Paramount Pictures | Release Date: December 16, 1977
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 83 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
71
Mixed:
8
Negative:
4
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
PaxsterOct 16, 2010
John Travolta is brilliant in this classic dancing movie. Although I prefer grease this movie also has a place in my memory for its slick acting and even slicker dance moves. Travolta is so smooth, the model of a man, he glides between fullJohn Travolta is brilliant in this classic dancing movie. Although I prefer grease this movie also has a place in my memory for its slick acting and even slicker dance moves. Travolta is so smooth, the model of a man, he glides between full on masculinity and hip swerving disco genius. This movie cannot be taken simply as a dance movie though, it stretches much further than that. A superb storyline which has brilliant direction. It does the job if you want your Saturday Nights in anyway. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
ryancarroll88Aug 26, 2010
The movie may spend a bit too much time trying to stuff itself with substance, but it's the gilded outer fluff that really makes "Saturday Night Fever" worth watching. The opening and closing sequences are scenes that are certainly going toThe movie may spend a bit too much time trying to stuff itself with substance, but it's the gilded outer fluff that really makes "Saturday Night Fever" worth watching. The opening and closing sequences are scenes that are certainly going to stick in your mind for a while after the credits roll. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonMar 19, 2013
I have got a little twisted in Saturday Night Fever, how you ask? John Travolta, Disco, 90's style, Disco and Disco. Tis film has all the elements a cult movie has. You will get so twindled in the plot that you don't want to stop watching.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MarkK.Mar 1, 2003
I never knew that Danny Terrio from "Dance Fever" was the one who taught Travolta how to dance in this film! In any event, this is an all-time classic, and I agree with the late, great Gene Siskel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
YoonC.Sep 15, 2003
A film from the disco craze era that overcomes the datedness of the material by presenting a memorable character struggling with the universal, timeless problems of growing into manhood. Travolta at his best and great music from Bee Gees.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnH.Apr 5, 2005
Best of all time!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvanW.May 22, 2004
I always enjoy watching Saturday Night Fever. It's not my favourite film though, even if all my friends make out that it's more than a favourite to them than I can imagine. The film isn't at an obvious level worthy of being I always enjoy watching Saturday Night Fever. It's not my favourite film though, even if all my friends make out that it's more than a favourite to them than I can imagine. The film isn't at an obvious level worthy of being filmed, or for that matter capable of being seen as an art work. I may be one of a few individuals who think this movie is still good enough to watch during 2004, even though it probably seems to everybody concerned as if we are worth much more this time round. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvanW.May 22, 2004
I always enjoy watching Saturday Night Fever. It's not my favourite film though, even if all my friends make out that it's more than a favourite to them than I can imagine. The film isn't at an obvious level worthy of being I always enjoy watching Saturday Night Fever. It's not my favourite film though, even if all my friends make out that it's more than a favourite to them than I can imagine. The film isn't at an obvious level worthy of being filmed, or for that matter capable of being seen as an art work. I may be one of a few individuals who think this movie is still good enough to watch during 2004, even though it probably seems to everybody concerned as if we are worth much more this time round. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CritiqueGirlMar 4, 2011
It was a 10 in the 70's but now, not so much. It was the disco era and it almost couldn't miss. The dancing is very good but the story line is so-so. Coming of age and so on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
arielamadeoJul 29, 2013
Una pelicula que logra mezclar el gtenero musical con el dramatico, y marcar una era.
Sumado a eso la banda de sonido acompaƱa los diferentes climas de la pelicula de forma excelente
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnTravolta321Aug 19, 2016
After reading all the reviews, the one by Gareth from Disco Mountain hits it right on the head. I loved it when it came out almost 25 years ago, I think it's a masterpiece now. There's no dead space in that movie. When you consider all theAfter reading all the reviews, the one by Gareth from Disco Mountain hits it right on the head. I loved it when it came out almost 25 years ago, I think it's a masterpiece now. There's no dead space in that movie. When you consider all the issues raised, it's astounding that more people don't see the authenticity and humanity within all the flaws of the characters. What Badham did was create a seamless integration of many contemporary themes, and they still hold today in some other neighborhood anywhere in the world. First, it has some of the most natural dialogue ever written. Gritty and powerful and sexy. When I first saw it, I reacted to it with passion. Today, I see the brilliant writing and directing, and those issues! feminism, racism, class consciousness, family dysfunction, religious uncertainty, teenage angst, the inevitable changes encroaching the neighborhood. And all these social commentaries to the beat of nonstop, exhilirating music. The apathy and despair in the family scenes alone go right to the gut. I know these people! Finally, blend that in with those great Brooklyn accents, the dancing, Travolta and company, and you've got one of the most authentic movies made in the last 25 years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews