Saving Private Ryan

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 804 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 804

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 19, 2016
    9
    It doesn't take completely like almost hours for the movie to finish up without hating on it or being bored of it. Likely, Saving Private Ryan is a success that lives up the name of war.
  2. Jan 15, 2014
    9
    Phenomenal film. While extremely graphic, it is nice to see a war film that does not sugarcoat anything and this certainly does not sugarcoat a thing. It's tragic, tormenting, and a mixture of being impersonal and personal, all of the things it should be. Ultimately, it is hard to think of how a war film could be done better.
  3. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    One of the most powerful war movies out there, Saving will hit you with such an emotion for the characters that it feels like you're in their shoes, in that battle zone, fighting for your life. Tom Hanks is at his best in this movie, and Matt Damon is perfect as Private Ryan. If you don't want to watch all of the movie, at least see the first beach scene. It will change your view of...One of the most powerful war movies out there, Saving will hit you with such an emotion for the characters that it feels like you're in their shoes, in that battle zone, fighting for your life. Tom Hanks is at his best in this movie, and Matt Damon is perfect as Private Ryan. If you don't want to watch all of the movie, at least see the first beach scene. It will change your view of... well, everything. It will make you glad to be alive. Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    Saving Private Ryan is the best war movie ever made. The performances are oustanding right from the lead all the way down to the supporting cast. never has a war movie been made so realistly. It was breathtaking from the war scenes to the cinematography. Saving Private Ryan is a true accomplishment like no other.
  5. Sep 7, 2011
    9
    One of the most realistic WW2 movies, "Saving Private Ryan" has everything; a powerhouse cast, smart action, deep character depth, and a poignant sacrifice.
  6. Aug 13, 2014
    10
    Probably the best(with Full metal jacket) war movie ever made.Realistic action scenes,credible actors and awesome script.This movie has everything you ever wanted in a war movie.
  7. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Saving Private Ryan is one of the most fulfilling experiences you can have watching a film. It's utterly absorbing, often heartbreaking and always thoughtful. This isn't just another American war film filled with square-jawed jingoistic action men belting out cliched soundbites. Saving Private Ryan honours the fallen, and acknowledges the unimaginable sacrifice they made. The charactersSaving Private Ryan is one of the most fulfilling experiences you can have watching a film. It's utterly absorbing, often heartbreaking and always thoughtful. This isn't just another American war film filled with square-jawed jingoistic action men belting out cliched soundbites. Saving Private Ryan honours the fallen, and acknowledges the unimaginable sacrifice they made. The characters Spielberg and writer Robert Rodat have developed don't feel like works of fiction, they are believably ordinary Americans who have chosen to fight for their country. Whilst the uncompromisingly brutal, horrifically intense and realistic battle scenes are what tend to get the film the most attention (particularly the now infamous, nearly half-hour long Omaha Beach battle) it is the quieter, more reserved moments of the film that truly stand out. Of particular note are the scene taking place in an abandoned church, where, taking shelter for the night, each of the soldiers debate the inhumanity of war, and the light-hearted chat that Miller and Ryan have prior to the final battle. The former is an exceedingly dark and psychoanalytical study, the latter a welcome moment of light-heartedness in an exceedingly depressing film, both are exceptional moments for character. Technically, the film is nigh-on flawless. The entire cast's performances, again are hard to fault. With a quite-rightly Oscar-nominated script and a heart-wrenchingly emotional score by John Williams, Saving Private Ryan approaches cinematic perfection. But even considering all these factors, the film's real achievement is the way in which it handles war, not as a spectacle or an excuse for a string of set-pieces as would be the case in a lesser movie, but as the horrific and pointless act it really is. The characters may be fictional, but they represent real men who really lost their lives during World War II, and the film acknowledges that fact. Saving Private Ryan is not only Spielberg's masterpiece, but quite possibly the greatest war film of all time. Collapse
  8. Jan 12, 2016
    7
    One of Spielberg’s longest and finest, and that first part might be its major disadvantage. ’Saving Private Ryan’ captures the realistic darkness of humanity and its struggle against the basic morality of right and wrong. Spielberg portrayals death through his smart directing, and never stops to seize the audience through these never ending up-growing characters, due to the fact that weOne of Spielberg’s longest and finest, and that first part might be its major disadvantage. ’Saving Private Ryan’ captures the realistic darkness of humanity and its struggle against the basic morality of right and wrong. Spielberg portrayals death through his smart directing, and never stops to seize the audience through these never ending up-growing characters, due to the fact that we barely understand what they’re going through, but somehow never stop to relate to them. It definitely is Oscar-worthy, but it got much more to tell about the dark side of humanity rather than on the war itself; so don’t expect a Michael Bay flick, and it sure isn’t flawless. The motivation why to save Ryan isn't perfect, and the vast amount of characters drags the depth of the main & excellent ones down. But it’s both a major technical & moral achievement.

    Personal rating: 74/100
    Critical rating: 92/100
    Expand
  9. Mar 11, 2015
    10
    Tom Hanks is phenomenal in his depiction as Captain Miller in this sobering and emotional film. The action is raw, riveting, abd at times may be unbearably graphic for the squeamish. Contains enough historical inspiration and basis to appease WWII buffs, but overall, this movie is about the men who fought WWII and its lasting effects. A must see.
  10. Mar 21, 2015
    9
    "Saving Private Ryan" is a realistic war film that proves itself to be worthy of its own genre, thanks to richly directed performances and tension setup.
  11. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    I've been a fan of Steven Spielberg for a long time, but out of all of his movies, this one was the most exciting and intense. This is a true classic war film, truly the best war film ever made. Spielberg reels in some tremendous actors such as Tom Hanks, Edward Burns, Matt Damon, even Paul Giamatti and Nathan Fillion. The war scenes are beyond belief. I've never seen anything so realI've been a fan of Steven Spielberg for a long time, but out of all of his movies, this one was the most exciting and intense. This is a true classic war film, truly the best war film ever made. Spielberg reels in some tremendous actors such as Tom Hanks, Edward Burns, Matt Damon, even Paul Giamatti and Nathan Fillion. The war scenes are beyond belief. I've never seen anything so real before. I mean, the scenes are just so graphic and brutally intense. Spielberg really takes you into World War II. Even though it's almost 15 years old, it still amazes me in every way. This is my #1 of all time! Expand
  12. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    There are few films that are literally unforgettable and Saving Private Ryan with its shocking imagery, pitch perfect acting and moving score manages to permanently burn itself into your brain.
    Despite what everyone remembers of Saving Private Ryan (The Omaha Beach section being the obvious one) its lasting moments are the quiet ones, the ones that show that even through the horrors of
    There are few films that are literally unforgettable and Saving Private Ryan with its shocking imagery, pitch perfect acting and moving score manages to permanently burn itself into your brain.
    Despite what everyone remembers of Saving Private Ryan (The Omaha Beach section being the obvious one) its lasting moments are the quiet ones, the ones that show that even through the horrors of war there is still a sense of humanity. Such moments not only provide some much needed levity (Miller and Horvath's discussion in the church being one of the best) as well as allowing the viewer to understand why these characters are worth caring for (Miller and Ryan discuss their families just before the war began). There isn't a moment of Saving Private Ryan where you aren't completely immersed. Both the direction (by Steven Spielberg) and the writing (by Robert Rodat) are brilliant with the latter allowing for a shift between pure darkness and shock to levity and joy in mere moments. In conclusion its Spielberg at the top of his game as he engages with the real emotion behind warfare, both the loss of humanity and the strive to regain it. It engages the viewer by letting him/her decide how to feel about shocking events while sometimes surprising you at the way you might react. Its a masterpiece that will never fail to get to me or as I imagine, almost anyone who watches it.
    Expand
  13. Jan 24, 2013
    8
    A great movie both in entertainment and in argument.
  14. Jan 7, 2016
    10
    Another masterpiece from Steven Spielberg! He shows the true face war, humanity and veterans! Amazing acting, superb story and great soundtrack from John Williams makes this movie a MUST WATCH!
  15. Nov 29, 2015
    10
    An anti-war movie showing the needless deaths of a squad of soldiers trying to save one soldier whose other brothers have all been killed. I didn't know things like this happened during WW2. We see a humanitarian gesture repaid by death. Who said "War is Hell"? I don't have many DVDs but this one is in my collection.
  16. chw
    Jul 19, 2014
    10
    Saving Private Ryan was such an amazing movie. This definitely would have won the Academy's Best Picture Award if Shakespeare in Love wasn't an option.
  17. Apr 4, 2016
    9
    'Saving Private Ryan': A Soberly Magnificent New War Film.

    When soldiers are killed in "Saving Private Ryan," their comrades carefully preserve any message he left behind. Removed from the corpses of the newly dead, sometimes copied over to hide bloodstains, these writings surely describe some of the fury of combat, the essence of spontaneous courage, the craving for solace, the bizarre
    'Saving Private Ryan': A Soberly Magnificent New War Film.

    When soldiers are killed in "Saving Private Ryan," their comrades carefully preserve any message he left behind. Removed from the corpses of the newly dead, sometimes copied over to hide bloodstains, these writings surely describe some of the fury of combat, the essence of spontaneous courage, the craving for solace, the bizarre routines of wartime existence, the deep loneliness of life on the brink.

    Steven Spielberg's soberly magnificent new war film, the second such pinnacle in a career of magical versatility, has been made in the same spirit of urgent communication. It is the ultimate devastating letter home.

    Since the end of World War II and the virtual death of the western, the combat film has disintegrated into a showcase for swagger, cynicism, obscenely overblown violence and hollow, self-serving victories. Now, with stunning efficacy, Spielberg turns back the clock. He restores passion and meaning to the genre with such whirlwind force that he seems to reimagine it entirely, dazzling with the breadth and intensity of that imagination. No received notions, dramatic or ideological, intrude on this achievement. This film simply looks at war as if war had not been looked at before.

    Though the experience it recounts is grueling, the viscerally enthralling "Saving Private Ryan" is anything but. As he did in "Schindler's List," Spielberg uses his preternatural storytelling gifts to personalize the unimaginable, to create instantly empathetic characters and to hold an audience spellbound from the moment the action starts. Though the film essentially begins and ends with staggering, phenomenally agile battle sequences and contains isolated violent tragedies in between, its vision of combat is never allowed to grow numbing. Like the soldiers, viewers are made furiously alive to each new crisis and never free to rest.

    The film's immense dignity is its signal characteristic, and some of it is achieved though deliberate elision. We don't know anything about these men as they prepare to land at Omaha Beach on D-Day, which might make them featureless in the hands of a less intuitive filmmaker. Here, it means that any filter between audience and cataclysm has effectively been taken away.

    The one glimmer of auxiliary information is the image of an elderly visitor at a military cemetery, which opens and closes the film (though these brief sequences lack the film's otherwise shattering verisimilitude). Whoever the man is, he sees the gravestones and drifts into D-Day memories. On the evidence of what follows, he can hardly have gone to sleep since June 6, 1944, without reliving these horrors in his dreams.

    Though "Saving Private Ryan" is liable to be described as extremely violent for its battle re-enactments, that is not quite the case. The battle scenes avoid conventional suspense and sensationalism; they disturb not by being manipulative but by being hellishly frank. Imagine Hieronymus Bosch with a Steadicam (instead of the immensely talented Janusz Kaminski), and you have some idea of the tableaux to emerge here, as the film explodes into panoramic yet intimate visions of bloodshed.

    What's unusual about this, in both the D-Day sequence and the closing struggle, is its terrifying reportorial candor. These scenes have a sensory fullness (the soundtrack is boomingly chaotic yet astonishingly detailed), a realistic yet breakneck pace, a ceaseless momentum and a vast visual scope. Artful, tumultuous warfare choreography heightens the intensity. So do editing decisions that balance the ordeal of the individual with the mass attack under way.

    In another beautifully choreographed sequence, shot with obvious freshness and alacrity, the soldiers talk while marching though the French countryside. On the way, they establish strong individual identities and raise the film's underlying questions about the meaning of sacrifice. Spielberg and screenwriter Robert Rodat have a way of taking these standard-issue characters and making them unaccountably compelling.

    The sparing use of John Williams' music sustains the tension in scenes, like these, that need no extra emphasis. But "Saving Private Ryan" does have a very few false notes. Like the cemetery scenes, the capture of a German soldier takes a turn for the artificial, especially when the man expresses his desperation through broad clowning. But in context, such a jarring touch is actually a relief. It's a reminder that, after all, "Saving Private Ryan" is only a movie. Only the finest war movie of our time.
    Expand
  18. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    I enjoyed it but I think its a bit too overrated. Yes it does well to capture the realism of WW2 and its interesting through out but I just didnt enjoy it as much as I thought I would. Solid cast, Good acting as well.
  19. Apr 24, 2015
    10
    Devastating. If, for some reason, I was asked to write a one-word review of Saving Private Ryan, that would be the term I would use. As was true of director Steven Spielberg's other masterpiece, Schindler's List, the impact of this motion picture must be experienced; it cannot be adequately described. No film since last year's The Sweet Hereafter has left such a searing and indelibleDevastating. If, for some reason, I was asked to write a one-word review of Saving Private Ryan, that would be the term I would use. As was true of director Steven Spielberg's other masterpiece, Schindler's List, the impact of this motion picture must be experienced; it cannot be adequately described. No film since last year's The Sweet Hereafter has left such a searing and indelible imprint on my mind and soul. This movie did not need to be released at the end of the year to be considered for a flood of Oscar nominations; it's so forceful that no one who sees it will be able to forget it -- not even Academy members with two-month memory spans.

    Saving Private Ryan opens with a 30-minute cinematic tour de force that is without a doubt one of the finest half-hours ever committed to film. This sequence, a soldier's-eye view of the D-Day invasion of Normandy, is brilliant not only in terms of technique but in the depth of viewer reaction it generates. It is certainly the most violent, gory, visceral depiction of war that I have ever witnessed on screen. Spielberg spares the viewer nothing of the horrors of battle, using every tactic at his disposal to convey the chaos and senseless waste that lies at the core of any engagement. We are presented with unforgettable, bloody images of bodies being cut to pieces by bullets, limbs blown off, entrails spilling out, and a variety of other assorted examples of carnage. And, when the tide comes in with the waves breaking on the body-strewn beach, the water is crimson. Those who are at all squeamish will find the opening of Saving Private Ryan unbearable. This aspect of the film almost earned it an NC-17 rating; only the fact that Spielberg rigorously avoids even a hint of exploitation convinced the MPAA to award an R.

    In addition to showing what happens when projectiles rip into the soft flesh of the human body, the director employs other methods to capture the essence of battle - hand-held cameras, a slight speeding up of the images, muted colors, and several different kinds of film stock. Put it all together, and it adds up to a dizzying, exhausting assault on the senses. As good as the rest of Saving Private Ryan is, and it's very good, the D-Day attack on Omaha Beach is the sequence that everyone will remember most clearly.

    Most World War II movies fall into one of two categories: heroic tales of glory and valor or biopics (my all-time favorite film, Patton, falls in the latter camp). Saving Private Ryan is neither. Instead, it's a condemnation of war wrapped in a tale of human courage and sacrifice. In many ways, the picture painted by this movie is more grim than the one Oliver Stone presented in Platoon, which has often been cited as the most daring anti-war film to come out of Hollywood. Saving Private Ryan quickly and brutally dispels the notion that war is anything but vicious, demoralizing violence that makes a cruel joke out of the human body and spirit. Although the film is only loosely based on a true incident, it's hard not to accept these characters and events as real.

    There's nothing especially complex about the structure of Saving Private Ryan. The film, which runs nearly three hours, is bookended by two major battle scenes. In between, smaller fights alternate with quiet, character-building moments that flesh out the soldiers, allowing them to escape the threat of stereotyping. Spielberg, along with writer Robert Rodat and the actors, ensures that everyone in the movie is developed into a multi-dimensional individual for whom we can grieve if and when they die. They are "citizen soldiers" -- ordinary men caught in the teeth of extraordinary circumstances. With the exception of a little manipulation at the end (when tears are actually a welcome source of relief from the film's intensity), Saving Private Ryan rigorously avoids toying with our emotions.

    With Saving Private Ryan set alongside Schindler's List, Steven Spielberg, once known as a purveyor of well-crafted-but-lightweight feel-good fare, has given us two of the decade's most gripping, disturbing, and powerful motion pictures. I consider Schindler's List to be one of the most amazing movies I have ever experienced, and, in many ways, Saving Private Ryan is its equal. Although both films take place during the same time period, they focus on different ideas. Schindler's List personifies good (Schindler) and evil (Amon Goeth), and plays out the struggle against a tragic backdrop. In Saving Private Ryan, there are no human villains, and the enemy isn't so much the Germans as it is the implacable, destructive specter of war. The film's central question (When is one life more important than another?) is never really answered. For those who are willing to brave the movie's shocking and unforgettable images, Saving Private Ryan offers a singular motion picture experience. I will be surprised if another film tops it for the best of 1998.
    Expand
  20. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    Seus primeiros 40 minutos são de tirar o fôlego, a cena da batalha na praia de Omaha espetacular uma das cenas mais bem realizadas da história do cinema e sem contar que o filme inteiro fantástico.
  21. Jun 27, 2011
    6
    I kinda have mixed feelings on this movie. On one hand, it had the most awesome looking war scenes ever on film, and Tom Hanks is just as good as he is in all of his movies. On the other hand, many of the characters were annoying, and the plot was kinda weak. I wouldn't highly recommend it, yet it shouldn't be completely overlooked.
  22. Oct 27, 2010
    9
    a great war movie set in WWII . although not based on a true story outside the fact of its WWII and the showing of D Day which was brilliantly shot. a very intresting plot of a group of soldiers trying to find private ryan to inform him all his brothers died in the war. the acting is great and the visauls are fantastic . my hats off to speilberg for making this great war film .
  23. Aug 24, 2014
    10
    I am one of the greatest fans of Steven Spielberg and Saving Private Ryan does not have that perfect 3hrs runtime. But for sure, it is an authentic representation of war which makes me show a lot of respect for this motion picture.
  24. Nov 18, 2010
    3
    I think the first 20 minutes were truly fascinating, you felt like you were in the middle ot it. After that, and that is a LONG after that, the movie really became rather boring and stereotyped, at times even unrealistic. The trick is to keep the moments of reflection to a bare minimum, to make them really count. There was WAY too much reflection here. It takes away all the dynamic. I canI think the first 20 minutes were truly fascinating, you felt like you were in the middle ot it. After that, and that is a LONG after that, the movie really became rather boring and stereotyped, at times even unrealistic. The trick is to keep the moments of reflection to a bare minimum, to make them really count. There was WAY too much reflection here. It takes away all the dynamic. I can think of only one movie that masterfully accomplishes that balance: Die Hard, the first one. Expand
  25. Aug 13, 2013
    9
    Totalmente y simplemente una buena pelicula, las cosas que buscan varios directores que espesializan en este tema son sorprendidos por el gran director Steven Spielberg quien saca esta produccion al estrellato del exito.
  26. Feb 5, 2012
    9
    Saving Private Ryan was one of the most powerful, intense movie experiences I have had in the cinema. I originally watched this movie in the cinema while sitting next to a WW2 veteran - his reactions were very interesting. Its a great movie with great acting, setting and props and characters to care about. Perhaps its only downside is some of the over done action in the second half. MustSaving Private Ryan was one of the most powerful, intense movie experiences I have had in the cinema. I originally watched this movie in the cinema while sitting next to a WW2 veteran - his reactions were very interesting. Its a great movie with great acting, setting and props and characters to care about. Perhaps its only downside is some of the over done action in the second half. Must See Movie. Expand
  27. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    The best war movie ever made. Spielberg captures the brutality of war but also the bond of friendship between characters fighting together for their lives. Tom Hanks turns in a brilliant performance as usual, and the film benefits from strong supporting work from Matt Damon and Barry Pepper.
  28. Sep 28, 2015
    10
    Saving Private Ryan is the best war movie ever made and one of the best in general in the movie history.
    This movie is very realistic and shows how the war is very ugly and there's nothing heroic about it.It shows the sufferings of the characters and the way they deal with certain real situations.It is also perfectly shot and directed,as Spielberg did an incredible job here.Even the hand
    Saving Private Ryan is the best war movie ever made and one of the best in general in the movie history.
    This movie is very realistic and shows how the war is very ugly and there's nothing heroic about it.It shows the sufferings of the characters and the way they deal with certain real situations.It is also perfectly shot and directed,as Spielberg did an incredible job here.Even the hand held camera work is believable and it takes it to a whole new level of realism.It truly gets ugly,with deaths all over the place and by the end you are very invested on some of the characters,especially the main one played by the awesome Tom Hanks,Captain Miller.This characters is so well developed and interesting that it makes you root for him all the way through,and that is a great thing.
    The effects are really good and realistic,as everything else in the movie,and also the movie does change directions a couple of times,but each time is a smart change and an interesting one.
    The actors do an amazing job here,besides Tom Hanks,there's also Tom Sizemore who impressed me so much,and I loved him on the role.Matt Damon is also very good,and so is every single one else.
    This movie succeeds at every level and everything it was going for,it is a near perfect movie with realistic portrayal of the war and its ugliness.I really love this movie,it is one of my all time favorites.
    Expand
  29. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    I can't tell you how refreshing it is to see a war movie that isn't packed with a butt-load of nationalism and military propaganda. I mean Saving Private Ryan does have some of that, but not a butt-load. In other words, the script, the acting and the directing contain so much drawing power that I can overlook any of the very minor flaws which might be hidden throughout this marvelousI can't tell you how refreshing it is to see a war movie that isn't packed with a butt-load of nationalism and military propaganda. I mean Saving Private Ryan does have some of that, but not a butt-load. In other words, the script, the acting and the directing contain so much drawing power that I can overlook any of the very minor flaws which might be hidden throughout this marvelous story. Not many movies have left me more engaged than this one. It's intense, it's compelling, it's slow and it punches a hole in your chest and grips your heart for three hours while a group of soldiers walk on eggshells. And the first scene may be the most horrifically enchanting moment in cinema history. Expand
  30. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    The film opens with an old man collapsing to his knees under the weight of the guilt of having survived all those years ago. We see it in his tear-filled eyes and hear it in his trembling voice... This scene has the power to move me like virtually no scene in cinema history. The rest of the film is both terrifying and beautiful but it's those quiet moments of raw human emotion thatThe film opens with an old man collapsing to his knees under the weight of the guilt of having survived all those years ago. We see it in his tear-filled eyes and hear it in his trembling voice... This scene has the power to move me like virtually no scene in cinema history. The rest of the film is both terrifying and beautiful but it's those quiet moments of raw human emotion that Spielberg captures perfectly and makes Saving Private Ryan one of my top ten all-time favorites. A truly unforgettable experience. Expand
  31. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    In middle school some friends and I would have movie night every week. As we watched this particular film I began to cry. I was overwhelmed by the sacrifice these characters were making in an attempt to rescue a solitary soldier. I felt strange crying in front of my friends, but I realized in that moment that great cinema evokes great emotion. Our favorite movies make us feel poignantly.In middle school some friends and I would have movie night every week. As we watched this particular film I began to cry. I was overwhelmed by the sacrifice these characters were making in an attempt to rescue a solitary soldier. I felt strange crying in front of my friends, but I realized in that moment that great cinema evokes great emotion. Our favorite movies make us feel poignantly. This was the first film to make me feel something so powerful that it caused me to shed tears. Expand
  32. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    This is a 10 out of 10 movie. It's so great. War scenes are stunning. Acting is real performed. Especially by Tom hanks. Score is also pretty good, and the story is pretty remarkable. Probably the best war movie ever. You really should watch this movie. This should've got best picture.
  33. May 19, 2013
    9
    His synopsis may sound stupid and pointless, but its execution makes the movie almost the best of Spielberg, bringing the realistic side of war and hard, and with the performance of Tom Hanks and his platoon the movie becomes an epic of stories drama action and sacrifice.
  34. Nov 30, 2012
    8
    "Saving Private Ryan" is a stunning and emotional powerhouse of a war film. Featuring a cast of great actors and performances, and helmed by the masterful Spielberg, this movie is a gritty, harsh and shocking look at WWII through the eyes of a group of soldiers sent behind enemy lines to save a stranded private. The opening D-Day sequence is visceral and brutally intense, full of gruesome"Saving Private Ryan" is a stunning and emotional powerhouse of a war film. Featuring a cast of great actors and performances, and helmed by the masterful Spielberg, this movie is a gritty, harsh and shocking look at WWII through the eyes of a group of soldiers sent behind enemy lines to save a stranded private. The opening D-Day sequence is visceral and brutally intense, full of gruesome and disturbing imagery, and communicates the true horror and scale of the invasion. The time shared between these soldiers, through both stories they tell and arguments they have, is genuinely authentic and you become attached to every character. And of course, the final conflict is where it all comes to a head, in probably the most intense, dramatic and realistic battle scene ever made. It may be pretty dark and depressing, but ultimately you are left with an incredible cinematic achievement - a solid 5-star war film that communicates with frightening efficiency the true brutality that must have been one of the world's darkest chapters in history. Expand
  35. Mar 27, 2016
    9
    Saving Private Ryan” relates the kind of wartime stories that fathers never tell their families. A searingly visceral combat picture, Steven Spielberg’s third World War II drama is arguably second to none as a vivid, realistic and bloody portrait of armed conflict, as well as a generally effective intimate drama about a handful of men on a mission of debatable value in the middle of theSaving Private Ryan” relates the kind of wartime stories that fathers never tell their families. A searingly visceral combat picture, Steven Spielberg’s third World War II drama is arguably second to none as a vivid, realistic and bloody portrait of armed conflict, as well as a generally effective intimate drama about a handful of men on a mission of debatable value in the middle of the war’s decisive action.

    Plunging the viewer headlong into battle in a manner akin to some of the more intense Vietnam films, such as “Platoon,” “Full Metal Jacket” and “Hamburger Hill,” but quite rare for a World War II drama, Spielberg wrenchingly presents combat from the grunt’s p.o.v. as it is fought inch by inch, bullet by bullet, in all its arbitrariness and surreality. Whatever else there is to say about the picture, what remains in the mind is the transforming fear, the sound of ammunition ripping into flesh and metal, the sight of bodies being blown apart, the relentlessness of the pressure and tension, the immense suffering, the feeling of always being on the brink. In retrospect, qualities such as heroism and bravery can be ascribed to the actions of soldiers, the film suggests, but in the moment there is only necessity.

    After a brief prologue featuring an older man silently leading his family into the vast military cemetery at Omaha Beach in Normandy, pic drops the audience onto a U.S. landing craft getting ready to unload the first GIs to hit the beach on June 6, 1944. From the opening moments, the anxiety and fiercely discomforting conditions are underlined, and as soon as the gate opens, the German artillery comes raining down.

    Many men are mowed down before they can take three steps, but Capt. John Miller (Tom Hanks) and his squad — Sgt. Horvath (Tom Sizemore), Pvts. Reiben (Edward Burns), Jackson (Barry Pepper), Mellish (Adam Goldberg) and Caparzo (Vin Diesel) and Medic Wade (Giovanni Ribisi) — painstakingly make it past the many obstacles and are finally able to take one of the enemy’s concrete pillboxes on top of the bluff. Nonstop action lasts 24 minutes, and every one of them is infinitely more intense than anything in the standard work on D-Day, “The Longest Day.”

    Robert Rodat’s original screenplay thus transforms to a mission format. Taking on a skinny, timid translator, Cpl. Upham (Jeremy Davies), who has never seen combat, the group, which has previously seen action in North Africa and Italy, treads gingerly through territory that is still riddled with Nazis, as they discover when they come upon a bombed-out village and the first of them is killed.

    Such tentative attempts at philosophizing and stabs at profundity succeed in raising some issues that aren’t often considered these days, but they still don’t begin to lend the film the kind of weight in the intellectual arena that would match the action of its purely physical sequences.

    Unquestionably, the picture strives to delineate a morality of decency and righteousness in a context defined by hate and inhumanity, but the speechifying here can’t compare in power to the brute force of warfare, which is sufficient commentary by itself.

    Finally, nearly two hours in, the squad locates Pvt. Ryan (Matt Damon), who complicates the mission even further by refusing to return, insisting that he has orders of his own to continue fighting. As it happens, a devastated village nearby contains a bridge that must be held, and Miller orders Ryan to stay by him as they try to prevent the Nazis from taking it. What follows is yet another ferocious and protracted battle sequence, small in scale and numbers but gripping in its details, surprises and the way the chaos of fighting is strikingly conveyed. Epilogue connects once again to the personal tribute being paid by the contemporary visitor to Normandy.

    Using his technical virtuosity to the utmost, Spielberg is pushing here to claim new ground for himself and for a revival of the World War II film, and scores strongly on both counts. Opting out of the black-and-white of “Schindler’s List” and the longstanding images of the war, Spielberg and cinematographer Janusz Kaminski have desaturated the color in a way that strikingly emphasizes the pale greens of the uniforms and landscapes, blue-grays of the water and skies, and flesh tones; in this context, the red of the blood always jumps out. Frequent hand-held shots add to the intimacy and impact, while a shuttering device makes some of the action appear a bit jumpy, even pixilated, creating an effect that is both ultra-vivid and somewhat jarring.

    John Williams’ score is sparing, with music avoided entirely for long stretches but coming into its own elsewhere, notably over the final credits.

    Essentially, Spielberg has made an amazing piece of pure, visceral cinema, akin to a great silent film, in which the words are basically superfluous. No further commentary is needed when the raw brutality of combat is presented as indelibly as it is here.
    Expand
  36. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    This is just such a great movie. It deserves every single award. Tom Hanks gives his most brilliant performance ever. All of his supporting cast is outstanding. I was just blown away by this film. Arguably, the greatest war film of all time.
  37. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    First of all, its a perfect example of the Sole Survivor Policy in the US Military, there are strong performances and actors to behold, and its a spectacularly watchable depiction of World War II battlegrounds. Steven Spielberg's work on Saving Private Ryan is one of his most impressive works I've seen in a long time.
  38. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    This film blows me away completely. Awesome! It brings the brutality of war to the small screen so that everyone can feel exactly what those soldiers felt in the Great Second World War. Spielberg and Hanks are the best, for sure
  39. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    All ho love war movies gonna love this movie. One of the best movies ever made. Amazing movie
  40. Apr 28, 2011
    9
    Watching this movie drew me in and shook me to the very core with a gritty, realistic and bloody vision of WWII that makes you think "was it justified?". I usually think that Spielberg's earlier Schindlers List was superior, but seeing this for the first time has changed my outlook completely. One minor complaint is that too many parts of it feel like a full on action movie that could beWatching this movie drew me in and shook me to the very core with a gritty, realistic and bloody vision of WWII that makes you think "was it justified?". I usually think that Spielberg's earlier Schindlers List was superior, but seeing this for the first time has changed my outlook completely. One minor complaint is that too many parts of it feel like a full on action movie that could be viewed as disrespectful to the veterans. All in all, a cinematic experience that isn't afraid to shock. Expand
  41. Oct 24, 2013
    9
    This movie was amazing. Hanks was spectacular and Speilberg did a absolutely amazing job directing. The movie was horrid and hard to watch which makes it an effective war movie. It also pulls at your heart strings in just the right way. Couldn't ask for more.
  42. May 9, 2015
    10
    Devastating. If, for some reason, I was asked to write a one-word review of Saving Private Ryan, that would be the term I would use. As was true of director Steven Spielberg's other masterpiece, Schindler's List, the impact of this motion picture must be experienced; it cannot be adequately described. No film since last year's The Sweet Hereafter has left such a searing and indelibleDevastating. If, for some reason, I was asked to write a one-word review of Saving Private Ryan, that would be the term I would use. As was true of director Steven Spielberg's other masterpiece, Schindler's List, the impact of this motion picture must be experienced; it cannot be adequately described. No film since last year's The Sweet Hereafter has left such a searing and indelible imprint on my mind and soul. This movie did not need to be released at the end of the year to be considered for a flood of Oscar nominations; it's so forceful that no one who sees it will be able to forget it -- not even Academy members with two-month memory spans.

    Saving Private Ryan opens with a 30-minute cinematic tour de force that is without a doubt one of the finest half-hours ever committed to film. This sequence, a soldier's-eye view of the D-Day invasion of Normandy, is brilliant not only in terms of technique but in the depth of viewer reaction it generates. It is certainly the most violent, gory, visceral depiction of war that I have ever witnessed on screen. Spielberg spares the viewer nothing of the horrors of battle, using every tactic at his disposal to convey the chaos and senseless waste that lies at the core of any engagement. We are presented with unforgettable, bloody images of bodies being cut to pieces by bullets, limbs blown off, entrails spilling out, and a variety of other assorted examples of carnage. And, when the tide comes in with the waves breaking on the body-strewn beach, the water is crimson. Those who are at all squeamish will find the opening of Saving Private Ryan unbearable. This aspect of the film almost earned it an NC-17 rating; only the fact that Spielberg rigorously avoids even a hint of exploitation convinced the MPAA to award an R.

    In addition to showing what happens when projectiles rip into the soft flesh of the human body, the director employs other methods to capture the essence of battle - hand-held cameras, a slight speeding up of the images, muted colors, and several different kinds of film stock. Put it all together, and it adds up to a dizzying, exhausting assault on the senses. As good as the rest of Saving Private Ryan is, and it's very good, the D-Day attack on Omaha Beach is the sequence that everyone will remember most clearly.

    Most World War II movies fall into one of two categories: heroic tales of glory and valor or biopics (my all-time favorite film, Patton, falls in the latter camp). Saving Private Ryan is neither. Instead, it's a condemnation of war wrapped in a tale of human courage and sacrifice. In many ways, the picture painted by this movie is more grim than the one Oliver Stone presented in Platoon, which has often been cited as the most daring anti-war film to come out of Hollywood. Saving Private Ryan quickly and brutally dispels the notion that war is anything but vicious, demoralizing violence that makes a cruel joke out of the human body and spirit. Although the film is only loosely based on a true incident, it's hard not to accept these characters and events as real.

    With Saving Private Ryan set alongside Schindler's List, Steven Spielberg, once known as a purveyor of well-crafted-but-lightweight feel-good fare, has given us two of the decade's most gripping, disturbing, and powerful motion pictures. I consider Schindler's List to be one of the most amazing movies I have ever experienced, and, in many ways, Saving Private Ryan is its equal. Although both films take place during the same time period, they focus on different ideas. Schindler's List personifies good (Schindler) and evil (Amon Goeth), and plays out the struggle against a tragic backdrop. In Saving Private Ryan, there are no human villains, and the enemy isn't so much the Germans as it is the implacable, destructive specter of war. The film's central question (When is one life more important than another?) is never really answered. For those who are willing to brave the movie's shocking and unforgettable images, Saving Private Ryan offers a singular motion picture experience. I will be surprised if another film tops it for the best of 1998.
    Expand
  43. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    Saving Private Ryan is an amazing movie, it is also the best war movie I have ever seen. The plot is gripping and keeps you enthralled while the characters all work together to deliver a star-studded performance that amazes. Saving Private Ryan defty blens the action and emotion into a package that is thrilling, a place where other movies tend to fail. There are virtually zero faults inSaving Private Ryan is an amazing movie, it is also the best war movie I have ever seen. The plot is gripping and keeps you enthralled while the characters all work together to deliver a star-studded performance that amazes. Saving Private Ryan defty blens the action and emotion into a package that is thrilling, a place where other movies tend to fail. There are virtually zero faults in this movie maybe except for very obscure missteps but so obscure that you must pay attention to see them. Overall Saving Private Ryan is a great movie that I recommend everyone watch, even if you are not into war movies you will still love this movie for it's characterization for it will also change your expectations for war movies forever. Breakdown for Saving Private Ryan: Presentation: 9.5, Plot: 9.7, Acting: 10, Script: 10, Lasting Appeal: 9.6. Overall Score: 9.6 out of 10 "Amazing". Expand
  44. Mar 22, 2016
    9
    You can forget both the creepy "The Last Great Invasion Of The Last Great War" tagline and the slow-motion, feel-good trailers created for Steven Spielberg's Saving Private Ryan. They're advertising a different movie. Saving Private Ryan is a brutal film, free of the gooey-eyed romanticism suggested by its promotional campaign. In fact, large portions of Saving Private Ryan are given toYou can forget both the creepy "The Last Great Invasion Of The Last Great War" tagline and the slow-motion, feel-good trailers created for Steven Spielberg's Saving Private Ryan. They're advertising a different movie. Saving Private Ryan is a brutal film, free of the gooey-eyed romanticism suggested by its promotional campaign. In fact, large portions of Saving Private Ryan are given to calling into question the attitudes played upon by its ads. Tom Hanks plays an American army captain who, after taking part in the invasion of Normandy—portrayed here in what are likely some of the most viscerally affecting scenes ever put to film—is ordered to find the titular Private Ryan (Matt Damon), a paratrooper whose whereabouts are unknown, and whose three brothers have died in the war. As they travel deeper into the war zone, the soldiers Hanks leads on the mission (Edward Burns, Tom Sizemore, Adam Goldberg, Jeremy Davies, and others) question their public-relations-oriented task. Packed with about as many moral ambiguities as a Spielberg movie can handle, Saving Private Ryan provides a startling grunt's-eye view of war, refusing to subscribe to simplistic, blindly patriotic notions of honor and duty while working toward an understanding of what those words really mean. Of the many fine supporting performances, Davies (Spanking The Monkey, Going All The Way) is particularly notable as a dangerously innocent translator. By the time Saving Private Ryan wins the Best Picture Oscar next year, it will probably be smothered in the sort of overstated, reverent praise that can obscure any movie, no matter how good. Calling it the greatest war movie ever made does a disservice to other, equally worthwhile, lower-profile films (Sam Fuller's The Big Red One, for instance). But it's still an excellent movie, as effective in battle scenes as it is in that of soldiers ruminating on an Edith Piaf song. It should be seen for what it is while it still can be. Expand
  45. Jul 19, 2011
    8
    I thought it was a really good movie. It was realistic and it was really cool. The action sequences were cool like in the first twenty minutes and it got better from there. It was really cool to see a group of American soldiers overcome a stronger German army in a cool way. Way to go Steven Spielberg, you've done it again.
  46. Jun 6, 2012
    9
    One of the most realistic war movies I've ever seen. There is not a single bad performance from the cast, all of them give solid, sterling performances in their roles, most notably Tom Hanks, Edward Burns, Matt Damon and Jeremy Davies. The battle scenes are frighteningly real, the opening half hour scene of the vicious Omaha Beach landings are well deserved to be called one of the bestOne of the most realistic war movies I've ever seen. There is not a single bad performance from the cast, all of them give solid, sterling performances in their roles, most notably Tom Hanks, Edward Burns, Matt Damon and Jeremy Davies. The battle scenes are frighteningly real, the opening half hour scene of the vicious Omaha Beach landings are well deserved to be called one of the best movie battle scenes of all time. Expand
  47. Jan 4, 2016
    9
    Despite receiving universal critical praise in the US, Saving Private Ryan is not as perfect as everyone's claiming. Yet Spielberg's fourth foray into World War Two does deserve much of the hype, as it contains the most believably shocking combat sequences ever seen. It's also the kind of movie that attracts review quotes which pant: "Powerful, honest, moving..." But is this descriptionDespite receiving universal critical praise in the US, Saving Private Ryan is not as perfect as everyone's claiming. Yet Spielberg's fourth foray into World War Two does deserve much of the hype, as it contains the most believably shocking combat sequences ever seen. It's also the kind of movie that attracts review quotes which pant: "Powerful, honest, moving..." But is this description accurate?

    Without doubt, the intensity, attention to detail and sheer volume of combat footage make it a powerful and disturbing experience. The opening 25-minute Omaha Beach battle may be the largest in scale, but it's a blip compared with the closing conflict, which rages for 50 minutes. Around half the total running-time is combat.

    And what combat it is, with the visceral madness of warfare highlighted by a jittery hand-held documentary style. Shots of wildly differing exposures are cut together as the viewpoint trips and stumbles across the battlefield without pause to wipe mud, blood and water off the lens. The way each dismemberment and explosion is almost missed gives the impression that Spielberg is capturing only a fraction of the carnage.

    Omaha Beach is a shambolic strip of misery bordered on one side by barbed wire and on the other by red waves and dead fish. Soldiers are burned up or chopped into meaty slabs rather than being punched by neat Hollywood holes. Ryan's war is relentless and breathtaking, its battle scenes an exemplary example of faultless movie-making.

    But whether or not this is an honest account of World War Two is some-thing the glowing American reviews have ignored. And although the combat realism and period authenticity can't be questioned, other things will stick in the throats of non-American audiences.

    Take the no-show of any Allies. While this is forgivable for Omaha Beach (a uniquely American cock-up), it's harder to explain as Captain Miller's eight-man unit move inland. Where are the British, the French, the Polish or the Canadians?

    German audiences will likewise be weary at the continuing portrayal of the `master race'. The Americans are a likable blend of doe-eyed teenagers, corn-fed midwesterners and Deep South good ol' boys. When they're killed it's tragic, when they're wounded they cry out for water, morphine or their mothers. But when a German's killed, it's just another dead Nazi, shot down despite his shaven-head, jutting square jaw and piercing, blue eyes. An unbiased historical document? Yeah, right.

    Is Saving Private Ryan moving? Unaccountably, no. Beyond the horror of the visuals, the intervening hours fail to tug the heart strings. We're given a single defined sympathetic character, Hanks' Captain Miller. His inner torment is etched on Hanks' face in what must be another Oscar nominee role. But his unit are presented as a sketchy band of combat clichés: a cocky New Yorker, the dependable Sarge, a whining Jewish kid and a cowardly translator. As Ryan, Damon has barely a scene to act before he's plunged into the fighting.

    The 'plot' is nothing more than a sequence of events glued together. Between the opening and closing mini-apocalypses, there's a slow-paced, occasionally dull and average meander that pales in comparison with many older war movies. That Edward Zwick's brilliant Glory packs a dozen rounded characters, three massive battles and heart-swelling scenes of horror, courage and sacrifice into two hours really does expose Saving Private Ryan as a bloated and frequently empty experience.

    The end result is frustratingly patchy, equally brilliant and lacklustre, and delivers a profoundly mixed message. Are we meant to think that war is an impersonal meat-grinder as in the opening battle, or that a few good men can make a difference, as in the climax? Spielberg set out to make the definitive war movie. He ended up making a grown-up Indiana Jones film with several must-see combat scenes.

    Spielberg's triumph is to confront a blood-lust audience and make them flinch at the horror of non-Hollywood reality. But this is no Schindler's List. Technically, it may be the best-made war movie yet, but dramatically, it barely delivers.
    Expand
  48. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Everything a war-flick fan needs. Guns, tanks, blood, lots of history, excellent battle scenes and some drama. There is hardly any movie that can resemble Saving Private Ryan in its character. The Omaha Beach scene at the beginning is going to be ever famous in movie history. The story here is said with no playing with reality. People die in the most gruesome ways, sometimes because of their stupidity or just plainly because they are unlucky. Both American and German soldiers aren`t portraid as black and white. None is all good or all bad. We know that they are men struggling to survive a time when there are no rules other than to kill or be killed. Some are blind with hatred, others psyche goes to ashes, just a few are able to sustain their sanity. The story is fine and very touching, mostly because Tom Hanks gave his character a complicated and likeable personality. Other actors play their roles well, so the movie can`t be said as a one man show. The second best actor I`d say was the American medic. The ending of the movie might be seen as positive or negative - everyone can see it differently. I sticked to the characters so it was very sad for me. Other than that this movie is a wonderful showing of cinematography`s evolution and the hardware that was used in WWII. The armored vehicles are exceptionally well made. Fake, but still only an advanced history buff can see the difference (the wrong wheels on the Tiger I for example). I watched this film many times until I could memorise it 100%. Took me like 30 viewings but it`s worth it. Ofcourse I come back to it from time to time. Expand
  49. Apr 20, 2015
    10
    Based on the story of Frederic Niland, who was pulled out of frontline duty after his mother had received three MIA telegrams on the same day regarding his brothers, this is based on that mission - to find and rescue Private Ryan in the midst of the French landings.

    Bookended by the most shocking, searing battle sequences in film history, Saving Private Ryan is as powerful, devastating,
    Based on the story of Frederic Niland, who was pulled out of frontline duty after his mother had received three MIA telegrams on the same day regarding his brothers, this is based on that mission - to find and rescue Private Ryan in the midst of the French landings.

    Bookended by the most shocking, searing battle sequences in film history, Saving Private Ryan is as powerful, devastating, memorable and moving as movies get. Steven Spielberg's riveting infantryman's-eye-view of World War II will change the way war movies are perceived. Hymns to brazen heroism and gung ho guts'n'glory will be impossible, impertinent even, in its wake. Going far beyond simplistic War Is Hell platitudes, never before has the fear and flux of fighting been so vividly realised on celluloid.

    Yet, for all the bravura cinematic virtuosity, this is by no means an exhilarating spectacle - subsumed by the sickening minutiae of combat, the overriding effect is exhausting, numbing visual viscera that leaves you shaken to your very core.

    n route, there are minor quibbles - the middle section could be pruned, a closing coda distils the complexity all too neatly - but such nit-picking pales in the face of the ambition and achievement on offer. Indeed, just as the blitzkrieg on the senses appears to have petered out, Spielberg unleashes a near hour-long battle as the rescue outfit teams up with Ryan's own to hold a bridge against four German tanks; the manipulation of suspense - offscreen Panzers approach with the malevolent rumble of marauding dinos - the lucidity of the furious imagery and a heartstopping finale is evidence of a filmmaker approaching the top of his game. A modern masterpiece.

    Uncompromising, powerful war movie that does not pull any punches. Perfectly balances the inhumanity of war and the humanity of its protagonists. Devastating and essential viewing.

    To put this film into a single word: Masterpiece.
    Expand
  50. Jun 14, 2012
    9
    I believe that Saving Private Ryan is one of the more accurate portrayal of WWII in film history. It has a stellar cast, incredibly deep character depth (you know, characters that you'll actually care about), and a surprisingly poignant story.
  51. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    This movie just managed a 10. This epic directed by Steven Spielberg is a classic. The effects, acting, set, music and everything else was amazing. The story was great and there was a strong connection with the characters. The CGI was brilliant for 90's, and this movie is one you have to have on your shelf. It tell's the tale of soldiers as they embark on a mission to find Private Ryan,This movie just managed a 10. This epic directed by Steven Spielberg is a classic. The effects, acting, set, music and everything else was amazing. The story was great and there was a strong connection with the characters. The CGI was brilliant for 90's, and this movie is one you have to have on your shelf. It tell's the tale of soldiers as they embark on a mission to find Private Ryan, who has to come back home. Amazing action scenes, great music and an absolute masterpiece. Expand
  52. Mar 8, 2014
    9
    What a masterpiece. The depiction of fighting in World War II is incredible to watch and feels very realistic. The set decoration is amazing and with Tom Cruise as lead actor it is tough to go wrong here. However, the movie is almost three hours and does drag on a bit but it has many really terrific scenes. This is a must see and I give it an 89.9 out of 100.
  53. Mar 16, 2016
    9
    EXCELLENT
    The Best World War II movie I've seen yet and one of Spielberg's best.
    It' just a great and realistic war epic that will be remembered forever.
  54. Jan 5, 2015
    9
    For the year t came out (1998) I think it is/was one of the most realistic war movies. The plot was something that was greatly thought of by a mastermind. I think at times the story overtook some action that a typical war movie would have. But overall one of the best movies that are certainly on my top 25 list of movies, (Which I don't have something dedicated as a list.)
  55. Feb 27, 2015
    10
    There is not one dull moment in this film. Saving Private Ryan will keep you hooked until the very end, its paced very well and the characters are done well. One of the greatest war movies I have ever seen.
  56. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    after this film I felt, I saved the ryan. because after first scene of this film, I was a soldier of this crew. No need to say about film scenes, you live together with this film.
  57. Mar 12, 2013
    8
    Steven Spielberg's masterpiece is not only the greatest war film ever created but possibly the greatest film ever made. The stellar directing brings you into the film and does not let you go until the very last scene. This is truly a great film that will be remembered.
  58. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    Saving Private Ryan is arguably the greatest war flick of all time.

    The movie begins at D-Day. This opening scene was one of the craziest I have ever seen and features intense action sequences, along with a bit of blood and gore. This scene was just spectacular. Eventually, the main plot begins and Tom Hanks and a squad of soldiers begin a journey to find a missing private whose three
    Saving Private Ryan is arguably the greatest war flick of all time.

    The movie begins at D-Day. This opening scene was one of the craziest I have ever seen and features intense action sequences, along with a bit of blood and gore. This scene was just spectacular. Eventually, the main plot begins and Tom Hanks and a squad of soldiers begin a journey to find a missing private whose three brothers were killed in action.

    The interaction between the squad members is great and the journey they go on is exciting. The battle that culminates near the end of the movie is one of the greatest war scenes in history. The fighting is intense and it defines amazing effects and incredible acting.

    I highly recommend that you see this above-stellar movie, as it has incredible acting and effects.
    Expand
  59. Jul 21, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Technically brilliant, a total misfire in characterization, hence, Matt Damon's brothers died, who cares! Tom Hanks dies, who cares!

    Don't try and push my buttons with cardboard cutouts for characters, Spielberg, I'm not that easy.

    And the Anne Frank lookalike implanted in the bombed out French house scene...? Really dude?
    Expand
  60. May 4, 2014
    8
    The movie has some cool battle scenes but it starts off a ridiculous premise that people would stop in the middle of a World War and send men in danger to "save a private" that they don't even know if he's alive or dead, just because his brothers died in the war(which was a very common thing back then). It also has the stereotypical stupid American that becomes a brave (stupid) American atThe movie has some cool battle scenes but it starts off a ridiculous premise that people would stop in the middle of a World War and send men in danger to "save a private" that they don't even know if he's alive or dead, just because his brothers died in the war(which was a very common thing back then). It also has the stereotypical stupid American that becomes a brave (stupid) American at the end and takes out the "bad guy"(and lets the other go free). Despite the constant logic fails with the story, the battles are very realistic and the movie is worth watching. Expand
  61. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    Simplemente este Film se podría definir en miles de grandiosas palabras, pero se define según mi criterio en una sola, IMPRESIONANTE. Spielberg, por supuesto el mejor director del mundo y me atrevo a decir que en mucho tiempo no habrá nadie igual a el; nos muestra una pequeña muestra de lo bueno que puede ser un largometraje bien hecho sin fallos.
  62. Dec 4, 2011
    9
    Saving Private Ryan is an awesome action and realistic movie with heart-pacing plot. It had captured the realism of the WWII and turn it into a movie with exciting plot. It catches your attention and have a ending that will make you remember forever.
  63. May 18, 2015
    5
    There is exactly one good scene in Saving Private Ryan and that is the Normandy invasion battle. It was beautifully done in fact. Apart from that, most of the film is average, often even below that. It is very, very predictable. Steven Spielberg somehow managed to create soldiers you don't care about, a plot you don't care about and most of all, a Private named Ryan who's fate you don'tThere is exactly one good scene in Saving Private Ryan and that is the Normandy invasion battle. It was beautifully done in fact. Apart from that, most of the film is average, often even below that. It is very, very predictable. Steven Spielberg somehow managed to create soldiers you don't care about, a plot you don't care about and most of all, a Private named Ryan who's fate you don't about. Overrated. Expand
  64. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    Amazing movie, besides a few innaccuracies with explosions and what not, it all culminates into a completely engrossing experiance where each soldier has their own personnality and can be distinguished from the next not only because of the superb acting, but also because the characters fit their roles to a T. The action is intense and fast paced, the drama is tragic, and truly shows whatAmazing movie, besides a few innaccuracies with explosions and what not, it all culminates into a completely engrossing experiance where each soldier has their own personnality and can be distinguished from the next not only because of the superb acting, but also because the characters fit their roles to a T. The action is intense and fast paced, the drama is tragic, and truly shows what war was like back in the 1940's. Expand
  65. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Best movie ever, literally... Of all the movies I have ever seen, this one gets me the most. This action packed film is thrilling, well acted, and overall amazeballs.
  66. Jan 15, 2015
    10
    This is by far the greatest movie ever. The story is emotional and gripping. The only issue might be showing it to young kids. It should have won the Oscar the the whole world knows it.
  67. Mar 31, 2016
    9
    What a stunning piece of film by Spielberg who pulled yet another show-stopper with this one, and although I'm very much late to the crowd, that matter certainly did not take away from how breathtaking this film really is. From the opening scenes to the final scenes, from start to finish you're enthralled in this battlefield full of non-stop action and guns and despite the continuousWhat a stunning piece of film by Spielberg who pulled yet another show-stopper with this one, and although I'm very much late to the crowd, that matter certainly did not take away from how breathtaking this film really is. From the opening scenes to the final scenes, from start to finish you're enthralled in this battlefield full of non-stop action and guns and despite the continuous carnage, you remain engaged and that comes down to the phenomenal cast list, which features the talents of Hanks, Damon, Cranston, Vin Diesel and many, many more that tie together to form such a chemistry that you feel a connection, a sense of empowerment and togetherness about it all. Not only this, but you have the dynamic techniques used in the way that this is film and the epanalepsis of this blurred vision for Miller when it seems as though all is lost. It's a film that really has you on the edge of your seat and despite it all being for one mere soldier, who's family have looked death right in the eye, it keeps you going and wanting to know how this will all unravel. There's only so much I can say, and that certainly doesn't imply that that is a bad thing because this movie has quickly become one of my favourites of all time.

    So, if you're a late viewer like me and your yet to watch this marvel of film by Spielberg then be sure to free a night and sit back and enjoy a masterclass in film-making because it is something to behold, that's for sure.
    Expand
  68. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    Although I'm a history buff and love good war movies, there have been very few decent ones during the last 15 years. Saving Private Ryan is not only a masterpiece in every regard, it's arguably the best war film of all time.
  69. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    Would you risk 8 soldiers for 1? Or vice versa? It's a sad question, but one we can't avoid. This movie show that a death is a death. Unfortunately, it shows that we must pick one or the other, but someone still dies. This is my second time watching the movie and it was worth it.
  70. Oct 20, 2015
    5
    at first it doesn't feel like a spielberg movie but an ordinary war movie.the movie is too much sentimental
    the battlefield scenario is heavily overrated.Tom hanks does his job very well and matt damon doesn't seem to fit the role of private ryan
  71. May 20, 2011
    10
    High quality in every aspect. I don not see where complaints could possibly arise from, unless the ones voicing them accidentally saw the wrong film.
  72. Jun 8, 2011
    5
    Some interesting direction in the opening and climactic battle scenes, but the film is let down by the plot, which is too simple and implausible to engage the viewer. It's a long and cliched Hollywood blockbuster war film and not much more, I'd give it a miss unless you're a blindly patriotic American.
  73. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    Greatest war movie I have ever seen. It is powerful, moving and keeps you wanting to watch more. Tom Hanks' and Matt Damon's acting is very good and every one of the characters are deep and you feel like you emphasize with them and understand them. Some scenes bend the laws of physics, but it doesn't make any difference. This movie is not for the faint-hearted as it contains someGreatest war movie I have ever seen. It is powerful, moving and keeps you wanting to watch more. Tom Hanks' and Matt Damon's acting is very good and every one of the characters are deep and you feel like you emphasize with them and understand them. Some scenes bend the laws of physics, but it doesn't make any difference. This movie is not for the faint-hearted as it contains some incredibly gory scenes reminiscent on Saw. Awesome film and should stay on every shelf in every house. Expand
  74. Nov 7, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Saving Private Ryan is nothing short of the greatest war movie ever made (to this point). The only other media that comes close is Band of Brothers (also involving Hanks and Spielberg), but as a miniseries it's in another category.

    When this movie came out, we all knew that the opening battle sequence changed war films forever. There simply had never and hasn't since been such a visceral, overwhelming, intense depiction of warfare anywhere else. Movies and video games since have tried to imitate it and don't come close.

    If The Thin Red Line and Life Is Beautiful hadn't come out in the same year, I don't think there's any way this film would not have taken Best Picture. I never have seen Shakespeare in Love, so I won't criticize it as if I had, but it must have been remarkable to beat this genre-redefining movie. If it wasn't remarkable, then this might be the biggest snub in Oscar history.

    Tom Hanks is at his best in SPR. I don't think he was better in either Philadelphia or The Green Mile. It's not just Hanks, though. All of the supporting actors, even Vin Diesel and Tom Sizemore, are impeccable.

    The scene at the end of the movie when Hanks dies is one I still can't watch 16 years later without tearing up. When he looks at Ryan (and the camera is just over his should, so he is basically looking right at the camera) and says "Earn this," he is saying that to all of us. Earn the sacrifice that a whole generation paid in blood for all of us. That's what turns this movie into something far more profound and important than any myriad of other WWII and war films in general.
    Expand
  75. Aug 3, 2013
    7
    This is a good movie, Set in WW2. Tom Hanks and Matt Damon gave good performances. There is a good cast as well. Its worth watching if youre a history and war buff.
  76. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    One of the greatest movies ever put to film. A must watch for anyone who can stomach the realistic and gruesome battle scenes. The acting, special effects, and cinematography are amazing.
  77. AMovieCritic
    Jul 8, 2005
    6
    This was a very cool movie. I really enjoyed parts of it, and it really is something that should be seen by many people. This shows how war (I assume,)is really like. It's really an interesting movie, and (I'm sure,) very realistic. Spielberg's direction is flawless, and you really feel like you are in the action. Great movie. ...for a while. Unfortunately, as is often the This was a very cool movie. I really enjoyed parts of it, and it really is something that should be seen by many people. This shows how war (I assume,)is really like. It's really an interesting movie, and (I'm sure,) very realistic. Spielberg's direction is flawless, and you really feel like you are in the action. Great movie. ...for a while. Unfortunately, as is often the problem with Spielberg's movies, this goes on for way too long. At 2 hours and 30 minutes, this is a very long movie, and near the end of it, I just kind of lost interest. It just becomes too much. The movie says all it needs to say, and shows all it needs to show, but it keeps going. When they got to the last town, I just lost all interest. A very good movie, but way too long-winded. Expand
  78. ConradR.
    Jul 9, 2001
    10
    The one film that puts you off joining the army - truly horrific - perfect.
  79. PIRANHAG.
    Dec 3, 2003
    10
    Best war movie ever.
  80. YoonC.
    Sep 15, 2003
    9
    Spielberg ups the ante on the greatest action scene ever, finally surpassing Peckinpah's master scenes in the Wild Bunch. Spielberg's attention to both the physicality and psychology of physical combat is unnerving as well as thrilling. Overall overwhelming. Fine performances and excellent script for what is essentially a conventional narrative.
  81. JamesJ.
    Jul 16, 2006
    10
    My father, who died last year ( 2006 ), landed at Utah Beach on D-Day plus 3. He never really talked about the W W 2. One day I asked him why he did not talk about it and he said, "You wouldn't understand." After seeing "Saving Private Ryan", now I understand why he said I wouldn't understand. I also have a lot more admiration to the fighting men of our country.
  82. MickG.
    Aug 1, 2006
    10
    The best effects and plot for a war movie.
  83. BobK
    Apr 19, 2009
    10
    I love how all the people that don't like this movie say "This movie is disgusting and sucks". That's all they can say, and Germans do not look like the bad guys all that much. In the beginning American Soldiers kill two Germans for no reason and the sniper shows mercy by not taking off Carpazo's head. They were about to kill the German guy who had no weapons or anything.
  84. John
    Oct 6, 2002
    8
    I agree with the majority here. The film is so concentrated on looking good and making itself resemble the reality of war that it forgets to be anything else. The film has imagery, but lack character development. Yet it is still worth seeing - definitely. And it's a hell of a lot better that Black Hawk Down.
  85. FrankR.
    Jul 11, 2002
    3
    I can't understand the hoopla about this film. Sure it has lots of realistic and technically accomplished action sequences, but it lacks just about everything else. Characters are weak, and after all the mayhem has finished it asks no questions. You just can't call this an anti-war movie. Look at Apocalypse Now or Platoon for a much more realised look at the heart of darkness of I can't understand the hoopla about this film. Sure it has lots of realistic and technically accomplished action sequences, but it lacks just about everything else. Characters are weak, and after all the mayhem has finished it asks no questions. You just can't call this an anti-war movie. Look at Apocalypse Now or Platoon for a much more realised look at the heart of darkness of war. And those cheesy American flag bookends to the film is an insult to all the other allied countries that participated in D-Day. Expand
  86. MattS.
    Mar 19, 2003
    10
    I love this movie. that is the only way to describe it.
  87. MattJ.
    Jun 28, 2003
    10
    This is the best film ever.
  88. AkhilK.
    Mar 8, 2004
    10
    As long as your a young-adult and thereafter, there is abosultely no reason that you can label this movie as "gruesome" or "graphic". With the right amount of maturity this movie can be so powerful to actually change your life and appreciate to all those lost in that war and others.
  89. JohnD.
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    Shocking, true, violent - bloody awesome.
  90. ChrisR.
    Sep 3, 2004
    9
    As of three years ago, I have made a point of watching this film on June 6th every year, so that the true meaning of this historic date will never be lost. I know it sounds trite, but with holidays such as Memorial Day quickly becoming an excuse for cookouts, I feel the need to reinforce the terrible and awesome sacrifices that have shaped the course of history. This movie does just that. As of three years ago, I have made a point of watching this film on June 6th every year, so that the true meaning of this historic date will never be lost. I know it sounds trite, but with holidays such as Memorial Day quickly becoming an excuse for cookouts, I feel the need to reinforce the terrible and awesome sacrifices that have shaped the course of history. This movie does just that. For all of it's character development shortcomings, it still ranks as simply the most powerful cinematic depiction of war I have ever seen. And as a side note, the whole character development issue almost seems moot, considering the context in which most of these men knew each other. Ready to die for their brothers, many ironically knew very little of each other's personal lives, except for snippets learned during the calm interludes, when the soldier would share stories or letters from a world far away. That is why the betting on what Hank's character does as a civilian makes so much sense. To many, life at home was a carefully guarded treasure that served as a very personal and private link to sanity and hope. If you haven't seen this film, make it a point to do so. You will find a whole new appreciation for the ability of the common man who, faced with impossible odds and true terror, is somehow able to accomplish the extroardinary. It will renew your faith in mankind, while simultaneously horrifying you at man's folly. Expand
  91. TomL.
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    It ROCKS!!!!!!!
  92. Pagz
    Mar 9, 2005
    9
    Good- Realistic- Graphic, sets the mood.
  93. millerc.
    May 10, 2005
    10
    Best moive ever.
  94. Henry
    May 2, 2005
    10
    Devastating.
  95. JoeG.
    Jul 18, 2005
    3
    Allow me to use the language used in the film..its a f---ing lie from start to end. At the start: there is no trace whatsoever on the comforting Allied air-superiority.....5800 bombers and 5000 fighters which made 14600 sorties on D-day. The bombers began their bombardment of the beaches at midnight then shifted inland at 6:30am, dropping an estimated 5000 ton of bombs on the beach Allow me to use the language used in the film..its a f---ing lie from start to end. At the start: there is no trace whatsoever on the comforting Allied air-superiority.....5800 bombers and 5000 fighters which made 14600 sorties on D-day. The bombers began their bombardment of the beaches at midnight then shifted inland at 6:30am, dropping an estimated 5000 ton of bombs on the beach installations. (the Germans had in total 400 warplanes available in France, made 250 sorties on the day with only 2 of these actually directed against the beaches!). There is not even trace of the massive naval bombardment from 7 battleships (some with 16" guns!), 2 monitors, 23 crusiers, 104 destroyers and 71 large rocket-firing landing-barges. The gunfire started at 5:00 and only shifted inland as the troops hit the beaches; the destroyers (courage due, but no sign in film) kept up their support even as the troops rushed ashore, comming as close inland as they dared, loosing 6 of their numbers to mines, gunfire and E-boats). Through the film, you are given the impression that the American GIs were heavily outnumbered by the NAZI-German war-machine. At the conclusion of the first day, 132,250 Allied troops were landed. These were faced by 2 infantry divisions, (the crack 252nd and the near usless Polish-Russian 716th.) and ELEMENTS of 21st Panzer, who were only released at after 3:00pm. At the end of the film, now here is the bigger lie, as Mr. Hanks squad was confronted by Tigers. The American forces did not encounter Tigers in the Normandy campaign, that was left to the British, ask the 7th. Armoured at the Villers-Bocage). Oh yes, I nearly forgot...the American Air Force did show up in SPR, in the form of Tiger-Busting Mustangs, these must have been Spielberg Specials!!! I must conclude with this note. Spielberg dedicated his film only and specifically to ALLIED soldiers who gave their lives for democracy. MEMPHIS BELLE, a hell of a better war film, was dedicated to ALL airmen of BOTH sides who fought and died over Germany in WW2!!! Expand
  96. AlexanderC.
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    I think this movie is just incredible, Mr Spielberg and Mr Hanks are just masters fo the film business.
  97. LanceB.
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    I thought Spielberg did an awesome job at portraying the harsh realities that men face during war. And I am tired of hearing all of these people bashing the movie for being to graphic. Well you know what, thats what war is really like, believe it or not. If you dont like it then dont watch the movie.
  98. TimS.
    Oct 9, 2007
    0
    This movie only appeals to those who have absolutely no knowledge of history. It's absolute garbage. Historically inaccurate, Spielberg bullcrap which makes Germans look like stupid, cowardly, deceptive, inhuman animals. They may have been America's enemies but they certainly weren't unskilled fighters with no hearts. They were normal soldiers doing their duty who talked This movie only appeals to those who have absolutely no knowledge of history. It's absolute garbage. Historically inaccurate, Spielberg bullcrap which makes Germans look like stupid, cowardly, deceptive, inhuman animals. They may have been America's enemies but they certainly weren't unskilled fighters with no hearts. They were normal soldiers doing their duty who talked and laughed just like the American soldiers. The movie is just more Hollywood propaganda to make all Germans look evil. If you REALLY want to know why and how Spielberg does this, search "Saving Private Ryan review by Michael A Hoffman II" in google, go to the first link and then to the bottom of the page where it will have a link to his review. This review points out everything that I'm talking about. This is simply a movie for entertainment and doesn't help history just like every other war movie coming out of Hollywood! Don't people get tired of this same kind of garbage? Expand
  99. RodG.
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    Definitely in my top 5 all time favorite movies. Action, drama, comedy and everything in between.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Nothing that suggests an independent vision, unless you count seeing more limbs blown off than usual.
  2. 89
    A bitter, bloody masterpiece with adrenalized emotions and hyper-realized images, this is perhaps as close to battle as any sane human being should ever hope to tread.
  3. The movie's greatest strength lies in phenomenal performances that reach from the leads right down to the smallest supporting roles.