New Line Home Video | Release Date: August 23, 2002
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 181 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
151
Mixed:
19
Negative:
11
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
Moby1682May 3, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Simone is a hilarious, inventive satire on the inner workings of Hollywood. Al Pacino gives one of his most refined roles as an aging director who's movies have lost their popularity.

One day he meets a fan who is about to pass away in a week due to inoperable brain cancer. Al Pacino receives a package a week later. The package is a computer disc. The disc gives him the ability to create a

digital actress ! Once he creates Simone which means simulation one in the movie hinting that she is imaginary not a real person, he is set. His movies regain their momentum, he reconnects with his

daughter and wife and everything seems perfect.However when something feels too good to be true or everlasting it usually is. His creation backfires and he is almost arrested for the murder of Simone. He

attempts to dispose of the disc by dumping a trunk into an ocean. The disc is the only evidence Simone exists and that he isn't a murderer. When the police retrieve the trunk it is empty. In the end Victor Taransky is let off

of the charges because Victor's daughter is computer savvy. She discovers that the Simone program isn't erased on his computer and she restores the program. Then she has Simone release a public video

statement that she is alive and that Victor is innocent. There are also a few cameos in the movie by Jay Mohr, Winona Ryder and Rebecca Stamos from X-Men (Mystique character). A very satisfying movie with a

classic, brilliant performance from Al Pacino.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JohnY.Aug 25, 2002
Not a masterpiece by any means, but an entertaining comedy. It's beautifully visualized, has some great moments, skilled acting, and an intriguing premise. But not as good as Niccol's "Gattaca" or "Truman Show."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanM.Aug 27, 2002
Though fairly flat towards the middle this film is anything but witless. It has a great idea and Pacino sets it on fire in his role as burnt out Hollywood director Viktor Taransky.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobG.Aug 28, 2002
I don't see how you can't like this movie. It IS a funny, dark comedy and smart. These critics who say it is light didn't see the same movie that I did. Pacino is great, as always, and it is a successful satire. Makes the I don't see how you can't like this movie. It IS a funny, dark comedy and smart. These critics who say it is light didn't see the same movie that I did. Pacino is great, as always, and it is a successful satire. Makes the viewer think (how novel!), which might be why it's getting such mixed reviews. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexxaF.Jun 21, 2004
This film was hilarious. Not to mention that most of the people were beautiful. In these ridiculous times of Britney Spears etc, this film fit right in.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattR.Aug 31, 2002
Wonderful, quirky film that actually has a brain! Yes, it is funny in many parts, but the metafiction angle is where this work really shines. Truly a "postmodern" marvel in that it is conscious of its own artificiality, Simone is much better Wonderful, quirky film that actually has a brain! Yes, it is funny in many parts, but the metafiction angle is where this work really shines. Truly a "postmodern" marvel in that it is conscious of its own artificiality, Simone is much better than heavy-handed, saccharine drivel like "Signs". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidSep 12, 2002
This movie is awesome. Pacino's great in this movie and I'm falling for Rachel Roberts... Definitely worth your time & money. I'm waiting for the DVD :-)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregoryAug 27, 2002
I wonder if some of the people commenting here even saw the movie, which was humorous and clever. It was released in August not because it was bad, but because New Line felt the general public was too stupid for intelligent cinema anymore. I wonder if some of the people commenting here even saw the movie, which was humorous and clever. It was released in August not because it was bad, but because New Line felt the general public was too stupid for intelligent cinema anymore. They were right. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TylerC.Jan 18, 2004
I don't know why nobody seemed to really like this film. I know that the Simone voice was fakey but honestly I can see where the media can take something and make a big deal out of it. Take Michael Jackson and Lisa Marie. Their marriage I don't know why nobody seemed to really like this film. I know that the Simone voice was fakey but honestly I can see where the media can take something and make a big deal out of it. Take Michael Jackson and Lisa Marie. Their marriage was just as artificial as Simone and people still talk about it. Pacino is great in everything he does. I was just very entertained. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful