Safety Not Guaranteed

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 149 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 1 out of 149
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 17, 2012
    6
    There is not really much to like or dislike in this film as it is not a complete film. Like many in of its type, its lacks any real depth and tries to get by on some teenage or SNL type charm. The result is a movie that has no real story, no resolution, no real characters that you give a damn, and you just leave the theater shaking your head. Why this was a crowd pleaser at Sundance may beThere is not really much to like or dislike in this film as it is not a complete film. Like many in of its type, its lacks any real depth and tries to get by on some teenage or SNL type charm. The result is a movie that has no real story, no resolution, no real characters that you give a damn, and you just leave the theater shaking your head. Why this was a crowd pleaser at Sundance may be because everything else was so lame? I don't know but this is a paper thin attempt at novelty that doesn't work. Expand
  2. Feb 23, 2013
    6
    The message of the movie is uplifting. No matter how weird a person is they are usually better with a companion. The ending of the film was just awkward to me.
  3. Jan 5, 2013
    6
    This film is a mildly amusing fanciful romp -- nothing more and nothing less. Keep your expectations low and you should be pleasantly surprised. A fun hour and a half.
  4. Sep 1, 2014
    6
    We are reminded once more of Aubrey Plaza's charm and bright career ahead of her. Safety Not Guaranteed is a young comedy that is uplifting enough to be remembered.
  5. Feb 6, 2014
    6
    The movie is what one could deem an alt. romantic comedy any other belief going in is only going to lead you into a sad state affairs. The casting is uninspired, but there are not many romantic comedies alt. or regular that can say otherwise. So in terms of enjoyment do you like quirky things? Do have a positive state of being even when the evidence suggests otherwise? Congratulations thisThe movie is what one could deem an alt. romantic comedy any other belief going in is only going to lead you into a sad state affairs. The casting is uninspired, but there are not many romantic comedies alt. or regular that can say otherwise. So in terms of enjoyment do you like quirky things? Do have a positive state of being even when the evidence suggests otherwise? Congratulations this film is for you, everyone else exit the room because that ending will surely ruin your day.
    Entertainment value if you like quirky films a 7. The Poe Scale is 5.5 that I will bump to a six as this films budget was under a million.
    Acting: 1/2
    Cinematography: 1/2
    Editing: 1/2
    Effects and Design 1/2
    Writing: 1.5/2
    Expand
  6. Nov 30, 2014
    6
    I didn't find the movie all that funny, but it did have an effective dramatic side. I thought that they did well by not getting too technical about all the components of time travel because that would have just made it boring. I really enjoyed Jake Johnson in this movie I would've liked to have seen a bit more from him in the movie. However Karan Soni and Mark Duplass were both charactersI didn't find the movie all that funny, but it did have an effective dramatic side. I thought that they did well by not getting too technical about all the components of time travel because that would have just made it boring. I really enjoyed Jake Johnson in this movie I would've liked to have seen a bit more from him in the movie. However Karan Soni and Mark Duplass were both characters that I didn't really care for. I think the really I didn't like this movie as much as I had hoped was because it just gets too romantic. Safety Not Guaranteed isn't bad but I probably wouldn't watch it again. Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2012
    5
    Aubrey Plaza has this look about her. She is short with large eyeballs so she has this way of looking up at people and showing them non-verbally that she thinks they are morons and whatever situation she is in at the moment is stupid. If you are a fan of the TV show Parks & Recreation, you have seen this character before in April Ludgate. The filmmakers of Safety Not Guaranteed mostAubrey Plaza has this look about her. She is short with large eyeballs so she has this way of looking up at people and showing them non-verbally that she thinks they are morons and whatever situation she is in at the moment is stupid. If you are a fan of the TV show Parks & Recreation, you have seen this character before in April Ludgate. The filmmakers of Safety Not Guaranteed most likely thought, Expand
  8. Jun 25, 2012
    5
    didn't like the acting, didn't like the script (alternatively vague and too on the nose and too unfunny), didn't like the cinematography, didn't like the music. liked mark dupass, SPOILER the design of the time machine, and a few lines. Don't believe the hype on this one. I feel ripped off by how lame the movie was. the story had potential and it went in none of the cool directions ididn't like the acting, didn't like the script (alternatively vague and too on the nose and too unfunny), didn't like the cinematography, didn't like the music. liked mark dupass, SPOILER the design of the time machine, and a few lines. Don't believe the hype on this one. I feel ripped off by how lame the movie was. the story had potential and it went in none of the cool directions i hoped it might during the film. Expand
  9. Oct 15, 2012
    5
    A reasonably watchable movie and Aubrey Plaza is hard not to like. Ultimately however, the film descends into the sort of hipster drivel that we are seeing more of lately and the final product just seems to lack cohesion. It's one of those movies where after seeing the trailer you don't know how they could possibly make a full film based on what you've seen. I should probably startA reasonably watchable movie and Aubrey Plaza is hard not to like. Ultimately however, the film descends into the sort of hipster drivel that we are seeing more of lately and the final product just seems to lack cohesion. It's one of those movies where after seeing the trailer you don't know how they could possibly make a full film based on what you've seen. I should probably start trusting my instincts when I feel that way about a preview, instead of deciding to watch a film based on the reviews and/or out of curiosity after seeing a head-scratching trailer. Collapse
  10. Nov 2, 2012
    5
    Safety Not Guaranteed starts off like a film with promise. Remember how you felt when you first watched Little Miss Sunshine? Yeah, it starts off like that. But it doesn't take much longer than twenty or thirty minutes for Aubrey Plaza's one dimensional, too-cool-to-be-here attitude to completely remove the viewer from any dedication to her character. It's all the "you're stupid" blankSafety Not Guaranteed starts off like a film with promise. Remember how you felt when you first watched Little Miss Sunshine? Yeah, it starts off like that. But it doesn't take much longer than twenty or thirty minutes for Aubrey Plaza's one dimensional, too-cool-to-be-here attitude to completely remove the viewer from any dedication to her character. It's all the "you're stupid" blank stares you've come to love from her character in Parks and Rec...only for way longer. The same goes for Jake Johnson, who makes you think he is going to be hilarious for the whole film until you realize he's really just the cliche alcoholic **** writer with a silly story arc of his own in the film that has literally no payoff or relevance to the overall plot. With that being said, Mark Duplass as the paranoid time traveler is just really fantastic. His character distracted me from Plaza and Johnson's super indie, first world problematics and gave me a reason to stay awake for the entire film. He even performs a beautiful song somewhere near the end. But then there's "the end." I've heard other critics give the ending of this movie a lot of praise. To be frank, I don't know why. It has a good ending the same way The Sopranos had a good ending. It just ends. So if you're looking for the heartfelt, dramatic comedy romp with a wild storyline and goosebumps-inducing ending...you're not going to get it. But I suppose if you have an hour and a half to spare, you can start this film up and enjoy Duplass being a stupidly good actor. Expand
  11. Apr 9, 2013
    4
    A fun premise that gets ground into the dirt by the absolutely leaden acting of the always vacuous Aubrey Plaza and occasionally derailed by a supporting character subplot that goes nowhere and offers nothing to the main storyline. The oh-so hip indie soundtrack got far more thought put into it than the actual movie.

    It's a shame as it begins strong/interesting but eventually proves to
    A fun premise that gets ground into the dirt by the absolutely leaden acting of the always vacuous Aubrey Plaza and occasionally derailed by a supporting character subplot that goes nowhere and offers nothing to the main storyline. The oh-so hip indie soundtrack got far more thought put into it than the actual movie.

    It's a shame as it begins strong/interesting but eventually proves to be a hollow, predictable story that runs down a checklist of emotional buttons to press before reaching the obvious conclusion. Oh well...
    Expand
  12. Mar 1, 2013
    4
    Safety Not Gauranteed starts out as a humoristic road-trip-esque adventure with the promise of some deep science-fiction but it ends up as some kind of modern romance movie with horrible music and around the 55 minute mark it really starts to drag as the movie slowly works towards tying up loose ends. Then when it finally ends, it ends with such an anti-climax that it seems like theSafety Not Gauranteed starts out as a humoristic road-trip-esque adventure with the promise of some deep science-fiction but it ends up as some kind of modern romance movie with horrible music and around the 55 minute mark it really starts to drag as the movie slowly works towards tying up loose ends. Then when it finally ends, it ends with such an anti-climax that it seems like the writers just stopped caring and never finished the story. Science-fiction? Time travel? In the very last minute, just before the credits role. Leaving too many questions unanswered and generally undoing the good feeling you get from it in the first 50 or so minutes makes me wish I could go back in time to stop myself from watching this movie. Aubrey Plaza (Darius) looks great and if it wasn't for her good looks, I wouldn't have rated the movie as high as I did. Karan Soni (Darau) plays a very convincing timid intern and should have gotten more screen-time. The rest of the actors were so-so. Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 22, 2012
    63
    Eccentric enough to get mistaken for an uplifting fantasy, but it's Plaza who belongs in the penthouse.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jun 22, 2012
    80
    Even if something feels crazy -- whether it's falling in with a self-taught time-traveler, or buying into a charming but faintly flawed movie premise -- if you listen to your gut, wonderful things can happen.
  3. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Jun 14, 2012
    75
    Call me biased, but I'm quick to put out the welcome mat for any movie – good, bad or indifferent – that resists easy categorizing. That's certainly the charm of Safety NotGuaranteed, which flirts with two very different genres yet never goes steady with either.