DreamWorks Distribution | Release Date: July 24, 1998
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 865 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
811
Mixed:
27
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
NazguleroNov 18, 2010
I think the first 20 minutes were truly fascinating, you felt like you were in the middle ot it. After that, and that is a LONG after that, the movie really became rather boring and stereotyped, at times even unrealistic. The trick is to keepI think the first 20 minutes were truly fascinating, you felt like you were in the middle ot it. After that, and that is a LONG after that, the movie really became rather boring and stereotyped, at times even unrealistic. The trick is to keep the moments of reflection to a bare minimum, to make them really count. There was WAY too much reflection here. It takes away all the dynamic. I can think of only one movie that masterfully accomplishes that balance: Die Hard, the first one. Expand
1 of 18 users found this helpful117
All this user's reviews
3
bilyboby1Aug 9, 2013
This is a typical Hollywood movie with lots of flash but no substance. The story is a joke and the characters are as one-dimensional as you can get. There's lots of big explosions, blood, and body parts, so if that's your thing, this is forThis is a typical Hollywood movie with lots of flash but no substance. The story is a joke and the characters are as one-dimensional as you can get. There's lots of big explosions, blood, and body parts, so if that's your thing, this is for you, but if you're looking for something more, you'd best look elsewhere. Try Platoon, Thin Red Line, the Dirty Dozen, or even Patton for a more worthwhile experience. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
3
ThomasSmithsonJul 21, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Technically brilliant, a total misfire in characterization, hence, Matt Damon's brothers died, who cares! Tom Hanks dies, who cares!

Don't try and push my buttons with cardboard cutouts for characters, Spielberg, I'm not that easy.

And the Anne Frank lookalike implanted in the bombed out French house scene...? Really dude?
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
JamesMNov 19, 2005
What struck me as odd about Saving Private Ryan was that it was an action movie. It was the equivalent of some Michael Bay blockbuster that just happened to be loosely based on real evens and directed by a pretigious director. I never liked What struck me as odd about Saving Private Ryan was that it was an action movie. It was the equivalent of some Michael Bay blockbuster that just happened to be loosely based on real evens and directed by a pretigious director. I never liked Steven Spielberg, and whenever I did, it was for his more brave efforts such as Close Encounters. The film takes real events and turns them into an excuse for a ridiculous and unrealistic piece of hollywood crap. Don't believe the hype, Saving Private Ryan represents everything that I don't like about the movie industry, and worst of all, it's just plain bad. Expand
3 of 34 users found this helpful
1
JimS.Aug 3, 2008
This is the most dull movie ever. There's like no action and the story sucks.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
1
ChrisJ.May 16, 2008
Horrible movie that was not fun to watch at all. Complete waste of time.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
0
TimS.Oct 9, 2007
This movie only appeals to those who have absolutely no knowledge of history. It's absolute garbage. Historically inaccurate, Spielberg bullcrap which makes Germans look like stupid, cowardly, deceptive, inhuman animals. They may have This movie only appeals to those who have absolutely no knowledge of history. It's absolute garbage. Historically inaccurate, Spielberg bullcrap which makes Germans look like stupid, cowardly, deceptive, inhuman animals. They may have been America's enemies but they certainly weren't unskilled fighters with no hearts. They were normal soldiers doing their duty who talked and laughed just like the American soldiers. The movie is just more Hollywood propaganda to make all Germans look evil. If you REALLY want to know why and how Spielberg does this, search "Saving Private Ryan review by Michael A Hoffman II" in google, go to the first link and then to the bottom of the page where it will have a link to his review. This review points out everything that I'm talking about. This is simply a movie for entertainment and doesn't help history just like every other war movie coming out of Hollywood! Don't people get tired of this same kind of garbage? Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful
0
FionaP.Aug 12, 2008
Seriously, I could give this gratuitious film a worser score, a negative 1, for it was based on many stereotypes (Germans) and had improbable sequences, such as the mirror in the D-Day scene, I didn't think it would have that much Seriously, I could give this gratuitious film a worser score, a negative 1, for it was based on many stereotypes (Germans) and had improbable sequences, such as the mirror in the D-Day scene, I didn't think it would have that much reflective power, also, for Upham, how could he not've been in combat? The rescue mission was in vain, I'm sorry Spielberg, but you shouldn't have gotten an Oscar for Saving Private Ryan (bleh!). Collapse
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
DirtyPooAug 26, 2006
crap!!!!!!!!
0 of 18 users found this helpful