New Line Cinema | Release Date: February 24, 2006
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 340 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
307
Mixed:
10
Negative:
23
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
ThegodfathersonOct 24, 2013
A fresh crime dubstep movie. It has its touch with a pop culture mix and a lot of blood. I loved Running Scared, it's a movie with a lot of brilliant storyline and an unusual sprite of blood and guns which is not for the little ones or anyoneA fresh crime dubstep movie. It has its touch with a pop culture mix and a lot of blood. I loved Running Scared, it's a movie with a lot of brilliant storyline and an unusual sprite of blood and guns which is not for the little ones or anyone who doesn't like splatters. Paul Walker is very good, loved him as Brian in Fast and Furious and loved him in Fast Five. People get shot in the ass, head and even eyes! It's crazy but I don't know why I loved this movie. It's awesome! The story is gritty and the suspense is freezing and nail biting till the end. Vera Farminga was excellent as Walker's wife. The old school Tarantino violent setting with an absurd amount of flashback usage in the making of this film! A very old school action druggie movie about a gun that gets stolen that could lead to a lot problems with cops and Pau Walker. A kid is shooting his- okay, enough spoilers! Watch the movie! Not for the people that don't like movies! Awesome, jarring and nail biting, Running Scared is excellent. Expand
36 of 36 users found this helpful360
All this user's reviews
10
ZackG.Feb 27, 2006
Genius, audacious, in your face filmmaking that we won't see again for a long time. Critics who believe they need to warn the public about our decaying morality will never get behind it, but fans of pure, edge of the seat cinema will be Genius, audacious, in your face filmmaking that we won't see again for a long time. Critics who believe they need to warn the public about our decaying morality will never get behind it, but fans of pure, edge of the seat cinema will be well satiated by the time the unique animated fairy tale credits hit the screen. Ignore the naysayers and go experience the most visionary movie of the year. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JeffS.Jun 8, 2006
What a pleasant surprise! When I usually watch a movie I have the movie playing on the big cinema display and web surf on the laptop, but this movie kept me glued to it the entire time. Great over the top action with over the top characters. What a pleasant surprise! When I usually watch a movie I have the movie playing on the big cinema display and web surf on the laptop, but this movie kept me glued to it the entire time. Great over the top action with over the top characters. Fun stuff! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SusanP.Jul 7, 2006
I loved it. I found the suspense almost unbearable (in a very good way). The unforgettable sequence with Oleg's sick kidnapper's could be a classic short film all on its own. The plot of the movie was not perfectly logical, and the I loved it. I found the suspense almost unbearable (in a very good way). The unforgettable sequence with Oleg's sick kidnapper's could be a classic short film all on its own. The plot of the movie was not perfectly logical, and the violence (other than in the above-mentioned kidnapping, where all violence was merely implied) too graphic for some tastes, but I found the movie more viscerally gripping than any I've seen in years. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PatrickS.Feb 26, 2006
First of all amazing movie i love paul walker acting he got that something that puts me on the egde of my seat OOOHHH by the way ladies is show his HoneyBuns. this movie is like sin city with hostel boold wise this movie has A class acting First of all amazing movie i love paul walker acting he got that something that puts me on the egde of my seat OOOHHH by the way ladies is show his HoneyBuns. this movie is like sin city with hostel boold wise this movie has A class acting strong story at a fast pace. the characters are very interesting, in different ways compelling. This movie has some major twist that u won't expect. This movie has so much Twisted violence u wonder how can a whole town be this bad and the sidestorys are great to like the mod'dirty cops'hookers'gangs'and F##K up Sicko parnets. this movie will get good world of mouth .What a way to start the year. Go check it out now!!!!! P.S u wont be disapponted hope there a unrated version!!!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CourtR.Jul 30, 2006
I think that Paul Walker was great in the movie and i really enjoyed watching him in it. I say if you dont like it dont see it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JeremyB.Aug 15, 2007
Great movie, very well done, one of the most entertaining action suspense movies I've seen in a while.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
M9kiJun 20, 2013
Best movie yes hes one of my favorite actors,this movie is amazing it makes kill bill look like sesamy street. Buy this move its worth the buy.Love everything about this.
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
8
MarcD.Feb 26, 2006
Definitely reminiscent of early Tarantino classics like "Pulp Fiction" and "True Romance." I was expecting nothing from this film and was pleasantly surprised. Walker is solid, but Vera Farmiga as his wife is incredibly solid. Her subplot Definitely reminiscent of early Tarantino classics like "Pulp Fiction" and "True Romance." I was expecting nothing from this film and was pleasantly surprised. Walker is solid, but Vera Farmiga as his wife is incredibly solid. Her subplot (the "Hoboken" episode) is what set this movie off into Tarantino-land, and she's perfect for the part. If you want to just go out and have a lot of fun with a movie, see this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkB.Apr 1, 2006
Writer-director Wayne Kramer previously gave us the romantic, Vegas-set crime drama The Cooler, which among other things is notable for featuring the most blatant deux ex machina ending I've seen in any film made in the last thirty Writer-director Wayne Kramer previously gave us the romantic, Vegas-set crime drama The Cooler, which among other things is notable for featuring the most blatant deux ex machina ending I've seen in any film made in the last thirty years, which nevertheless worked nicely in context for three reasons: 1.) Kramer was obviously AWARE that it was ridiculous, but plowed through anyway, 2.) even more than Woody Allen's acclaimed Match Point, The Cooler was a movie about blind dumb luck and so the twist was entirely in keeping with the theme, and 3.) Kramer gets you to love and care about the William H. Macy and Maria Bello characters so deeply that you joyfully accept anything that allows them a happy ending. In his hyperactive, adrenaline-and-steroid-fueled thriller Running Scared, Kramer attempts to make an entire movie with the tone and feel of The Cooler's surprise climax, and you've got to admire the man's sheer chutzpah. Paul Walker plays a low-life petty crook who spends an After Hours-like night in urban hell trying to retrieve a hot gun; in contriving his journey Kramer features tons of bloody shootouts and other methods for his scuzzball cast to decimate each other with, punctuated by uses of the F-word and its brothers, sisters and cousins that would make Tony Montana blush (I counted four variants on rhymes-with-truck in one sentence!) and numerous plot elements dealing with various types of child abuse. Clearly there are two ways to respond to Kramer's methodology: you can either be thoroughly repulsed and offended by it (and if you were I honestly can't blame you)...or you can do as I did: take it as an astonishing black comedy and grin nonstop through its two hours. (Humble advice for Kramer: if someone praises you for this movie being intentionally funny, and you didn't intend it that way...smile, take the compliment, and shut up! However, from noting who he dedicated his film to in the closing credits, I strongly suspect that Kramer may be taking himself far more seriously than I did.) My personal tolerance level for movie gore isn't what it was 20 years ago, but Kramer is so wildly over-the-top in his presentation that Running Scared has much the same exhiliarating effect as the House of Blue Leaves finale of Kill Bill, Volume 1 and nearly ALL of Sin City. And Kramer seems to have fashioned a movie that's pitched exactly at the level of Paul Walker's acting style: in movies like Into The Blue, Walker hilariously rattles-through-his-lines-without-using-punctuation-or-taking-a-breath-or-anything, and Running Scared is so maniacally paced that the subject and star are a perfect match. Granted that 2006 is still very young, but any year in which the Vice President of the United States shoots somebody is one in which absolutely anything can happen; even so, get your affairs in order, stock your pantry shelves and watch for signs of dogs and cats living together, because any year in which Walker gives two good performances (here and in Disney's Eight Below) and Julianne Moore gives a really terrible one (in Freedomland) is a year in which the Apocalypse is more likely than usual to happen! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobT.Jun 20, 2006
This film is the perfect celluloid example of Murphy's Law: If something can go wrong, it wil... and then that'll go wrong too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobertoP.Aug 2, 2006
I found it suspenseful and thrilling. While there are a few times in the movie that I didn't quite understand why the characters did certain things (thus complicating their own lives) I was able to suspend my disbelief and enjoy the I found it suspenseful and thrilling. While there are a few times in the movie that I didn't quite understand why the characters did certain things (thus complicating their own lives) I was able to suspend my disbelief and enjoy the action. [***SPOILERS***] When you get to the end credits you'll realize that you just finished watching a violent somewhat twisted fairy tale. Definitely enjoyable if you don't mind violence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickB.Feb 24, 2006
The most violent, action packed, tense movie I have seen maybe ever. Seriously thought it would be okay at best and came away really liking it. This movie is gonna get big on word of mouth. Definitely worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CamK.Feb 25, 2006
This movie just didn't let up. Non-stop action and plot twists for 2 hours. Yes, it's maybe a little too stylish and violent for it's own benefit, but I throughly enjoyed this gritty flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KobeeH.Mar 7, 2006
Thank you. A movie that isn't afraid to tell a gritty, surreal, and truly visceral story. Running Scared will probably stay under the radar for alot of viewers, but isn't that always the way of some of the more original and bolder Thank you. A movie that isn't afraid to tell a gritty, surreal, and truly visceral story. Running Scared will probably stay under the radar for alot of viewers, but isn't that always the way of some of the more original and bolder movies? But straight up, this movie is f***ing awesome! Excellent story and directing by Wayne Kramer, whose last movie, The Cooler, was another hot one that went under the radar. Whatever though, just keep em coming brother, you have fans! Highly recommended, pass it on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NeuroticRampageApr 30, 2007
Acting: 8/10 Plot: 6.5/10 Action: 9/10 Value: 8/10 (as in watching it again) I'd recommend this movie if you liked: - The Departed - Crank - Training Day All in all, it's a rent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
lol.pwn?Mar 7, 2009
Great movie, I would have given it a ten but some of the violence seemed out of place and uneccessary near the end .
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomB.Feb 24, 2006
Intense ... not for the theatre crowd. Action from start to finish. Decent acting, OK plot, semi-annoying cinematography. Did I mention action? If you know what you are getting when you buy your ticket, you will not be disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
OrenK.Mar 12, 2006
Absolutely beautiful cinematography - the acting was fantastic, and it definitely kept you on your toes. Something few people have mentioned but which struck me was the music - excellently written, very reminiscent of Scarface. Very Absolutely beautiful cinematography - the acting was fantastic, and it definitely kept you on your toes. Something few people have mentioned but which struck me was the music - excellently written, very reminiscent of Scarface. Very enjoyable, well worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LeroyJ.Jun 14, 2006
it had everything you could of wanted in a movie. Good looking lady and a lot of gun play. a very good time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RobZ.Jun 6, 2006
Pulp Fiction part 2. Great movie and believe it or not, Paul Walker kicks ass. Not for the faint of heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SeanF.Jul 2, 2006
Not very realistic at all, cartoonish at times, but a very interesting and entertaining movie. Definetly Tarantino influenced, but I didn't think it was a rip-off. I hadn't seen Paul Walker do anything good prior to this so I was Not very realistic at all, cartoonish at times, but a very interesting and entertaining movie. Definetly Tarantino influenced, but I didn't think it was a rip-off. I hadn't seen Paul Walker do anything good prior to this so I was kinda amazed at how much I liked this all the while I was watching it. If there is any criticism it is that the movie at times seems like a bunch of different parts not stitched together all that well. But other than that it's a wild, fast paced ride through a dark and zany world of violence and mayhem. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattB.Sep 18, 2006
What a bunch of dumb ass reviewers! This flick was a thrill ride to say the least. Sure there was a lot of bad language and excessive violence, but that goes with the territory, and fits the storyline perfectly. I agree, the acting and What a bunch of dumb ass reviewers! This flick was a thrill ride to say the least. Sure there was a lot of bad language and excessive violence, but that goes with the territory, and fits the storyline perfectly. I agree, the acting and directing wasn't the best, but this didn't detract from an overall enjoyable movie experience. Come on people, when are we going to get reviews which tell people how entertaining the movie is for genre and type of film you can expect? This is great hardcore, gritty and unpredictable thriller and deserves a "must-see" status. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JustinM.Apr 7, 2007
What a tremendous ride and WHAT a surprise! Brooding, pulpy and violent - all true - but these are the elements that make it so brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyencokeJun 23, 2006
Why is it getting all of these 0's? This movie was really good, acting was good, action was decent. I mean come on. I was on the edge of my seat for the whole movie. Awesome. Also, anybody bitching about the "gore", you really gotta Why is it getting all of these 0's? This movie was really good, acting was good, action was decent. I mean come on. I was on the edge of my seat for the whole movie. Awesome. Also, anybody bitching about the "gore", you really gotta grow up. This movie had nothing in it to even be close to gory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TroyS.Jul 11, 2006
This was pretty trippy. This to me was a funhouse kind of film. The story was OK for a B plus movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EricdNov 12, 2006
I wasn't at all sure that I'd like this movie. But it was very entertaining. Definitely will keep your attention. The acting is good, Paul Walker did a really good job. Worth watching for sure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful