Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 458 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Set against the glamorous golden age of Formula 1 racing in the 1970s, Rush tells the true story of the great rivalry between handsome English playboy James Hunt and his methodical, brilliant opponent, Austrian driver Niki Lauda. The story chronicles their distinctly different personalSet against the glamorous golden age of Formula 1 racing in the 1970s, Rush tells the true story of the great rivalry between handsome English playboy James Hunt and his methodical, brilliant opponent, Austrian driver Niki Lauda. The story chronicles their distinctly different personal styles on and off the track, their loves and the astonishing 1976 season in which both drivers were willing to risk everything to become world champion in a sport with no margin for error. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Sep 26, 2013
    100
    Rush ranks among the best movies about auto racing ever made, featuring two great performances from the leads, who capture not only the physical look of the racing legends they’re playing, but the vastly different character traits that made their rivalry, well, made for the movies.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Sep 25, 2013
    90
    Howard, whose first job as a director was the 1977 Roger Corman-produced “Grand Theft Auto,” has captured what is surely the greatest racing footage ever shot.
  3. 88
    A fine and fun film tribute to the milieu, the men, women and machines in a sport that was never deadlier or more glamorous than its Disco Decade incarnation.
  4. Reviewed by:  Ian Freer
    Sep 4, 2013
    80
    It rarely deviates from formula, but Rush wins big, delivering the most exciting F1 footage created for film. Like Hunt, it is sexy, funny, full of thrills. Like Lauda, it is intelligent, a bit blunt, but ultimately touching.
  5. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Sep 26, 2013
    75
    Howard directs Rush with speed and jangly, jarring verve, bringing the races themselves to white-knuckled life and allowing the men’s stories to play out with only slightly predictable reversals, upsets and, inevitably, those hard lessons learned.
  6. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Sep 19, 2013
    70
    Though one enjoys and appreciates Rush for what it is, it does not thrill the blood the way we have the right to expect a film like this to do.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Sep 23, 2013
    38
    Ron Howard's by-the-seat-of-your-pants aesthetic makes the slower, darker sequences feel hurried and bland, especially when stacked up next to the racing sequences.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 87
  2. Negative: 1 out of 87
  1. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    What an amazing movie about to legends of the track Niki Lauda is a machine unbelievable driver and technician and James Hunt just pure rawWhat an amazing movie about to legends of the track Niki Lauda is a machine unbelievable driver and technician and James Hunt just pure raw talent Chris Hemsworth & Daniel Brühl do them both justice such a enjoyable movie well filmed really intense action just one of them all round completely brilliant films a must see. Collapse
  2. chw
    Aug 16, 2014
    10
    Rush is absolutely the best Ron Howard movie ever made. Unlike his other movies like Apollo 13 and A Beautiful Mind, there is never a dullRush is absolutely the best Ron Howard movie ever made. Unlike his other movies like Apollo 13 and A Beautiful Mind, there is never a dull moment in Rush. Expand
  3. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    This movie has a lot going on for it it's stylishly shot, has great energy and direction and a good SOLID story to go with it! TheThis movie has a lot going on for it it's stylishly shot, has great energy and direction and a good SOLID story to go with it! The performances are great, at times I was sitting on the edge of my seat, other times
    having a good chuckle and then other moments or actually feeling sad and sympathetic for the characters. Someone else said the audience clapped at the end of the movie, they did at my screening too.
    It's pure entertainment, would have been a great summer blockbuster.
    Expand
  4. Dec 20, 2013
    9
    welle i can't tell you that the next i'll see a formula one race on tv i won't probably change the chanel what a great a movie it was beyondwelle i can't tell you that the next i'll see a formula one race on tv i won't probably change the chanel what a great a movie it was beyond what i expected and i'm so glad that i wathed it today great story very inspiring the directing was great and i don't need to talk about the acting specialy Daniel bruhl he was breath taking RUSH officially is in my top 10 movies of 2013. Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2014
    9
    Way to go Ron Howard! Rush is likely my favorite movie of 2013. I love the rivalry between the two racers and this is a story that I had noWay to go Ron Howard! Rush is likely my favorite movie of 2013. I love the rivalry between the two racers and this is a story that I had no prior knowledge on so I didn't know what to expect in the ending. Both main characters go through some significant development throughout the movie. I would recommend Rush to any sports fan. Expand
  6. Jan 22, 2014
    8
    It's not the racing that will keep you on your seat, It's the great acting by Bruhl and Hemsworth that make this film all worth while. BruhlIt's not the racing that will keep you on your seat, It's the great acting by Bruhl and Hemsworth that make this film all worth while. Bruhl was perfect and Hemsworth proved that is not only a very good actor but also capable of breaking from his type-cast roles as well. Ron Howard once again proves why he is one of Hollywood's top directors as well. Very well done film and I would definitely recommend it. Expand
  7. Sep 21, 2013
    1
    Firstly, all the race scenes including spectators were just ripped-off from the original race clips!!! Secondly, did Lauda used the "F" wordFirstly, all the race scenes including spectators were just ripped-off from the original race clips!!! Secondly, did Lauda used the "F" word often. Hemsworth and Burl did their job well. Overall the movie was nothing original!!! Expand

See all 87 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Golden Globe Nominations

    2013 Golden Globe Nominations Image
    Published: December 12, 2013
    Find a full list of the 71st Annual Golden Globe nominations in film and television, and a look at the year's surprises and snubs.
  2. Fall Movie Preview: A Look at 25 Notable Films

    Fall Movie Preview: A Look at 25 Notable Films Image
    Published: August 30, 2013
    Find details and trailers for the key films due out this fall, including new movies from Alfonso Cuarón, the Coen brothers, Martin Scorsese, Ridley Scott, and Paul Greengrass.