Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 88 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Princeton grad student Richie, believing he's been swindled, travels to Costa Rica to confront online gambling tycoon Ivan Block. Richie is seduced by Block's promise of immense wealth, until he learns the disturbing truth about his benefactor. When the FBI tries to coerce Richie to helpPrinceton grad student Richie, believing he's been swindled, travels to Costa Rica to confront online gambling tycoon Ivan Block. Richie is seduced by Block's promise of immense wealth, until he learns the disturbing truth about his benefactor. When the FBI tries to coerce Richie to help bring down Block, Richie faces his biggest gamble ever: attempting to outmaneuver the two forces closing in on him. Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 31
  2. Negative: 11 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Sep 28, 2013
    60
    Runner Runner starts off with a solid draw, then folds on the flop.
  2. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Oct 4, 2013
    50
    The ultimately forgettable Runner Runner is, for a gambling film, markedly risk-averse.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 4, 2013
    50
    Various subplots are given short shrift and the whole thing feels more like a Cliff's Notes version of a longer piece than an actual finished motion picture.
  4. Reviewed by: Xan Brooks
    Sep 26, 2013
    40
    This is a lazy, trashy film that barely goes through the motions.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Oct 3, 2013
    40
    This is the kind of movie that, in order to puff itself up, quotes Meyer Lansky, Napoleon and Native American sayings. But according to Hoyle — as poker players would say — the film really just does boilerplate Hollywood drama.
  6. 38
    Affleck? You never believe a word he says, not a gesture. This is the sort of acting he did in the sort of movies he made before he started writing and directing his own movies — bad.
  7. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Oct 3, 2013
    25
    In its early moments, the movie evokes everything from "The Social Network" to "Casino." By the end, the film has become as exciting as a game of Old Maid. R-rated thrillers are hardly ever this dull and listless, but this movie manages to eradicate all of Timberlake’s charisma and makes you flash back to Affleck’s "Paycheck"/"Gigli" era. How does this even happen?

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 19
  2. Negative: 6 out of 19
  1. May 4, 2015
    10
    ore. You can tell all of her songs came from the heart. The only thing that I have to say is that I don't think "Run The World (Girls)" fitsore. You can tell all of her songs came from the heart. The only thing that I have to say is that I don't think "Run The World (Girls)" fits into the album AT ALL. Other than that, the album is flawle Expand
  2. May 4, 2015
    10
    adorei mt bom re co me n do muito ahahaha adorie beijos justin me liga amanha para podermos tomar vodka com gelo seco te adoro adeus hahahadorei mt bom re co me n do muito ahahaha adorie beijos justin me liga amanha para podermos tomar vodka com gelo seco te adoro adeus hahah eijos patrao do mars Expand
  3. Jan 3, 2014
    6
    I had many laughs while a watch this movie. You know why, for who else it could be, none other than our Ben Affleck. He was in a negative roleI had many laughs while a watch this movie. You know why, for who else it could be, none other than our Ben Affleck. He was in a negative role in the movie but for me he looked more like a chocolate boy who is ready to romance than vicious villain. I liked his acting but not as a villain. I am not doubting his capable of performance but I felt the character should have been replaced with another actor. Then the movie would have been in a different position than now.

    Justin Timberlake and Gemma Arterton were okay, at least the best parts came from theirs portions. The movie had a good and convincing story but not freshly written script for this particular movie. Throughout it was predictable including the end twist so it is hard to amaze you with its content in anywhere of the length and breadth of the movie. In a simple word to explain the movie, it is like a chess game where two players move their pawns carefully to gain victory over another. The good thing was the locations which are out of usual United States and minus was there's no thrilling stunts or scenes except the ending. For me it was okay movie, can be tried out once, only if you are interested but I won't recommend it to skip either.
    Collapse
  4. Sep 8, 2014
    5
    Some really great actors in this movie but they didn't work well together and didn't make a good movie. It was very predictable with nothingSome really great actors in this movie but they didn't work well together and didn't make a good movie. It was very predictable with nothing interesting really happening and it never got my attention like I wanted it too. Expand
  5. Oct 4, 2013
    5
    By far the biggest shortcoming of the film is the lack of interconnectivity between the gambling world and the characters in the movie itself.By far the biggest shortcoming of the film is the lack of interconnectivity between the gambling world and the characters in the movie itself. Early on, a behind-the-scenes glimpse at the online gaming industry is captivating but the film never commits to maintaining the insight as the larger crime narrative locks into place. Throughout the film, Thurman attempts to remind viewers that Runner Runner is about gambling through heavy-handed metaphors and exposition that explain the connections between high-stakes poker and high-roller living but none of these ideas come full circle by the end as the story locks into a standard cat and mouse chase. As a result, gambling enthusiasts will likely conclude that Runner Runner is a shallow, and outright superficial, look at their hobby/business while anyone hoping for a sharp-witted look behind-the-scenes will find the film prioritizes generic story beats over innovative drama. Solid performances hint that, somewhere along the line, Thurman lost sight of any captivating hooks in his gambling thriller instead delivering a bland and familiar narrative that, given the on-the-nose messages about striving for greatness, ironically, takes very few risks. Expand
  6. Oct 8, 2013
    3
    Although I'm not too sure with the chemistry between a Grammy-winning pop megastar and a Oscar-winning actor (who's going to be in the Man ofAlthough I'm not too sure with the chemistry between a Grammy-winning pop megastar and a Oscar-winning actor (who's going to be in the Man of Steel sequel as the new Clooney *ahem... Batman). JT has some huge talented skills, but he can't act in a traditional style of a poker-esque movie. Runner, Runner has a list of great cast like Gemma Atkinson and Anthony Mackie, but there's nothing new in the movie. I feel very disappointed at Justin Timberlake's movie career status because he's not yet a full Hollywood A-lister and just like Taylor Kirsch and Colin Farrell and even Ryan Reynolds, he's just not making a name for himself when it comes to becoming a musician turned actor. Affleck's performance in Runner Runner is lesser than Gigli and more than Argo. But I think he took a few steps backwards before he even got nominated for his work in Argo. It was supposed to be a good thriller, but then again I just might go see "Gravity" instead. I think I should wait for a rental, but I don't wanna see Runner Runner right now. If you like poker movies, try "Leaving Las Vegas" or "Casino Royale" and maybe you're just in time to play the cards right. Expand
  7. Nov 26, 2013
    0
    one smelly crack word.................................................................................................................... Ben Affleck.

See all 19 User Reviews

Trailers