Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 44 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 31
  2. Negative: 11 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Mar 27, 2014
    88
    This brutal, bloody, dark and at times gruesomely funny thriller isn’t some David Fincher-esque mood piece where all the clues come together at the end. It’s more like a modern-day, Georgia version of a spaghetti Western.
  2. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Apr 18, 2014
    67
    There's a great sense of rot to everything as shot by Bruce McCleery, and David Sardy's score is propulsive and appropriately caustic. What ultimately works about Sabotage is the way it so unabashedly plays rough.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Mar 28, 2014
    60
    You’re thankful when Ayer stops trying to artistically tart up this Peckinpah-lite tale of vengeance and just lets his leading man do what he does best: blow the bad guys away.
  4. Reviewed by:  Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Mar 26, 2014
    42
    David Ayer’s latest, Sabotage, is a sloppy DEA whodunit, distinguished by its scatological humor and gore.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Mar 27, 2014
    40
    Artificially jacked up to feel like mean but serious fun, Sabotage mostly flings blood, vengeance, testosterone and clichés to the wall to see what sticks.
  6. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Mar 27, 2014
    38
    There's no sense of visual artifice to match the ludicrous pitch of the script, and subsequently, the film comes off as awkward and uncertain.
  7. Reviewed by: Jordan Hoffman
    Mar 27, 2014
    10
    Does this mean that Sabotage is a rich, morally complex story about the gray zone between good and evil? Hell, no. It just means it is a bungle.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 19
  2. Negative: 8 out of 19
  1. Jul 22, 2014
    10
    I am a huge fan of David Ayer both as a writer and a director! He first caught my eye with End of Watch, then once again with Training Day! What I'm trying to say is that Sabotage did not disappoint, he has delivered yet another classic that I am more than happy to add to my collection! Its brutal, its bloody, its deep and its thought provoking! Well done David! Keep up the good work! Expand
  2. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    Finally - the return of real men on the big screen! The story had some suspense and a couple of good plots - so that was a nice surprise.

    But the most important thing about this movie - it finally shows new generations what manliness is. Enough of crying Spiderman (because his girlfriends dumped him) and 'superheroes' who do yoga.

    I love the last scene. It had something 'western-like'. A very long single shot, dolly in and that satisfied subtle smile. Welcome back Arni! You are the man.
    Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2014
    7
    Yes it's another mindless Arnold Schwarzenegger vehicle, but that doesn't mean it isn't fun. It's got a pretty entertaining story and a lot of fun shootouts that is guaranteed to please die-hard fans of action. Acting is pretty standard for a type of movie like this, however, some of the actors, such as Terence Howard and Sam Worthington felt a bit wasted, as they didn't get the screentime that they deserved. The most notable performance by far was Mireille Enos, who delivered an unexpectedly sinister performance. Overall, it may be somewhat forgettable, but for what it's worth, it's definitely entertaining throughout and not as bad as people and critics have been saying it is. Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2014
    4
    Arnold was great in it and it's uber violent in all the best ways, but it's also not an action movie. It's more of a mystery thriller that has some action scenes. All the characters and actors are wasted outside of Arnold though and the "twists' and narrative are nothing special. I really like Arnold movies but this is probably one of the few I just can't get into. Expand
  5. Jul 12, 2014
    2
    I wasn't aware of this Arnie movie til my girlfriend downloaded it and asked,"Do you want to see a new Schwarzenegger movie?" This one was completely off my radar, and maybe it should of stayed that way. Sabotage isn't exactly a balls to the wall action film, there's a little bit of suspense thrown in for those of you new to that concept. Otherwise you've seen this formula before. Team of awesome "specialists" gets the blame for something missing/gone wrong, the leader is tossed, teams falls into disarray, leader comes back seeking payback, team gets killed one by one and there's something else, but I don't want to give it away. Trust me though when you see it it won't be anything earth-shattering. This movie falls on the dull side with boring dialog, Arnie isn't known for his acting chops, that mostly consists of cussing and insults. The action though is pretty decent, if you're looking for good gore in a movie it's here. Firefights are done well and don't seem too unrealistic, although there's one scene that had me and my girl laughing cause the blood looked more like someone dropped a bottle of BBQ sauce on the floor. In the end though it's just a very dull and forgettable movie. Arnold looks very tired in most of his scenes and all the other actors were just not interesting. It's the action in this movie that keeps it from being a total zero, but even those scenes added together only amount to something under 10 minutes. If you can watch it for free give it a go, if you're gonna pay for it pass it up. Expand
  6. May 11, 2014
    1
    Schwacher Actionfilm.

    Der einzige Grund ist Arnold. Der Rest der Schauspieler bietet mittelmäßige Leistungen.
    Die Actionszenen und noch
    weniger die Handlung überzeugen. Arni sollte sich mit so lausigen Filmchen nicht den ruf versauen. Eien Verschwendung seiner Klasse. Expand
  7. Apr 3, 2014
    0
    A lot of blood and guts and an extreme amount of foul language. The theme was nothing new. The movie just didn't work as a whole. Also, A. Shwarzenegger, who I've enjoyed in more light hearted movies, was placed in a role which was not him. Way too serious for him. Collapse

See all 19 User Reviews

Trailers