Paramount Pictures | Release Date: December 16, 1977
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 89 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
75
Mixed:
9
Negative:
5
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
PaxsterOct 16, 2010
John Travolta is brilliant in this classic dancing movie. Although I prefer grease this movie also has a place in my memory for its slick acting and even slicker dance moves. Travolta is so smooth, the model of a man, he glides between fullJohn Travolta is brilliant in this classic dancing movie. Although I prefer grease this movie also has a place in my memory for its slick acting and even slicker dance moves. Travolta is so smooth, the model of a man, he glides between full on masculinity and hip swerving disco genius. This movie cannot be taken simply as a dance movie though, it stretches much further than that. A superb storyline which has brilliant direction. It does the job if you want your Saturday Nights in anyway. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
ryancarroll88Aug 26, 2010
The movie may spend a bit too much time trying to stuff itself with substance, but it's the gilded outer fluff that really makes "Saturday Night Fever" worth watching. The opening and closing sequences are scenes that are certainly going toThe movie may spend a bit too much time trying to stuff itself with substance, but it's the gilded outer fluff that really makes "Saturday Night Fever" worth watching. The opening and closing sequences are scenes that are certainly going to stick in your mind for a while after the credits roll. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonMar 19, 2013
I have got a little twisted in Saturday Night Fever, how you ask? John Travolta, Disco, 90's style, Disco and Disco. Tis film has all the elements a cult movie has. You will get so twindled in the plot that you don't want to stop watching.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
CritiqueGirlMar 4, 2011
It was a 10 in the 70's but now, not so much. It was the disco era and it almost couldn't miss. The dancing is very good but the story line is so-so. Coming of age and so on.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
ScorpionMay 10, 2013
This is typical bad movie, everything about it is bad, the plot ridiculously vulgar, full of holes and end meaningless horribly stereotyped characters, the abuse of the same song for several times, the glamorization of the dance scenes has noThis is typical bad movie, everything about it is bad, the plot ridiculously vulgar, full of holes and end meaningless horribly stereotyped characters, the abuse of the same song for several times, the glamorization of the dance scenes has no limits provalmente this is the most pointless films already made​​. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
EvanW.May 22, 2004
I always enjoy watching Saturday Night Fever. It's not my favourite film though, even if all my friends make out that it's more than a favourite to them than I can imagine. The film isn't at an obvious level worthy of being I always enjoy watching Saturday Night Fever. It's not my favourite film though, even if all my friends make out that it's more than a favourite to them than I can imagine. The film isn't at an obvious level worthy of being filmed, or for that matter capable of being seen as an art work. I may be one of a few individuals who think this movie is still good enough to watch during 2004, even though it probably seems to everybody concerned as if we are worth much more this time round. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ERG1008Aug 19, 2010
Man is dancing legend at club, works at hardware store during day, rows with family, sees woman who he wants to partner him in dance competition, tries to persuade her, dancetastic.
Dated yet iconic seventies-fest with John Travolta strutting
Man is dancing legend at club, works at hardware store during day, rows with family, sees woman who he wants to partner him in dance competition, tries to persuade her, dancetastic.
Dated yet iconic seventies-fest with John Travolta strutting his stuff & playing pretty much a prototype of Danny Zuko which he'd play in his next film.
It does have a dark side to the film which most people forget & I was surprised how much the "c" word was thrown about.
Still, the dancing & music are great & always a good laugh for the hairstyles & fashions.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
arielamadeoJul 29, 2013
Una pelicula que logra mezclar el gtenero musical con el dramatico, y marcar una era.
Sumado a eso la banda de sonido acompaña los diferentes climas de la pelicula de forma excelente
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnTravolta321Aug 19, 2016
After reading all the reviews, the one by Gareth from Disco Mountain hits it right on the head. I loved it when it came out almost 25 years ago, I think it's a masterpiece now. There's no dead space in that movie. When you consider all theAfter reading all the reviews, the one by Gareth from Disco Mountain hits it right on the head. I loved it when it came out almost 25 years ago, I think it's a masterpiece now. There's no dead space in that movie. When you consider all the issues raised, it's astounding that more people don't see the authenticity and humanity within all the flaws of the characters. What Badham did was create a seamless integration of many contemporary themes, and they still hold today in some other neighborhood anywhere in the world. First, it has some of the most natural dialogue ever written. Gritty and powerful and sexy. When I first saw it, I reacted to it with passion. Today, I see the brilliant writing and directing, and those issues! feminism, racism, class consciousness, family dysfunction, religious uncertainty, teenage angst, the inevitable changes encroaching the neighborhood. And all these social commentaries to the beat of nonstop, exhilirating music. The apathy and despair in the family scenes alone go right to the gut. I know these people! Finally, blend that in with those great Brooklyn accents, the dancing, Travolta and company, and you've got one of the most authentic movies made in the last 25 years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Popcorn55Jan 6, 2018
"What do you got - a stairway to the stars?"

"Maybe..."

There you have it -- young ambition in a nutshell. The basic human condition.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
amheretojudgeJan 16, 2018
staying alive..

Saturday Night Fever

It is no mere musical movie as it portrays an enormous amount of practicality and vulnerability especially in its final act considering its premise that is a clubbed youth drama.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews