User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 35
  2. Negative: 10 out of 35
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RobertM.
    Sep 7, 2006
    8
    Absolutely hilarious! Silverman's timing is excellent and her "nice Jewish girl" shtick is worked to perfection. Some of the musical numbers are unimpressive, but overall this film is highly enjoyable.
  2. JoshC.
    Jan 23, 2007
    0
    What Bruce did with obscenity and Mr. Pryor - especially in his first concert film - did with race was to find the outer boundary of the audience's tolerance and push beyond it, confronting and confusing the satisfied self-image of the liberal, sophisticated public. This kind of transgression has long since become ritualized and normalized, and Ms. Silverman's act is the latest What Bruce did with obscenity and Mr. Pryor - especially in his first concert film - did with race was to find the outer boundary of the audience's tolerance and push beyond it, confronting and confusing the satisfied self-image of the liberal, sophisticated public. This kind of transgression has long since become ritualized and normalized, and Ms. Silverman's act is the latest evidence that mocking political correctness has become a form of political correctness in its own right. Her version of insult humor is actually flattering, both to herself and to those who find it funny. She depends on the assumption that only someone secure in his or her own lack of racism would dare to make, or to laugh at, a racist joke, the telling of which thus becomes a way of making fun simultaneously of racism and of racial hyper-sensitivity. (Like many young, otherwise deracinated Jewish comedians, Ms. Silverman falls back on her ethnic identity as a way of claiming ready-made outsider status.) Everything she says is delivered through enough layers of self-consciousness - air quotes wrapped in air quotes - to make anyone who finds it offensive look like a sucker. She even makes fun of the idea that she might be thought of as an "edgy" comedian. And indeed she isn't. Ms. Silverman is a gutless comic who is just playing it safe. Expand
  3. NCoste
    Nov 25, 2005
    8
    Though the dramitized scenes often are weak (or even bad) the facinating stand-up routine more than makes up for it. She's not always laugh-out-loud funny buy always interesting and she really "acts' while delivering her routine.
  4. jesfine
    Nov 28, 2005
    6
    Supposedely edgy stuff that shows moments of wit but over all , really isn't that funny and is of no real consequence. Found it to be rather predictable after a while. Didn't live up to expectations ... A hipsters delight. Go figure.
  5. FrankC.
    Nov 9, 2005
    9
    Although it is one of the most un-PC movies I've ever seen, Jesus is Magic is in fact, quite lovely. Parts seem drawn out, such as the beginning. But the pure comedic genuis more than makes up for it. If you enjoyed the Aristocrats, look forward to more Silverman goldmine.
  6. kenm.
    Dec 11, 2005
    8
    Extremely funny. a few slow spots when she is not on stage.
  7. michaelf.
    Dec 6, 2005
    1
    If I had to say something positive about this movie, I would say she is attractive when her mouth is closed.
  8. HooperX
    Jan 11, 2006
    2
    She isn't the least bit funny. Her schtick revolves around the allegedly shocking spectacle of seeing a "nice jewish girl" (whatever that means) hurling obscenitites. Now, I don't have a problem with comics who work blue. In fact, I love them. My problem with Silverman is that dirty words are all she has... Well that and being cute "for a female comic" and having Kimel and She isn't the least bit funny. Her schtick revolves around the allegedly shocking spectacle of seeing a "nice jewish girl" (whatever that means) hurling obscenitites. Now, I don't have a problem with comics who work blue. In fact, I love them. My problem with Silverman is that dirty words are all she has... Well that and being cute "for a female comic" and having Kimel and Carola opening doors for her. Expand
  9. Wolfer
    Jun 11, 2006
    9
    I had difficulty breathing during this, because I laughed the entire time. Her timing and dry humor is unparalleled.
  10. JimG.
    Jun 25, 2006
    3
    Very disappointing effort. Blue humor is entertaining in two sets of circumstances: (1) you're in the audience drunk and young and just looking for diversion and (2) the messenger goes blue to exclaim or embolden some broader schtick. Silverman's got no schtick. She's just a deliverer of random profanity and schlocky shock. She hasn't found her way yet. When considered Very disappointing effort. Blue humor is entertaining in two sets of circumstances: (1) you're in the audience drunk and young and just looking for diversion and (2) the messenger goes blue to exclaim or embolden some broader schtick. Silverman's got no schtick. She's just a deliverer of random profanity and schlocky shock. She hasn't found her way yet. When considered critically, the enjoyable parts of the movie turn out to be enjoyable because they were enhanced by a big budget. For example, her driving the in car sequence is bright and active, but without any humorous substance. Don't bother with this one. Unless, I suppose, you're drunk and young and got nothing else to do. Expand
  11. HalB.
    Feb 2, 2007
    7
    Geez, why do viewers/critics take themselves (and this film) so seriously? It was a generally entertaining diversion, some laugh-out-loud moments, some light musical videos, lots of vulgarity and political incorrectness. Not everyone's cup of tea, but pretty damn funny nonetheless.. Jokes about 9/11 (actually, soy lattes), blacks, asians, hispanics, jews, caucasions, genitalia and Geez, why do viewers/critics take themselves (and this film) so seriously? It was a generally entertaining diversion, some laugh-out-loud moments, some light musical videos, lots of vulgarity and political incorrectness. Not everyone's cup of tea, but pretty damn funny nonetheless.. Jokes about 9/11 (actually, soy lattes), blacks, asians, hispanics, jews, caucasions, genitalia and "dooty" make up the bulk of her material. Sarah Silverman is undoubtedly talented and this movie showcases those talents. I'm not sure she's truly "edgy" or even trying to be that. She's just funny in a very offbeat and perverse way. And she happens to be very attractive & sexy. Not the girl to bring home to your mother, unless perhaps your mother is a jewish stripper who laughs at potty humor. Expand
  12. C.B.Browne
    Nov 18, 2005
    8
    Amazing stand-up. Musical numbers and sketches are disappointing.
  13. A.E.Sadler
    Dec 4, 2005
    8
    She's disgusting, caustic and I think I love her. Sarah, drop the singing. And while you're at it, drop Jimmy and marry me.
  14. DavidR
    Nov 20, 2006
    2
    Very, very hard to watch. Silverman pretending to be jewish is like Mencia pretending to be mexican. It's just not believable. The few times I did laugh were at the jokes that you had to think about. But instead of thinking about the jokes all I could think about is this woman is sleeping with Jimmy Kimmel. Not Adam Carolla but Jimmy Kimmel, an overweight prop comic who hosts a Very, very hard to watch. Silverman pretending to be jewish is like Mencia pretending to be mexican. It's just not believable. The few times I did laugh were at the jokes that you had to think about. But instead of thinking about the jokes all I could think about is this woman is sleeping with Jimmy Kimmel. Not Adam Carolla but Jimmy Kimmel, an overweight prop comic who hosts a public access show at 4:00 in the morning. That alone left me with a bad taste in my mouth. Expand
  15. ChrisW.
    Jun 18, 2006
    9
    Probably the most original stand-up movie you will ever see! Great laughs the whole way through! Jesus is Magic!
  16. BruceO.
    Dec 11, 2005
    1
    Was this even a real movie? it really does pay to have jimmy kimmel as a boyfriend. how else would something like this actually get made and released? go rent some richard pryor.
  17. me
    Dec 26, 2005
    9
    She's hilarious. people who don't think it's a "real movie" should stop watching movies like cheaper by the dozen sequels.
  18. brette.
    Dec 28, 2006
    10
    Wildly funny. sarah hits it out the park with the deliverance of her matieral.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Sarah Silverman says things you wouldn't expect a nice, attractive Jewish girl to say. But that's only half her appeal.
  2. The hot comic du jour wants to startle us but is merely startlingly dull.
  3. 60
    Once you become accustomed to her material and begin to anticipate it, some of the shine comes off the act.