User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 96
  2. Negative: 9 out of 96

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    4
    I went into this movie not expecting anything great. My expectations were met. Safe is a rather uninteresting, unfocused movie without much value. Never in the movie was I drawn in. The characters weren't interesting, the story was bland, and the protagonists intentions were never really explained. Something about a homeless kick-boxer saving an asian girl and then wanting to get 30 million dollars. I don't get it.

    The best part about this movie are the awesome one-liners. They were some of the most badass one-liners I've ever heard.
    Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2012
    4
    I found 'Safe' to be a competently made action thriller that fully lives up to it's name; the film plays it way too safe. Sure, Jason Statham delivers a surplus of ass-kickings and there is plenty of violent invention on display (I found a scene involving the use of a bottle as a silencer quite original) and I'll admit that I enjoy watching a bad-guy have his trachea broken. But violence can only go so far in entertainment and at some point a storyline and characters surface that can't match the focus placed on the action scenes. I would say that 'Safe' is a perfect cookie cutter example of such problematic action films. What I really was interested in was watching the relationship between Statham and Chan unfold, which it never did, and I couldn't help feeling bad for James Hong, who seemed horribly miscast as a chinese gangster. Give 'Safe' a chance if you're into mindless action devoid of any meaning. I however, have interests that lie elsewhere. Expand
  3. Sep 10, 2012
    2
    Terrible film, unbelievable premise, cliched and racially stereotyped characters and rubbish dialogue. I wish Stratham was a bit more picky about his roles because I actually think he's a credible action hero. I was hoping the action scenes would save this one but they take too long to get going and when you've just finishing watching The Raid Redemption it seems more like pushing and shoving.
  4. May 10, 2012
    4
    It's an extremely violent film and shows many racial stereotypes too, although I liked the fact that it shows a Chinese girl who is a mathematical genius (another stereotype). I love Jason Statham as an actor, although I think he should be given a better script to show off his acting chops.
  5. May 7, 2012
    2
    What a horrible excuse for a film. The whole point here was to show ultra violent scenes, not to have a story that anyone cpould give a damn about.. I thought "Safehouse"was absurd but this makes it look like a calm, deliberate masterpiece. Violence, gore, and brain matter splattering acroos the sreen do not make a film. Half the time, you do not even know who is being killed. Also, I am sick and tired of the shaky camera technique. I am not a prude but this nonsense is getting out of hand. Pure garbarge. Expand
  6. May 2, 2012
    4
    Safe, the new fil of Jason Statham, Ineed say that is better than the Mechanic, but have the same problem that the other movies of Jason, is same. The story of Safe is interesting, but the development, yeah, is like the other movies, Statham kill, and we watch a boom, and the rest you know. The cast have terrible performances, but don't be important because they don't think in an oscar or a golden globe. Is better than the mechanic, but I feel that I watch a new version of the transporter. Collapse
  7. May 1, 2012
    4
    This may be Jason Statham's worst flick yet. The convoluted plot involves corrupt NYC cops pitted Chinese and Russian gangs. They're all out to find a Chinese girl with a gift for numbers and Statham is the indomitable tough guy who decides to protect her. The action gets off to a slow start (too much chatter) and most of the encounters involve gunplay (not hand-to-hand, which is Statham's forte). Like so many weak films these days, the fights are staged with jerky camera moves and blurry editing, so it's impossible to appreciate what's really happening. Nothing about Statham, the stunts or the story is special. Expand
  8. Apr 27, 2012
    2
    Safe is no thriller. It is, however, convoluted, preposterous, and predictable. There are chase scenes, a couple of gun fights, and occasional fisticuffs--none of which are at all exciting. The fights in Safe are uninspired, messy brawls, done in the modern shaky-cam quick-cut style, which obscures Statham's martial arts prowess. Safe spends 30 minutes setting up a premise that makes no sense, and then does nothing with it. The story of Safe is too complicated, and the characters are too simple. There is no reason to care about what happens to Luke and Mei against two gangs or twenty. Statham delivers one-liners that suggests fun 80's action camp. Safe, however, is not fun. It is dull and tedious. We are told much too early what the code is for; there are no surprises. From then on, Safe is a mechanical exercise, void of any suspense or purpose. Full review on my blog. Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: James Mottram
    May 7, 2012
    60
    With Yakin's all-action plot operating like clockwork, an on-song Statham proves anything but expendable in a genre he dominates. Predictable, sure, but equally pleasurable.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    May 3, 2012
    75
    There's a back story to this, and it's actually sort of witty.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Apr 30, 2012
    38
    Writer-director Boaz Yakin delivers his conflicting elements mostly as intended, and with obvious ambition. But he fails to take care of certain fundamentals - most problematically, coaxing out the emotion he's seeking from Statham and young newcomer Catherine Chan.