Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 31
  2. Negative: 11 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Mar 27, 2014
    88
    This brutal, bloody, dark and at times gruesomely funny thriller isn’t some David Fincher-esque mood piece where all the clues come together at the end. It’s more like a modern-day, Georgia version of a spaghetti Western.
  2. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Apr 18, 2014
    67
    There's a great sense of rot to everything as shot by Bruce McCleery, and David Sardy's score is propulsive and appropriately caustic. What ultimately works about Sabotage is the way it so unabashedly plays rough.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Mar 28, 2014
    60
    You’re thankful when Ayer stops trying to artistically tart up this Peckinpah-lite tale of vengeance and just lets his leading man do what he does best: blow the bad guys away.
  4. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Mar 26, 2014
    42
    David Ayer’s latest, Sabotage, is a sloppy DEA whodunit, distinguished by its scatological humor and gore.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Mar 27, 2014
    40
    Artificially jacked up to feel like mean but serious fun, Sabotage mostly flings blood, vengeance, testosterone and clichés to the wall to see what sticks.
  6. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Mar 27, 2014
    38
    There's no sense of visual artifice to match the ludicrous pitch of the script, and subsequently, the film comes off as awkward and uncertain.
  7. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Mar 27, 2014
    10
    Does this mean that Sabotage is a rich, morally complex story about the gray zone between good and evil? Hell, no. It just means it is a bungle.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 25
  2. Negative: 11 out of 25
  1. Jul 22, 2014
    10
    I am a huge fan of David Ayer both as a writer and a director! He first caught my eye with End of Watch, then once again with Training Day! What I'm trying to say is that Sabotage did not disappoint, he has delivered yet another classic that I am more than happy to add to my collection! Its brutal, its bloody, its deep and its thought provoking! Well done David! Keep up the good work! Expand
  2. Jul 31, 2014
    7
    A dirty and sleazy cop movie that's plot, while interesting, lacks intelligence. I pretty much pegged who did it shortly after the bodies started pilling up. Arnold's team might not be the most enjoyable bunch, but the man himself delivers. It's just a shame about all that terrible dialog, the worst of it coming from Olivia Williams character.

    Despite it's hard to like supporting cast and bad one-liners it's an overall entertaining romp. The action is suitably gory and awesome, and despite being fairly obvious the plot is entertaining. Far from the best thing Arnold's done, but he still manages to keep things watchable. Not everyone is going to like it, and it gives plenty of reasons for them not to, but there is still enough to make it enjoyable for Arnold fans or those who like their action movies dirty.
    Expand
  3. Mar 28, 2014
    7
    Sabotage has a few blind-siding plot twists that don't quite work, but for the most part this is a solidly executed and suitably sleazy genre flick. Arnold Schwarzenegger may not be the best thing in Sabotage, but this is the best film that he's done in a long time. Sabotage is far more effective than its action-centric trailers have suggested, with the film more a mystery-thriller that actually offers Arnold Schwarzenegger and the cool ensemble a chance to act and not just shoot guns. Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2014
    4
    Arnold was great in it and it's uber violent in all the best ways, but it's also not an action movie. It's more of a mystery thriller that has some action scenes. All the characters and actors are wasted outside of Arnold though and the "twists' and narrative are nothing special. I really like Arnold movies but this is probably one of the few I just can't get into. Expand
  5. Jul 12, 2014
    2
    I wasn't aware of this Arnie movie til my girlfriend downloaded it and asked,"Do you want to see a new Schwarzenegger movie?" This one was completely off my radar, and maybe it should of stayed that way. Sabotage isn't exactly a balls to the wall action film, there's a little bit of suspense thrown in for those of you new to that concept. Otherwise you've seen this formula before. Team of awesome "specialists" gets the blame for something missing/gone wrong, the leader is tossed, teams falls into disarray, leader comes back seeking payback, team gets killed one by one and there's something else, but I don't want to give it away. Trust me though when you see it it won't be anything earth-shattering. This movie falls on the dull side with boring dialog, Arnie isn't known for his acting chops, that mostly consists of cussing and insults. The action though is pretty decent, if you're looking for good gore in a movie it's here. Firefights are done well and don't seem too unrealistic, although there's one scene that had me and my girl laughing cause the blood looked more like someone dropped a bottle of BBQ sauce on the floor. In the end though it's just a very dull and forgettable movie. Arnold looks very tired in most of his scenes and all the other actors were just not interesting. It's the action in this movie that keeps it from being a total zero, but even those scenes added together only amount to something under 10 minutes. If you can watch it for free give it a go, if you're gonna pay for it pass it up. Expand
  6. May 11, 2014
    1
    Schwacher Actionfilm.

    Der einzige Grund ist Arnold. Der Rest der Schauspieler bietet mittelmäßige Leistungen.
    Die Actionszenen und noch
    weniger die Handlung überzeugen. Arni sollte sich mit so lausigen Filmchen nicht den ruf versauen. Eien Verschwendung seiner Klasse. Expand
  7. Jul 20, 2014
    0
    If this is not one of the worst movies of all time then I don't know what is. God awful plot/dialogue, Weak acting by a very experienced and "talented' cast, not to mention the overly long run time. It's simply an awful movie. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Trailers