Paramount Pictures | Release Date: January 12, 2001
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 206 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
178
Mixed:
11
Negative:
17
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
BrianGJan 9, 2006
I absolutely loved this movie. It's inspirational in a sense, and is the only 'chick flick' I've watched more than once.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MiaT.Jun 2, 2006
This is the coolest movie ever i really like the dancing, it proves that no matter what color you are you can be accepted, i mean she was acceptd before she learned how they are she fit in right away she just had to open up and once she did This is the coolest movie ever i really like the dancing, it proves that no matter what color you are you can be accepted, i mean she was acceptd before she learned how they are she fit in right away she just had to open up and once she did everyone realized how great of a person she was. What an amazing movie, i really likes the song true colors it was inspiring and i liked the part which is my favorite is where sara and derek do the competition dance that was so cool and i learned that dance. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
NikolaK.Jul 7, 2007
Great movie.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BrittanyA.Oct 26, 2005
I thought that the movie was awesome. I thought that the tables stood have been turned around though, and had Sara be black, and Derick be white, because even if we hardily see any interacial dating on film at all in the real world you I thought that the movie was awesome. I thought that the tables stood have been turned around though, and had Sara be black, and Derick be white, because even if we hardily see any interacial dating on film at all in the real world you always see black guys,a nd white girls together. I gave the movie a 10, because it was very good. I liked how no matter what color, or background they were from they weren't ashamed to be in love, and passionate about different types of dance. If there was to be a sequel I hope that the girl is balck an the guy is white. People need to see the tables turned sometimes. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NikolaK.May 30, 2002
Great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristianH.Jan 8, 2004
This movie is awesome I know want to learn how to dance like her. And Elizabeth you are wrong this movie seems real I like it a lot of people took time to make it so just shut up when you start diss'n my movie again. pfffff please!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
juliaa.May 22, 2005
This movie is the best i see it all the time in my house.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatieD.Oct 26, 2001
I loved this movie. It's so real and the soundtrack rules!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianD.Sep 4, 2001
I love this movie. It's totally awesome. I use the choreography!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoW.Jan 20, 2002
I would have given it a rating ten times higher than this! It is the best movie I have ever seen! It deals with so many important issues that are going on in the world today. Julia Stiles and Sean Patrick Thomas were brilliant!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleP.Mar 6, 2002
This is by far my favorite movie...I love the slammin' dance moves and the songs to dance to. The ratings just don't go high enough. It makes you move in you seat as soon as you hear the music.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmiliaM.Aug 18, 2003
I love this movie!!!! I watch it everyday!!! It's a must see!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KateSep 8, 2003
I LOVE THIS MOVIE! The dancing is amazing. I've even been trying to learn the dance. A MUST SEE!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SandraH.Jan 20, 2004
Perfect crew for a great movie. Brings out truths that aren't seen every day.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MegS.Jan 20, 2004
I loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JodieP.Mar 18, 2004
I love this film its one of the best films in my book coz iam a dancer i learn parts of the move on this film and put it in my own dance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamanthaL.Jun 7, 2004
It is a great film, it is a good romance film and i love it! i watch it all the time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
nikitaf.May 12, 2005
It was a great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyNov 3, 2001
Save the Last Dance is very comparable to many people who live their lives like Julia Styles does in the movie, or like Sean Patrick Thomas' life in the movie, and i just thought the movie was fantastic.. well done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VanessaT.Apr 27, 2001
It's the best movie I have ever seen. I love Julia Stiles. She's a great actress. I loved the story too. It's funny, romantic and so cool. I've already watched it twice. But I think I'm gonna watch it again. The It's the best movie I have ever seen. I love Julia Stiles. She's a great actress. I loved the story too. It's funny, romantic and so cool. I've already watched it twice. But I think I'm gonna watch it again. The dancing is SO COOL, and there's some really cool music featured in the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmandaM.Jun 24, 2001
Sweet -- my new favorite movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BryM.Aug 10, 2001
I love this movie...I want to know that name of the song she danced to though...any helpers??
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatharineL.Jan 10, 2002
It's an emotional an fantastic movie. Julia Stiles is great alongside Sean Patrick Thomas. It really makes you think about the black and white division that is still happening in the world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CassieW.Feb 10, 2002
I loved this movie. Sean and Julia worked well together. Now I am gonna watch it a lot more because I have the movie now. Thanx for makin a great movie!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JessicaS.Feb 14, 2002
"Dirty Dancing" meets "Romeo and Juliet!" FANTASTIC! I loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CamilleB.Mar 29, 2002
I loved it because it has Sean Patrick Thomas in it & because it has lots of dancing in it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RachelW.Apr 7, 2002
I loved this movie cause Sean Patrick Thomas was in it and it's so romantic. How lucky is Julia Stiles? Getting to kiss him. He's so hot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlizzLoverApr 9, 2002
This film gave me the taste of dancing. There are many feeling, it?s sweet and very interesting! When you see this movie, it's sure you smile.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaisyD.May 9, 2002
It's just WONDERFUL. That's all I can say about this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MegS.Jul 26, 2002
I loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ErinB.ALASKASep 30, 2002
I love this movie and watch it over and over. It makes you feel like you are in the setting, which is totally cool. And FREDRO STARR!!! OWW...what a babe*!!!! I love him to pieces and Sean Patrick Thomas is a hottie too. I could watch this I love this movie and watch it over and over. It makes you feel like you are in the setting, which is totally cool. And FREDRO STARR!!! OWW...what a babe*!!!! I love him to pieces and Sean Patrick Thomas is a hottie too. I could watch this movie all day long if I had nothing else to do. I would love to see a save the last dance 2. It's nice to see other people who love the movie as much as I do...at least I know I'm not going insane. And for all you who don't like the movie, you got bad taste!! FREDRO STARR ALL THE WAY BABY!!! Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuliaS.Dec 9, 2003
It`s a great film with a fantastic story line! It`s my favourite movie! My girl friend mandy and me, we saw it ca. 19x! We dance some steps out of this movie! Sara you are the best! we love you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CuteChikaFeb 25, 2003
Der beste film aller zeiten!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HanneW.Aug 22, 2003
I love the dancing and music.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AshleyP.Jan 29, 2004
I love the movie i watch it all the time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SummerD.Mar 18, 2004
It has a really touching story that is full of emotion. and wats best bout dis movies iz dat ppl ov all ages will b able 2 undastand and appreciate the movie. Best movie i have eva seen!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SaraP.Mar 21, 2004
I love this movie! it's very realistic and its fun! They should make a sequal where there married with kids and she should like maybe teach a dance class or something!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LauraD.Mar 30, 2004
Great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaryEllenP.Feb 9, 2005
I LOVED IT! awesome movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonnaC.Sep 2, 2005
The movie was terrific. I loved that Sara loved Derek, it didn't bother her the color of his skin or what people thought. My favorite scenes are Stepps and the kissing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DoloresA.Nov 2, 2001
I think this movie kicks butt. Julia Stiles and Sean Patrick Thomas Blew up the scene with awesome attitudes. Julia and Sean were quick witted and smart. I loved the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TinaW.Nov 25, 2001
This is the sweetest, coolest an best movie EVER! I LOVE IT!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KristenK.Nov 6, 2001
This was one of the best movies I have ever seen. It is one of my favorite movies. I think that the actors and actresses were really good...I loved this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KirstyW.Dec 19, 2001
Totaly brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StephanieVanL.Dec 21, 2001
I just love this movie, but only the beginning is a bit boring. What I like the most is the fact that u can learn the hiphopdance yourself while watching the movie. The interracial relation is also cool, cause we don't get to see that a I just love this movie, but only the beginning is a bit boring. What I like the most is the fact that u can learn the hiphopdance yourself while watching the movie. The interracial relation is also cool, cause we don't get to see that a lot in movies. People should make more movies like this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LisaC.Dec 30, 2001
On a scale from 1-10, I give it an 11. This movie took a stand and brought out an issue many people are afraid to talk about-interracial dating. There DEFINITELY needs to be more movies that talk about this issue so people can get over their On a scale from 1-10, I give it an 11. This movie took a stand and brought out an issue many people are afraid to talk about-interracial dating. There DEFINITELY needs to be more movies that talk about this issue so people can get over their petty, ignorant prejudices. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PedroB.Dec 4, 2001
It was the best movie that I had ever seen, and the soundtrack is even better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JessicaC.Dec 5, 2001
It lets people get an idea of how many issues teens must put up with. Sometimes you do have like 20 different problems going on at one time in your life. I give hats off to Thomas Carter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KellyA.Oct 7, 2001
This is a great movie! I love the music and the dancing. To me I can relate to the interracial dating part. I have a very loved person in my life that I will never forget. He helped change my life!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LexieJun 26, 2001
It is the best movie I have ever seen. Derek is so sweet, cute and supportive. If all guys were like that it would be a perfect world for us girls.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephanieB.Aug 22, 2001
This is one of the best movies I've seen in a looong time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CatherineS.Jan 23, 2002
I loved it. It was a great movie!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AngelaB.Jan 27, 2002
It was a great movie. I don't like dance, but for a movie ABOUT dance it was great!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RachaelS.Jan 30, 2002
This movie was by far one of the best movies of the year, as a teenager I can identify with a lot of the characters and its not like some punk out after school special, it has actual things that us as teenagers have to deal with.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephanieFeb 2, 2002
This movie is AMAZING, it's one of the best movies I've ever seen. Julia Stiles and Sean Patrick Thomas work amazing together. They should work together on another movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CelienC.Feb 4, 2002
It's a very cool, great, slammin, fantastic,...film!!! I'm going to buy this film for my birthday (18-04-1987) because I like it so much!!! A great applause for sara and derek!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshlieFeb 4, 2002
I loved this movie. It inspired me to dance and look at people differently. Plus Stiles and Thomas are great together.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordannyB.Apr 28, 2002
Great movie, nice moves... seen it 5 times, still enjoying it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChelseaK.May 12, 2002
This is the best movie i have ever seen....It has awesome music and dancing....Sean Patrick Thomas is damn fine...There is only one word to describe this movie *Excellent*...Julia Stiles was really good in it....I think everyone should watch This is the best movie i have ever seen....It has awesome music and dancing....Sean Patrick Thomas is damn fine...There is only one word to describe this movie *Excellent*...Julia Stiles was really good in it....I think everyone should watch this movie....Best Movie Ever Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CassandraM.May 12, 2002
Is there going to be a save the last dance 2? it would be cool if there was. i like this movie a lot and my mom always tells me not to watch it everyday (i watch it anyway). It shows people that you can date of a different race and fit in.Is there going to be a save the last dance 2? it would be cool if there was. i like this movie a lot and my mom always tells me not to watch it everyday (i watch it anyway). It shows people that you can date of a different race and fit in. The dancing in the movie is cool! I hope there is going to be a #2!!! The songs on the movie were great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JanaeMay 29, 2002
I loved this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CassieJun 13, 2002
It was an awsome film and I have seen it over 15 times. Sean Patrick Thomas was sooooo hot in this movie. I loved the music and the dancing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
K.R.Jun 4, 2002
This was the coolest movie ever!! not to mention w/lots of hot guys ;)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
S.R.Jul 18, 2002
I really enjoyed this movie. It shows how two people from different lifestyles can get together. I would reccomend this movie to anyone. Plus Sean Patrick Thomas is a hottie!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KariNov 12, 2003
I love the fact that this movie proves you dont have to be a certain color to love. It goes beyond that and it sends a good message to everyone: No matter what color your skin is you should alwayz keep up the fight and work hard for what you I love the fact that this movie proves you dont have to be a certain color to love. It goes beyond that and it sends a good message to everyone: No matter what color your skin is you should alwayz keep up the fight and work hard for what you want and love at the same time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmmaP.Jan 15, 2003
I think it is a great flim, the dancing is great and Sean Patrick Thomas (Derek) is so FIT its amazing, i hope theres a look alike out there for me! i watch it over and over i cant get enough of it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CourtneyH.Oct 16, 2003
WOW!! I love this movie! Not only is sean patick thomas hott but it taught me to strive for my dream no matter what, beacause if i know its what i want then its all me!!!! This movie is awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GabriellaK.Nov 8, 2003
This is one of my all-time favorite movies. I loved the story line. The dancing is awesom and the music is great! Julia Stiles and Sean Patrick Thomas were a hit. It also showed that interracial romances can work out if you want them to. This is one of my all-time favorite movies. I loved the story line. The dancing is awesom and the music is great! Julia Stiles and Sean Patrick Thomas were a hit. It also showed that interracial romances can work out if you want them to. This movie showed that if you can believe it you can achieve it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmandaS.Dec 24, 2003
This movie is one of the best movie I've ever seen! It has a lot of emotional impact throughout the movie,and most defenetly Sarah.The story so realistic,and the interracial realtionship between Derek and Sarah. I hope there will be aThis movie is one of the best movie I've ever seen! It has a lot of emotional impact throughout the movie,and most defenetly Sarah.The story so realistic,and the interracial realtionship between Derek and Sarah. I hope there will be a Save the Last Dance 2. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CassandraF.Dec 5, 2003
I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VenessaM.Dec 6, 2003
It was a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CassandraF.Oct 5, 2003
I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElenaD.Oct 7, 2003
I luv this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BabebeautifulMay 3, 2003
It's about a movie like this comes out. It has so many good Interesting and important themes that make people think. Nothing is wrong with dating other cultures it's actully very good, it opens up your mind to new things. I'm It's about a movie like this comes out. It has so many good Interesting and important themes that make people think. Nothing is wrong with dating other cultures it's actully very good, it opens up your mind to new things. I'm so happy that Save the Last dance made an impact on people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielaSep 20, 2003
I think this movie is grate. I love it. The hip-hop is muy live.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HeatherR.Jan 17, 2004
I love this movie and all of the movies that Julia plays in i have seen them ALL!! she is a VERY good actor!! plz e mail me back!! and tell him some more interesting storys about her plz bc i am doin her for a report in my school!! plz send I love this movie and all of the movies that Julia plays in i have seen them ALL!! she is a VERY good actor!! plz e mail me back!! and tell him some more interesting storys about her plz bc i am doin her for a report in my school!! plz send me some info! Thanks Heather. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TracyH.Jun 6, 2004
Was a great film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KatarinaK.Jul 12, 2004
A truely inspirational movie for people of all ages! I watch it when I need a good pick-me-up. A winner! Definitely a 10!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KayleaV.Mar 12, 2005
This movie was the best movie I have ever seen, from the plot to the dancing, it was all great. I dont think any movie will ever be able to compare. I watch the movie over and over again and i have learned over half the dance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyM.Nov 23, 2001
This Movie Is AWESOME, I LOVE Julia Stiles she?s so original, she can do anything. This movie was just great all around, that's why I gave it a 10!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KinaC.Nov 6, 2001
We need more movies that help us understand the delicate issue of interracial dating so that others will stop their prejudice. A 10 for sure!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SummerB.Dec 12, 2001
This movie was the best! I lOVE the characters and the portrayal of the ghetto. They also are acting like the average person and it made you feel like you were there. I really understood it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
C.GroellerMay 19, 2001
This movie kicks butt and I think it should be out to buy right now!!!! I went to it opening night, and me and my friends thought it was the best movie we've seen in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LaneyS.Jun 13, 2001
I just want to say that the movie was the best ever made. I've seen alot of movies before, but I really truly enjoyed and loved this one. I felt like I was in the movie because I'm white and my boyfriend is black, but we both get I just want to say that the movie was the best ever made. I've seen alot of movies before, but I really truly enjoyed and loved this one. I felt like I was in the movie because I'm white and my boyfriend is black, but we both get along so well. So anyways I think that this movie really deserves a big 10. Also good job to the two Julia Styles, and Sean Patrick Thomas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnneAug 13, 2001
It was great, I loved it, Sean is so cute.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CherryAug 24, 2001
I really love the movie, especially when Julia and Sean were dancing. Their moves are very new. The movie was played by wonderful actors. The movie made me want to watch it over and over again. I LUV IT!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelC.Sep 15, 2001
Save the Last Dance is a film that will be loved by teenagers and dance freaks, but for the rest of us, I don?t really know how people will react. Maybe you?ll look at it as a re-hash of ?Dirty Dancing? in a more modern form or maybe you?ll Save the Last Dance is a film that will be loved by teenagers and dance freaks, but for the rest of us, I don?t really know how people will react. Maybe you?ll look at it as a re-hash of ?Dirty Dancing? in a more modern form or maybe you?ll see it as touching, emotional and dramatic. I found myself wedging my comments around the middle and near the top. Save the Last Dance to me was above average and enjoyable for the short running time. I?m honestly not a big fan of dance movies, but with Save the Last Dance I actually enjoyed the dance scenes. The emotional scenes with Julia Stiles and Sean Patrick Thomas where very believable. Julia and Sean, especially Sean, give great performances in a movie that is not a masterpiece or even great but still make the movie shine in their scenes. With a lot of movies, I change my mind, often when I am reviewing the movie. Now is supposed to be the part when I say the bad things about this movie and why I was going to give a 6/10, but I can?t really come up with much apart from the film?s predictability and the annoying race issue. Come to think of it, I actually really liked this movie. It?s quite boring in some scenes but does much better than the recent teen films. Save the Last Dance is overall an enjoyable dramatic film with excellent performances, a surprisingly well-written script and characters you can respect. Well done! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarahNov 15, 2002
*AwEsOmE mOvIe! I loved it, julia stiles is a great actress & the movie itself was just great! You should go see the move, it's wonderful*
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CoraleeP.Jan 12, 2002
I luv this movie. I saw it 4 times in 2 days, it is one of the best movies i have ever seen. It totally gets 2 thumbs up aswell as 2 toes up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JannaApr 14, 2002
Great film. It's definitely top in my charts. It seems so realistic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarmenB.Apr 21, 2002
The best movie ever!!! The music 's very cool, the actors too and the dance is amazing!!!! I don't understand why the critics are so average, maybe because the people who write the reviews are so old and don't understandThe best movie ever!!! The music 's very cool, the actors too and the dance is amazing!!!! I don't understand why the critics are so average, maybe because the people who write the reviews are so old and don't understand anytihing about dance ,hip-pop and young people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShortyL.Apr 28, 2002
This movie is tha bomb 4 sho!!!!! Sean Patrick Thomas is a hotty 4 life... ciao
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VickiW.Jun 17, 2002
It's my fave film! heres the link for my club about it - plz join!! http://uk.groups.yahoo.com/group/ilovesavethelastdance
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChloëSep 28, 2002
This film had it all and its the best movie i have ever seen, and if you can read between the lines you would get so much more out of this movie then you can get out of any other movie...SEE IT.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TanyaS.Nov 12, 2003
Awesome! I love it. It's not some stupid movie, it really passed the cut! Every1 should c it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ElisabethB.Nov 29, 2003
Yeh Save the Last Dance was a good movie because it had a good plot to it. But i think that sara kinda acted her color if ya know that i mean !! Nikki i would have stayed with her because she's pretty and she can dance !! It was so Yeh Save the Last Dance was a good movie because it had a good plot to it. But i think that sara kinda acted her color if ya know that i mean !! Nikki i would have stayed with her because she's pretty and she can dance !! It was so unreal !! Why woukd you quit Ballet just because your mom died? That doesn't make any sense !! Chanel she was cool and i liked her clothes !! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CandaceNov 6, 2003
Save the Last Dance is an inspirational film about the love of different cultures which puts through the point that people from different worlds from different back grounds CAN love each other. and then you just have to go for your dreams. Save the Last Dance is an inspirational film about the love of different cultures which puts through the point that people from different worlds from different back grounds CAN love each other. and then you just have to go for your dreams. Your dreams and goals are yours and no one else's, you have to be the one to come back, never give up and always try your best. A truly well rounded and awesome film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartaNov 8, 2003
It great film!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MollyH.Sep 23, 2003
this is one of muh all time fav. movies!!! I love it! muh friends and I learned all the dances they do in this movie! yal gotsta see this one...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielleM.Oct 15, 2004
Really I would give this movie 100 because I personally LOVE this movie to death I watch this movie every single day and I never get tired of it I love every bit of it and I would have punched that girl if she started dancing with my man and Really I would give this movie 100 because I personally LOVE this movie to death I watch this movie every single day and I never get tired of it I love every bit of it and I would have punched that girl if she started dancing with my man and I think Julia Stiles did a good job playing Sara in this movie especially when she hit Niki. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful