Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 85 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 31
  2. Negative: 11 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Mar 27, 2014
    88
    This brutal, bloody, dark and at times gruesomely funny thriller isn’t some David Fincher-esque mood piece where all the clues come together at the end. It’s more like a modern-day, Georgia version of a spaghetti Western.
  2. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Apr 18, 2014
    67
    There's a great sense of rot to everything as shot by Bruce McCleery, and David Sardy's score is propulsive and appropriately caustic. What ultimately works about Sabotage is the way it so unabashedly plays rough.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Mar 28, 2014
    60
    You’re thankful when Ayer stops trying to artistically tart up this Peckinpah-lite tale of vengeance and just lets his leading man do what he does best: blow the bad guys away.
  4. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Mar 26, 2014
    42
    David Ayer’s latest, Sabotage, is a sloppy DEA whodunit, distinguished by its scatological humor and gore.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Mar 27, 2014
    40
    Artificially jacked up to feel like mean but serious fun, Sabotage mostly flings blood, vengeance, testosterone and clichés to the wall to see what sticks.
  6. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Mar 27, 2014
    38
    There's no sense of visual artifice to match the ludicrous pitch of the script, and subsequently, the film comes off as awkward and uncertain.
  7. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Mar 27, 2014
    10
    Does this mean that Sabotage is a rich, morally complex story about the gray zone between good and evil? Hell, no. It just means it is a bungle.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 31
  2. Negative: 14 out of 31
  1. Jul 22, 2014
    10
    I am a huge fan of David Ayer both as a writer and a director! He first caught my eye with End of Watch, then once again with Training Day!I am a huge fan of David Ayer both as a writer and a director! He first caught my eye with End of Watch, then once again with Training Day! What I'm trying to say is that Sabotage did not disappoint, he has delivered yet another classic that I am more than happy to add to my collection! Its brutal, its bloody, its deep and its thought provoking! Well done David! Keep up the good work! Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2014
    8
    This movie is getting undeserving awful reviews. The dialogue at times is pretty trashy, but other than that Arnold gives a pretty goodThis movie is getting undeserving awful reviews. The dialogue at times is pretty trashy, but other than that Arnold gives a pretty good serious performance in this viscerally brutal action film full of intensity. Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2014
    7
    Arnold is back, and at 67 years old he hasn't missed a beat. Sabotage is the Governor's third starring role since returning from his stint inArnold is back, and at 67 years old he hasn't missed a beat. Sabotage is the Governor's third starring role since returning from his stint in politics, and it's easily his best one to date. Schwarzenegger stars as Breacher, the commander of an elite DEA swat team, who agrees to help his under appreciated team take part in the theft of millions of dollars, from a top cartel boss. The heist goes relatively smoothly, but when the team goes to retrieve their money, they discover that one of them double crossed the rest and had stolen the pay day. Everyone is upset and trying to figure out who it was, when the cartel shows up looking for retribution. As the cartel picks off the team one by one, the remaining members have to ban together to try and stop them, except this time, they have to do it knowing that one of them is a trader. Arnold isn't doing the crazy stunts or fighting scenes that he's become synonymous for, he's in more of a leadership role in this film, but he's still the man when it comes to action films. Here he's paired with the Killing's Mireille Enos, who as the only female member of the team, gives an amazing performance. I'm used to her always playing these quiet, reserved, troubled characters, and it was a real treat to see her break out as the wild girl on a team full of men. Sabotage is the rarest of Action films, as it is one with a great storyline, that is as gripping as any drama. The film isn't just about killing people and blowing things up, it has plenty of that, but in the case of Sabotage, there is a reason for all of it, and this film will really keep you on the edge of your seat. Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2014
    4
    Arnold was great in it and it's uber violent in all the best ways, but it's also not an action movie. It's more of a mystery thriller that hasArnold was great in it and it's uber violent in all the best ways, but it's also not an action movie. It's more of a mystery thriller that has some action scenes. All the characters and actors are wasted outside of Arnold though and the "twists' and narrative are nothing special. I really like Arnold movies but this is probably one of the few I just can't get into. Expand
  5. Oct 7, 2014
    3
    Dang it Arnold...bad call. This movie was set to be awesome and BA as far as action movies are concerned. I expected it to be just that. I wasDang it Arnold...bad call. This movie was set to be awesome and BA as far as action movies are concerned. I expected it to be just that. I was disappointed and even disgusted at what I saw in this film. A lot of blood, violence, bickering, and swearing. Which you can get away with in an action movie as long as there is a net to fall on like a character that is actually very smart coherent and reasonable or sexy women or clever humor...of which there was none. It was all very vulgar, lowbrow, and just rude. There is only so much of that that can be taken without blemishing the movie. There was a definite guessing game that was kept alive as to who is behind what exactly, with a few holes but nothing too serious. But the end result was just disheartening and bleak. Nothing to hope for or look forward to. It is cool to see the governor getting swole and becoming the action hero we all love once again but its Just a dark movie that isn't really Arnold's type. Van-Damme or Segal maybe. But, come on. Expand
  6. Jul 12, 2014
    2
    I wasn't aware of this Arnie movie til my girlfriend downloaded it and asked,"Do you want to see a new Schwarzenegger movie?" This one wasI wasn't aware of this Arnie movie til my girlfriend downloaded it and asked,"Do you want to see a new Schwarzenegger movie?" This one was completely off my radar, and maybe it should of stayed that way. Sabotage isn't exactly a balls to the wall action film, there's a little bit of suspense thrown in for those of you new to that concept. Otherwise you've seen this formula before. Team of awesome "specialists" gets the blame for something missing/gone wrong, the leader is tossed, teams falls into disarray, leader comes back seeking payback, team gets killed one by one and there's something else, but I don't want to give it away. Trust me though when you see it it won't be anything earth-shattering. This movie falls on the dull side with boring dialog, Arnie isn't known for his acting chops, that mostly consists of cussing and insults. The action though is pretty decent, if you're looking for good gore in a movie it's here. Firefights are done well and don't seem too unrealistic, although there's one scene that had me and my girl laughing cause the blood looked more like someone dropped a bottle of BBQ sauce on the floor. In the end though it's just a very dull and forgettable movie. Arnold looks very tired in most of his scenes and all the other actors were just not interesting. It's the action in this movie that keeps it from being a total zero, but even those scenes added together only amount to something under 10 minutes. If you can watch it for free give it a go, if you're gonna pay for it pass it up. Expand
  7. Jul 20, 2014
    0
    If this is not one of the worst movies of all time then I don't know what is. God awful plot/dialogue, Weak acting by a very experienced andIf this is not one of the worst movies of all time then I don't know what is. God awful plot/dialogue, Weak acting by a very experienced and "talented' cast, not to mention the overly long run time. It's simply an awful movie. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Trailers