User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 178 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 178

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2014
    3
    Caught up by one-too-many obstacles and loses sight of quality filmmaking. The premise is also vague--taking numerous turns, creating an unbelievable and indistinct piece of film.
  2. Jan 20, 2014
    2
    This film is horrendous and I was very surprised when I read the director was Oliver Stone. The worst part of it is, of course, the plot: trite and dull, where the only new thing we haven't already seen a million times is the double ending, which is an utter mess, so much so that I don't even want to write about it.

    The acting is laughable, with the exception of Benicio del Toro who is,
    This film is horrendous and I was very surprised when I read the director was Oliver Stone. The worst part of it is, of course, the plot: trite and dull, where the only new thing we haven't already seen a million times is the double ending, which is an utter mess, so much so that I don't even want to write about it.

    The acting is laughable, with the exception of Benicio del Toro who is, as usual, great in this simple-minded, one-way character he was given.
    Expand
  3. Dec 31, 2013
    0
    I kept waiting for it to get better. It doesn't... it gets worse. The final ending really sinks it. Could they make the female character more whiny? She is someone you can't identify with and yet they continue to have her narrate. This is an art film with mainstream violence thrown in to make it sell.
  4. Dec 17, 2013
    2
    This movie was lame. I'm disappointed in Oliver stone. The story is lame and very unbelievable. The acting was very stale. Will not recommend or watch again.
  5. Nov 10, 2013
    0
    Savages is, thankfully, a one off experience. I have never experienced such a poor film in my years as a movie goer. None of the characters are likable, the script is a mess and hugely disappointing and Oliver Stone seems to still think random transitions and filters are impressive. It is not the worst movie ever made, but it could potentially be the least enjoyable.
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    1
    The one most obvious flaw in the movie. These two guys would not even care if 'O' was executed in the drug world. There is no loyalty or love. These people are insane, period. No compassion. No morality code. I got it, it's a movie. Just not very good one. The ending was a complete cinematic disaster. If that was Stone's artistic 'See what a great screenplay writer I am' attempt, I amThe one most obvious flaw in the movie. These two guys would not even care if 'O' was executed in the drug world. There is no loyalty or love. These people are insane, period. No compassion. No morality code. I got it, it's a movie. Just not very good one. The ending was a complete cinematic disaster. If that was Stone's artistic 'See what a great screenplay writer I am' attempt, I am disappointed. Expand
  7. Jul 29, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the ones i wanted to die was the main characters they were totally ugly. Taylor's character is a sadist every torture scene he's smirking. Gosh i was hoping the shootout ending was what really happened. this is an unwatchable travesty Expand
  8. Feb 12, 2013
    0
    Too much exaggeration and commercialism. All the love-making and inhumane treatment of human bodies did not support the main point of the movie or at least, make up for the lack of real action. The kind of action is like throwing grenades and shooting big guns..nothing that requires too much skill (the way a real action film is suppose to be). This movie tried too hard to be sexy, scary,Too much exaggeration and commercialism. All the love-making and inhumane treatment of human bodies did not support the main point of the movie or at least, make up for the lack of real action. The kind of action is like throwing grenades and shooting big guns..nothing that requires too much skill (the way a real action film is suppose to be). This movie tried too hard to be sexy, scary, and hardcore. Expand
  9. Dec 16, 2012
    0
    Another comic book extrusion by Ollie Stone. The "violence" was so contrived, and the characters so manufactured, that it seemed about as real as an elementary school play, with little kids and plastic swords. Blake Lively as the hot babe? She's way over the hill. John Travolta again? Won't he ever go away, and do us the favor of keeping his bloated, cross-eyed, ferret-like mincingAnother comic book extrusion by Ollie Stone. The "violence" was so contrived, and the characters so manufactured, that it seemed about as real as an elementary school play, with little kids and plastic swords. Blake Lively as the hot babe? She's way over the hill. John Travolta again? Won't he ever go away, and do us the favor of keeping his bloated, cross-eyed, ferret-like mincing persona out of our collective view? And Salma Hayek with the Uma Thurman wig straight out of Pulp Fiction (a similar failed exercise in Hollywood cool-ness). How derivative can you get? I will say though that the movie got better after the 4th glass of wine. Expand
  10. Dec 9, 2012
    0
    Wargasms? Are you kidding me man? I had to turn this film off. It's trying far too hard to be cool. Not gritty at all. Over the top in the extreme with the music, editing, even to the point of glamorizing the violence. Not a good idea to have a woman shot in the head followed by some cool music with a bunch of gangsters strutting along looking all bad!ass. This film might be trying to sayWargasms? Are you kidding me man? I had to turn this film off. It's trying far too hard to be cool. Not gritty at all. Over the top in the extreme with the music, editing, even to the point of glamorizing the violence. Not a good idea to have a woman shot in the head followed by some cool music with a bunch of gangsters strutting along looking all bad!ass. This film might be trying to say something good, who knows. I just couldn't hack the style. Ok so Scarface is over the top, but it had atmosphere, mood, and it was intense, The violence was necessary but not gratuitous for the sake of it. Expand
  11. Nov 5, 2012
    3
    Savages, a film by Oliver Stone, tends to be so over the top, you begin to wonder how the actors all keep a straight face. This is a film that's cheese ball, but doesn't know it's cheese ball. Those are the worst kinds of movies.
  12. Jul 29, 2012
    0
    Terrible movie. Couldn't root for any of the main characters, especially the blonde, so you didn't care what happened to them. Stakes were therefore zero. Plus her annoying Voice Over which is a lazy man's device- if I wanted to listen to someone read me a story I'd buy a book on tape, not go to the movie. And the double ending was hilariously bad. People in the theater actually laughed.Terrible movie. Couldn't root for any of the main characters, especially the blonde, so you didn't care what happened to them. Stakes were therefore zero. Plus her annoying Voice Over which is a lazy man's device- if I wanted to listen to someone read me a story I'd buy a book on tape, not go to the movie. And the double ending was hilariously bad. People in the theater actually laughed. And this isn't a comedy. Save your money and see anything else. Expand
  13. Jul 13, 2012
    0
    Steer clear of this movie - it is terrible. I love action/suspense thrillers and went to see Savages after seeing an overall positive score for it on Metacritic. I have no idea how Savages got a score of 62 - I would give it a 2 at best. Save your time, brain and money and see something else.
  14. Jul 10, 2012
    3
    I reviewed the movie "Savages" and find it rather disturbing and somewhat confusing to watch at times. At a few scenes my eyes had wandered off. The movie starts off with two young men, one that I could remember tended the University of Harvard, and his course of study was in Biology. What a waste of time, because he did not do anything with that education, but grow lousy cannabis.ThatI reviewed the movie "Savages" and find it rather disturbing and somewhat confusing to watch at times. At a few scenes my eyes had wandered off. The movie starts off with two young men, one that I could remember tended the University of Harvard, and his course of study was in Biology. What a waste of time, because he did not do anything with that education, but grow lousy cannabis.That was such a waste of time tending such a prestigious college, who does not accept just anyone. The other guy is so prone to violence and utter rage he takes his bad temper out on others, which is the real reason his friend does not do the dirty work in their operation. Both men are operating an illegal cannabis organization. The Harvard college/ Biology major not have a mean and violent streak, but his simple minded friend sure does. Besides the confusing explosive scenes, and shootouts, and car chases all rolled up into one motion picture, I do not see the real point this film. But the real action happens when Mr Harvard biology major's and Mr. angry guy's girlfriend is abducted, and held as a hostage. The two men are dating the same woman. How the heck does that happen? They did get into an illegal business, mixed up with maybe another competing drug cartel, which I am sure, that is the main reason the girlfriend was abducted. The main man in charge don't want any competition messing with his business. And so the dope man taken something that belongs to them, since they are taking away the most important business he has in his life. And to top it all off, they got involved with a crooked FBI agent played by John Travolta, who's also got his hands full with the same cartel, and now he is really involved in the abduction of this woman, and is trying to call the cards of her survival. That so ridiculous!. Mr. dop man in total charge holds the girl hostage and tortures her. I do not know why the girl is so important to abduct and torture, because she's dating them both, and she's not either of their girlfriend. All I see in this movie is a lot of shootings, a few explosive scenes, violence, abduction, torture and bullying. The movie does not take you anywhere, well not me, not to the main point anyway. But all and all it is still better than wasting your money on "That's MY BOY"! Expand
  15. Jul 8, 2012
    4
    The movie was a fine effort by the director and the actors but the subject matter was sick, really dark....the most likable character was a corrupt DEA agent. Maybe a little too close to reality is the problem. Another scary commentary on society.
  16. Jul 6, 2012
    3
    Take away the violence, mostly gratuitous, the sex scenes, a lot of needless voice over and this 2 hour and 10 minute movie would be an hour shorter and faster. Oliver Stone is out to prove that all people are evil, in other words savages, and in his directing appears to be the most savage of all.

    The story takes place in Laguna Beach plus other areas of Southern California and North
    Take away the violence, mostly gratuitous, the sex scenes, a lot of needless voice over and this 2 hour and 10 minute movie would be an hour shorter and faster. Oliver Stone is out to prove that all people are evil, in other words savages, and in his directing appears to be the most savage of all.

    The story takes place in Laguna Beach plus other areas of Southern California and North Mexico, with some beautiful shots of the Laguna Beach coast. The film goes out to the desert for stunning vistas but people and gunfire keep on messing it up. It as if Oliver Stone is trying to make up for all the violence he couldn
    Expand
  17. Jul 6, 2012
    1
    The intent of Savages is to make a case for the legalization of marijuana. That's all well and good. But ideas should never trump narrative. Similiar to horror films, Savages has one-dimensional characters making moronic decisions because the plot needs them to. The events following the setup require Ben to be naive and Chon to be suicidal. Ben and Chon are guilty of hubris, and OThe intent of Savages is to make a case for the legalization of marijuana. That's all well and good. But ideas should never trump narrative. Similiar to horror films, Savages has one-dimensional characters making moronic decisions because the plot needs them to. The events following the setup require Ben to be naive and Chon to be suicidal. Ben and Chon are guilty of hubris, and O pays the price. But if only there were a reason to care what happens to O. The problem here is that Savages is asking us to care about O because she's in trouble, rather than making us care about her first, and putting her in danger second. The film's third act treats the audience with disdain, twice over. You'll be lied to, and then cheated. Some payoff, eh? Full review on my blog. Collapse
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Sep 21, 2012
    20
    Sadly, Savages plays up to Stone's worst tendencies: machismo, bombast and self-indulgence, and the factor that could conceivably have made this movie tolerable – humour – is off the menu.
  2. Reviewed by: William Thomas
    Sep 17, 2012
    40
    What could have been an effective excoriation of US drug policy and a proper look at the violence inherent in the trade is wasted on a simplistic thriller that offers very little, especially given who is behind the camera. Sorry if that harshes anyone's buzz.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    Sep 1, 2012
    60
    Savages is punishing in places, but there are enough colourful characters and careening twists to make it worth the effort.