard time understanding why this movie was panned. I went with my wife and two kids, and they all loved it. Yes, it is slapstick, and there is one bit about the RV's toilet, but hey they are in a car with a toilet. But the I have a hard time understanding why this movie was panned. I went with my wife and two kids, and they all loved it. Yes, it is slapstick, and there is one bit about the RV's toilet, but hey they are in a car with a toilet. But the pacing and the multidimensional characters are spot on. We haven't laughed so hard at a movie maybe ever. Robin Williams is brilliant in a role that uses his acting and his comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GaryM.May 2, 2006
A real nice, entertaining movie for, dare I say, the whole family. Worth seeing, if nothing else worth your interest is showing at your local theater. I liked it, to be honest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayS.May 9, 2006
Pretty much everything Robin Williams says or does in this movie is funny, and that is a lot of things. Listen closely to all his quips and I defy anyone to say this movie is not amusing. This proves the old theorem that professional movie Pretty much everything Robin Williams says or does in this movie is funny, and that is a lot of things. Listen closely to all his quips and I defy anyone to say this movie is not amusing. This proves the old theorem that professional movie critics are terrible at evaluating comedies...in many cases they pan funny stuff, like the many Jim Carrey movies which got bad reviews from the pros. Almost all the performances in RV are entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisW.Aug 23, 2006
I found myself laughing harder at this movie than I thought that I would. They probably could have made the whole movie with just having that RV hit everything and anything when they are driving and I would have given this movie a 10! This I found myself laughing harder at this movie than I thought that I would. They probably could have made the whole movie with just having that RV hit everything and anything when they are driving and I would have given this movie a 10! This is a good PG movie that your whole family can enjoy. Think of this movie on the same lines as "Cheaper By The Dozen." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TechaiTSep 23, 2006
Not brilliant but very funny; much better than the National Lampoon attempts at this genre. Robin Williams definitely makes it worth the rental.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JosephO.Feb 11, 2007
Thank-you for another film that teaches us something worthwhile while making us laugh. I laughed a lot and used my brain very little. Sometimes you just need to laugh and loosen up a bit. But RV's laughs mask its true value as a modern Thank-you for another film that teaches us something worthwhile while making us laugh. I laughed a lot and used my brain very little. Sometimes you just need to laugh and loosen up a bit. But RV's laughs mask its true value as a modern life style critic. Perhaps the negative reviews are more about feeling uncomfortably challenged by a call to reality. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobertN.Apr 28, 2006
The critics were way off on this one. I saw this movie and came to metacritic to see just how well it did. Insane. I rarely go with my family but this one brought us all to the theater. I mean it is really rare when a movie does that. While The critics were way off on this one. I saw this movie and came to metacritic to see just how well it did. Insane. I rarely go with my family but this one brought us all to the theater. I mean it is really rare when a movie does that. While this movie didn't excel in any areas, it still makes a great family movie if nothing else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RyanS.Apr 29, 2006
I am a bit surprised by the critics here. I review films for a living too and perhaps my grade would've been lower if I saw it in a "critics only" screening. However, I made it to a promo screening, packed with families who hooted and I am a bit surprised by the critics here. I review films for a living too and perhaps my grade would've been lower if I saw it in a "critics only" screening. However, I made it to a promo screening, packed with families who hooted and howled throughout. Perhaps that added to my enjoyment. Nonetheless, I thoroughly enjoyed it and am headed to the theater this weekend with MY family to see it again. Robin Williams in a comedy is usually death, but he's the straight man here and underplays it well. Take your family and enjoy! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
nintendoid13Oct 31, 2010
Williams was great! One of his greats that was fit for the whole family. Sure some of the jokes were cheesy, but overall it was a laugh-out-loud comedy for me.I'd gladly watch it again!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Jboy2468Nov 22, 2011
Let me start off by saying that this movie made me laugh, but I didn't get anything out of it. It lacked a solid storyline and the characters were mediocre. But the actors themselves did a good job, and I enjoyed it at some points. If you'reLet me start off by saying that this movie made me laugh, but I didn't get anything out of it. It lacked a solid storyline and the characters were mediocre. But the actors themselves did a good job, and I enjoyed it at some points. If you're looking for a good family movie, this is a must have. If you just want a movie that could sit on a shelf and you can be proud of, skip this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Feb 22, 2013
Long before being cast in the leading role of the Hunger Games, Josh Hutcherson was still doing movies. One of his first major roles was as the white homie in RV. For those of you who say Robin Williams is done and that he doesn't make funnyLong before being cast in the leading role of the Hunger Games, Josh Hutcherson was still doing movies. One of his first major roles was as the white homie in RV. For those of you who say Robin Williams is done and that he doesn't make funny movies anymore, I guess you haven't seen RV. Unlike Williams previous hits, it's not raunchy and it won't tick off any particular group in America, but it's still a cute comedy, and Williams is as funny as ever. Williams proves in this film, that a good comedian is always funny, and that you don't necessarily need to be raunchy or obscene to be funny. RV was for the most part a family film, with way too many jokes about doody, but it was still good for killing a few hours with a few good laughs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
urieaalAug 16, 2016
My job is not to critique films, food, or movies for a living. However I do like a good laugh and Love absolutely love a great many movies from my life time ( 1982 - current date) bill and ted... love it...city slickers..lightening jack,My job is not to critique films, food, or movies for a living. However I do like a good laugh and Love absolutely love a great many movies from my life time ( 1982 - current date) bill and ted... love it...city slickers..lightening jack, flight of the navigator, gooneys, ghost busters, the matrix, fight club, sto movies, stng movies, a christmas story, btf..

literally if you put micheal j fox or keanu reeves, billy crystal, robin willams, paul hogan, hulk hogan, Harold Ramis, Dan Aykroyd, Bill Murray, steve martin, eddie murphy....

how can you not be entertained by even 1 of these individuals?

they are at least in my 34 current years of life funny, funny people... I mean honestly do i need to make a you tube compilation video with out takes of people shoving fireworks in there anus's and laughing hysteriacally after their friends are rushed to the hospital, Just to make something funny?

I'm not even from the radio show era and i utterly enjoy "when radio was" or old timey radio shows. I'm simply saying most people seem to stupid to "understand slap stick or witty "on the spot" types of humor." I love Mr. bean...(rowan atkinson, no I'm american not british) funnyest guy ever. A good fart joke just makes my day.

If you ca'nt find humor in the smallest things i feel bad for you. Your looking for the next best thing and it simply is never going to happen. You might find the occasional thing funny here and there.

My point though is this: Why read the funnys (comics) if they are not funny... (the problem is you)

/points finger
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews