Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: October 4, 2013
5.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 99 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
29
Mixed:
43
Negative:
27
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
TVJerryOct 7, 2013
Justin Timberlake plays a Princeton student who travels to Costa Rica to confront on-line gambling kingpin Ben Affleck about being cheated. When he gets there, he's offered a part in the game, which turns predictably sour and dangerous. WhileJustin Timberlake plays a Princeton student who travels to Costa Rica to confront on-line gambling kingpin Ben Affleck about being cheated. When he gets there, he's offered a part in the game, which turns predictably sour and dangerous. While there's nothing original, this film is adequate in style and performances. The pacing never lapses and the art direction is attractive. If you enjoy these actors and don't want to see anything else, you won't be bored. You won't be thrilled, either. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
ThegodfathersonOct 4, 2013
By far the biggest shortcoming of the film is the lack of interconnectivity between the gambling world and the characters in the movie itself. Early on, a behind-the-scenes glimpse at the online gaming industry is captivating but the filmBy far the biggest shortcoming of the film is the lack of interconnectivity between the gambling world and the characters in the movie itself. Early on, a behind-the-scenes glimpse at the online gaming industry is captivating but the film never commits to maintaining the insight as the larger crime narrative locks into place. Throughout the film, Thurman attempts to remind viewers that Runner Runner is about gambling through heavy-handed metaphors and exposition that explain the connections between high-stakes poker and high-roller living but none of these ideas come full circle by the end as the story locks into a standard cat and mouse chase. As a result, gambling enthusiasts will likely conclude that Runner Runner is a shallow, and outright superficial, look at their hobby/business while anyone hoping for a sharp-witted look behind-the-scenes will find the film prioritizes generic story beats over innovative drama. Solid performances hint that, somewhere along the line, Thurman lost sight of any captivating hooks in his gambling thriller instead delivering a bland and familiar narrative that, given the on-the-nose messages about striving for greatness, ironically, takes very few risks. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
MovieGuysOct 5, 2013
Ben Affleck as some good appeal here, and JT is pretty decent as well, but the acting can't save this movie. It comes out strong at the beginning, but the plot becomes weak and muddled as the movie drags on. Both actors are just stranded inBen Affleck as some good appeal here, and JT is pretty decent as well, but the acting can't save this movie. It comes out strong at the beginning, but the plot becomes weak and muddled as the movie drags on. Both actors are just stranded in weak material here. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
MarcDoyleOct 8, 2013
It's not a terrible movie as many suggest- it's highly predictable, but Timberlake, Arterton and Affleck are fun to watch in this context. You've got gambling, sex, attractive people in pools, and a smart person negotiating his way out of aIt's not a terrible movie as many suggest- it's highly predictable, but Timberlake, Arterton and Affleck are fun to watch in this context. You've got gambling, sex, attractive people in pools, and a smart person negotiating his way out of a difficult series of circumstances. It's the ultimate popcorn movie that doesn't require much in the way of thinking. If you're up for that sort of thing, this should fill the bill. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
LeZeeJan 3, 2014
I had many laughs while a watch this movie. You know why, for who else it could be, none other than our Ben Affleck. He was in a negative role in the movie but for me he looked more like a chocolate boy who is ready to romance than viciousI had many laughs while a watch this movie. You know why, for who else it could be, none other than our Ben Affleck. He was in a negative role in the movie but for me he looked more like a chocolate boy who is ready to romance than vicious villain. I liked his acting but not as a villain. I am not doubting his capable of performance but I felt the character should have been replaced with another actor. Then the movie would have been in a different position than now.

Justin Timberlake and Gemma Arterton were okay, at least the best parts came from theirs portions. The movie had a good and convincing story but not freshly written script for this particular movie. Throughout it was predictable including the end twist so it is hard to amaze you with its content in anywhere of the length and breadth of the movie. In a simple word to explain the movie, it is like a chess game where two players move their pawns carefully to gain victory over another. The good thing was the locations which are out of usual United States and minus was there's no thrilling stunts or scenes except the ending. For me it was okay movie, can be tried out once, only if you are interested but I won't recommend it to skip either.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
python2000Dec 30, 2013
I never used to understand what critics meant when they said that a movie "never quite knows what it is", then I watched Runner Runner. Justin Timberlake, yes he does acting now, stars as the sort of main Richie Furst who leaves college toI never used to understand what critics meant when they said that a movie "never quite knows what it is", then I watched Runner Runner. Justin Timberlake, yes he does acting now, stars as the sort of main Richie Furst who leaves college to become part of Ben Afflecks business (Batman Industries). While Affleck compensates for pretty much every other performance in the movie. Timberlake just makes them look a lot better. It's not that he can't act he just actually he can't act it's as simple as that. Gemma Arterton plays the girlfriend of every male character in the movie, and is obviously still trying to recover from St Trinians 2, but does it well. With the exception of the slightly intriguing premise (which probably looked good on paper) that is the only positive thing about Runner Runner. Everything else mainly the plot is very easily forgettable or all over the place or both. It goes from drama to thriller to romance to drama to action to crime and back to romance, that's only the first 10 minutes. I would explain how varied the whole movie is but I can't remember more than 20 minutes of the 100 minute runtime. However I can recall being slightly entertained or at least not bored. Which was actually quite surprising because there was not one explosion, a rare thing to see in any movie nowadays. Actually I'm not 100% sure there were no explosions because it was so easily forgettable. Undoubtedly not worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Viper8787Sep 8, 2014
Some really great actors in this movie but they didn't work well together and didn't make a good movie. It was very predictable with nothing interesting really happening and it never got my attention like I wanted it too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DCEdmondsNov 13, 2014
"Runner Runner" 10 Scale Rating: 5.0 (Mediocre) ...

The Good: Despite the critics, Affleck wasn't bad in this. He actually had some great dialogue and delivered it well. The premise itself is a solid one and I was intrigued. The Bad:
"Runner Runner" 10 Scale Rating: 5.0 (Mediocre) ...

The Good: Despite the critics, Affleck wasn't bad in this. He actually had some great dialogue and delivered it well. The premise itself is a solid one and I was intrigued.

The Bad: You've seen it all before ... but way better. The plot itself unravels and stops making sense 3/4 of the way through the film. The end was lacking and seemed too neat and tidy ... almost rushed. Timberlake was hit and miss and Arterton (sadly) was mere eye candy.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews