Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 601 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: During the WWII D-Day invasion, a squad of soldiers led by Captain John Miller (Hanks) is sent into Normandy to find Private James Ryan (Damon), and return him to his mother in America. She has already lost three other sons in this war.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. An overwhelming experience.
  2. A watershed picture, for both Spielberg and war movies.
  3. 100
    For those who are willing to brave the movie's shocking and unforgettable images, Saving Private Ryan offers a singular motion picture experience.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    100
    A searingly visceral combat picture, Steven Spielberg’s third World War II drama is arguably second to none as a vivid, realistic and bloody portrait of armed conflict.
  5. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    90
    What Steven Spielberg has accomplished in Saving Private Ryan is to make violence terrible again.
  6. Steven Spielberg's new film begins as a monumental epic; then it diminishes; and, by its finish, is baffling. [August 24, 1998]
  7. Nothing that suggests an independent vision, unless you count seeing more limbs blown off than usual.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 148
  1. AlexanderC.
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    I think this movie is just incredible, Mr Spielberg and Mr Hanks are just masters fo the film business.
  2. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    A very high quality, which blends extreme action, with a underlying sadness for the disaster that was world war 2. All put together withA very high quality, which blends extreme action, with a underlying sadness for the disaster that was world war 2. All put together with superb casting. Expand
  3. GerrickC.
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    Few movies can capture the terrors and carnage or war. Few movies can convey what exactly our men went through during these times. Saving Few movies can capture the terrors and carnage or war. Few movies can convey what exactly our men went through during these times. Saving Private Ryan is not only one of those few movies, but perhaps the only war movie that captures the intensity and brutality of war. This is a must-see for any war or war movie buff, and anyone in between must see it also. Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    I've been a fan of Steven Spielberg for a long time, but out of all of his movies, this one was the most exciting and intense. This is a trueI've been a fan of Steven Spielberg for a long time, but out of all of his movies, this one was the most exciting and intense. This is a true classic war film, truly the best war film ever made. Spielberg reels in some tremendous actors such as Tom Hanks, Edward Burns, Matt Damon, even Paul Giamatti and Nathan Fillion. The war scenes are beyond belief. I've never seen anything so real before. I mean, the scenes are just so graphic and brutally intense. Spielberg really takes you into World War II. Even though it's almost 15 years old, it still amazes me in every way. This is my #1 of all time! Expand
  5. Aug 13, 2014
    10
    Probably the best(with Full metal jacket) war movie ever made.Realistic action scenes,credible actors and awesome script.This movie hasProbably the best(with Full metal jacket) war movie ever made.Realistic action scenes,credible actors and awesome script.This movie has everything you ever wanted in a war movie. Expand
  6. Mar 5, 2012
    9
    Surprisingly, I enjoyed this movie, because normally I see a war movie and I don't like it e.g. War horse, platoon etc. I thought the cameraSurprisingly, I enjoyed this movie, because normally I see a war movie and I don't like it e.g. War horse, platoon etc. I thought the camera angles were good, the acting, the story and best of all the action. This movie is my top ten movies of all time. Expand
  7. DirtyPoo
    Aug 26, 2006
    0
    crap!!!!!!!!

See all 148 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Least Deserving Best Picture Winners Since 1990

    The Least Deserving Best Picture Winners Since 1990 Image
    Published: February 22, 2011
    With this year's Oscars rapidly approaching, we look back at ten best picture winners from the past two decades that seem like questionable choices today, and see which great films were snubbed as a result.