Runner Runner Image
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 96 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Princeton grad student Richie, believing he's been swindled, travels to Costa Rica to confront online gambling tycoon Ivan Block. Richie is seduced by Block's promise of immense wealth, until he learns the disturbing truth about his benefactor. When the FBI tries to coerce Richie to helpPrinceton grad student Richie, believing he's been swindled, travels to Costa Rica to confront online gambling tycoon Ivan Block. Richie is seduced by Block's promise of immense wealth, until he learns the disturbing truth about his benefactor. When the FBI tries to coerce Richie to help bring down Block, Richie faces his biggest gamble ever: attempting to outmaneuver the two forces closing in on him. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 31
  2. Negative: 11 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Sep 28, 2013
    60
    Runner Runner starts off with a solid draw, then folds on the flop.
  2. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Oct 4, 2013
    50
    The ultimately forgettable Runner Runner is, for a gambling film, markedly risk-averse.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 4, 2013
    50
    Various subplots are given short shrift and the whole thing feels more like a Cliff's Notes version of a longer piece than an actual finished motion picture.
  4. Reviewed by: Xan Brooks
    Sep 26, 2013
    40
    This is a lazy, trashy film that barely goes through the motions.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Oct 3, 2013
    40
    This is the kind of movie that, in order to puff itself up, quotes Meyer Lansky, Napoleon and Native American sayings. But according to Hoyle — as poker players would say — the film really just does boilerplate Hollywood drama.
  6. 38
    Affleck? You never believe a word he says, not a gesture. This is the sort of acting he did in the sort of movies he made before he started writing and directing his own movies — bad.
  7. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Oct 3, 2013
    25
    In its early moments, the movie evokes everything from "The Social Network" to "Casino." By the end, the film has become as exciting as a game of Old Maid. R-rated thrillers are hardly ever this dull and listless, but this movie manages to eradicate all of Timberlake’s charisma and makes you flash back to Affleck’s "Paycheck"/"Gigli" era. How does this even happen?

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 18
  2. Negative: 5 out of 18
  1. Jun 15, 2015
    10
    Foxes é maravilhosa. Eu amo tudo o que ela faz, tudo bem feito, impecável. Coisa de artista de verdade, é uma pena ver que não tem oFoxes é maravilhosa. Eu amo tudo o que ela faz, tudo bem feito, impecável. Coisa de artista de verdade, é uma pena ver que não tem o reconhecimento merecido. Expand
  2. Dec 23, 2015
    8
    The mannered speech is fun, the players are charismatic, and director Brad Furman maintains an agreeably brisk pace.

    Watch this movie here
    The mannered speech is fun, the players are charismatic, and director Brad Furman maintains an agreeably brisk pace.

    Watch this movie here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-29d690-Runner-Runner-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
    Expand
  3. Jan 3, 2014
    6
    I had many laughs while a watch this movie. You know why, for who else it could be, none other than our Ben Affleck. He was in a negative roleI had many laughs while a watch this movie. You know why, for who else it could be, none other than our Ben Affleck. He was in a negative role in the movie but for me he looked more like a chocolate boy who is ready to romance than vicious villain. I liked his acting but not as a villain. I am not doubting his capable of performance but I felt the character should have been replaced with another actor. Then the movie would have been in a different position than now.

    Justin Timberlake and Gemma Arterton were okay, at least the best parts came from theirs portions. The movie had a good and convincing story but not freshly written script for this particular movie. Throughout it was predictable including the end twist so it is hard to amaze you with its content in anywhere of the length and breadth of the movie. In a simple word to explain the movie, it is like a chess game where two players move their pawns carefully to gain victory over another. The good thing was the locations which are out of usual United States and minus was there's no thrilling stunts or scenes except the ending. For me it was okay movie, can be tried out once, only if you are interested but I won't recommend it to skip either.
    Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2014
    5
    "Runner Runner" 10 Scale Rating: 5.0 (Mediocre) ...

    The Good: Despite the critics, Affleck wasn't bad in this. He actually had some great
    "Runner Runner" 10 Scale Rating: 5.0 (Mediocre) ...

    The Good: Despite the critics, Affleck wasn't bad in this. He actually had some great dialogue and delivered it well. The premise itself is a solid one and I was intrigued.

    The Bad: You've seen it all before ... but way better. The plot itself unravels and stops making sense 3/4 of the way through the film. The end was lacking and seemed too neat and tidy ... almost rushed. Timberlake was hit and miss and Arterton (sadly) was mere eye candy.
    Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2013
    5
    Ben Affleck as some good appeal here, and JT is pretty decent as well, but the acting can't save this movie. It comes out strong at theBen Affleck as some good appeal here, and JT is pretty decent as well, but the acting can't save this movie. It comes out strong at the beginning, but the plot becomes weak and muddled as the movie drags on. Both actors are just stranded in weak material here. Collapse
  6. Jan 17, 2014
    3
    Terrible movie, I went to the theater when it was out did not know what this was seen it afterwards I felt like my life was wasted watchingTerrible movie, I went to the theater when it was out did not know what this was seen it afterwards I felt like my life was wasted watching this. The story is very Terrible and Justin Timberlake acting is the worst I seen and I watched the love guru and in time(both staring him and where terrible). Ben Affleck acted great although that did not help the movie it self. Overall this movie is about a college student who got scammed on internet gambling and tracks down the guy who owns the site (Affeck) then he hires him to work online for him then the rest of the movie gets very stupid and terrible the end. Expand
  7. Nov 26, 2013
    0
    one smelly crack word.................................................................................................................... Ben Affleck.

See all 18 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: September 6, 2013
    Watch new trailers for "Robocop," "Gravity," "Runner Runner," "Nymphomaniac," "Neighbors," and more, and catch up on the week's movie news, including new casting announcements for the "Fifty Shades of Grey" adaptation.
  2. Ranked: Movies Based on Philip K. Dick Stories

    Ranked: Movies Based on Philip K. Dick Stories Image
    Published: March 2, 2011
    "The Adjustment Bureau," in theaters Friday, is just one of many movies based on stories by writer Philip K. Dick. We examine Hollywood's fascination with the sci-fi author, from "Blade Runner" to "Impostor."
  3. Film Friday (7/24): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/24): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 24, 2015
    Get an update on the latest film news and watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at SPECTRE, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2, The Good Dinosaur, Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials, and much more.
  4. Film Friday (5/22): This Week's New Movies & Trailers

    Film Friday (5/22): This Week's New Movies & Trailers Image
    Published: May 22, 2015
    Find a guide to this weekend's new theatrical releases and watch all of the week's movie trailers, including new looks at Joe Wright's Pan, Danny Boyle's Steve Jobs, Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials, and much more.