Safe

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 136 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 136
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 1, 2012
    4
    This may be Jason Statham's worst flick yet. The convoluted plot involves corrupt NYC cops pitted Chinese and Russian gangs. They're all out to find a Chinese girl with a gift for numbers and Statham is the indomitable tough guy who decides to protect her. The action gets off to a slow start (too much chatter) and most of the encounters involve gunplay (not hand-to-hand, which is Statham'sThis may be Jason Statham's worst flick yet. The convoluted plot involves corrupt NYC cops pitted Chinese and Russian gangs. They're all out to find a Chinese girl with a gift for numbers and Statham is the indomitable tough guy who decides to protect her. The action gets off to a slow start (too much chatter) and most of the encounters involve gunplay (not hand-to-hand, which is Statham's forte). Like so many weak films these days, the fights are staged with jerky camera moves and blurry editing, so it's impossible to appreciate what's really happening. Nothing about Statham, the stunts or the story is special. Expand
  2. May 3, 2012
    6
    Navigating between the Chinese Triad, Russian Mafia, corrupt NYPD members and an equally corrupt NY City Mayor's office, Stratham is either befriending or fighting with one or all four of the groups. The movie is very predictable, but it was hard not to like it. Stratham is a very capable action anti-hero here, though his character's back story is ludicrous. The villains are all prettyNavigating between the Chinese Triad, Russian Mafia, corrupt NYPD members and an equally corrupt NY City Mayor's office, Stratham is either befriending or fighting with one or all four of the groups. The movie is very predictable, but it was hard not to like it. Stratham is a very capable action anti-hero here, though his character's back story is ludicrous. The villains are all pretty stereotypical and mostly decently acted (with the exception of Chris Sarandon's gay mayor, who did not need to be gay and was was not a good casting decision -- totally unbelievable). The sidekick little girl is cute and effective in her role. It almost had the feel of a Chinese or Korean gangster movie, except the story just got too convoluted. The main story line is preposterous, with the math savant child, the Triad's need for her in the U.S., then the dual safe exchange involved in the main plot payoff. So when the story is this awful, but the action is real and pretty well filmed, how you rate it depends entirely on how much you like action movies. They are my guilty pleasure, but I like them better when they are not so contrived. People who rate this movie poorly don't like the genre. Those who rate it highly are perhaps too enamored with the genre to be objective. Expand
  3. May 31, 2012
    5
    Safe is a Jason Statham film and for that reason there is a certain lowering of expectations that comes with it. For instance when I watched Killer Elite I went into it hoping for some competent action and Robert De Niro hamming it up as he likes to do from time to time. Because I went in expecting exactly what I got out of it, I was in the end, thoroughly entertained. However despite mySafe is a Jason Statham film and for that reason there is a certain lowering of expectations that comes with it. For instance when I watched Killer Elite I went into it hoping for some competent action and Robert De Niro hamming it up as he likes to do from time to time. Because I went in expecting exactly what I got out of it, I was in the end, thoroughly entertained. However despite my expectations being incredibly low I just couldn't shake the feeling that Safe was missing something. Safe as a movie is all about chaos. the chaotic nature of the New York underground, where the film starts is compared with the underground crime families the film is based around. As people start killing and losing money in equal measure everything turns into chaos. That being said the chaos feels really scripted, as if someone is pulling the strings on one of the fasted puppet shows ever made. A fight emerges when expected, a tense conversation ends in bullets firing in the most predictable of ways. It's all designed to be exciting but if anything it just feels safe. It's a heavily mapped out action film with no room for original thought or a detour from whats expected. It ends neatly, the action is relatively well handled in a seen that before kind of way, and lots of people die. It's everything an action fan could want but somehow I just wanted more. Expand
  4. Jun 2, 2012
    5
    Jason Statham is one half Jet Li and one half Bruce Willis, but the sum of the parts don't equal the whole. Plot is implausible, action sequences so-so. Bonus: the Chinese being spoken in this movie is painfully funny (but on average, more painful than funny.)
  5. Jun 9, 2012
    6
    '' Safe '' is just another Jason Statham's fun, violent action movie. Well, I actually enjoyed it. There were things that surprised me, that I wasn't expecting. The camera work was excellent. I was interested by the background story. The actions scenes were intense. Sure, there were shaky cameras, but it worked for this movie. You could still tell what was going on, so I didn't had'' Safe '' is just another Jason Statham's fun, violent action movie. Well, I actually enjoyed it. There were things that surprised me, that I wasn't expecting. The camera work was excellent. I was interested by the background story. The actions scenes were intense. Sure, there were shaky cameras, but it worked for this movie. You could still tell what was going on, so I didn't had problems with it. In action, gang, spy movies these days, we see a lot of stereotypes. You know, evil Russians, Chinese mobsters, etc. I'm sick and tired of seeing that. I know it's just a movie, but Hollywood should be more original sometimes. Of course, in '' Safe '', the math genius had to be a little Chinese girl. Oh well, what the heck, I liked her in the movie. Anyway, '' Safe '' was entertaining and it's a good action flick to see with some friends. Expand
  6. Sep 30, 2012
    6
    Jason needs to stop doing the B rated movies. He is much to good for that. This is another one that is just not up to the standard he should set for himself.
  7. Oct 30, 2012
    6
    Probably the best Statham film, action wise, in the past few years. Lots of good, solid action and the plot, while filled with plenty of typical sterotypes, is good enough to sit through the entire movie for. Worth giving a chance imo.
  8. May 10, 2012
    4
    It's an extremely violent film and shows many racial stereotypes too, although I liked the fact that it shows a Chinese girl who is a mathematical genius (another stereotype). I love Jason Statham as an actor, although I think he should be given a better script to show off his acting chops.
  9. Apr 29, 2012
    6
    It was OK. It's not a full-course meal, but consider it one of those huge appetizers. Just enough plot, style, and decent camera work to wrap around the real point of the movie: showing a lot of as--s getting kicked. With Van Damme and Segal's careers pretty much over, the only non-Asian carrying the martial arts torch these days is Statham and he does it well enough. Transporter wasIt was OK. It's not a full-course meal, but consider it one of those huge appetizers. Just enough plot, style, and decent camera work to wrap around the real point of the movie: showing a lot of as--s getting kicked. With Van Damme and Segal's careers pretty much over, the only non-Asian carrying the martial arts torch these days is Statham and he does it well enough. Transporter was his best, but this one fits in nicely with the rest of Jason's work. Expand
  10. May 2, 2012
    4
    Safe, the new fil of Jason Statham, Ineed say that is better than the Mechanic, but have the same problem that the other movies of Jason, is same. The story of Safe is interesting, but the development, yeah, is like the other movies, Statham kill, and we watch a boom, and the rest you know. The cast have terrible performances, but don't be important because they don't think in an oscar orSafe, the new fil of Jason Statham, Ineed say that is better than the Mechanic, but have the same problem that the other movies of Jason, is same. The story of Safe is interesting, but the development, yeah, is like the other movies, Statham kill, and we watch a boom, and the rest you know. The cast have terrible performances, but don't be important because they don't think in an oscar or a golden globe. Is better than the mechanic, but I feel that I watch a new version of the transporter. Expand
  11. Nov 24, 2012
    4
    I found 'Safe' to be a competently made action thriller that fully lives up to it's name; the film plays it way too safe. Sure, Jason Statham delivers a surplus of ass-kickings and there is plenty of violent invention on display (I found a scene involving the use of a bottle as a silencer quite original) and I'll admit that I enjoy watching a bad-guy have his trachea broken. But violenceI found 'Safe' to be a competently made action thriller that fully lives up to it's name; the film plays it way too safe. Sure, Jason Statham delivers a surplus of ass-kickings and there is plenty of violent invention on display (I found a scene involving the use of a bottle as a silencer quite original) and I'll admit that I enjoy watching a bad-guy have his trachea broken. But violence can only go so far in entertainment and at some point a storyline and characters surface that can't match the focus placed on the action scenes. I would say that 'Safe' is a perfect cookie cutter example of such problematic action films. What I really was interested in was watching the relationship between Statham and Chan unfold, which it never did, and I couldn't help feeling bad for James Hong, who seemed horribly miscast as a chinese gangster. Give 'Safe' a chance if you're into mindless action devoid of any meaning. I however, have interests that lie elsewhere. Expand
  12. May 19, 2013
    6
    Good action and fighting scenes but the ending really sucks even though the story is nothing special.
  13. Sep 3, 2013
    4
    I went into this movie not expecting anything great. My expectations were met. Safe is a rather uninteresting, unfocused movie without much value. Never in the movie was I drawn in. The characters weren't interesting, the story was bland, and the protagonists intentions were never really explained. Something about a homeless kick-boxer saving an asian girl and then wanting to get 30I went into this movie not expecting anything great. My expectations were met. Safe is a rather uninteresting, unfocused movie without much value. Never in the movie was I drawn in. The characters weren't interesting, the story was bland, and the protagonists intentions were never really explained. Something about a homeless kick-boxer saving an asian girl and then wanting to get 30 million dollars. I don't get it.

    The best part about this movie are the awesome one-liners. They were some of the most badass one-liners I've ever heard.
    Expand
  14. May 21, 2014
    6
    I've been on a bit of a Jason Statham kick lately and by now you all know how fond I am of his films. The man really has the action junkies raving and each film is better than the last, but even he has a hard time making Safe worth watching. Former New York City Police Detective, Luke Wright (Statham), has lost his job, his family, and his respect. He's down on his luck and on his way out,I've been on a bit of a Jason Statham kick lately and by now you all know how fond I am of his films. The man really has the action junkies raving and each film is better than the last, but even he has a hard time making Safe worth watching. Former New York City Police Detective, Luke Wright (Statham), has lost his job, his family, and his respect. He's down on his luck and on his way out, when he finds a lost Asian girl in the subway. That girl is Mei, a numbers servant from China, who has been kidnapped and forced to work for an organized crime syndicate. As it turns out, Mei is holding a secret in her head that the Chinese, Russians, and even the New York City Police are willing to kill for, so when she runs away all hell breaks loose. The story here is actually pretty solid and Jason Statham is once again terrific, playing a deep character with a great back story. Had this film expanded on the story and flashed back to the past, it may have been a lot better, but as it was, Safe quickly turns into to one big chase, with lots of bullets and bodies. Newcomer Catherine Chan plays Mei and she was horrible. This girl has been kidnapped and seen horrors that most of us couldn't even imagine, yet she's always stone faced. She is emotionless and clearly using a fake accent, making her performance dry and full of mumbled lines that do nothing but confuse the audience. Jason Statham gives his usual high energy performance, with amazing moves, and terrific one-liners, but without any support, in a film that goes from one chase to another, it really is just a wasted effort. Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    May 7, 2012
    60
    With Yakin's all-action plot operating like clockwork, an on-song Statham proves anything but expendable in a genre he dominates. Predictable, sure, but equally pleasurable.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    May 3, 2012
    75
    There's a back story to this, and it's actually sort of witty.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Apr 30, 2012
    38
    Writer-director Boaz Yakin delivers his conflicting elements mostly as intended, and with obvious ambition. But he fails to take care of certain fundamentals - most problematically, coaxing out the emotion he's seeking from Statham and young newcomer Catherine Chan.