User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 1 out of 131

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    I really enjoyed Safety Not Guaranteed, and it was mostly because Aubrey Plaza is very enjoyable/interesting to watch. My crush on her aside, this movie was very well done, in that it didn't sell out and explain everything going on but gave some tidbits here and there to keep your imagination going. There are laughs throughout, some times where you might feel some tears lingering behind your eyes, and other times where you are confused on what to feel- but that's a good thing. Everything about this movie is interesting and well played by the cast and every one else involved with the film. Definitely recommend anyone in their late teens and older to go check this out. Expand
  2. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a wonderful little quirky film. At no time during the film was I ever bored. Aubrey Plaza (sort of reprising her role from Parks and Recreation) was marvelous and made the film for me. The plot (inspired by a real life ad that appeared in a magazine) unfolds slowly and surprisingly, unlike so many other independent films, actually has an ending! Expand
  3. Jun 17, 2012
    9
    Wow, what a charmer this movie is. Jake Johnson pulls of the Russell Brand trick of making a smarmy, cynical character likable, and Aubrey Plaza is really a revelation. You suspect that her moping around in the first third of this movie would drive you away, but the way she warms up as the story progresses is really irresistible. Oh, and Mark Duplass should be a leading man in every other rom-com from here on out. Supporting roles are also uniformly stellar. I'm going to compare this to Juno because you think it's going to aggravate like nails on a blackboard, but then it completely wins you over. Highly recommended Expand
  4. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    This is a low budget movie that would probably bore 95% of the population. That being said, I am not part of that grouping because I loved it. I mainly only watched the movie because I love Aubrey Plaza but I am happy to say that I was pleasantly surprised. The acting was absolutely fantastic and the story was incredibly original. The movie was more about life and how we perceive ourselves in it than time travel and I think that's what the writer and director were going for so I think they did a great job. This film reminded me of a quote from the show Boston Legal where the character Alan Shore says, "I think we live our lives so afraid to be seen as weak that we die, perhaps, without ever having been seen at all." If you see the movie I think you'd see why. Expand
  5. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    This movie strikes a chord on a multitude of levels, with a few direct statements of truth. It doesn't hold your hand in some Hollywood fashion slowly ramping you up to "get it". It simply tells an all too real fairy tale of life, love and hardship. I cannot find a way to discredit this great flick in anyway, whether its campy nature or amateur window dressing shine through. It honestly deserves nothing less than a 10 for it's honesty. Expand
  6. Apr 12, 2014
    9
    "Safety Not Guaranteed" es una buena comedia dramatica, con un excelente guion y con un buen argumento para contar.Esta pelicula tambien tuvo buenas actuaciones, como las de Mark Duplass y Jake Johnson.
  7. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    Retro cinematic joy. I doubt that there is anyone who will not like this movie. Its witty, funny, well acted, well shot, imaginative, well thought out, well written, beautifully executed and the list just goes on. Its an extremely amazing dramedy which has way too many perks and NO cons. I recommend this movie to all movie goers.
  8. Aug 11, 2013
    9
    I don't know why but I really liked Safety not guaranteed. It has great story and plot and it's really smart. It shows how important friendship is. It had some extremely funny moments and it was humouristic but it also had some sad moments. It had also sci-fi moments and the combination of those three is really good and the result of that film was excellent. The actors were ok and the film had many things going on which made it really interesting. I liked it I didn't know the film but when I read about it I knew that I would like. An indie-low budget-must-watch. I guarantee you that you will like this film! Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 22, 2012
    63
    Eccentric enough to get mistaken for an uplifting fantasy, but it's Plaza who belongs in the penthouse.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 22, 2012
    80
    Even if something feels crazy -- whether it's falling in with a self-taught time-traveler, or buying into a charming but faintly flawed movie premise -- if you listen to your gut, wonderful things can happen.
  3. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Jun 14, 2012
    75
    Call me biased, but I'm quick to put out the welcome mat for any movie – good, bad or indifferent – that resists easy categorizing. That's certainly the charm of Safety NotGuaranteed, which flirts with two very different genres yet never goes steady with either.