User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 69
  2. Negative: 21 out of 69
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 29, 2015
    10
    This is my first review and I even registered extra for this movie here, because the critic score shown can't be the same movie I watched!
    How wrong some critics can be is unbelievable!
    Great movie, great actors and fantastic story! You MUST WATCH UNTIL THE END!
  2. Mar 15, 2015
    9
    OK I am not a film critic, just an average Joe-yep a guy. OK so I have a heart and got sucked into the movie. Amazed that some of the critic's don't have a heart, yes it can be a little predictable and a little sappy, but thought the scenery, setting, chemistry, and plot made for a good movie. Not to mention it does have some redeeming value as far as hitting on the subject of batteredOK I am not a film critic, just an average Joe-yep a guy. OK so I have a heart and got sucked into the movie. Amazed that some of the critic's don't have a heart, yes it can be a little predictable and a little sappy, but thought the scenery, setting, chemistry, and plot made for a good movie. Not to mention it does have some redeeming value as far as hitting on the subject of battered women and how sometimes it can be difficult for them to find a safe haven in real life. I know because I have a sister who was in a similar situation. For me it was a good movie hitting on all emotions. Expand
  3. Dec 23, 2014
    7
    Nicholas Sparks tries to make his " romance" novel a little bit of a suspense and adds fight sequences, is this suppose to make it better? .......... nope. Julianne Hough plays a woman who is trying to get away from her domestic violence past trying to get away from her crazy husband, moves to a small town then finds a guy how is a widow father of two children, then they both fall inNicholas Sparks tries to make his " romance" novel a little bit of a suspense and adds fight sequences, is this suppose to make it better? .......... nope. Julianne Hough plays a woman who is trying to get away from her domestic violence past trying to get away from her crazy husband, moves to a small town then finds a guy how is a widow father of two children, then they both fall in love! but then her husband who isn't dead is a cop trying to find her.This movie lacks action and its fight sequences sucks-yes i get it this movie is a romance/drama movie but apparently Sparks is trying bring a little murder/action into his book and into this movie; Director Lasse Hallström the director of Chocolat and Sparks' previous adaptation Dear John apparently wasting his talents is back for more of Sparks' story, Hallstrom is apparently using his visions in a Nicholas Sparks' tradition oh yeah BOO! this guy can't even direct a fight scene or any action sequence two fromulas which this movie terrible The Writer: Nicholas Sparks The Director: Hallastrom lacking vision and for writer sparks is he doesn't know to make action well for guy who does to many romance novels you expect he would of failed. This movie apparently has a little bit of " romantic cliche". cliche number 1: Star crossed lovers, yes and there is a woman non stops complains about her love life when there litterally is the perfect man in front of her. Cliche #2 " do you want to go canoeing with me ? cliche." yes there is the annoying cliche i can't take in sparks' movies the boy asks the girl do you want to go canoeing with me girl: sure. meanwhile they have a good time, then when their done they kiss after the kiss there is ......... the rain cliche omg! i can't stand that haven't we have seen this cliche? oh yeah we saw this in the **** 'The Notebook' then they laugh then have sex. I can't take cliche's anymore. Nicholas Sparks yes the man is a good author its just can't we have a movie Sparks or his dumb screenwriters ruin it with his cliche's stop with that! please. Grade C- Yes! the movie does have to many romantic cliche's but the ending was surprising, Finally Sparks did something different with his movie and the book. but the romance was creative the actors were ok. Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2013
    7
    A somewhat awkward romance flick, but it's sweet. Dialog is clumsy at times, side-characters aren't developed, and the more tense action moments near the end of the film fall flat. Still it is romantic and touching even though some moments come across as goofy and weird. If you're looking for a movie to watch with your significant other this is a pretty good choice. It may not always hitA somewhat awkward romance flick, but it's sweet. Dialog is clumsy at times, side-characters aren't developed, and the more tense action moments near the end of the film fall flat. Still it is romantic and touching even though some moments come across as goofy and weird. If you're looking for a movie to watch with your significant other this is a pretty good choice. It may not always hit the mark but when it does it's easy to recommend to fans of this genre. Even as someone who doesn't really have a taste for this kind of thing I found it enjoyable. Expand
  5. Oct 4, 2013
    7
    This movie was actually good, it combines a comedy with a thriller and it works quite well. The ending was surprising i did not expect it. This romantic movie takes a risk by adding thriller elements to it and it pays off.
  6. Jun 4, 2013
    7
    Safe Haven was exactly what I expected. It was a good movie with an interesting plot, sad parts, and solid acting. Unfortunately it wasn't as good as Nicholas Sparks' best film, The Notebook. Julianne Hough is beautiful and a triple threat but her acting, while capable, wasn't as strong as Rachel McAdams. Josh Duhamel did a solid job opposite of Hough and seems to have more potential as aSafe Haven was exactly what I expected. It was a good movie with an interesting plot, sad parts, and solid acting. Unfortunately it wasn't as good as Nicholas Sparks' best film, The Notebook. Julianne Hough is beautiful and a triple threat but her acting, while capable, wasn't as strong as Rachel McAdams. Josh Duhamel did a solid job opposite of Hough and seems to have more potential as a breakout star. As for the film, the plot was interesting but it dragged quite a bit and had some areas that were just silly. Honestly, the best thing about this movie was the subtle twist thrown in at the end. It changed the meaning of some of the elements of the film and left you with a better feeling for the movie in general. Overall this was an above-average chick flick but it didn't have enough of the thriller element I was hoping for from some of the trailers. Nonetheless, I'm sure most women will enjoy it and some guys, if they are willing to watch it, will probably enjoy it as well. Expand
  7. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    My new favorite, since A Walk To Remember and The notebook. I think it's even better than the notebook. Never thought der will be anything better than the two Until I've watched the SAFE HAVEN.
  8. Jun 2, 2013
    8
    My girls have read the book Safe Haven and told me how wonderful the book is. Since I never seem to have time to read, I decided the next best thing was to watch the movie. I enjoyed the movie but felt that it was another version of Sleeping With The Enemy but not as suspenseful. I felt that the story line progressed too quickly at times and more background information could be given.My girls have read the book Safe Haven and told me how wonderful the book is. Since I never seem to have time to read, I decided the next best thing was to watch the movie. I enjoyed the movie but felt that it was another version of Sleeping With The Enemy but not as suspenseful. I felt that the story line progressed too quickly at times and more background information could be given. I also felt the love story took off relatively fast in the movie which seemed unrealistic to me considering the information that was given about each character. With this being said I still enjoyed the movie and look forward to a time when I might have time to read the book! Expand
  9. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    Not sure why people are hating on this movie so much. No it's not the best movie but its not terrible. It has action along with suspense and romance. The writing was also good. I give it an 8
  10. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    This movie was everything I wanted on a Friday night after a busy day at work. It was another one of Nicholas Sparks' masterpieces that kept me enthralled the whole way through. I was kept on my feet the whole way through and the whole, 'Jo' storyline and ending was really something I didn't expect. Safe Haven is certainly a movie you should see. I give it a 10. Also, this website keepsThis movie was everything I wanted on a Friday night after a busy day at work. It was another one of Nicholas Sparks' masterpieces that kept me enthralled the whole way through. I was kept on my feet the whole way through and the whole, 'Jo' storyline and ending was really something I didn't expect. Safe Haven is certainly a movie you should see. I give it a 10. Also, this website keeps changing my score from 10 to a 9. Expand
  11. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    This movie is an opportunity to get in touch and feel your emotions and there are many times in the movie to do just that because it is so cleverly put together. The ratings should be much higher than they are. The movie is all about the human interactions that will cause you to feel what it is like to be the characters if you were in the same situations as they were in. I am a male and iThis movie is an opportunity to get in touch and feel your emotions and there are many times in the movie to do just that because it is so cleverly put together. The ratings should be much higher than they are. The movie is all about the human interactions that will cause you to feel what it is like to be the characters if you were in the same situations as they were in. I am a male and i cried at times, good thing the theater was almost empty and nobody saw me. Expand
  12. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    I usually do not like romance movies, but this one provided a good mix between action and romance. I thought the story line was very good and kept me guessing the whole time. I do not understand why the ratings are so bad, if your not just looking for love, but for some action with it, I would definitely suggest this movie.
  13. Feb 15, 2013
    9
    I almost missed a lovely movie because of the pitiful reviews. The theatre audience even clapped at the end. How many times do you witness that? I go to the movies all the time and rarely see that. The characters are basically nice people you will like with one exception. That's a relief in comparison to so many movies out there now.
  14. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    I am amazed how wrong most critics are at rating movies these days. Have they become so shallow and devoid of common sense? If you are a movie buff that likes a great family movie,great story, unusual setting, romance, drama, thriller with a surprise ending go see it, you will not regret it.
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 33
  2. Negative: 13 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Mar 2, 2013
    20
    As ever with a Sparks story, the action takes place in a sugary vision of small-town America that does not correspond with the real world at any point.
  2. Reviewed by: Laremy Legel
    Feb 26, 2013
    25
    Even when compared against other films that have been adapted from Nicholas Sparks novels, Safe Haven is terrible.
  3. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    Feb 25, 2013
    60
    "Salmon Fishing In The Yemen" and "Chocolat" man Hallström is an old pro at navigating this kind of undemandingly dramatic yarn and does a pretty fine job with Sparks' story.