Rush Hour

Rush Hour Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 269 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: The fastest hands in the East meet the biggest mouth in the West when legendary martial arts daredevil Jackie Chan teams with comedic powerhouse Chris Tucker.
    (New Line Cinema)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Rush Hour effectively teams Jackie Chan and Chris Tucker in a formulaic but funny action comedy that should please fans of both stars.
  2. A sturdily entertaining vehicle, easily the little guy's best American-made film.
  3. It's the kind of copycat movie that becomes original through its cast and treatment.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    63
    There's a familiar feeling to the movie even beyond its twinkle-eyed martial arts melees.
  5. Reviewed by: Ron Wells
    60
    The stunts are great but they make sense and don't blow the sense of reality of the whole movie.
  6. 60
    The movie seems to proceed from somebody's notion that it would be hilarious to see a black guy and a Chinese guy working together.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 16, 2014
    10
    meta critic arent always right this is just pure class 10/10 will always rewatch this
    RIP Elizabeth pena sad to see she recently died - bomb
    meta critic arent always right this is just pure class 10/10 will always rewatch this
    RIP Elizabeth pena sad to see she recently died - bomb expert girl-
    Expand
  2. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    This movie was hilarious especially when it came out. The combination of Chris Tucker and Jackie Chan just made the movie exciting since theyThis movie was hilarious especially when it came out. The combination of Chris Tucker and Jackie Chan just made the movie exciting since they brought their own personalities into the movie. I was never a fan of Jackie Chan before or after Rush Hour. Expand
  3. Jan 9, 2011
    10
    One of my all time favorite movies. This is the movie that made me love buddy cop movies, and a Jackie Chan fan. Although, I wonder whereOne of my all time favorite movies. This is the movie that made me love buddy cop movies, and a Jackie Chan fan. Although, I wonder where Chris Tucker is these days. Expand
  4. Jan 10, 2015
    9
    Whilst cliche'd and occasionally clunky, I can't help but ritualistically play this movie at least once a day. Rush Hour is one of thoseWhilst cliche'd and occasionally clunky, I can't help but ritualistically play this movie at least once a day. Rush Hour is one of those movies that you've seen a million times before, but the superb acting and engaging action scenes make this a true classic. If you're looking for a Citizen Kane alternative, then this is probably not your movie, but Rush Hour entertains and entertains damn well. Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    A repeatedly hilarious buddy-cop film with as many gut-busting one liners from Chris Tucker as there are jaw-dropping stunts from Jackie Chan.
  6. Jun 8, 2016
    7
    What's really enjoyable about the first film in the Rush Hour trilogy is the chemistry between Chan and Tucker. It is effortless and isWhat's really enjoyable about the first film in the Rush Hour trilogy is the chemistry between Chan and Tucker. It is effortless and is incredibly humourous. Expand
  7. Sep 1, 2012
    5
    Just your average action movie with its average violence. The acting is pointless but Chris Tucker couldn't be more annoying. worthless mindless crap.

See all 26 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  2. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.