Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Ben Kenigsberg
    Oct 30, 2013
    67
    Despite its modest proportions and chilling finale, Sal is foremost an affectionate tribute, conjuring ample warmth out of relatively little.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Scherstuhl
    Oct 29, 2013
    50
    A stubbornly not-bad character study.
  3. Reviewed by: Neil Young
    Sep 23, 2013
    50
    While this heartfelt, rough-edged tribute to now largely-forgotten Hollywood actor Sal Mineo isn’t without interest, it’s too small-scale and sketchy.
  4. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Nov 1, 2013
    40
    Franco seems torn, on the one hand presenting his subject as a likably ordinary, self-involved actor and on the other sanctifying him as a would-be gay icon in a conformist industry.
  5. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Oct 29, 2013
    40
    Sal is so inconsequential, it barely exists. It seems possible that even Franco has forgotten it, in order to make room in his memory for the 74 similar projects he was pursuing around the same time.
  6. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Sep 23, 2013
    40
    While Sal means to honor its subject, it’s too clunky and amateurish to really illuminate him.
  7. Reviewed by: Dan Callahan
    Nov 1, 2013
    38
    The film ends with footage of his corpse on the sidewalk, and then a scene from "Rebel." From the first footage of the newscast on Mineo's death to this last tasteless film of his body lying in the street, nothing much has been learned about Mineo.
  8. Reviewed by: Nick McCarthy
    Oct 30, 2013
    38
    It functions under the delusion that subtext will magically appear if you linger on a character long enough, and the significance of most of its scenes is nothing if not inscrutable.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    Sal is a very rancid take on the famous actor. Directed by James Franco- I was disappointed because I just saw Franco's masterpiece As I LaySal is a very rancid take on the famous actor. Directed by James Franco- I was disappointed because I just saw Franco's masterpiece As I Lay Dying which was at the Tribeca Film Festival. Sal is very slow and carrying a lot of history and information. It just doesn't tell you about Sal Mineo, it just tells you how he dies. James Franco makes a lot of storyline bunch like a smelly sub and tries to feed it to the audience, but I wasn't hungry for this type of filmmaking at all. Franco's great enthusiasm must indulge for you to watch the film but trust me, it's not worth it. It's a candle with no fire lit to it. Full Review »