Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 433 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Set against the glamorous golden age of Formula 1 racing in the 1970s, Rush tells the true story of the great rivalry between handsome English playboy James Hunt and his methodical, brilliant opponent, Austrian driver Niki Lauda. The story chronicles their distinctly different personal styles on and off the track, their loves and the astonishing 1976 season in which both drivers were willing to risk everything to become world champion in a sport with no margin for error. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 44
  2. Negative: 1 out of 44
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Sep 26, 2013
    100
    Rush ranks among the best movies about auto racing ever made, featuring two great performances from the leads, who capture not only the physical look of the racing legends they’re playing, but the vastly different character traits that made their rivalry, well, made for the movies.
  2. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Sep 25, 2013
    90
    Howard, whose first job as a director was the 1977 Roger Corman-produced “Grand Theft Auto,” has captured what is surely the greatest racing footage ever shot.
  3. 88
    A fine and fun film tribute to the milieu, the men, women and machines in a sport that was never deadlier or more glamorous than its Disco Decade incarnation.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Sep 3, 2013
    80
    Chris Hemsworth and Daniel Bruhl excel as, respectively, British wild man and hedonist James Hunt and Austrian by-the-books tactician Niki Lauda.
  5. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Sep 26, 2013
    75
    Howard directs Rush with speed and jangly, jarring verve, bringing the races themselves to white-knuckled life and allowing the men’s stories to play out with only slightly predictable reversals, upsets and, inevitably, those hard lessons learned.
  6. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Sep 19, 2013
    70
    Though one enjoys and appreciates Rush for what it is, it does not thrill the blood the way we have the right to expect a film like this to do.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Sep 23, 2013
    38
    Ron Howard's by-the-seat-of-your-pants aesthetic makes the slower, darker sequences feel hurried and bland, especially when stacked up next to the racing sequences.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 84
  2. Negative: 1 out of 84
  1. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    Before watching the film, I thought this was going to just be a silly car racing movie, with no real point whatsoever. After watching, I realized I was completely dead wrong. This movie is exciting, well-directed, well-acted and it is fantastic. Director Ron Howard does the tension incredibly well in this movie. Definitely a recommendation. Expand
  2. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    This movie is everything it should be. It's superbly shot, edited, acted and it tells a good story. It's definitely a hollywood-type movie... that's a bit fluffy... but it's a lot of fun. I felt something for both the characters, was on the edge of my sit at moments during the race scenes... and was moved by the ending. The theater was full at last night's show... more than half the audience clapped at the end... as did I. Expand
  3. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    What an amazing movie about to legends of the track Niki Lauda is a machine unbelievable driver and technician and James Hunt just pure raw talent Chris Hemsworth & Daniel Brühl do them both justice such a enjoyable movie well filmed really intense action just one of them all round completely brilliant films a must see. Expand
  4. Mar 14, 2014
    9
    Being an avid Formula 1 fan, I could not wait to see this - and it was worth the wait, Beautiful cinematography, multi dimensional characters that you care about and the trueness to the real story line make this a must see, F1 enthusiast or not. Expand
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    8
    Was not expecting much going into the theater, but was pleasantly surprised. Ron Howard captures the rivalry really well and always keeps the story in a believable tone. The 70's washed out color scheme sets a great mood with these sets. I just wish this movie would make more money at the box office. It is a quality film much better than so many others released this year. Maybe it will get a few awards later bringing it more attention. Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    I enjoyed this. I didn't know anything about either of these drivers and not that much of Forumula 1. The story and acting were good. I later read about a few story inconsistencies that I felt didn't need to be modified, but still an enjoyable movie and held pretty true to the facts overall. Some of the racing sequences could have been filmed better. Good solid popcorn movie though. Expand
  7. Sep 21, 2013
    1
    Firstly, all the race scenes including spectators were just ripped-off from the original race clips!!! Secondly, did Lauda used the "F" word often. Hemsworth and Burl did their job well. Overall the movie was nothing original!!! Expand

See all 84 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Golden Globe Nominations

    2013 Golden Globe Nominations Image
    Published: December 12, 2013
    Find a full list of the 71st Annual Golden Globe nominations in film and television, and a look at the year's surprises and snubs.
  2. Fall Movie Preview: A Look at 25 Notable Films

    Fall Movie Preview: A Look at 25 Notable Films Image
    Published: August 30, 2013
    Find details and trailers for the key films due out this fall, including new movies from Alfonso Cuarón, the Coen brothers, Martin Scorsese, Ridley Scott, and Paul Greengrass.