Safe

Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    May 3, 2012
    75
    There's a back story to this, and it's actually sort of witty.
  2. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Apr 30, 2012
    80
    A rough, exhausting, exhilarating action picture with a payoff which would have delighted Sam Fuller or Howard Hawks. The Stath - an actual Olympian, remember - is on top form.
  3. Reviewed by: Farran Smith Nehme
    Apr 27, 2012
    75
    There are zero surprises, but it looks good, moves well through a trim running time and wields its clich├ęs with defiant aplomb.
  4. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Apr 26, 2012
    75
    Boaz Yakin's slick direction, marked by quick cuts, unstinting energy and a lack of sentimentality, makes the action scenes satisfying. But he's a better director than writer.
  5. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 26, 2012
    75
    The violence has the straightforward, unflinching characteristic evident in "Reservoir Dogs" and "Pulp Fiction," although Yakin's dialogue falls considerably short of Tarantino's, both in terms of substance and offbeat humor.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Apr 26, 2012
    70
    There's nothing terribly original about Safe, but it's a suitably grimy playground for action cinema's reigning pit bull.
  7. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Apr 26, 2012
    90
    Safe is both a slavish imitation of cinema gone by and a movie for our time. I found it wickedly entertaining and perversely refreshing in its total lack of contemporary piety.
  8. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Apr 25, 2012
    70
    Statham probably isn't going to be doing Shakespeare anytime soon. But everybody ought to be good at something, and when it comes to this kind of thing, Statham is very good, indeed.
  9. Reviewed by: Aaron Hillis
    Apr 24, 2012
    70
    A preposterously enjoyable - or enjoyably preposterous - action-thriller.
  10. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Apr 22, 2012
    63
    Safe's primary contribution to the burgeoning Jason-Statham-kicks-everyone's-ass subgenre is setting three of its set pieces in crowded New York City venues (a subway car, a hotel dining room, and a Chinatown nightclub) where shootouts lead to believable mass-exodus pandemonium.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 136 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. May 7, 2012
    2
    What a horrible excuse for a film. The whole point here was to show ultra violent scenes, not to have a story that anyone cpould give a damnWhat a horrible excuse for a film. The whole point here was to show ultra violent scenes, not to have a story that anyone cpould give a damn about.. I thought "Safehouse"was absurd but this makes it look like a calm, deliberate masterpiece. Violence, gore, and brain matter splattering acroos the sreen do not make a film. Half the time, you do not even know who is being killed. Also, I am sick and tired of the shaky camera technique. I am not a prude but this nonsense is getting out of hand. Pure garbarge. Full Review »
  2. May 10, 2012
    4
    It's an extremely violent film and shows many racial stereotypes too, although I liked the fact that it shows a Chinese girl who is aIt's an extremely violent film and shows many racial stereotypes too, although I liked the fact that it shows a Chinese girl who is a mathematical genius (another stereotype). I love Jason Statham as an actor, although I think he should be given a better script to show off his acting chops. Full Review »
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    6
    Probably the best Statham film, action wise, in the past few years. Lots of good, solid action and the plot, while filled with plenty ofProbably the best Statham film, action wise, in the past few years. Lots of good, solid action and the plot, while filled with plenty of typical sterotypes, is good enough to sit through the entire movie for. Worth giving a chance imo. Full Review »