Sabotage

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 100
  2. Negative: 28 out of 100
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 29, 2014
    5
    The story, in itself, is not too bad. I feel they could have done quite a bit better in portraying the dialogue. Every other word starts with either an f or a s, the script is more or less generic. The characters are... lackluster, half of them are killed off before we really knew anything about them other than their partying lifestyle. It did not build upon half of the people we shouldThe story, in itself, is not too bad. I feel they could have done quite a bit better in portraying the dialogue. Every other word starts with either an f or a s, the script is more or less generic. The characters are... lackluster, half of them are killed off before we really knew anything about them other than their partying lifestyle. It did not build upon half of the people we should have cared about. Really the best parts were the opening gunfight and the ending scene where he has finished what he sought after. It was just... not done well... The movie wasn't bad, but it wasn't what it desperately needed to be. I would wait for the dvd/netflix release. Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2014
    6
    Some people call them plot twists. I call it jumping the shark. This serious and violent film jumps the shark more than "Sharkanado" did last year, and that was a lot of sharks! By the end of the film I couldn't tell you if I liked this one or not? I still am not sure. The director tried to cater to the Arnold image but it feels shoehorned into a borderline horror fest thriller likeSome people call them plot twists. I call it jumping the shark. This serious and violent film jumps the shark more than "Sharkanado" did last year, and that was a lot of sharks! By the end of the film I couldn't tell you if I liked this one or not? I still am not sure. The director tried to cater to the Arnold image but it feels shoehorned into a borderline horror fest thriller like "Seven" or "8MM". I did like it better than that campy "The Last Stand" from last year. Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2014
    6
    Arnold Schwarzenegger heads a gritty group of DEA agents who are being hunted down and brutally murdered. This was written/directed by David Ayer (End of Watch, Training Day) and it's shows off many of his best traits: hard-edged violence, dark dealings, witty banter and tons of testosterone (even in the women). The macho cast creates tuff, enjoyable characters with Mireille Enos (bestArnold Schwarzenegger heads a gritty group of DEA agents who are being hunted down and brutally murdered. This was written/directed by David Ayer (End of Watch, Training Day) and it's shows off many of his best traits: hard-edged violence, dark dealings, witty banter and tons of testosterone (even in the women). The macho cast creates tuff, enjoyable characters with Mireille Enos (best known for "The Killing") hilariously hardcore and against type. The snappy pacing and sharp banter propel this film forward until the last third, which slows a bit before the final blowouts. Still, there's plenty to enjoy. Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2014
    4
    Arnold was great in it and it's uber violent in all the best ways, but it's also not an action movie. It's more of a mystery thriller that has some action scenes. All the characters and actors are wasted outside of Arnold though and the "twists' and narrative are nothing special. I really like Arnold movies but this is probably one of the few I just can't get into.
  5. Aug 6, 2014
    5
    Excessively violent and unbelievably scattershot, Sabotage is a mind-numbing onslaught of extreme blood and gore that completely fails to offer anything more to its audience.
  6. Aug 8, 2014
    5
    Not a terrible idea for the film but ultimately failed as a result of Arnold's poor acting, poor choices on behalf of the direct and the editor. A story with potential but that's all.
  7. Jan 28, 2015
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sabotage was a movie was so much potential but ultimately failed to live up to that potential because it had a ridiculous premise. ***SPOILERS*** The premise was that this elite, undercover DEA team attempts to steal $10 million from a pile of what appears to be hundreds of millions of dollars. They then blow up the drug cartel's money (as they were apparently instructed to do by the American government) and upon returning to get their $10 million later on, the money is gone. Now here is where the ridiculousness kicks in. The government and the cartel somehow seem to know exactly how much money was taken and interrogate the team for six months trying to get them to admit guilt. I'm sorry but that would be like a swimming pool draining but someone knowing that you took a cup of water out of it beforehand. It's retarded. Now, normally this type of stuff wouldn't cause me to take a movie with fantastic acting, dark and gritty action, and solid character development down to a 5/10 rating. While I thought the plot development was also crap, the premise ultimately hurts the movie because every single dramatic element and moment of suspense and intrigue in the entire movie is built entirely on that faulty premise. It is a damn shame too because this movie had Miami Vice (reboot) potential. Expand
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 31
  2. Negative: 11 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Amon Warmann
    May 21, 2014
    40
    Arnie completists will enjoy seeing the Austrian Oak in good form, but as a whodunit thriller Sabotage is found severely wanting.
  2. Reviewed by: Simon Crook
    May 5, 2014
    40
    A bloody, scuzzy, progressively preposterous whodunnit, blending old school and new wave to neutering effect. One chunky plus: the all-new Antihero Arnie.
  3. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Apr 18, 2014
    67
    There's a great sense of rot to everything as shot by Bruce McCleery, and David Sardy's score is propulsive and appropriately caustic. What ultimately works about Sabotage is the way it so unabashedly plays rough.