New Line Cinema | Release Date: September 18, 1998
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 287 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
260
Mixed:
19
Negative:
8
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
gm101Jan 9, 2011
One of my all time favorite movies. This is the movie that made me love buddy cop movies, and a Jackie Chan fan. Although, I wonder where Chris Tucker is these days.
17 of 17 users found this helpful170
All this user's reviews
10
kingshahidJul 27, 2011
This movie was hilarious especially when it came out. The combination of Chris Tucker and Jackie Chan just made the movie exciting since they brought their own personalities into the movie. I was never a fan of Jackie Chan before or after Rush Hour.
10 of 10 users found this helpful100
All this user's reviews
9
shamusolarrySep 8, 2011
Possibly the best buddy-cop film ever, mostly because of the slightly over-the-top kung-fu antics of Chan. It's got the perfect balance of comedy, action, and suspense. The acting could be better though.
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
9
imthenoobMar 5, 2012
Interesting plot and a lot of solid action as well. There is no denying that Jackie Chan and Chris Tucker have chemistry together and it shows on screen. Definently worth the watch.
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
9
kunkkaJul 7, 2012
It's a pretty standard movie but the combination of Jackie Chan, Chris Tucker and a great script made for one hilarious movie. The action part is not too shabby either.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
9
YarnJan 10, 2015
Whilst cliche'd and occasionally clunky, I can't help but ritualistically play this movie at least once a day. Rush Hour is one of those movies that you've seen a million times before, but the superb acting and engaging action scenes makeWhilst cliche'd and occasionally clunky, I can't help but ritualistically play this movie at least once a day. Rush Hour is one of those movies that you've seen a million times before, but the superb acting and engaging action scenes make this a true classic. If you're looking for a Citizen Kane alternative, then this is probably not your movie, but Rush Hour entertains and entertains damn well. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
BeastprogamerMar 21, 2015
This is one of the best movies I've ever seen. The story and plot were great. Chris Tucker as Detective Carter is a good match. He is so frigging hilarious. If you don't like Rush Hour, then you are silly as JB. Jackie Chan is Inspectour Li.This is one of the best movies I've ever seen. The story and plot were great. Chris Tucker as Detective Carter is a good match. He is so frigging hilarious. If you don't like Rush Hour, then you are silly as JB. Jackie Chan is Inspectour Li. or Lee. The 2 must find Soo Yung, a kidnapped 10 year old (in my thinking) girl from China or Hong Kong. You should watch this movie because it is hilarious and funny. The best Rush Hour out of the 3. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
RickyReviewsFeb 17, 2016
And to thing that a movie like this isn't pure gold, you are pure nuts. I MEAN COME ON WHO DOESN'T LOVE WATCHING GROWN MEN GET KARATE CHOPPED. Chris Tucker and Jackie Chan= PURE GOLD. Quite simply, the best action film ever. HilariouslyAnd to thing that a movie like this isn't pure gold, you are pure nuts. I MEAN COME ON WHO DOESN'T LOVE WATCHING GROWN MEN GET KARATE CHOPPED. Chris Tucker and Jackie Chan= PURE GOLD. Quite simply, the best action film ever. Hilariously funny, but the movie is PG-13, which is a good thing, so it isn't a dirty movie. I LOVE IT! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysSep 16, 2013
One of the best buddy cop movies there is, Rush Hour takes two very different cultures, Asians and African-Americans, and throws them together in the melting pot of L.A. to solve a kidnapping case that will send them in lots of directions.One of the best buddy cop movies there is, Rush Hour takes two very different cultures, Asians and African-Americans, and throws them together in the melting pot of L.A. to solve a kidnapping case that will send them in lots of directions.

It's fun to watch Jackie Chan do karate and mount buildings in 5 seconds, and Chris Tucker's humor kills. Full of twists and some great action sequences, Rush Hour is an all-time favorite movie of mine.
Expand
14 of 15 users found this helpful141
All this user's reviews
10
BrutalBran95Oct 16, 2014
meta critic arent always right this is just pure class 10/10 will always rewatch this
RIP Elizabeth pena sad to see she recently died - bomb expert girl-
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
HappymonkJan 24, 2012
I love this film so much! it's really a classic. Which is weird considering Jackie Chan didn't even get it. The plotline is silly yet very fun, the combination of Jackie Chan and Chris Tucker works really well. The film can be rather funny atI love this film so much! it's really a classic. Which is weird considering Jackie Chan didn't even get it. The plotline is silly yet very fun, the combination of Jackie Chan and Chris Tucker works really well. The film can be rather funny at times and is very light-hearted while mixing the serious story in at the same time. Everyone owes it to themselves to watch this film (and sequels). Grab some snacks and watch a very enjoyable film. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
AnsonG.Aug 15, 2006
Great comedy and action movie. Jackie Chan showed his martial art stunts, although Chris Tucker was quite funny man.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
A repeatedly hilarious buddy-cop film with as many gut-busting one liners from Chris Tucker as there are jaw-dropping stunts from Jackie Chan.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
7
OfficialNov 11, 2013
"Rush Hour" is hilarious. I laughed at least fifty times throughout the movie. Chris Tucker and Jackie Chan work really well together as a team surprisingly. What disappointed me was that it didn't demonstrate Chan's full range of skills.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
6
eagleeyevikingDec 17, 2013
Rush Hour is an average funny and action packed action-comedy movie, even if it is very predictable. A typical action-comedy popcorn flick which entertains and does just that.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
5
csw12Sep 1, 2012
Just your average action movie with its average violence. The acting is pointless but Chris Tucker couldn't be more annoying. worthless mindless crap.
0 of 10 users found this helpful010
All this user's reviews
7
survivorfan989Jun 1, 2013
This is a great Comedy/Action flick from the late 90's that is really successful because of its two leads Chan & Tucker rather than its actual content. It's entertaining enough and has enough visually to make it enjoyable, and while there areThis is a great Comedy/Action flick from the late 90's that is really successful because of its two leads Chan & Tucker rather than its actual content. It's entertaining enough and has enough visually to make it enjoyable, and while there are better films out there like it I still enjoy watching it, and seeing what those two get up too. I'm now looking forward to watching the new two and a potential fourth in the future Overall Chan & Tucker fans will probably enjoy this the most! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
SEROJJul 31, 2015
Hilarious action from Chris Tucker and Jackie chan! I can't really understand the low scores from the critics, because i really enjoyed this movie! 7/10
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
vikesh2206Nov 10, 2014
Rush Hour is a predictable, above average funny and action packed action-comedy movie. It is a typical action-comedy popcorn flick set out to entertain and does just that.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
marcmyworksJun 8, 2016
What's really enjoyable about the first film in the Rush Hour trilogy is the chemistry between Chan and Tucker. It is effortless and is incredibly humourous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
russiangamerJan 31, 2017
Комедия детства.
До сих пор смотрится легко и приятно. Шутки смешные,экшен отличный, Крис Такер и Джеки навсегда останутся одним из любимых дуэтов в кино.
Прекрасная комедия и боевик.
Комедия детства.
До сих пор смотрится легко и приятно. Шутки смешные,экшен отличный, Крис Такер и Джеки навсегда останутся одним из любимых дуэтов в кино.
Прекрасная комедия и боевик.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
EpicLadySpongeApr 1, 2016
Parts of this movie actually work... but then suddenly it's starting to get in our nerves to know why this trilogy has went down so hard on the score. Because the Rush Hour trilogy just needed less comedy and more action and somehow thisParts of this movie actually work... but then suddenly it's starting to get in our nerves to know why this trilogy has went down so hard on the score. Because the Rush Hour trilogy just needed less comedy and more action and somehow this movie got what it took. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
BroyaxJan 26, 2017
C'est le début de la fin pour la carrière de Jackie Chan avec cette comédie hollymerdienne sortie tout droit du fond d'une poubelle. On a de la peine à son égard, à le voir coincé dans les stéréotypes pathétiques du Chinois aux Etats-Unis etC'est le début de la fin pour la carrière de Jackie Chan avec cette comédie hollymerdienne sortie tout droit du fond d'une poubelle. On a de la peine à son égard, à le voir coincé dans les stéréotypes pathétiques du Chinois aux Etats-Unis et affublé d'un comparse (conparse) agité du bocal et incontrôlable de bêtise ! Navrant ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews