User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 133 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 133
  2. Negative: 21 out of 133
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JamesD
    Aug 12, 2007
    5
    I'm the type of guy who **loves** the idea of Tucker + Chan teaming up in a buddy bust-em-up action movie. I've waited for this movie since Rush Hour 2 with high hopes that it would be the best of the series. The first Rush Hour was the funnest, the second had a bigger grander scope and this one was just a big mess. I didn't know what was going on (story-wise) for most of I'm the type of guy who **loves** the idea of Tucker + Chan teaming up in a buddy bust-em-up action movie. I've waited for this movie since Rush Hour 2 with high hopes that it would be the best of the series. The first Rush Hour was the funnest, the second had a bigger grander scope and this one was just a big mess. I didn't know what was going on (story-wise) for most of the movie (until 2/3rds the way through they explain it.. and then it's still stupid and poorly connected) and the camera angles, while cool, were edited too tightly (in a bad way) which made the whole movie appear rushed. The comedy felt too forced most of the time and most of the scenes were far too shallow to show off either of the stars' talents. The most depressing part of the movie was Jackie Chan's performance, which was weak to say the least. Even if he doesn't look 53, he acted like he was in this movie. Most of his fight scenes were lame and there were no memorable moments to be had. He needs a successor badly, but I don't know if anyone could ever take his place. I had to see this film because I saw the first 2 and because I love Jackie Chan and the type of movie this is. I hope the buddy cop movie genre never dies, but after seeing this movie I think it may just one day. Do your self a favor and rent this movie when it comes out if you really must see it. :( Expand
  2. CiaranG.
    Aug 19, 2007
    6
    I've seen funnier and more thrilling films in my life but this film did the trick for a good night out at the cinema. It's a good laugh, even though many of the jokes are just downright racist. The length of the film was a bit short but there were no boring moments are pointless scenes. It was to the point, very silly and far fetched but all I came for was for a good laugh and a I've seen funnier and more thrilling films in my life but this film did the trick for a good night out at the cinema. It's a good laugh, even though many of the jokes are just downright racist. The length of the film was a bit short but there were no boring moments are pointless scenes. It was to the point, very silly and far fetched but all I came for was for a good laugh and a good laugh I got. The film also glorifies violence, which I didn't like, and the film even admits that through the French taxi driver. Expand
  3. AMovieCritic
    Aug 22, 2007
    5
    What a disappointment....after waiting years for this, we get what felt like a completely rushed, uninspired sequel. Like the recent Shrek 3, Rush Hour 3 seems focused on bringing its characters back but not focusing on actually what made the first 2 movies so great to begin with. Rush Hour 3, from the beginning, felt forced. The humor felt forced, the re-uniting of the characters felt What a disappointment....after waiting years for this, we get what felt like a completely rushed, uninspired sequel. Like the recent Shrek 3, Rush Hour 3 seems focused on bringing its characters back but not focusing on actually what made the first 2 movies so great to begin with. Rush Hour 3, from the beginning, felt forced. The humor felt forced, the re-uniting of the characters felt forced...and it never managed to capture the fun and energy of Rush Hour 2. Not helping are the complete lack of fight scenes...Jackie Chan has only about 1 fight scene in the entire movie (not counting the sword fight,) and it's over in about 10 seconds. Chris Tucker seemed to have had more hand-to-hand combat this time around than Jackie Chan. An exciting finale on top of the Eiffel Tower is really all that there is to remember this movie by....there's nothing else here. Even the outtakes during the credits were more focused on Jackie Chan's inability to speak English than on his actual stunts...probably because he had so few. Without the exciting fight scenes or the energy of Rush Hour and the excellent Rush Hour 2, there's just very little to recommend about this movie. Nobody's more disappointed than I am. Chan's first US movie in years turned out to be a complete dud. I think it's about time to end this series; it probably should have ended after 2. Bring us Shanghai Dawn, please. Expand
  4. GatsbyJ.
    Sep 2, 2007
    5
    -The second movie was stupid, but it was hilarious. This movie is just stupid. Some of the jokes were good, but it wasn't as funny as the last one. The plot was thinner than the second movie, and that's saying something. Chan fighting his adopted brother didn't provide a good conflict because it was just too unbelievable. The fight scene at the end was okay; nothing -The second movie was stupid, but it was hilarious. This movie is just stupid. Some of the jokes were good, but it wasn't as funny as the last one. The plot was thinner than the second movie, and that's saying something. Chan fighting his adopted brother didn't provide a good conflict because it was just too unbelievable. The fight scene at the end was okay; nothing spectacular. -Oh, and The Simpsons fans: didn't that scene at the start when Chris Tucker is dancing and controlling traffic seem like the Simpsons episode where Eddy does the same thing (the ep. where Marge joins the Cherry Red Tomatoes and tries to rob Mr. Burns?) Expand
  5. MichaelR
    Jan 22, 2008
    5
    It was a decent movie it wasn't nearly as funny or as entertaining as the first 2.It had some funny moments but its pretty forgettable. I think Jackie and Chris should call it quits on the Rush Hour series.Don't listen to the first 3 reviewers they are clearly high on something.
  6. Ill1
    Aug 14, 2007
    4
    More of the same, but a lot of it was done rather poorly. A lot of the lines got no reaction from the audience and just weren't funny. Added to the fact that Jackie Chan isn't up to his caliber in the stunt department. I should have seen The Borne Ultimatum.
  7. ColinC.
    Aug 15, 2007
    5
    Had some laughs. Definitely tried to play up the humor, although a lot of it had me groaning rather than laughing. As an action movie, it used just about every imaginable action cliche in the book. My buddy and I had more fun laughing at that than anything else. It's the kind of movie I can watch on TV on a lazy Sunday afternoon and not feel too bad about watching. Paying for it, Had some laughs. Definitely tried to play up the humor, although a lot of it had me groaning rather than laughing. As an action movie, it used just about every imaginable action cliche in the book. My buddy and I had more fun laughing at that than anything else. It's the kind of movie I can watch on TV on a lazy Sunday afternoon and not feel too bad about watching. Paying for it, well...that's another matter. Expand
  8. RickyQ
    Aug 15, 2007
    5
    The main problem with this film is that it just wasn't needed. It has a an unoriginal story full of the usual cliches. All this would be forgivable if the movie had the same charm as the original, but it never gets to that level. Some of the jokes here are rather funny, but most go on for far too long and just become repetitive or they are just way too cheesy. The action on the other The main problem with this film is that it just wasn't needed. It has a an unoriginal story full of the usual cliches. All this would be forgivable if the movie had the same charm as the original, but it never gets to that level. Some of the jokes here are rather funny, but most go on for far too long and just become repetitive or they are just way too cheesy. The action on the other hand is still exciting to watch, but even this was ruined with a rather over the top scene near the end of the film. Expand
  9. Sep 2, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As a fan of the first two Rush Hour movies, I was really disappointed with this sequel. Plot didn't make sense. Lee suddenly forgetting that his brother (or half brother) is dead and starting to dance with Carter doesn not equal a good ending. And frankly, the movie felt much shorter than the previous two (when the actual differences aren't that big), which was probably becuase there was such a shortage of laughs that was abundant in the first two. Expand
  10. Nov 11, 2013
    6
    The thing that I am most impressed with "Rush Hour 3" is that it's still funny. Usually, after one or two installments, the third film tends to recycle jokes but "Rush Hour 3" proves otherwise. That being said, however, the film does not contain any surprises. It's almost the same as the first two with a different location.
  11. Nov 28, 2012
    6
    Nowhere near as entertaining as the first two installments, but "Rush Hour 3" does prove to be at least passably funny.
  12. Mar 20, 2014
    6
    Rush Hour 3 lacks the charm and wit of the first two films, and Chan is getting too old for the role. The story in Rush Hour 3 isn't as fresh and exciting as the first two as well.
  13. Dec 27, 2014
    6
    Rush Hour 3 was very cliche, and I'm saying this WITHOUT having seen the first two. The two actors in it were very funny (more Chris Tucker than Jackie Chan; Tucker is black), and a certain cameo was very funny (you just have to know who it is and watch how the two leads act towards him). These of which carried the whole movie.
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 32
  2. Negative: 8 out of 32
  1. In its third time out of the gate, Rush Hour 3, reuniting Chris Tucker and Jackie Chan, hits the ground stalling.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    50
    The latest picture to feature one of the movies’ oddest crime-fighting tandems nevertheless stays true to the franchise formula of East-West fusion action, broad cultural comedy and international intrigue, this time largely in Paris.
  3. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    60
    Chan is still the Gene Kelly of martial arts.