Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 614 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: During the WWII D-Day invasion, a squad of soldiers led by Captain John Miller (Hanks) is sent into Normandy to find Private James Ryan (Damon), and return him to his mother in America. She has already lost three other sons in this war.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. An overwhelming experience.
  2. A watershed picture, for both Spielberg and war movies.
  3. 100
    For those who are willing to brave the movie's shocking and unforgettable images, Saving Private Ryan offers a singular motion picture experience.
  4. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    100
    A searingly visceral combat picture, Steven Spielberg’s third World War II drama is arguably second to none as a vivid, realistic and bloody portrait of armed conflict.
  5. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    90
    What Steven Spielberg has accomplished in Saving Private Ryan is to make violence terrible again.
  6. Steven Spielberg's new film begins as a monumental epic; then it diminishes; and, by its finish, is baffling. [August 24, 1998]
  7. Nothing that suggests an independent vision, unless you count seeing more limbs blown off than usual.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 150
  1. AlexanderC.
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    I think this movie is just incredible, Mr Spielberg and Mr Hanks are just masters fo the film business.
  2. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    A very high quality, which blends extreme action, with a underlying sadness for the disaster that was world war 2. All put together withA very high quality, which blends extreme action, with a underlying sadness for the disaster that was world war 2. All put together with superb casting. Expand
  3. GerrickC.
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    Few movies can capture the terrors and carnage or war. Few movies can convey what exactly our men went through during these times. Saving Few movies can capture the terrors and carnage or war. Few movies can convey what exactly our men went through during these times. Saving Private Ryan is not only one of those few movies, but perhaps the only war movie that captures the intensity and brutality of war. This is a must-see for any war or war movie buff, and anyone in between must see it also. Expand
  4. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    Saving Private Ryan is arguably the greatest war flick of all time.

    The movie begins at D-Day. This opening scene was one of the craziest I
    Saving Private Ryan is arguably the greatest war flick of all time.

    The movie begins at D-Day. This opening scene was one of the craziest I have ever seen and features intense action sequences, along with a bit of blood and gore. This scene was just spectacular. Eventually, the main plot begins and Tom Hanks and a squad of soldiers begin a journey to find a missing private whose three brothers were killed in action.

    The interaction between the squad members is great and the journey they go on is exciting. The battle that culminates near the end of the movie is one of the greatest war scenes in history. The fighting is intense and it defines amazing effects and incredible acting.

    I highly recommend that you see this above-stellar movie, as it has incredible acting and effects.
    Expand
  5. Aug 24, 2014
    10
    I am one of the greatest fans of Steven Spielberg and Saving Private Ryan does not have that perfect 3hrs runtime. But for sure, it is anI am one of the greatest fans of Steven Spielberg and Saving Private Ryan does not have that perfect 3hrs runtime. But for sure, it is an authentic representation of war which makes me show a lot of respect for this motion picture. Expand
  6. Jun 6, 2012
    9
    One of the most realistic war movies I've ever seen. There is not a single bad performance from the cast, all of them give solid, sterlingOne of the most realistic war movies I've ever seen. There is not a single bad performance from the cast, all of them give solid, sterling performances in their roles, most notably Tom Hanks, Edward Burns, Matt Damon and Jeremy Davies. The battle scenes are frighteningly real, the opening half hour scene of the vicious Omaha Beach landings are well deserved to be called one of the best movie battle scenes of all time. Expand
  7. DirtyPoo
    Aug 26, 2006
    0
    crap!!!!!!!!

See all 150 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Least Deserving Best Picture Winners Since 1990

    The Least Deserving Best Picture Winners Since 1990 Image
    Published: February 22, 2011
    With this year's Oscars rapidly approaching, we look back at ten best picture winners from the past two decades that seem like questionable choices today, and see which great films were snubbed as a result.