DreamWorks Distribution | Release Date: July 24, 1998
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 871 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
814
Mixed:
29
Negative:
28
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ConradR.Jul 9, 2001
The one film that puts you off joining the army - truly horrific - perfect.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PIRANHAG.Dec 3, 2003
Best war movie ever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
YoonC.Sep 15, 2003
Spielberg ups the ante on the greatest action scene ever, finally surpassing Peckinpah's master scenes in the Wild Bunch. Spielberg's attention to both the physicality and psychology of physical combat is unnerving as well as Spielberg ups the ante on the greatest action scene ever, finally surpassing Peckinpah's master scenes in the Wild Bunch. Spielberg's attention to both the physicality and psychology of physical combat is unnerving as well as thrilling. Overall overwhelming. Fine performances and excellent script for what is essentially a conventional narrative. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesJ.Jul 16, 2006
My father, who died last year ( 2006 ), landed at Utah Beach on D-Day plus 3. He never really talked about the W W 2. One day I asked him why he did not talk about it and he said, "You wouldn't understand." After seeing "Saving Private My father, who died last year ( 2006 ), landed at Utah Beach on D-Day plus 3. He never really talked about the W W 2. One day I asked him why he did not talk about it and he said, "You wouldn't understand." After seeing "Saving Private Ryan", now I understand why he said I wouldn't understand. I also have a lot more admiration to the fighting men of our country. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MickG.Aug 1, 2006
The best effects and plot for a war movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobKApr 19, 2009
I love how all the people that don't like this movie say "This movie is disgusting and sucks". That's all they can say, and Germans do not look like the bad guys all that much. In the beginning American Soldiers kill two Germans I love how all the people that don't like this movie say "This movie is disgusting and sucks". That's all they can say, and Germans do not look like the bad guys all that much. In the beginning American Soldiers kill two Germans for no reason and the sniper shows mercy by not taking off Carpazo's head. They were about to kill the German guy who had no weapons or anything. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnOct 6, 2002
I agree with the majority here. The film is so concentrated on looking good and making itself resemble the reality of war that it forgets to be anything else. The film has imagery, but lack character development. Yet it is still worth seeing I agree with the majority here. The film is so concentrated on looking good and making itself resemble the reality of war that it forgets to be anything else. The film has imagery, but lack character development. Yet it is still worth seeing - definitely. And it's a hell of a lot better that Black Hawk Down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattS.Mar 19, 2003
I love this movie. that is the only way to describe it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattJ.Jun 28, 2003
This is the best film ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AkhilK.Mar 8, 2004
As long as your a young-adult and thereafter, there is abosultely no reason that you can label this movie as "gruesome" or "graphic". With the right amount of maturity this movie can be so powerful to actually change your life and appreciate As long as your a young-adult and thereafter, there is abosultely no reason that you can label this movie as "gruesome" or "graphic". With the right amount of maturity this movie can be so powerful to actually change your life and appreciate to all those lost in that war and others. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnD.Jun 30, 2004
Shocking, true, violent - bloody awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisR.Sep 3, 2004
As of three years ago, I have made a point of watching this film on June 6th every year, so that the true meaning of this historic date will never be lost. I know it sounds trite, but with holidays such as Memorial Day quickly becoming an As of three years ago, I have made a point of watching this film on June 6th every year, so that the true meaning of this historic date will never be lost. I know it sounds trite, but with holidays such as Memorial Day quickly becoming an excuse for cookouts, I feel the need to reinforce the terrible and awesome sacrifices that have shaped the course of history. This movie does just that. For all of it's character development shortcomings, it still ranks as simply the most powerful cinematic depiction of war I have ever seen. And as a side note, the whole character development issue almost seems moot, considering the context in which most of these men knew each other. Ready to die for their brothers, many ironically knew very little of each other's personal lives, except for snippets learned during the calm interludes, when the soldier would share stories or letters from a world far away. That is why the betting on what Hank's character does as a civilian makes so much sense. To many, life at home was a carefully guarded treasure that served as a very personal and private link to sanity and hope. If you haven't seen this film, make it a point to do so. You will find a whole new appreciation for the ability of the common man who, faced with impossible odds and true terror, is somehow able to accomplish the extroardinary. It will renew your faith in mankind, while simultaneously horrifying you at man's folly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomL.Nov 8, 2005
It ROCKS!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PagzMar 9, 2005
Good- Realistic- Graphic, sets the mood.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
millerc.May 10, 2005
Best moive ever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
HenryMay 2, 2005
Devastating.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexanderC.Aug 27, 2005
I think this movie is just incredible, Mr Spielberg and Mr Hanks are just masters fo the film business.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LanceB.Nov 30, 2006
I thought Spielberg did an awesome job at portraying the harsh realities that men face during war. And I am tired of hearing all of these people bashing the movie for being to graphic. Well you know what, thats what war is really like, I thought Spielberg did an awesome job at portraying the harsh realities that men face during war. And I am tired of hearing all of these people bashing the movie for being to graphic. Well you know what, thats what war is really like, believe it or not. If you dont like it then dont watch the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RodG.Feb 21, 2007
Definitely in my top 5 all time favorite movies. Action, drama, comedy and everything in between.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndroidFeb 15, 2008
One of Spielberg's greatest movies! The script is amazing and the the acting is great, also one of Tom Hanks' greatest movies. The violence, action and tragedy in the movie really bring out the realism of the war. I would certainly One of Spielberg's greatest movies! The script is amazing and the the acting is great, also one of Tom Hanks' greatest movies. The violence, action and tragedy in the movie really bring out the realism of the war. I would certainly recommend this movie to anyone that can handle some graphic, painful, bloody action. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
K.E.Jul 11, 2008
Anyone who gives this a 0 and is a fuckin hypocrite. Go fuck yourselves in the ass. No offense
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HarrySep 20, 2008
Looking at the top rated list because im broed and scroll down a little and what do i see, Saving Private Ryan. I love this movie and have seen it few times, the epic fight scenes in quest to get a man back home to his Mother after the loss Looking at the top rated list because im broed and scroll down a little and what do i see, Saving Private Ryan. I love this movie and have seen it few times, the epic fight scenes in quest to get a man back home to his Mother after the loss of his brothers. The most epic of any scenes in any movie in my opinion is when the sniper in the tower gets his eye shot out through the scope, that seen in entirety was intense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomHMar 1, 2009
This is one of the very few films that I would rate 10. No, it's not about limbs flying off, and no, it's not all about death. This movie mixes a high-tide of powerful anti-war emotions, and sadness that still keeps you excited and This is one of the very few films that I would rate 10. No, it's not about limbs flying off, and no, it's not all about death. This movie mixes a high-tide of powerful anti-war emotions, and sadness that still keeps you excited and has you gripped. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelF.Aug 26, 2001
This is my favorite war film! Heart-pounding and intense!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SantinoS.Oct 25, 2002
The first 30 minutes of this movie r the most violent, brutal, graphic ever seen in movie history. it shows us how wars are really fought and what actually happens to soldiers on battlefields, in sharp contrast to earlier war films where oneThe first 30 minutes of this movie r the most violent, brutal, graphic ever seen in movie history. it shows us how wars are really fought and what actually happens to soldiers on battlefields, in sharp contrast to earlier war films where one didn't even feel a soldier being killed. But i think spielberg didn't concentrate enough on the characters, of whom we don't know much, as a result of which the movie is not as moving or touching as it could have been. Still this is a powerful film, with a superb cast and Hanks is excellent as ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GustavoH.R.Dec 16, 2003
Perfection. Heart-wrenching drama, stunning battle scenes and also a tear-jerker - in the best sense of the word. One of the greatest war films ever made.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MattMSep 15, 2003
This is a great movie. I don't know how Spielberg makes these things. I love the camera work and action sequences. I think the movie should have had more 'behind the scenes' and more extras, but it does just fine for what it This is a great movie. I don't know how Spielberg makes these things. I love the camera work and action sequences. I think the movie should have had more 'behind the scenes' and more extras, but it does just fine for what it has. Plus the movie is more then enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexC.Mar 3, 2004
An absolutely brilliant war movie and without a doubt the best ever made. It has so many memorable and shocking moments in it, such as the Omaha beach scene, where there are limbs everywhere and that guy with his intestines hanging out. And An absolutely brilliant war movie and without a doubt the best ever made. It has so many memorable and shocking moments in it, such as the Omaha beach scene, where there are limbs everywhere and that guy with his intestines hanging out. And as for you Frank R. in case you hadnt noticed this film is about and AMERICAN squad, and I think the flags at the start and end are great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillH.Jun 6, 2004
Sobering. Magnificent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RaphaelR.Sep 26, 2004
This movei is good its not the best its not one of the worst its just good not great or excellent but good yaddamean?.... haha uhhm lets see i think for me there was only one bad part in this movie i think they focused on the action than This movei is good its not the best its not one of the worst its just good not great or excellent but good yaddamean?.... haha uhhm lets see i think for me there was only one bad part in this movie i think they focused on the action than they did in the story and yea.. but it still good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JackBOct 4, 2005
A teriffic movie which saw another vintage Hanks performance, yet somehow i did not consider it an "epic." Although it had all the elements i felt it possibly a little too gritty for this status.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LucyL.Feb 17, 2005
I loved it, and my great uncle (who was in wwII) says that it is one of The Best films about wwII. He says that what is shown on film is probably as close to the truth you can get.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DJChoonFeb 7, 2005
A masterpiece in every which way possible. The film is action pact, drama, pact and thriller pact. It took me on an emotional rollercoaster and left me gasping for breath in between vicious battle scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
viktorh.Apr 15, 2005
This so great, and i'm GERMAN!!! for cryling out lowd, cant thos idiats who say this is a bad move are so stupid!!! my grandpa was killed in the Dday inasssino, and he wasa a Nazi.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KJohnsonJun 23, 2005
I couldn't imagine a better war movie that reaches this many people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jul 22, 2005
A spielburg masterpiece just one thing shy of perfection. That ammo carrier in the last battle was irritating to watch as his friends suffered, weeping in wimpiness. Otherwise, a great film, with unique cinematography that's more raw A spielburg masterpiece just one thing shy of perfection. That ammo carrier in the last battle was irritating to watch as his friends suffered, weeping in wimpiness. Otherwise, a great film, with unique cinematography that's more raw that other war blockbusters. Better paced than the dramatically accurate but lethargic "The Thin Red Line", and more realistic than "Windtalkers". If it were up to me, I'd add some tank to tank battles, aerial dogfights and battleship artillery, but there's already enough action. Spielburg's got it all under control. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeremyE.Apr 18, 2006
you know what, i am Sick and Tired of seeing war films that are so realistic. It's really disgusting and unessecary to see someone's face getting blown out. rest of the film's great though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlakeP.May 29, 2006
One of spielbergs best works. An amazing re-inactment of WWII. D-Day is portrayed magnificently. Don't be disgusted that the blood and gore is so realistic. That's war. It happened get over it. Over all this is an amazing movie. One of spielbergs best works. An amazing re-inactment of WWII. D-Day is portrayed magnificently. Don't be disgusted that the blood and gore is so realistic. That's war. It happened get over it. Over all this is an amazing movie. And I reccomend it to any World War II fanatics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewH.Jun 23, 2006
Spielberg's best film in my opinion. One of my top ten favorite movies of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
fgSep 28, 2006
It is good sad and horrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredC.Aug 16, 2007
It takes courage and a well crafted script to pass a movie. But this is something that takes war movies to another level. And I hope to see an amount of continuess war film's exeptionally after this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackS.Nov 22, 2008
What can I say? This has been one of the BEST war movies ever! The fighting is realistic, peoples limbs were really blown off like that. It had some great and epic battle scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DuaneF.Oct 27, 2008
This is an awesome movie and again if anyone rates this movie with a 0 or less is a complete f*cking idiot. For anyone who doesn't get why this movie is great (especially Americans) I just have to say you have never been to war and you This is an awesome movie and again if anyone rates this movie with a 0 or less is a complete f*cking idiot. For anyone who doesn't get why this movie is great (especially Americans) I just have to say you have never been to war and you probably don't deserve the freedoms that your country allows you. I just returned from a 3 year tour in Iraq. It's too bad the government doesn't allow the army to scout out ungrateful bastards that use their freedom to demean our country and spit on our flag and blow these useless f*ckers away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JagFeb 21, 2008
Rarely do I give anything a ten but this movie was simply outstanding. the character development was perfect for everyone. I hate it when people dog this movie because they didn't pay attention to what was important. I also hate it when Rarely do I give anything a ten but this movie was simply outstanding. the character development was perfect for everyone. I hate it when people dog this movie because they didn't pay attention to what was important. I also hate it when people put this movie down because they think it is to Hollywood like.This movie is not like the others they didn't make it silly they got it right. This shows you how terrible war can be and you forget those men that sacrificed everything for us and their buddies any time soon after seeing this movie. A lot of good men die and tell it how it was. I do admit that there was some stuff thrown in there that I wish that they wouldn't have but that probably won't bug many others. This movie can be watched over and over and you'll always find something new to think about. This movie is good even if you don't like war movies. This movie is one that every American should see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomP.Apr 24, 2008
I don't know whether Tim S. and the Anonymouse reviewer have watched the same movie as I have. I love how they say it is inaccurate, but give no examples of this outside of the fact that Americans look like good guys and Germans look I don't know whether Tim S. and the Anonymouse reviewer have watched the same movie as I have. I love how they say it is inaccurate, but give no examples of this outside of the fact that Americans look like good guys and Germans look evil and lose. I don't know if you realize that by the time Normady was invaded, the Allies were winning the war, and that Germany had (thanks to Hitler) not prepared properly for a large assault on Normandy, and were fooled by an unreal diversion army, so I'm sorry if they did not completely expect the American attack and didn't kill as many allied forces as you would have liked, but that's history, so deal with it. Also, one thing that really stood out to me was how many of the Americans did NOT all seem that good. You saw Americans shooting surrendering Germans, attempting to kill the unarmed soldier who (contrary to Tim's veiw that they were unskilled) later killed one of the American soldiers in the party in hand to hand combat. (And in returning the favor, spares the American soldier's life) Hell, the only surviving main characters at the end are the Brooklyn guy and Ryan.Oh, and I love how the anonymous review says the beginning is spot on, like he was there and really knows...just seems sorta lame...and of course it's going to show the Americans joking around and not Germans, seeing as they're the main characters who the story fixes on, and not the Germans. If you would like to see a random ass clip of Germans walking around laughing with each other in a movie depicting American soldiers, go ahead and write up your own script. Oh, though Mythbusters did prove that you can't shoot through a sniper scope like the movie showed, way to spoil the cool, oh well. Great, great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeRApr 5, 2009
The greatest war movie ever made! Period. This is also another great Tom Hanks and Steven Spielburg film that is destined to become a classic. This movie is not for the weak stomached or the faint. This sucker is rough and doesn't stop The greatest war movie ever made! Period. This is also another great Tom Hanks and Steven Spielburg film that is destined to become a classic. This movie is not for the weak stomached or the faint. This sucker is rough and doesn't stop for the whole 3 hours of shooting, disemberment and gore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanM.Jul 11, 2001
Great, one of the best and most realistic war films of all time. Doesn't jolt like "Platoon" but does shock in a way many films don't.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregF.Jul 24, 2001
The one and only time I've been in a theater after the movie was over and the entire audience sat silent through the credits and while exiting. How this did not win the Oscar remains baffling to me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GilbertNov 20, 2002
Heigh ho, another Spielberg masterpiece then. I know, I'm not supposed to like this, because it was made by Steven and it's fashionable to knock Steven. Sod it. The first 45 minutes ARE power, ARE terror, ARE cinema at its most Heigh ho, another Spielberg masterpiece then. I know, I'm not supposed to like this, because it was made by Steven and it's fashionable to knock Steven. Sod it. The first 45 minutes ARE power, ARE terror, ARE cinema at its most stomach-churning. The quick and arbitrary brutality of the battlefield could not have been better envisaged, and the American flag bookends are perfect - far from being an insult to the other allied nations (hi, I'm from Britain), they're a salute to those who lost their lives BEFORE YOUR VERY EYES. The flags are American because, hey, it's about an AMERICAN squadron, yeah? They could hardly have shown the flags of every single country, it would fill the screen in a blur of colour. Anyway, this movie has to be seen - just in case you weren't already utterly appalled by the very notion of violence. Believe me, if you weren't, you will be at the end of Private Ryan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisM.Jul 21, 2002
To start off I would like to say I can understand why some would be offended or upset at the fact that other countries were introverted from and the focus of the movie was on the Americans, but I say that holds only so little of a grudge. I To start off I would like to say I can understand why some would be offended or upset at the fact that other countries were introverted from and the focus of the movie was on the Americans, but I say that holds only so little of a grudge. I mean can't we assume that if the movie was made in Canada by a Canadian director that the focus would be on the Canadian and British forces? The movie actually wasn't very historically accurate either in several places, but Spielberg doing the best he could with his military advisors and what little knowledge he might have had pulled it off I think. At least in capturing the chaos that is war. I'm not sure if it?s even supposed to be an "anti-war" film, I believe it appears as almost a learning tool. To try and get people interested (at least the younger generations) in something that is fast fading away. I think that's what has most recently sparked the WW2 bug that?s going around right now. It?s become so popular recently because it happened so close to our time, yet so far. The veterans are slowly dying away, not many left, and we need to get what we can from them to better understand what really happened before they're all gone. In conclusion the movie was excellent, portrayed what it set out to portray, taught and important lesson in a way that will make people listen, and overall got us in touch with the past like never before. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TelyS.Sep 28, 2002
I'll start by saying that I find the plot uninloving. I think that Spielberg should have opted for a grander, more epic story for his WW2 film, rather than a story that revolves around a sinlge man, but in the end it doesn't I'll start by saying that I find the plot uninloving. I think that Spielberg should have opted for a grander, more epic story for his WW2 film, rather than a story that revolves around a sinlge man, but in the end it doesn't matter. The film contains some of the most brilliant and striking imagery I've ever seen. The raw power of the combat scenes made me feel as if I were a participant in those grisly battles. There has been NO OTHER MOVIE that has been so viceraly powerful as this, and I doubt there ever will be. It's made an unforgetable impression on my mind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackM.Jul 26, 2003
This is da tits, action riite from da start and throughout, i enjoyed dis film from start 2 finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertC.Apr 15, 2004
While Apocalypse Now may be the best war-related film in history, Saving Private Ryan stands as the most honorable, yet harshly intense, war film in cinema history. As with many others who saw the film, the opening scene on D-Day still While Apocalypse Now may be the best war-related film in history, Saving Private Ryan stands as the most honorable, yet harshly intense, war film in cinema history. As with many others who saw the film, the opening scene on D-Day still stands as one of the most brilliant, intense, incredibly realistic moment in film. Not to mention the rest of the film carried that same tone through most of the flick. And it still confuses the hell out of me how in the world Shakespeare In Love was able to beat THIS movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanC.Apr 16, 2004
With the possible exception of Platoon, this is the most realistic war movie ever made. This is what Tom Hanks really shoulda won for.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicolletteM.Nov 24, 2005
I had to watch Saving Private Ryan for a movie review for school and I'm glad I did it on this movie cause not only are they over fighting for our freedom but they are putting their lifes on the line to save their war brothers. So when I had to watch Saving Private Ryan for a movie review for school and I'm glad I did it on this movie cause not only are they over fighting for our freedom but they are putting their lifes on the line to save their war brothers. So when i saw this movie it gave me a better look on what we are doing in this world today. And why our country is such a great country. What makes the movie so great is that it looks so realistic and Steven Spielberg is such a great movie director. I'm happy to say that I got to do a movie report on Saving Private Ryan cause I have a better look on things. And i dont care if I'm just a teen this is one of the best war movies of all time. And yes I'm a girl. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RalphW.Nov 29, 2005
I think Steven Spillberg is the best director films of the world. i`m write a novel that speak about D-Day, i would like that Steven Know my novel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
armandos.Jan 22, 2005
One of the best war films i have ever seen. The first 20 minutes is a masterpiece of filmaking-the rest of the film does not reach that high level, but ultimately is very moving-great acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
billyj.Mar 18, 2005
This is a realy good movie with alot of action and a touching ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdrianR.Mar 22, 2005
This movie was amazing, one of the most realistic and moving war movies of all time. You really grow on all of the characters, and if they bite the dust you feel it. This is due to the great acting, Tom Hanks really shines in this one even This movie was amazing, one of the most realistic and moving war movies of all time. You really grow on all of the characters, and if they bite the dust you feel it. This is due to the great acting, Tom Hanks really shines in this one even if the sniper over-acts once in a while. It shows the way someone will feel they owe someone after being saved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnC.Mar 17, 2006
Pretty damm good movie. The cinemetography was effin amazing. Tom Hanks gives a solid performance. Good script, well directed, brutal and real. It drags in areas, but other than that, a real worthwhile film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohanM.Apr 11, 2006
Deliciously chosen cinematic angles, superb hi-fi audio and a world-class bunch of actors. Mix that together and u have one of the greates war-movies of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LWMay 24, 2007
I'm not much for war movies, I tend to be squeamish, and I'm easily put off by the rah rah glory scenes, but this movie was amazing. Real, raw, and an absolute masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GerrickC.Jun 12, 2007
Few movies can capture the terrors and carnage or war. Few movies can convey what exactly our men went through during these times. Saving Private Ryan is not only one of those few movies, but perhaps the only war movie that captures the Few movies can capture the terrors and carnage or war. Few movies can convey what exactly our men went through during these times. Saving Private Ryan is not only one of those few movies, but perhaps the only war movie that captures the intensity and brutality of war. This is a must-see for any war or war movie buff, and anyone in between must see it also. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
R.LopezJan 16, 2009
Astounding!! Saving Private Ryan is one of those rarities, it's a war film with heart. This amazing WWII film stars Tom Hanks as Capt. John Miller a solider who' seen too much and who is done with war, during D-Day him and his unit Astounding!! Saving Private Ryan is one of those rarities, it's a war film with heart. This amazing WWII film stars Tom Hanks as Capt. John Miller a solider who' seen too much and who is done with war, during D-Day him and his unit are ordered to find a single solider by the name of John Francis Ryan a private in the airborne division who just recently lost all three of his brothers in combat, now Miller and his men have to bring Ryan back alive while out running the Nazis and there conscious. Saving Private Ryan is a dedication to the men who died to protect there nation and there freedom they were soldiers who battled against oppression and evil. they fought for what they believed was right and conquered and this film shows that one man is just as important as the rest. I very highly recommend this astounding Motion picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanielDApr 22, 2009
A true work of art and masterpiece in every sense of the word. Maybe it's just because I'm a fan but I don't think I'm being biased when I say that this is one of the greatest motion pictures in the history of the cinema. A true work of art and masterpiece in every sense of the word. Maybe it's just because I'm a fan but I don't think I'm being biased when I say that this is one of the greatest motion pictures in the history of the cinema. The only thing that prevents me from giving it a perfect rating is because I feel the graphic detail of violence, however realistic and brutal reminder of how horrific war can be, leaves no room for imagination. But other than that this is an exceptional film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CyNov 24, 2001
Great movie! One of the best ever made, and one of the best I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JarrodM.Dec 27, 2001
The most powerful and realistic war movie ever made! It has made me very thankful for what those WWII veterans did for us in such a challenging period in our history. I highly recommend this outstanding film to all Americans!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatC.Nov 25, 2003
After seeing this I realized I had never seen a real war movie before. I'd always suspected the meanings of horror and heroism are interchangeable to soldiers. Here war is stripped of its glamour to expose more subtle virtues. Not since After seeing this I realized I had never seen a real war movie before. I'd always suspected the meanings of horror and heroism are interchangeable to soldiers. Here war is stripped of its glamour to expose more subtle virtues. Not since "All Quiet on the Western Front" has a movie redefined the capacity of cinema to replicate war. Then to evoke feelings of patriotism from realistic depictions of carnage - even the world's militaries, working with film for 100 years, hadn't been able to do that. What a masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArkonBladeOct 27, 2010
a great war movie set in WWII . although not based on a true story outside the fact of its WWII and the showing of D Day which was brilliantly shot. a very intresting plot of a group of soldiers trying to find private ryan to inform him alla great war movie set in WWII . although not based on a true story outside the fact of its WWII and the showing of D Day which was brilliantly shot. a very intresting plot of a group of soldiers trying to find private ryan to inform him all his brothers died in the war. the acting is great and the visauls are fantastic . my hats off to speilberg for making this great war film . Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
peopgamerFeb 15, 2011
A very high quality, which blends extreme action, with a underlying sadness for the disaster that was world war 2. All put together with superb casting.
14 of 17 users found this helpful143
All this user's reviews
8
asylumspadezNov 20, 2011
I enjoyed it but I think its a bit too overrated. Yes it does well to capture the realism of WW2 and its interesting through out but I just didnt enjoy it as much as I thought I would. Solid cast, Good acting as well.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ZANIACKAug 7, 2011
Although I'm a history buff and love good war movies, there have been very few decent ones during the last 15 years. Saving Private Ryan is not only a masterpiece in every regard, it's arguably the best war film of all time.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
imadinosaurJan 1, 2011
This movie blew my mind, I watched it in 2003 when I was 13, because I was being rebellious and went against what my mom told me to do. I was so mesmerized by how well it was made, that I became what people eould call these days, an "overlyThis movie blew my mind, I watched it in 2003 when I was 13, because I was being rebellious and went against what my mom told me to do. I was so mesmerized by how well it was made, that I became what people eould call these days, an "overly obsessive teen". I focused my teenage life on this movie, and at my grad I quoted it when I was chosen for Valedictorian. This movie was amazing. That's all I have to say. Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MustisTheCatAug 2, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Everything a war-flick fan needs. Guns, tanks, blood, lots of history, excellent battle scenes and some drama. There is hardly any movie that can resemble Saving Private Ryan in its character. The Omaha Beach scene at the beginning is going to be ever famous in movie history. The story here is said with no playing with reality. People die in the most gruesome ways, sometimes because of their stupidity or just plainly because they are unlucky. Both American and German soldiers aren`t portraid as black and white. None is all good or all bad. We know that they are men struggling to survive a time when there are no rules other than to kill or be killed. Some are blind with hatred, others psyche goes to ashes, just a few are able to sustain their sanity. The story is fine and very touching, mostly because Tom Hanks gave his character a complicated and likeable personality. Other actors play their roles well, so the movie can`t be said as a one man show. The second best actor I`d say was the American medic. The ending of the movie might be seen as positive or negative - everyone can see it differently. I sticked to the characters so it was very sad for me. Other than that this movie is a wonderful showing of cinematography`s evolution and the hardware that was used in WWII. The armored vehicles are exceptionally well made. Fake, but still only an advanced history buff can see the difference (the wrong wheels on the Tiger I for example). I watched this film many times until I could memorise it 100%. Took me like 30 viewings but it`s worth it. Ofcourse I come back to it from time to time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
TheNewSpielbergApr 28, 2011
Watching this movie drew me in and shook me to the very core with a gritty, realistic and bloody vision of WWII that makes you think "was it justified?". I usually think that Spielberg's earlier Schindlers List was superior, but seeing thisWatching this movie drew me in and shook me to the very core with a gritty, realistic and bloody vision of WWII that makes you think "was it justified?". I usually think that Spielberg's earlier Schindlers List was superior, but seeing this for the first time has changed my outlook completely. One minor complaint is that too many parts of it feel like a full on action movie that could be viewed as disrespectful to the veterans. All in all, a cinematic experience that isn't afraid to shock. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
bud389Apr 28, 2011
Amazing movie, besides a few innaccuracies with explosions and what not, it all culminates into a completely engrossing experiance where each soldier has their own personnality and can be distinguished from the next not only because of theAmazing movie, besides a few innaccuracies with explosions and what not, it all culminates into a completely engrossing experiance where each soldier has their own personnality and can be distinguished from the next not only because of the superb acting, but also because the characters fit their roles to a T. The action is intense and fast paced, the drama is tragic, and truly shows what war was like back in the 1940's. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
SMURPH44May 20, 2011
High quality in every aspect. I don not see where complaints could possibly arise from, unless the ones voicing them accidentally saw the wrong film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
HalfwelshmanNov 16, 2011
Saving Private Ryan is one of the most fulfilling experiences you can have watching a film. It's utterly absorbing, often heartbreaking and always thoughtful. This isn't just another American war film filled with square-jawed jingoisticSaving Private Ryan is one of the most fulfilling experiences you can have watching a film. It's utterly absorbing, often heartbreaking and always thoughtful. This isn't just another American war film filled with square-jawed jingoistic action men belting out cliched soundbites. Saving Private Ryan honours the fallen, and acknowledges the unimaginable sacrifice they made. The characters Spielberg and writer Robert Rodat have developed don't feel like works of fiction, they are believably ordinary Americans who have chosen to fight for their country. Whilst the uncompromisingly brutal, horrifically intense and realistic battle scenes are what tend to get the film the most attention (particularly the now infamous, nearly half-hour long Omaha Beach battle) it is the quieter, more reserved moments of the film that truly stand out. Of particular note are the scene taking place in an abandoned church, where, taking shelter for the night, each of the soldiers debate the inhumanity of war, and the light-hearted chat that Miller and Ryan have prior to the final battle. The former is an exceedingly dark and psychoanalytical study, the latter a welcome moment of light-heartedness in an exceedingly depressing film, both are exceptional moments for character. Technically, the film is nigh-on flawless. The entire cast's performances, again are hard to fault. With a quite-rightly Oscar-nominated script and a heart-wrenchingly emotional score by John Williams, Saving Private Ryan approaches cinematic perfection. But even considering all these factors, the film's real achievement is the way in which it handles war, not as a spectacle or an excuse for a string of set-pieces as would be the case in a lesser movie, but as the horrific and pointless act it really is. The characters may be fictional, but they represent real men who really lost their lives during World War II, and the film acknowledges that fact. Saving Private Ryan is not only Spielberg's masterpiece, but quite possibly the greatest war film of all time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
BlogDog123Jun 14, 2012
I believe that Saving Private Ryan is one of the more accurate portrayal of WWII in film history. It has a stellar cast, incredibly deep character depth (you know, characters that you'll actually care about), and a surprisingly poignant story.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
davenbettridgeFeb 5, 2012
Saving Private Ryan was one of the most powerful, intense movie experiences I have had in the cinema. I originally watched this movie in the cinema while sitting next to a WW2 veteran - his reactions were very interesting. Its a great movieSaving Private Ryan was one of the most powerful, intense movie experiences I have had in the cinema. I originally watched this movie in the cinema while sitting next to a WW2 veteran - his reactions were very interesting. Its a great movie with great acting, setting and props and characters to care about. Perhaps its only downside is some of the over done action in the second half. Must See Movie. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
DGDrocks7Aug 25, 2011
Would you risk 8 soldiers for 1? Or vice versa? It's a sad question, but one we can't avoid. This movie show that a death is a death. Unfortunately, it shows that we must pick one or the other, but someone still dies. This is my second timeWould you risk 8 soldiers for 1? Or vice versa? It's a sad question, but one we can't avoid. This movie show that a death is a death. Unfortunately, it shows that we must pick one or the other, but someone still dies. This is my second time watching the movie and it was worth it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
JAM123Jul 19, 2011
I thought it was a really good movie. It was realistic and it was really cool. The action sequences were cool like in the first twenty minutes and it got better from there. It was really cool to see a group of American soldiers overcome aI thought it was a really good movie. It was realistic and it was really cool. The action sequences were cool like in the first twenty minutes and it got better from there. It was really cool to see a group of American soldiers overcome a stronger German army in a cool way. Way to go Steven Spielberg, you've done it again. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
jcop678Jul 25, 2011
What a great move the acting was amazing the action couldn't be better the drama and suspence was just the best ive seen in a while i loved this movie no problems at all just great.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 7, 2011
One of the most realistic WW2 movies, "Saving Private Ryan" has everything; a powerhouse cast, smart action, deep character depth, and a poignant sacrifice.
22 of 24 users found this helpful222
All this user's reviews
10
hoops2448Nov 17, 2011
There are few films that are literally unforgettable and Saving Private Ryan with its shocking imagery, pitch perfect acting and moving score manages to permanently burn itself into your brain.
Despite what everyone remembers of Saving
There are few films that are literally unforgettable and Saving Private Ryan with its shocking imagery, pitch perfect acting and moving score manages to permanently burn itself into your brain.
Despite what everyone remembers of Saving Private Ryan (The Omaha Beach section being the obvious one) its lasting moments are the quiet ones, the ones that show that even through the horrors of war there is still a sense of humanity. Such moments not only provide some much needed levity (Miller and Horvath's discussion in the church being one of the best) as well as allowing the viewer to understand why these characters are worth caring for (Miller and Ryan discuss their families just before the war began). There isn't a moment of Saving Private Ryan where you aren't completely immersed. Both the direction (by Steven Spielberg) and the writing (by Robert Rodat) are brilliant with the latter allowing for a shift between pure darkness and shock to levity and joy in mere moments. In conclusion its Spielberg at the top of his game as he engages with the real emotion behind warfare, both the loss of humanity and the strive to regain it. It engages the viewer by letting him/her decide how to feel about shocking events while sometimes surprising you at the way you might react. Its a masterpiece that will never fail to get to me or as I imagine, almost anyone who watches it.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MediaCriticOct 19, 2011
This movie just managed a 10. This epic directed by Steven Spielberg is a classic. The effects, acting, set, music and everything else was amazing. The story was great and there was a strong connection with the characters. The CGI wasThis movie just managed a 10. This epic directed by Steven Spielberg is a classic. The effects, acting, set, music and everything else was amazing. The story was great and there was a strong connection with the characters. The CGI was brilliant for 90's, and this movie is one you have to have on your shelf. It tell's the tale of soldiers as they embark on a mission to find Private Ryan, who has to come back home. Amazing action scenes, great music and an absolute masterpiece. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
SachiDec 4, 2011
Saving Private Ryan is an amazing movie, it is also the best war movie I have ever seen. The plot is gripping and keeps you enthralled while the characters all work together to deliver a star-studded performance that amazes. Saving PrivateSaving Private Ryan is an amazing movie, it is also the best war movie I have ever seen. The plot is gripping and keeps you enthralled while the characters all work together to deliver a star-studded performance that amazes. Saving Private Ryan defty blens the action and emotion into a package that is thrilling, a place where other movies tend to fail. There are virtually zero faults in this movie maybe except for very obscure missteps but so obscure that you must pay attention to see them. Overall Saving Private Ryan is a great movie that I recommend everyone watch, even if you are not into war movies you will still love this movie for it's characterization for it will also change your expectations for war movies forever. Breakdown for Saving Private Ryan: Presentation: 9.5, Plot: 9.7, Acting: 10, Script: 10, Lasting Appeal: 9.6. Overall Score: 9.6 out of 10 "Amazing". Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
eagleDec 4, 2011
Saving Private Ryan is an awesome action and realistic movie with heart-pacing plot. It had captured the realism of the WWII and turn it into a movie with exciting plot. It catches your attention and have a ending that will make you remember forever.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
pauljohnsonJun 6, 2012
One of the most realistic war movies I've ever seen. There is not a single bad performance from the cast, all of them give solid, sterling performances in their roles, most notably Tom Hanks, Edward Burns, Matt Damon and Jeremy Davies. TheOne of the most realistic war movies I've ever seen. There is not a single bad performance from the cast, all of them give solid, sterling performances in their roles, most notably Tom Hanks, Edward Burns, Matt Damon and Jeremy Davies. The battle scenes are frighteningly real, the opening half hour scene of the vicious Omaha Beach landings are well deserved to be called one of the best movie battle scenes of all time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Jedi_JettsonFeb 29, 2012
First of all, its a perfect example of the Sole Survivor Policy in the US Military, there are strong performances and actors to behold, and its a spectacularly watchable depiction of World War II battlegrounds. Steven Spielberg's work onFirst of all, its a perfect example of the Sole Survivor Policy in the US Military, there are strong performances and actors to behold, and its a spectacularly watchable depiction of World War II battlegrounds. Steven Spielberg's work on Saving Private Ryan is one of his most impressive works I've seen in a long time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
CooterPatooterMar 5, 2012
The film opens with an old man collapsing to his knees under the weight of the guilt of having survived all those years ago. We see it in his tear-filled eyes and hear it in his trembling voice... This scene has the power to move me likeThe film opens with an old man collapsing to his knees under the weight of the guilt of having survived all those years ago. We see it in his tear-filled eyes and hear it in his trembling voice... This scene has the power to move me like virtually no scene in cinema history. The rest of the film is both terrifying and beautiful but it's those quiet moments of raw human emotion that Spielberg captures perfectly and makes Saving Private Ryan one of my top ten all-time favorites. A truly unforgettable experience. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
GreatbealloJan 26, 2012
In middle school some friends and I would have movie night every week. As we watched this particular film I began to cry. I was overwhelmed by the sacrifice these characters were making in an attempt to rescue a solitary soldier. I feltIn middle school some friends and I would have movie night every week. As we watched this particular film I began to cry. I was overwhelmed by the sacrifice these characters were making in an attempt to rescue a solitary soldier. I felt strange crying in front of my friends, but I realized in that moment that great cinema evokes great emotion. Our favorite movies make us feel poignantly. This was the first film to make me feel something so powerful that it caused me to shed tears. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
GeneralShepherdFeb 15, 2012
Greatest war movie I have ever seen. It is powerful, moving and keeps you wanting to watch more. Tom Hanks' and Matt Damon's acting is very good and every one of the characters are deep and you feel like you emphasize with them and understandGreatest war movie I have ever seen. It is powerful, moving and keeps you wanting to watch more. Tom Hanks' and Matt Damon's acting is very good and every one of the characters are deep and you feel like you emphasize with them and understand them. Some scenes bend the laws of physics, but it doesn't make any difference. This movie is not for the faint-hearted as it contains some incredibly gory scenes reminiscent on Saw. Awesome film and should stay on every shelf in every house. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
SkYrimzbeastzMar 5, 2012
Surprisingly, I enjoyed this movie, because normally I see a war movie and I don't like it e.g. War horse, platoon etc. I thought the camera angles were good, the acting, the story and best of all the action. This movie is my top ten moviesSurprisingly, I enjoyed this movie, because normally I see a war movie and I don't like it e.g. War horse, platoon etc. I thought the camera angles were good, the acting, the story and best of all the action. This movie is my top ten movies of all time. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
csw12Mar 30, 2012
Saving Private Ryan is the best war movie ever made. The performances are oustanding right from the lead all the way down to the supporting cast. never has a war movie been made so realistly. It was breathtaking from the war scenes to theSaving Private Ryan is the best war movie ever made. The performances are oustanding right from the lead all the way down to the supporting cast. never has a war movie been made so realistly. It was breathtaking from the war scenes to the cinematography. Saving Private Ryan is a true accomplishment like no other. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JuanoloApr 1, 2012
This is a 10 out of 10 movie. It's so great. War scenes are stunning. Acting is real performed. Especially by Tom hanks. Score is also pretty good, and the story is pretty remarkable. Probably the best war movie ever. You really should watchThis is a 10 out of 10 movie. It's so great. War scenes are stunning. Acting is real performed. Especially by Tom hanks. Score is also pretty good, and the story is pretty remarkable. Probably the best war movie ever. You really should watch this movie. This should've got best picture. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
impedido10Jan 4, 2014
Masterpiece
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MonsieurEamesJan 23, 2013
The best war movie ever made. Spielberg captures the brutality of war but also the bond of friendship between characters fighting together for their lives. Tom Hanks turns in a brilliant performance as usual, and the film benefits from strongThe best war movie ever made. Spielberg captures the brutality of war but also the bond of friendship between characters fighting together for their lives. Tom Hanks turns in a brilliant performance as usual, and the film benefits from strong supporting work from Matt Damon and Barry Pepper. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
SpangleJan 15, 2014
Phenomenal film. While extremely graphic, it is nice to see a war film that does not sugarcoat anything and this certainly does not sugarcoat a thing. It's tragic, tormenting, and a mixture of being impersonal and personal, all of the thingsPhenomenal film. While extremely graphic, it is nice to see a war film that does not sugarcoat anything and this certainly does not sugarcoat a thing. It's tragic, tormenting, and a mixture of being impersonal and personal, all of the things it should be. Ultimately, it is hard to think of how a war film could be done better. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
RikiegeJan 24, 2013
A great movie both in entertainment and in argument.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews