TriStar Pictures | Release Date: October 20, 2006
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 66 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
36
Mixed:
14
Negative:
16
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
TonyB.Feb 9, 2007
This is one of those movies I found to be way underrated. The acting in this movie was definitely top notch however I do agree you don't really care about the characters and I definitely wasn't moved by the film in anyway. It was This is one of those movies I found to be way underrated. The acting in this movie was definitely top notch however I do agree you don't really care about the characters and I definitely wasn't moved by the film in anyway. It was still an entertaining movie with strong acting definitely worth a viewing and a much higher review. Though it definitely doesn't stand up to the other films in this genre such as The Royal Tenenbaums. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AbbyROct 20, 2006
"Where would we be without our painful childhoods?" A strong case of innocence lost, Running with Scissors will leave an imprint on you and remind you of your own dysfunctional family. Hopefully in this case you will reminisce and laugh. "Where would we be without our painful childhoods?" A strong case of innocence lost, Running with Scissors will leave an imprint on you and remind you of your own dysfunctional family. Hopefully in this case you will reminisce and laugh. Whether you like it or love it, miss this film and risk being the only one who didn't see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.May 1, 2007
There's nothing wrong with the cast of "Running with Scissors"; every character, no matter how eccentric, maudlin, or downright improbable(while not entirely believable, especially Dr. Finch) are indeed colorful and definitely not There's nothing wrong with the cast of "Running with Scissors"; every character, no matter how eccentric, maudlin, or downright improbable(while not entirely believable, especially Dr. Finch) are indeed colorful and definitely not boring, two essentials for a successful comedy. Is Deidre Burroughs(Annette Bening) estranged from her son(Joseph Cross) because he lied about her being a bad mother, or that he aired their dirty laundry for all the world to see? We despise her. We mock her, too. But if Deidre was, say, Anne Waldman(you should read "Marriage: A Sentence"), would we hate her less for handing over Augusten to her shrink(Brian Cox)? Despite his bad childhood, it's sort of cruel to expose his mother as a literary lightweight; writing being such a personal and vulnerable act, akin to moving your bowels in the nude(if you're bad), and Burroughs leaves the bathroom door wide open. In spite of the author's willingness to humiliate his mom(who to be fair, was brainwashed by a quack), "Running with Scissors" is on occasion, riotously funny, and has a sneaky way of wriggling its way into your heart(thanks to Jill Clayburgh). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MissyB.Feb 24, 2008
I realize that all books and films are open to the cruelest of critisism, but it is worse by far for a Memoir to be judged as they are. As if they are simply a fictional story which we are to rate for entertainment value. Worse, still are I realize that all books and films are open to the cruelest of critisism, but it is worse by far for a Memoir to be judged as they are. As if they are simply a fictional story which we are to rate for entertainment value. Worse, still are comments from over sensitives that nit-picked the uncomfortable sexual 'gay sex' lessons given Augusten by Bookman. I have read how 'disgusting, horrible, offensive, trashy' those particular scenes were. Pardon, they are MEANT to be! This is the story of this man's childhood, not the dirty little paragraphs written for shock value, and to offend as many as possible. It's not entertaining enough? Are you serious? Nevermind that it IS amazing Nd beautifully adapted, it, again, is non-fiction. Are we really that arrogant now that we feel OWED by a man opening his past pain? He should make us laugh MORE, he should downplay the extent to which Bookman abused him because it may cause some to be 'uncomfortable'? As I said, it SHOULD make us queasy, but it should also amaze us that Augusten escaped with his sanity. And I for one happen to have the same twisted sense of humorbecause of and in spite of the terrible childhood that I myself had. Perhaps those who were lucky enough to be raised by Ward and June Cleaver can sit up high enough above the rest of us and judge our abuses as literary trash, but I would have advice for them: slide right by the best-sellers and locate the 'un-trashy" romance "novels" with the rippling muscle man tossing around the tight bodice wearing, helpless maiden, enjoy a 'buy two, get one FREE!' offer and, with your herbal tea, escape your reality for the 45 minutes it would take to read such 'high end literature'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EBBOct 20, 2006
It truly affected me. WOW!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelL.Dec 8, 2006
At first, I didn't much like this film. I love the book, and felt--and maybe still feel--the material doesn't translate to film. While the book offered a glimmer of hope amid the crazed dysfunction, the film seemed merely sad. At first, I didn't much like this film. I love the book, and felt--and maybe still feel--the material doesn't translate to film. While the book offered a glimmer of hope amid the crazed dysfunction, the film seemed merely sad. However, by film's end, I was a believer, and I'm not sure why. I found myself moved almost against my will. Bening (and I'm not a huge fan) is superb, as is Jill Clayburg. Wood is wonderful, and Brian Cox turns in yet another underrated, pitch-perfect performance. I recommend it--just realize it pales in comparrison to Augusten Borrough's book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillyS.Oct 30, 2006
Running With Scissors is the first movie I've seen where every actor in the film deserves year-end recognition. The story itself is just a series of scenes put together to showcase the brilliant acting of the whole cast, and what a Running With Scissors is the first movie I've seen where every actor in the film deserves year-end recognition. The story itself is just a series of scenes put together to showcase the brilliant acting of the whole cast, and what a showcase it is! Joesph Cross is Augusten Burroughs, the narrator and heart of the movie, and he plays it with perfect detachment considering the people who share his world. Annette Bening is his mother whose meltdown is hysterically heartbreaking and lays claim to another Oscar nomination. Brian Cox has never been better, the same for Gwyneth Paltrow, Evan Rachel Wood, Alec Baldwin and Joseph Fiennes, who are all given award worthy screen time. But I must say, with all these performances to savor, it's none other than Jill Clayburgh who absolutely melts your heart as the "Dark Shadows" loving- Kibble eating loonie who is really the unlikely rock in Augusten's world. If she doesn't get an Oscar nomination for supporting actress there is no God. If you love great acting, this is the movie to see!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
timrFeb 4, 2009
A great story set to a great soundtrack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaLOct 19, 2006
"Scissors" is a highly ambitious film, so stylized with music and glossy editing that even fans of unconventional cinema may be surprised since it ends with an emotional release instead of a plot driven one unlike most Hollywood films. But "Scissors" is a highly ambitious film, so stylized with music and glossy editing that even fans of unconventional cinema may be surprised since it ends with an emotional release instead of a plot driven one unlike most Hollywood films. But technical aspects do not make a movie alone, the entire cast delivers each performance with deft handling despite their character's agony. No wonder there are already Oscar cries for Bening. Ryan Murphy penned a lovely though complex screenplay, and is ambitious with his directorial debut. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrianFOct 23, 2006
Not a flawless movie, but not a total washout. Murphy plays it a little safe, filing down the sharper edges of the memoir. There should definitely be some Oscar nominations in these performances, especially Bening and Clayburgh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HannaH.Jan 19, 2007
Extremely funny. A very appropriate cast for the characters depicted in the memoir. two thumbs up!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
kaylap.Oct 15, 2008
Its a brutally honest tale of oe boys adolecents to teenage experiences. and ab fab!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinM.Nov 22, 2006
I found this film deeply moving and tragic, while still keeping an absurdist view of the writer's circumstances. I'm perplexed by the bimodal reviews, as I found many of the performances, particularly Annete Bening's, Joseph I found this film deeply moving and tragic, while still keeping an absurdist view of the writer's circumstances. I'm perplexed by the bimodal reviews, as I found many of the performances, particularly Annete Bening's, Joseph Fienne's, Jill Clayburgh's and Evan Rachel Wood's most certainly Oscar worthy. I noted that the audience at times were laughing at the screen when I felt something more tragic occurring. Perhaps this is a justification for mixed reactions. However, as oddball as the characters were, I felt they did ring true, especially through the eyes of the misfit lead, abandoned by his psychotic mother. Since I actually know people as strange as these characters, it didn't seem so unbelievable to me. In fact, this coming of age tale reminded me of American Beauty. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
gazebo09Aug 7, 2013
People who don't deal with mental illness or dysfunctional family members will not be able to relate to this movie. They just won't understand the emotions and thoughts a person would go through. I found the book to be far superior than thePeople who don't deal with mental illness or dysfunctional family members will not be able to relate to this movie. They just won't understand the emotions and thoughts a person would go through. I found the book to be far superior than the movie, but having said that it was still worth watching, I thought the actors did a great job portraying such flawed colourful characters. Also I don't see how in any way this could be classified as a comedy, this is a serious film portraying serious issues. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pdw123Sep 19, 2016
To me, it's truly amazing how the critics and the critical sites (like rotten tomatoes) can be so HORRIBLY WRONG about this film, and how the viewers can be RIGHT. It makes me wonder if all the national reviewers have upper middle classTo me, it's truly amazing how the critics and the critical sites (like rotten tomatoes) can be so HORRIBLY WRONG about this film, and how the viewers can be RIGHT. It makes me wonder if all the national reviewers have upper middle class dysfunctional families of their own, so perhaps the truth about neglectful child rearing hurts a little too much and hits a little too close to home. Ryan Murphy is a MASTERFUL DIRECTOR and has created a MASTERPIECE, period! ALso, critics complaining that Murphy didn't follow Augusten's book are ludicrous since Augusten says point blank on the DVD that Murphy was the one he wanted to option the book to, after many years of searching for one who would honor his work. Thus, critics need to get a clue there also. Finally, all the performances here (especially by Bening, Cox, and Clayburgh) are oscar-worthy, powerhouse performances. The Bill Evans, Vince Guaraldi soundtrack is a powerhouse soundtrack and unique for a film these days, especially for ones that they bathe in Danny Elfmann instrumentations and 70's rock and I'm not knockin' that music but I'm just a-sayin'. Anyone who grew up in any dysfunctional family should watch this film, and critics need to go back to studying their navels (perhaps in their respective "masturbatoriums" as per Dr. Brian Cox) and eulogizing their crappy blockbuster sequels, period! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews