Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 69 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , ,
  • Summary: When a mysterious young woman named Katie appears in the small North Carolina town of Southport, her sudden arrival raises questions about her past. Beautiful yet self-effacing, Katie seems determined to avoid forming personal ties until a series of events draws her into two reluctantWhen a mysterious young woman named Katie appears in the small North Carolina town of Southport, her sudden arrival raises questions about her past. Beautiful yet self-effacing, Katie seems determined to avoid forming personal ties until a series of events draws her into two reluctant relationships: one with Alex, a widowed store owner with a kind heart and two young children; and another with her plainspoken single neighbor, Jo. Despite her reservations, Katie slowly begins to let down her guard, putting down roots in the close-knit community and becoming increasingly attached to Alex and his family. But even as Katie begins to fall in love, she struggles with the dark secret that still haunts and terrifies her . . . a past that set her on a fearful, shattering journey across the country, to the sheltered oasis of Southport. With Jo's empathic and stubborn support, Katie eventually realizes that she must choose between a life of transient safety and one of riskier rewards . . . and that in the darkest hour, love is the only true safe haven. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 33
  2. Negative: 13 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    Feb 14, 2013
    75
    A sentimental romantic thriller. But it’s a well-made sentimental romantic thriller, and that makes all the difference.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Feb 13, 2013
    50
    The picture-postcard location of Southport, N.C., is the film's strong suit.
  3. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Feb 20, 2013
    50
    This one blends the scented candles of a daytime soap with the tamer aspects of a middling thriller. Some folks will bring Kleenex. Others will need NoDoz.
  4. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Feb 15, 2013
    40
    The movie’s not all bad. There’s palpable chemistry between Duhamel and Hough. The former particularly seems well-suited to this sort of thing: He has just the right amount of grizzled charm to be one of those wounded hunks Sparks likes so much.
  5. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Feb 13, 2013
    38
    It’s hard to argue with the title here – Safe Haven, indeed. This is all about safety in the Hollywood workplace. Why make a movie when making a Hallmark-card-with-dialogue is so much less risky?
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Feb 13, 2013
    33
    The cutaways to this cop-on-the-edge plot are jarring and lacking in conviction, and when the whole tortured mess comes together in a twist-filled third act, Safe Haven becomes a full-blown calamity.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Feb 14, 2013
    0
    I hate Safe Haven. It's a terrible thing to do to your Valentine.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 29
  2. Negative: 8 out of 29
  1. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    I am amazed how wrong most critics are at rating movies these days. Have they become so shallow and devoid of common sense? If you are a movieI am amazed how wrong most critics are at rating movies these days. Have they become so shallow and devoid of common sense? If you are a movie buff that likes a great family movie,great story, unusual setting, romance, drama, thriller with a surprise ending go see it, you will not regret it. Collapse
  2. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    This movie was everything I wanted on a Friday night after a busy day at work. It was another one of Nicholas Sparks' masterpieces that keptThis movie was everything I wanted on a Friday night after a busy day at work. It was another one of Nicholas Sparks' masterpieces that kept me enthralled the whole way through. I was kept on my feet the whole way through and the whole, 'Jo' storyline and ending was really something I didn't expect. Safe Haven is certainly a movie you should see. I give it a 10. Also, this website keeps changing my score from 10 to a 9. Expand
  3. Feb 15, 2013
    9
    I almost missed a lovely movie because of the pitiful reviews. The theatre audience even clapped at the end. How many times do you witnessI almost missed a lovely movie because of the pitiful reviews. The theatre audience even clapped at the end. How many times do you witness that? I go to the movies all the time and rarely see that. The characters are basically nice people you will like with one exception. That's a relief in comparison to so many movies out there now. Expand
  4. Sep 20, 2013
    6
    Ok, another film based on a Nicholas Sparks novel, Safe Haven isn't perfect, have some good ideas, wich are not fully exploited, but in theOk, another film based on a Nicholas Sparks novel, Safe Haven isn't perfect, have some good ideas, wich are not fully exploited, but in the development some of these ideas has a great end, the performances are not perfect. but are good, Julianne Hough is for much the best of the movie, and finally the script, is acceptable. Safe Haven is a good movie, and it's better than the Nicholas Sparks movie of the last year (The Lucky One). Expand
  5. Aug 3, 2013
    5
    Safe Haven is NOT about women's independence. It's about the opposite. I would've liked to see a female helmer work this storyline, even aSafe Haven is NOT about women's independence. It's about the opposite. I would've liked to see a female helmer work this storyline, even a male director who at least sort of understood women. Expand
  6. Feb 23, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is an okay romance movie that suffers from the crazy plot twists and only a few good actors. Julianne Hough is alright and Josh Duhamel does better here then in Transformers but the ending just ruined it. Its a good movie if u like romantic movies. Expand
  7. Mar 8, 2013
    0
    It's doing what a romantic movie is suppose to do but it leaves you hanging with its emotional gaze at love. Safe Haven is whatever a romanticIt's doing what a romantic movie is suppose to do but it leaves you hanging with its emotional gaze at love. Safe Haven is whatever a romantic movie fan loves but I think it will disappoint others. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews

Trailers