Columbia Pictures | Release Date: February 9, 2001
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 67 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
40
Mixed:
18
Negative:
9
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JustinS.Aug 22, 2008
Critics don't know good movies if it showed up at their front door. This movie rocks and is hilarious.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
rafaelL.Aug 20, 2005
The funniest movie i ever see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GlennM.Aug 21, 2005
Very funny, most odd critic reviews I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
adamAug 28, 2005
I would have to admit, at first I hated this movie, but then I watched it again, and I loved it. Its one of those movies that is so dumb that you have to laugh at it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JacksonG.Jan 4, 2007
Awesome. One of the few movies in which Jack Black is actually funny (the other he barely appears in: High Fidelity).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Guy!Apr 24, 2007
Funniest Jack black movie ever! It really brings out his character.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JerryP.Jul 12, 2007
By far Jack Black's funniest movie. I have laughed harder in very few movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmyP.Dec 22, 2003
This movie was very funny it had me laughing like every minute I loved it a lot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaleB.Dec 2, 2002
One of...if not the BEST movie!!! Jack Black is hilarious in it! I dont know why they gave it a 18 but it should have gotten a 100.....i dont know why metacritic gives all the crap movies 100's...like Y tu mama tambien....IT SUCKED! THIS RULES!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FelicityF.Aug 18, 2002
I don't care how crappy certain parts of this movie are, by and large, this movie is HIILLARIOUS!! Jack Black rocks, and Steve Zahn is hillarious. Check it out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Mar 23, 2001
One of the funniest movies of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DickC.Oct 28, 2002
"American Pie" style humor with the hilarious duo of Jack Black and Steve Zahn thrown in the mix. You have to see this if you are a high school or college student period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewE.Jul 21, 2001
If you like movies with happy endings, See this movie. If you like movies with odd endings, see this movie. Or if you just like things that are odd altogether, see this film. It ranges from Nuns lifting weights to a horny Chinese man to If you like movies with happy endings, See this movie. If you like movies with odd endings, see this movie. Or if you just like things that are odd altogether, see this film. It ranges from Nuns lifting weights to a horny Chinese man to kidnapping. A very funny film. ^_^ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidS.Mar 4, 2003
If you are looking for a good laugh this is about as sure of bet you can find. That is if you are under 40, if you are not you may want to stay away from it because the humor is certainly geared towards the younger generation. Cominn ah yah If you are looking for a good laugh this is about as sure of bet you can find. That is if you are under 40, if you are not you may want to stay away from it because the humor is certainly geared towards the younger generation. Cominn ah yah hah!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TinaD.Nov 28, 2001
You know how when you're watching a movie alone and something funny happens, but you give nothing more than a little smirk? Well, this is one of those movies that makes you laugh out loud even when you have no one to laugh with. The You know how when you're watching a movie alone and something funny happens, but you give nothing more than a little smirk? Well, this is one of those movies that makes you laugh out loud even when you have no one to laugh with. The cast is perfect, and Jack Black(my favorite) and Steve Zahn are the ultimate comedic duo! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ScottJul 19, 2001
Yes, it is a very uneven comedy. For every joke that wins laughter there is one that falls flat. Yet one can't help getting caught up in the zany comedy that Jack Black and Steve Zahn create when they are on screen. You don't go Yes, it is a very uneven comedy. For every joke that wins laughter there is one that falls flat. Yet one can't help getting caught up in the zany comedy that Jack Black and Steve Zahn create when they are on screen. You don't go looking for art when you rent a film like this one. You want outrageous comedy. When Black and Zahn are on the screen, that's what you get. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DesiM.Mar 23, 2001
Look--if you like Steve Zahn and Jack Black, and especially if you're a Neil Diamond fan, you'll get a kick out of this movie. It will make for fun late-night viewing on video/DVD. I've seen MUCH worse films trying to be Look--if you like Steve Zahn and Jack Black, and especially if you're a Neil Diamond fan, you'll get a kick out of this movie. It will make for fun late-night viewing on video/DVD. I've seen MUCH worse films trying to be comedies--there are some real (and original) laughs here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChaseD.Nov 8, 2002
This is a hillarious movie!! People in the movie critics don't like it because they don't know what real comedy is. This is very funny!! All they like are the things are dramatic. They need to live and laugh more!!! Jack Black and This is a hillarious movie!! People in the movie critics don't like it because they don't know what real comedy is. This is very funny!! All they like are the things are dramatic. They need to live and laugh more!!! Jack Black and Steve Zauhn are extremely funny in this! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricaL.Nov 7, 2001
It was so sweet. I love Tenacious D. It is the best band ever. I love this movie . I especially like Jack Black. He is cute.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JasonTheCriticJun 7, 2012
It's so very sad that the critics of 2001 didn't have the insight to appreciate this movie.

If you don't understand the characters you don't understand human psychology.
If you can't laugh at this movie, you aren't human.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
vayden12Dec 1, 2014
Ignore those fake critics in Hollywood and listen to the people! This film is hilarious and ever-quotable!

Wayne: So Darren tells me you're a psychologist. Judith: That's right. Wayne: I'm in a related field. Judith: Really? What is it?
Ignore those fake critics in Hollywood and listen to the people! This film is hilarious and ever-quotable!

Wayne: So Darren tells me you're a psychologist.
Judith: That's right.
Wayne: I'm in a related field.
Judith: Really? What is it?
Wayne: Pest and rodent removal.
Judith: How is that related?
Wayne: We both help people.

Well worth the hour and a half with Steve Zahn and Jack Black being the best 'sidekicks' and Neil Diamond lovers ever on film!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews