Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 171 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , ,
  • Summary: Laguna Beach entrepreneurs Ben, a peaceful and charitable Buddhist, and his closest friend Chon, a former Navy SEAL and ex-mercenary, run a lucrative, homegrown industry—raising some of the best marijuana ever developed. They also share a one-of-a-kind love with the extraordinary beauty Ophelia. Life is idyllic in their Southern California town...until the Mexican Baja Cartel decides to move in and demands that the trio partners with them. When the merciless head of the BC, Elena, and her brutal enforcer, Lado, underestimate the unbreakable bond among these three friends, Ben and Chon—-with the reluctant, slippery assistance of a dirty DEA agent—-wage a seemingly unwinnable war against the cartel. And so begins a series of increasingly vicious ploys and maneuvers in a high stakes, savage battle of wills. (Universal Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jul 5, 2012
    88
    At the confluence of altered states and state-sanctioned violence, this drug-fueled thriller is Stone's most successfully provocative picture since "JFK."
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jul 5, 2012
    80
    Stone relies on his leads to guide us into this hyper-charged inferno, and they fit his juiced-up approach like James Woods and Woody Harrelson did in Stone's equally hopped-up "Salvador" and "Natural Born Killers." He gets us high on what they're selling before it goes south.
  3. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Jul 5, 2012
    75
    Stone seems to take a little vicarious pleasure in making these relative lightweights squirm in fear and confusion.
  4. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Jul 4, 2012
    67
    Like "Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps" and "W.," Savages feels like Stone softballing something he should be skewering - in this case, SoCal entitlement and faux-progressive hypocrisy.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jul 5, 2012
    55
    Stone's moralism, coupled with discreet but bloody beatings, shootouts and all manner of tawdry goings on, rings hollow. The picture is neither entertaining nor preachy – it is simply very loudly meh.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jul 5, 2012
    50
    It's not as if Stone is above this sort of pulp. But as rejiggered for the movies, Savages has trouble making us care what happens to the beautiful people - the untouchables - at the center of the sun-baked fairy tale.
  7. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Jul 5, 2012
    0
    So. What part of this is boring? All of it.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 55
  2. Negative: 16 out of 55
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    The most stylish, thrilling and sexy Stone movie in ages. Savages a drug fuelled thriller in which Director Oliver Stone lives up to his filmmaking and gives us a story about Chon and Ben played the aero five Aaron Taylor Johnson and Taylor Kitsch. When their girl- Ophelia played by Pretty Little Lire's sexy Blake Lively gets kidnapped for their pot growing business by a Baja Drug Cartel, they get the odds to the evens. It may sound stupid but this is effective acting by Lado played by the one and only Bencio Del Toro and Elena played by Salma Hayek. Both actors are what that makes up Savages. Also Johnson gives a fine performance as Ben. In the end you are hallucinated by this thriller and the deep score that adds up to a fine masterpiece by Oliver Stone. Expand
  2. Jul 20, 2012
    8
    This movie has a good premise and starts off very good. It maintains its intensity throughout the movie until the last 1/2 hour, then it falls apart. I would have rated it higher if they had some reasonable ending. Overall the acting is good. Plenty of action and great scenery. Expand
  3. Jul 6, 2012
    8
    Savages is a brutal, bloody mess and thats what makes it so entertaining. Benicio Del Toro is incredible as Lado, and delivers the best scenes of the whole movie. The ending was a bit strange and I wasn't the biggest fan of the "real" ending, but that was my only real problem. The plot is good, the acting mostly great and the Mexican Cartel torture scenes are pretty f'ed up. Expand
  4. Jul 12, 2012
    6
    Benecio Del Toro's performance as Lado was "Savages" primary saving grace. The brief time the film does devote to familiarizing the audience with the protagonists only generates feelings of aversion. All of the 'good guys' are part of a peculiar, domestic love triangle that consists of two men (Ben and Chon) and a woman (Ophelia). Ben comes off as a naive, Pseudo-Buddhist stoner; Chon comes off as a bitter, depraved Veteran; and Ophelia comes off as a bland, irritating bimbo with an undeserved sense of entitlement. In a scene shortly after her capture, 'O' is shown complaining to Hayek, the leader of the cartel, about not being given healthier food such as a salad. Pretty sure if I just almost had my fingers cut off after being captured by a Mexican drug cartel that would not be my priority. We won't even get into Collapse
  5. May 4, 2014
    5
    This is a very different movie from Mr.Stone, it differs a lot from his usual patriotic films like Born On The Fourth Of July. It's a darker film and it gives solid performances from a well casted film. But the ending wasn't really my taste Expand
  6. Sep 1, 2014
    3
    Caught up by one-too-many obstacles and loses sight of quality filmmaking. The premise is also vague--taking numerous turns, creating an unbelievable and indistinct piece of film. Expand
  7. Dec 9, 2012
    0
    Wargasms? Are you kidding me man? I had to turn this film off. It's trying far too hard to be cool. Not gritty at all. Over the top in the extreme with the music, editing, even to the point of glamorizing the violence. Not a good idea to have a woman shot in the head followed by some cool music with a bunch of gangsters strutting along looking all bad!ass. This film might be trying to say something good, who knows. I just couldn't hack the style. Ok so Scarface is over the top, but it had atmosphere, mood, and it was intense, The violence was necessary but not gratuitous for the sake of it. Expand

See all 55 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films

    Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films Image
    Published: April 25, 2012
    From tentpole films like "The Dark Knight Rises" and "Prometheus" to arthouse fare like "Moonrise Kingdom" and "To Rome with Love," the summer movie season promises something for every type of film fan. Take a look at everything the coming months have to offer.