Wellspring Media | Release Date: November 29, 2002
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 61 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
45
Mixed:
5
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
JulieP.Jul 5, 2003
I went to see this movie in the middle of the afternoon with my mother and father. Despite our most valient efforts, we were all asleep within half an hour. Perhaps we are simply too gauche to truely appreciate this "tour de force," but I I went to see this movie in the middle of the afternoon with my mother and father. Despite our most valient efforts, we were all asleep within half an hour. Perhaps we are simply too gauche to truely appreciate this "tour de force," but I would suspect it also had something to do with the fact that there is neither any story nor any editing of the non-story in the entire picture. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
LizR.Jun 19, 2003
Slow, boring, often incomprehensible - you'd have to have detailed knowledge of Russian history to understand most of it. Often the actors and extras looked straight at the camera. Inconsistent - sometimes the wandering commentator was Slow, boring, often incomprehensible - you'd have to have detailed knowledge of Russian history to understand most of it. Often the actors and extras looked straight at the camera. Inconsistent - sometimes the wandering commentator was invisible to the people around him, other times he was visible. It could have been so much better. Why are people so taken in by technical achievement - talk about form over content. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DavidB.Sep 26, 2003
I like some experimental movies. Heck, I liked "Gerry" a lot! But this... maybe if one was either 1) a Russian or 2) a historian of Russia it would be interesting. Okay, so they made a movie in one long shot. Good job there! So what? I like some experimental movies. Heck, I liked "Gerry" a lot! But this... maybe if one was either 1) a Russian or 2) a historian of Russia it would be interesting. Okay, so they made a movie in one long shot. Good job there! So what? That's the only thing of interest about this film. When there's no plot, the rest of the film better be pretty engrossing. Take MY DINNER WITH ANDRE as counterpoint. I like that film pretty well. To me, RUSSIAN ARK is like MY DINNER WITH ANDRE. Except every sentence starts, "Remember that time in Russian history when..." A disaster. I guess you love it or hate it. I hate it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
GaborA.Jul 25, 2005
Russian history? The only thing i learned during the duration of this movie was that all russian men have some form of facial hair. 90 minute art display/fasion show with a silly, unexplained surreal twist.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DanielW.Sep 25, 2003
It's happened before and it will undoubtedly happen again, that I go and watch a movie with raving reviews, only to find myself very bored and wondering why am I not getting it? I usually find I agree with the direction the reviews go It's happened before and it will undoubtedly happen again, that I go and watch a movie with raving reviews, only to find myself very bored and wondering why am I not getting it? I usually find I agree with the direction the reviews go in, not this time and I knew the film would be somewhat experimental. I didn't understand what the movie was trying to say. To me there didn't seem to be a point. If the aim was to make a kind of documentary about the Hermitage I could think of ways in which that could have been done in a much more interesting fashion. The big costumed ball scene didn't do anything for me either. As an aside, watching the credits, I couldn't help but wonder why it is that at least three German authorities had financially supported the making of this Russian film? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JohnS.Jan 8, 2004
A perfect example of why critics go to the "cinema" and the rest of us go to the movies. Reminds me of those silly modern art pieces that everyone else laughs at while the art critics drool all over themselves. Save your money hours of your A perfect example of why critics go to the "cinema" and the rest of us go to the movies. Reminds me of those silly modern art pieces that everyone else laughs at while the art critics drool all over themselves. Save your money hours of your life and just rent a PBS documentary on the Hermitage. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
YakovC.Mar 4, 2003
This movie does not explain anything about the Hermitage. All you see is some bad dialogue, and really good costumes. How can you look at good costumes for over an hour when there is no plot or explanation? This one is quite a sleeper.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
KeriMar 11, 2003
3 friends and I went to see this movie with very high hopes. We left baffled, having learned little or nothing of the Russian history or culture that we had set out to acquire. Cut in half, it would make an interesting piece for the 3 friends and I went to see this movie with very high hopes. We left baffled, having learned little or nothing of the Russian history or culture that we had set out to acquire. Cut in half, it would make an interesting piece for the Discovery Channel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful