Lionsgate | Release Date: October 26, 2007
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 245 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
110
Mixed:
78
Negative:
57
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
ToddBDec 11, 2007
Wow. People who enjoy this garbage need to realize these movies achieve nothing. They express some failed writers narcissistic bondage fetish. It needs to stop and people need to stop condoning this act of attrition on the art of film.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
unknownJun 24, 2009
Apparently a lot of people watched the movies and didn't light up that they aren't what it looks like. They were like pieces of the big picture. If you'd like to know why you think they're stupid, well i will tell Apparently a lot of people watched the movies and didn't light up that they aren't what it looks like. They were like pieces of the big picture. If you'd like to know why you think they're stupid, well i will tell you...These movies are like one big puzzle. Each movie connects the pieces together and the 4th one really did introduce new hidden parts of it. All of the movies are very interesting and all of them twist in a way to keep your attention if your IQ is not that low enough to get it. IF you want to watch just horror and be left with good impressions of SAW then watch the 1st or 2nd one IF you want blood and slaughter, well all of them got it and IF you watched them and understood how entertaining the story is, well let's hope they keep it this way And i certainly don't think the ideas are ran out. Actually it seems like it is one big idea ever since the 1st one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
horcrux2007Sep 4, 2014
"Saw IV" is where the series started to go downhill, but, thankfully, not all at once. The story is very slow, but it's still reasonably entertaining for fans of the series. This entry probably had one of the better plot twists in the series."Saw IV" is where the series started to go downhill, but, thankfully, not all at once. The story is very slow, but it's still reasonably entertaining for fans of the series. This entry probably had one of the better plot twists in the series. It tied up some loose ends and plot holes that the first three had. I say give this one a shot if you liked the first three. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
grandpajoe6191Sep 21, 2011
"Saw 4" is battered with preposterous Cliches and silly characters with dumb, idiotic plot twist. They should have stopped their Jigsaw game at "Saw 3".
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
1
DanyS.Dec 22, 2007
A waste of time
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
jrebOct 30, 2007
I guess a bad saw movie had to come along eventually. This seemed like a total rush job/ cash in. I hope they can turn it around for saw V.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GeorgeANov 1, 2007
Sick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
davidc.Oct 30, 2007
Not one to defend the SAW movies, infact I think there all aload of frenetically cut (to hide the fact that the pacing and cinematography is terrible) load of twoddle, but where is the rule that dictates a film should stand on its own? Such Not one to defend the SAW movies, infact I think there all aload of frenetically cut (to hide the fact that the pacing and cinematography is terrible) load of twoddle, but where is the rule that dictates a film should stand on its own? Such as 'Election 2', which doesn't make any sense unless you have seen Election, so what, they are great films. Film is an extensive medium where anything should be possible, it is only large corporate film companies and dim witted audiences that would put such restrictions on movie makers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
NickA.Oct 30, 2007
In its over-the-top, gross-out opening sequence, the newest 'Saw' film shows the corpse of Tobin Bell
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JumpingJ.Nov 5, 2007
I haven't watched all 4 parts of this movie. I have only watched the first one and then the 4th. I have to say that I like the first one better, and sadly, 4th wasn't that scary at all. But overall, I wasn't bad either. I mean I haven't watched all 4 parts of this movie. I have only watched the first one and then the 4th. I have to say that I like the first one better, and sadly, 4th wasn't that scary at all. But overall, I wasn't bad either. I mean I cant really comment until I watch the 2nd and 3rd but I would probably rate it about 7. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SigyKNov 6, 2007
This movie was great. I would most likely rate it second best in the franchise following the original. After that i would say the second is good, and the worst in the series being the third, which was still a darn good movie. This movie had This movie was great. I would most likely rate it second best in the franchise following the original. After that i would say the second is good, and the worst in the series being the third, which was still a darn good movie. This movie had me constantly in suspense and had a twist ending that was great. Cant wait for V and VI. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GowthamN.Oct 28, 2007
What went wrong? Was it the rehashed ideas? Was it the not-so-surprising twist? Was it the detailed study of the saw series demanded by this movie? Or is it just a franchise stretched beyond its limits? Saw should have died with Jigsaw. What went wrong? Was it the rehashed ideas? Was it the not-so-surprising twist? Was it the detailed study of the saw series demanded by this movie? Or is it just a franchise stretched beyond its limits? Saw should have died with Jigsaw. Perhaps i am harsh.The movie did have some worthwhile scenes. Like the wife-husband torture and the grisly,highly detailed autopsy performed on dear old jiggy and the...hold on...thats it! while saw 1 2 3 had shocking powerful scenes that frightened in a unique way, saw 4 holds not your attention for too long. The "saw" factor is destroyed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlairB.Oct 28, 2007
I loved it i hope there is a fifth one!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JessieD.Oct 29, 2007
The details on Jigsaw's background were excellent, but the plot itself was a disappointment. The twist ending was a case of shock for shocks sake as opposed to a plausible one like Saw II's big reveal at the end. Worth seeing if The details on Jigsaw's background were excellent, but the plot itself was a disappointment. The twist ending was a case of shock for shocks sake as opposed to a plausible one like Saw II's big reveal at the end. Worth seeing if you are a big Saw fan, just expect not to appreciate it as much as some of it's predecessors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenniferG.Oct 30, 2007
Of course I love all the SAW movies so I'm going to give it a high rating but I must say...WHAT THE HELL HAPPENED? I'm so confused but it was still good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jan 29, 2008
1 of the best movies ever saw. Amazing acting from Tobin bell and writing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
EstefanyB.Mar 8, 2008
it wasn't as good as the other 3...it concludes the stories and the reasons of the other movies. But this is utterly disgusting,which made me realize to not watch the 5th one! TERRIBLE MOVIE! Do not watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
mkNov 1, 2007
The first SAW was great. It was original and made you guess who the killer was. This is a gore fest. It's mildly entertaining. It uses the hidden sadistic nature in all of us to entertain. Sadly, that's all it does. It's The first SAW was great. It was original and made you guess who the killer was. This is a gore fest. It's mildly entertaining. It uses the hidden sadistic nature in all of us to entertain. Sadly, that's all it does. It's becoming another victim of cash-in in the film industry. Just like endless slasher from the 80s... it will have a sequel.... or sequels... or even prequels.... hopefully the number doesn't reach X..... a decent film for the Halloween spirit... nothing more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KareyGNov 2, 2007
This movie was really good. you had to watch all of the series to understand this movie. i think this one was the goriest of them all. i got confused at some parts and did not understand some parts of the movie. but overall it was a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ErnestinaX.Nov 2, 2007
The movie was awesome, and believe it or not, it teaches us all a very important message which is to cherris our lives, although jigsaw chose an extreme method to do so, some learned the lesson all the same.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamieFNov 3, 2007
Even being a large fan of the saw series, i had reservations going into a fourth installment, for much the same reasons everyone else has. However, I left the cinema a very happy person. Saw 4 is definitely not for everyone though. You may Even being a large fan of the saw series, i had reservations going into a fourth installment, for much the same reasons everyone else has. However, I left the cinema a very happy person. Saw 4 is definitely not for everyone though. You may not NEED to have seen the others for it to make sense, but you do to be able to appreciate what does take place. I'll leave this free of spoilers, but part of the beauty of saw 4 is it brings so many characters back and gives them resolution, resolutions that simply wouldn't mean much if you hadn't watched their horrific sagas begin from the start. Others will also complain that this film deviates from the "saw" franchise; well, really making ANY sequels to saw 1 was deviating from the point of the movie. And if thats you're feelings, then of course you're not going to enjoy this. However, those that come into this with an open mind, and happy to accept the saw franchise evolves with every installment and is constantly changing ( imo) in a positive way, are likely to walk away happy. The traps are back, but more subdued compared to saw 3 ( which i believe was the right move), the twists are back in spectacular fashion, to the point where even if you figure out 1 or 2, there's going to be one or two more to catch you out, and a new killer is revealed....or is there? Due to the nature of the twists, saw 4 leaves the viewer with many new questions to ask, but thankfully these questions are enough to warrant a sequel in my opinion, so hopefully saw V will be the success this has already become! Overall, i give this a 9. I take away one point for the fact many involved in the movie are pretending its a movie where you don't need to have seen the sequels - its not. I'm not saying people won't understand everything (although a second viewing is advised), but the biggest thing is the saw series for me is the character development and the way the viewers become invested in such flawed people; because we can relate. You can't invest in many of these characters, and therefore the events if you haven't seen the rest. However, everything else was spot on, and as a whole movie, i think it may actually be the most compelling of them all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RudolfC.Nov 30, 2007
Please, everyone involved with the Saw saga. Stop. Your films will not get better, only worse. Seeing how everything degrades to the moment of still-ness and chaos; your saga will end like that (if they haven't already).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradC.Nov 4, 2007
I did not enjoy the third movie, so I was reluctant to see this one. However, I walked out of the movie theater smiling after seeing this one. It will be much better if you've seen the 2nd and 3rd movies. The ending wont be as good if I did not enjoy the third movie, so I was reluctant to see this one. However, I walked out of the movie theater smiling after seeing this one. It will be much better if you've seen the 2nd and 3rd movies. The ending wont be as good if you haven't. I'd say this this movie is about just as good as the first one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidKNov 5, 2007
How can you say that you DON'T need to have seen 2 + 3 to understand this one. there are many characters stories, in this one that started in 2/3. and Possible Spoiler*****4 is set at the same time as 3 and explains whats going on at How can you say that you DON'T need to have seen 2 + 3 to understand this one. there are many characters stories, in this one that started in 2/3. and Possible Spoiler*****4 is set at the same time as 3 and explains whats going on at that time*****End Spoiler the film can be watched without the others but if you don't watch the others you will undoubtedly like this film less than usual. there were bits in this film that were gross *opening scene* but compared to 3 this one was a breeze (imo) anyway i thought it was a great film but i didn't like the end , it rounded things off nicely BUT Possible spoiler******i felt it copied the original SAW's great Twist [*** END SPOILER***] overall i thought it was great and i cant wait for the next installment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JaredC.Dec 4, 2007
Okay now it's getting out of control, Saw 1 was the best and leave it at that. You could make like twenty Saw movies, but now we've got to stop and start from scratch at something new.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JohnathenE.Dec 6, 2007
I gave it s a 2 because it managed to kill some time, but that's the only redeeming feature from this load of "stuff". Ok, we get it. Torture and what-not is scary. Can you please give us a new reason to watch it?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertoV.Oct 26, 2007
An extraordinary and intelligent screenplay which puzzles us; a thrilling diagnosis about how things are in the world right now; a series of films that have been evolutioning getting better every time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AMovieCriticOct 27, 2007
It should have ended after Saw 2. Saw 1 was a creative and interesting movie with a cool twist and Saw 2 upped the ante and the stakes and both movies were about a group of people put in desperate situations who then had to work together to It should have ended after Saw 2. Saw 1 was a creative and interesting movie with a cool twist and Saw 2 upped the ante and the stakes and both movies were about a group of people put in desperate situations who then had to work together to get out of them. Saw 3 was where they clearly began running out of ideas and sure enough, the writer left the series after this installment and Saw 4 brings on a new team of writers. There's a lot to like here; the death traps in this installment are top notch; easily the best in the series and in the genre as well, and a huge step back in the right direction after the comically over-the-top ones featured in Saw 3. Darren Lynn Bousman (director of this installment and Saw 2 and 3,) does a great job of filming this and creating a great atmosphere, and the editing's quick and stylish. We also get some great scenes showing Jigsaw's development and how he became what he was. This is also easily the creepiest installment in the series since the 1st one, bringing back some horror into the series with a few moments that sent chills up my spine. The series's trademark "plot twist" is here as well, although it's unfortunately more confusing than surprising. The problem is that the movie is extremely difficult to follow. I have a great memory for movies, so I can remember the events of the first 3 movies very well; that said, I was lost at times here and was downright confused near the end, where I completely lost track of the characters. I strongly recommend you re-watch the 2nd and 3rd movies before seeing this one or you're going to be entirely lost. (And you still will at times feel lost anyway.) When they're not confusing you by flashbacks, flashbacks-within-flashbacks, or a needlessly large cast of characters, the movie pretty much plays out exactly like Saw 3, with 1 character going from 1 victim to another and being put in a series of tests. It's not a bad movie, but it's one that feels at times too similar to the 3rd one in plot and structure. At other times it shows us some cool ideas with different characters and locations, as well as some great death traps...Unfortunately, it too often completely confuses us by cutting to other characters before the many issues and characters that are brought up are resolved. Saw 5's going to be starting production with these same writers and a new director very soon, and I don't know if I'll end up being excited for it; Saw 2 was great but since then they've had to strain to keep this series going by constantly manipulating a huge amount of backstory and cast of characters to the point where only die-hard fans who have watched the past movies hundreds of times will have any hope whatsoever of following these new releases. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JimmyK.Oct 27, 2007
Movie sucked what more can I say?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
k.nomiOct 28, 2007
This is entertainment?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
What'sGoodandWhat'sBadOct 29, 2007
Another completely uninteresting volume of entertainment. You know it's a problem when someone gives a review, saying you HAVE to see all the other Saws before this one, because thats absolutely right. You won't really know the Another completely uninteresting volume of entertainment. You know it's a problem when someone gives a review, saying you HAVE to see all the other Saws before this one, because thats absolutely right. You won't really know the purpose of anyone, or what they are all doing, or any intentions of the random characters they just toss into this movie like wildfire. This is no easy transition into the series, its not like Bourne Ultimatum, where it flows well enough to be its own movie, instead of completely depending on the movies before it. Because ultimately, thats what this movie is. It strings together the exact same formula that the third one was,and brings along the same problems. The contraptions the poor victims find themselves wrapped in are no longer intelligent, no longer plot-worthy, they are simply set for gore and they deliver. But thats the only thing that delivers. Gore, gore, gore. No wit, no intelligence, gore. The story is loosely tied as we go back and forth and back and forth to the past, present, interrogation rooms, an abandoned warehouse building, with some absolutely TERRIBLE video editing. And, well, for the acting, how reaching can a horror movie be when they have to hire Gilmore Girls' Patterson to take a main position? Saw was better when Jigsaw was alive, and when it centered itself around the characters. But in Saw IV, the characters are a just a vehicle to the gore, and the "twists" are just there to simply follow its formula. You won't be impressed, or at least, you shouldn't be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattKOct 29, 2007
Great movie ... so exciting!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
EricFOct 31, 2007
I didnt see 2 or 3 and I understood this movie just fine. People who think you need to see all of them before you see this one are either stupid or think the rest of us are. With that said, it still wasnt a good movie. The Saw series as I I didnt see 2 or 3 and I understood this movie just fine. People who think you need to see all of them before you see this one are either stupid or think the rest of us are. With that said, it still wasnt a good movie. The Saw series as I see it is 1 part torture porn and 1 part mystery/psych thrilller. When you take the mystery part out you are left with a bunch of meaningless torture. The "lesson" taught and the "conclusion" are evident from the first 10 minutes. The gore was repeated and the frenetic editing is in my opinion just a tool to add artificial confusion to a plot line that is inherently simple. Wait for the DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChrisVOct 30, 2007
Hey, what happened? This wasn't what i expected... i am a big, i mean, huge saw fan, and it really disappointed me... what happened? oh my god, I'm gonna be in shock... Damn, didn't happened... damn, well... I'm gonna buy Hey, what happened? This wasn't what i expected... i am a big, i mean, huge saw fan, and it really disappointed me... what happened? oh my god, I'm gonna be in shock... Damn, didn't happened... damn, well... I'm gonna buy it when it comes out on dvd anyway,,, nothing impressive. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TylerD.Jan 1, 2008
Remind me not to see the fifth one. Or the sixth. Or the seventh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregS.Jan 24, 2008
way better then the 3rd
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BlueF.Jan 31, 2008
It's consistent with the rest series. If you liked the previous 3 like I did, you will almost certainly enjoy this one. Something I've always appreciated about the series, is it requires some thinking. It doesn't have cheesy It's consistent with the rest series. If you liked the previous 3 like I did, you will almost certainly enjoy this one. Something I've always appreciated about the series, is it requires some thinking. It doesn't have cheesy lines or a dumb story, like most films in the genre. Other reviews are likely harsh either because they're offended by the content, or don't understand certain plot points. It's true the plot is more friendly to people who've seen the previous 3. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JL.Jan 4, 2008
This movie is so terrible. Watch Saw I, you might be scared, watch Saw 2, you might have seen it already, watch Saw III you start to be disgusted, watch Saw IV and wish you've never watched that perverted trash showing blind violence This movie is so terrible. Watch Saw I, you might be scared, watch Saw 2, you might have seen it already, watch Saw III you start to be disgusted, watch Saw IV and wish you've never watched that perverted trash showing blind violence instead of having some ideas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ABJan 7, 2008
The first three "Saw" films were distinguishable from most other modern horror films in that each installment delivered a message on morality and the human condition. "Saw IV," however, uses the gratuitous gore that made the series popular The first three "Saw" films were distinguishable from most other modern horror films in that each installment delivered a message on morality and the human condition. "Saw IV," however, uses the gratuitous gore that made the series popular for the purpose of marketing a morbid display of the mutilated human body. Beginning with the first scene, "Saw IV" scrambles frantically for every possible situation that may justify the ruthless depiction of relentless suffering. A few interesting plot points and allusions to past "Saw" films keep "Saw IV" fairly entertaining, but neither the story nor the film itself is fully satisfying. Like Jigsaw, the "Saw" series is able to pull off a few tricks after death, but, in the end, it is still dead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BrendaM.Feb 2, 2008
Wasn't as good as i thought it should be. didn't explain that well on how that cop became the new jigsaw
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TheSwamiFeb 24, 2008
Highly disappointing. At this rate the next SAW will be in negative numbers. I'd give SAW I a 10, SAW II a 7-8, SAW III was at best a 4, and now this clunker barely comes in at a 2. Much as I enjoyed the first two, I fear this series Highly disappointing. At this rate the next SAW will be in negative numbers. I'd give SAW I a 10, SAW II a 7-8, SAW III was at best a 4, and now this clunker barely comes in at a 2. Much as I enjoyed the first two, I fear this series has run it's course...worth seeing if you have seen the first 3, but don't expect to be thrilled by it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NikkiC.Mar 17, 2008
This film is not just another gore-fest like everyone says it is, if you look past the traps you see why John is the way he is. There is a story behind all the death and destruction, but some people don't bother looking, and just want a This film is not just another gore-fest like everyone says it is, if you look past the traps you see why John is the way he is. There is a story behind all the death and destruction, but some people don't bother looking, and just want a reason to complain about a perfectly reasonable film about human survival. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Christines.Nov 11, 2007
Amazingly scaring. make sure you dont pee your pants.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GregAgNov 1, 2007
Atrocious torture porn.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CalebC.Nov 5, 2007
This is better than the 3rd one...it really tells a lot more of the background story...and I'll stop there cause I don't want to ruin anything...highly recommended for any true Saw fans...the end might be a bit confusing though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarrenB.Nov 7, 2007
kickass! cant wait til Saw 5.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jackd.Nov 7, 2007
Awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
eileenj.Nov 7, 2007
Saw IV was definitely worth the wait; however, it was a bit too short. All the gore and excepted twists were present. I thought it was confusing towards the end when it tied all of the characters together because there was way too many Saw IV was definitely worth the wait; however, it was a bit too short. All the gore and excepted twists were present. I thought it was confusing towards the end when it tied all of the characters together because there was way too many things going on at once. The ending was definitely a shocker. I was not expecting that at all and it keeps me on the edge for the next Saw movie. I would recommend people to see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyP.Dec 26, 2007
I love the series. Very excited to see the 5th but then Twisted Pictures wonders how can the make another if they are wanting to work with Tobin Bell whose character Jigsaw is dead? Simple. Make it so that Jigsaw has an identical twin I love the series. Very excited to see the 5th but then Twisted Pictures wonders how can the make another if they are wanting to work with Tobin Bell whose character Jigsaw is dead? Simple. Make it so that Jigsaw has an identical twin brother who can plan the traps so that we may continue with the Saw phenomenon!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DavidDec 29, 2007
disgusting, people are sick if they like to watch this kind of movies
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RichardB.Oct 26, 2007
Confusing, but not bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattPOct 26, 2007
Solid movie. Doesn't do much to innovate, but is satisfying nonetheless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshuaH.Oct 26, 2007
Holds true to the Saw formula that the fans expect. interesting, extreme, and heart-pounding.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JamesM.Oct 26, 2007
For me, the main appeal of the first to Saw's was that the endings were clever and unexpected. While the ending of Saw 4 was unexpected, it certainly wouldn't be considered clever. The only reason the ending was to unexpected For me, the main appeal of the first to Saw's was that the endings were clever and unexpected. While the ending of Saw 4 was unexpected, it certainly wouldn't be considered clever. The only reason the ending was to unexpected because it's totally illogical and unplausible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KellyR.Oct 27, 2007
Fantastic! The ending will leave you with questions, but it's genius- and those who say it isn't aren't smart enough to really understand the power of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
roxannet.Oct 28, 2007
I saw all the SAW movies and this was very disappointing. What happened?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
sriOct 28, 2007
SAW was good, after that, each sequel got worse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DerekS.Oct 28, 2007
Very great and gory movie but it was confusing
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VicFOct 31, 2007
This movie was awesome. Most the problems I heard about was from people who couldn't sit and put pieces together. It is a master piece. I originally thought it wouldn't be worth it, but it is a great puzzle
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewM.Oct 24, 2008
How many movie franchises can put 5 movies together with all the plot twists and charachters and revolving storylines? None.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SabJan 28, 2008
As previously stated, this was better than the third film. It felt like it returned to the track more so than the third, which seemed to have derailed a bit. In opposition to what many are saying, this has not turned into a mindless As previously stated, this was better than the third film. It felt like it returned to the track more so than the third, which seemed to have derailed a bit. In opposition to what many are saying, this has not turned into a mindless gore-fest. I am frankly amazed that they have kept this series relatively contained and seemingly away from any jet skis or sharks. This is still a slight thinker and definitely continuing the themes of survival, justice, morality, and patience, and how they all may or may not be warped, depending on whose eyes they are filtered through. However, the film did not begin on a good note. Although the first scene may have been somewhat necessary, it degraded the film by making it seem like the naysayers were right, like mindless gore and violence was the goal. It also gave me the feeling that the series was being cheapened before my eyes, and with that I can understand how some would be turned off in the beginning and would not be interested in sticking it through the rest of the film. That first scene really made me think the series was over, but with a little restraint and intelligent consideration, Saw V and VI still have a chance to keep this series more than afloat. This film also seems to brush up against an inevitability of failing in that it seeks an absolutely loyal audience. There is a choice between leaving certain nooks and crannies of the story to be pieced together by the viewer, or explaining it through flashbacks and references to the previous entries. The film seems to go for the latter, but both are detrimental to the experience. Nonetheless, a little mystery never hurt a film, and American audiences are aware that films more often than not insultingly attempt to walk them through things they may not understand instead of letting them think for themselves. It wouldn't seem to be such a bad thing to strike viewers with the urge to watch the previous entries to recall how all of the references to the previous films connected. The criticism that one would need to watch the previous three entries right before watching this is obviously on the mark, but would have been a minor thing if they didn't try to clip in multiple scenes from the previous films at the same time. It really broke up the suspense and added to the confusion. Maybe the film was a little too ambitious and should have been a bit more tamed instead of attempting to make it so all-encompassing. But even with all of these flaws, this film is still far better than most horror films with a relevant plot that doesn't just go for titillation, but comments on modern society, and attempts to force you in a most disturbing way to look at your own life. The fact that so many people have something to say about this shows in itself that this obviously has been worth more consideration than most horror films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Zackf.Feb 21, 2008
This movie was far far better than the original and the following two sequels. But although i gave it a ten for being just a great movie, there are limits to how many times you should repeat the same type of (in this case) "game" in the This movie was far far better than the original and the following two sequels. But although i gave it a ten for being just a great movie, there are limits to how many times you should repeat the same type of (in this case) "game" in the movies. And also may i add that the movies will just keep going on and on and on, when jeff dies in somewhere around Saw VI another person will take his place and they will die in like Saw VIII and so on. Overall Originality 8 creativity 10 repetition from previous movies 5 sequence of the "saw" movies 9 storyline 10 if you disagree with me , you are entitled to your own opinions and i respect that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoelC.Nov 29, 2007
Terrible. Absolutely Terrible. Watch Saw 1, and then be done. Thats how it goes. Don't forget it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ERG1008Sep 1, 2010
It continues, even with the main man & side kick dead.
Bit lazy this one with lots of flashbacks although the history of John Kramer is good despite him looking like an old Chris Martin.
Not as gruesome as the third but the story is still a
It continues, even with the main man & side kick dead.
Bit lazy this one with lots of flashbacks although the history of John Kramer is good despite him looking like an old Chris Martin.
Not as gruesome as the third but the story is still a bit weak compared to the first two.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
JOEFEGHALY38Jul 13, 2011
this is the worst movie i have ever seen. It's not actually a "horror" movie, and the "gore" in it isn't actually that gory, this movie is a waste of money and film. It's good for children who think that they've "grown up" and shallow peoplethis is the worst movie i have ever seen. It's not actually a "horror" movie, and the "gore" in it isn't actually that gory, this movie is a waste of money and film. It's good for children who think that they've "grown up" and shallow people that believe that " ooh,when i watch saw people think that i'm strong and fearless !! " i almost slept when i watched this movie !! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieLonely94Oct 19, 2010
what? they actually made another movie despite the fact in the previous movie that Jigsaw died? that doesn't make sense. was there another need for this one? man, its like Lionsgate knew they were going to make a lot of sequels. so, whatwhat? they actually made another movie despite the fact in the previous movie that Jigsaw died? that doesn't make sense. was there another need for this one? man, its like Lionsgate knew they were going to make a lot of sequels. so, what about it? well, it beats Saws II and III in just one shot and its a perfect grisly movie in the series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
asylumspadezNov 25, 2011
Saw 4 featured scary traps and good acting from the cast as well. I did enjoy it and I think other fans of horror will as well. The only down fall is that the lead actor (who plays Riggs) isnt that good and brings the film down a bit. OtherSaw 4 featured scary traps and good acting from the cast as well. I did enjoy it and I think other fans of horror will as well. The only down fall is that the lead actor (who plays Riggs) isnt that good and brings the film down a bit. Other then that, Its a good film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerMay 22, 2011
Saw 4 fixes a lot of the problems from Saw 3, the "game" is once again taking center stage, the plot is better because you also get a look into John's past, and how he got started, and the ending once again is a great twist, even if itSaw 4 fixes a lot of the problems from Saw 3, the "game" is once again taking center stage, the plot is better because you also get a look into John's past, and how he got started, and the ending once again is a great twist, even if it doesn't make the most sense, if you were like me and Saw 3 disappointed you, this easily makes up for that, a must see for fans, but watch the others first. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
HalfwelshmanFeb 9, 2012
I watched Saw IV having only seen the first installment beforehand. Despite missing two installments, I didn't get the feeling that I'd missed much in terms of story. It's business as usual in Saw IV - we grimace at a series of inventive,I watched Saw IV having only seen the first installment beforehand. Despite missing two installments, I didn't get the feeling that I'd missed much in terms of story. It's business as usual in Saw IV - we grimace at a series of inventive, grotesque "games" designed to teach undesirables the error of their ways. Sort of like I'm a Celebrity's bush-tucker trials but with more blood, and less Ant and Dec. By this point, Jigsaw (Tobin Bell) is dead, but that doesn't stop him pursuing his unique brand of justice from beyond the grave. His physical absence from the film (other than as a corpse on the autopsy table) does allow the film to indulge in a series of surprisingly effective flashbacks that flesh out John Kramer's life before he became Jigsaw, and goes some way to give him understandable motivations. The rest of the film, however, trudges through its run-time without any clear focus. The "games" are still inventive, and disconcertingly mesmerising enough if you're able to detach yourself from the gruesomeness of it all. As I haven't yet seen Saw II and III, I can't really judge the series as a whole, but when watching IV, I can say for certain is that there has been a sharp drop in quality since the original. The first Saw worked on multiple levels - as a very effective horror, an entertaining crime-thriller, and as a mystery. Saw IV only works on one level - as a gore-filled sideshow. You just find yourself drifting listlessly through what little flaccid plot the film has waiting for the next torture-based set-piece. You're unable to engage with anyone - all characters are just meat for the slaughter. Thank goodness for the still brilliant Tobin Bell, as without his flashback segments, the film would have no scope at all for drama, and very little at all to offer beyond rubbery-looking bodies being brutally destroyed by nightmarish D.I.Y. death machines. If that's your idea of entertainment, fine, I'm not going to judge - film is fantasy after all, and most adults are quite capable of distinguishing between what's on screen and reality. Personally, I can't honestly say I get the appeal. Perhaps if I watched all the films in sequence I'd get more out of Saw IV, but I highly doubt it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
hoops2448Feb 28, 2012
The Saw Franchise is problematic at best with the first instalment being incredibly tense and dynamic with an ending that will go down in movie history. It has a haunting villain in Tobin Bellâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
spadenxDec 5, 2011
Wasnt that bad overall. I didnt really like the actor who played Riggs and I thought he did overact a few times or he just didnt act at all (showed no real emotion in times where there should be). The traps were good though and actuallyWasnt that bad overall. I didnt really like the actor who played Riggs and I thought he did overact a few times or he just didnt act at all (showed no real emotion in times where there should be). The traps were good though and actually rather scary. The ending was a tad bit predictable as well. Overall it was a decent addition that had its flaws. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobFeb 9, 2012
I am shocked people hate it so much, This is easily my favorite Saw film. Although I didnt like Lyriq Bent as the lead, Costas Mandylor and Scott Patterson are great and more then make up for what Bent lacks. The rest of the cast is solid.I am shocked people hate it so much, This is easily my favorite Saw film. Although I didnt like Lyriq Bent as the lead, Costas Mandylor and Scott Patterson are great and more then make up for what Bent lacks. The rest of the cast is solid. The plot is interesting (a sequel with a prequel built in) and the traps are scary and definently lives up to the Saw name. It may not be the perfect horror film but its close. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
p360assassinJul 10, 2012
The last good saw movie. Now most people think that the saw movies are all about the gore. Yes they are a key part, but while saw 5 and 6 were that, the first 4 used gore to increase the impact of the story. The movies also arn't horror, noneThe last good saw movie. Now most people think that the saw movies are all about the gore. Yes they are a key part, but while saw 5 and 6 were that, the first 4 used gore to increase the impact of the story. The movies also arn't horror, none of them are, they have and always will be thrillers, just because they are incredibly gory they arn't automaticly horror. If you come in expecting horror you will be disapointed. The first 4 movies feel like a constantly unraveling jigsaw puzzle (which is ironic for obvious reasons) that ends with the last piece finally clicking into place on the INCREDIBLE twist that 1-4 possessed. Each sequel feels like you didn't notice half the jigsaw hadn't been finished. Saw 4 should of been the ending for this very reason, it ended feeling like all four pieces of completed puzzle had been fitted together. Saw 5 ended feeling like a uncomplete, which is should never have done, and Saw 6 was the only one you knew from the start how it would end, with disapointing scenes one after the other, eventually feeling like the puzzle being created was actually of a gay porno.

The reason saw 4 didn't get a 10 like all the previous deserved (remember that I am NOT a gore fan at all) is because the whole movie wasn't nearly up to the standard that saw 1-3 were. While the twist was still the same awesome shock all the movies had, while still making sense.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
potatoes351Oct 30, 2012
Saw IV...in other words the one that didn't need to be made. Saw III pretty much cleared up everything but now they have dug themselves a bigger hole by making the first of another set of films. This finishes the story arc of DetectiveSaw IV...in other words the one that didn't need to be made. Saw III pretty much cleared up everything but now they have dug themselves a bigger hole by making the first of another set of films. This finishes the story arc of Detective Matthews first seen in Saw II and continues on its crime drama approach to storytelling rather than the edge of your seat thriller that I and III had. Good cinematography is perhaps the only saving grace but Saw IV is for fans who are just too clingy for their once beloved series to end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
OfficialNov 2, 2013
I knew that at some point the Saw movies would begin to fall apart. "Saw IV" does not have the same intelligence like the previous three. Yes, there's plenty of gore, but it really isn't worth paying for a ticket to see bits of guts flying atI knew that at some point the Saw movies would begin to fall apart. "Saw IV" does not have the same intelligence like the previous three. Yes, there's plenty of gore, but it really isn't worth paying for a ticket to see bits of guts flying at your face. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Annoymous1May 3, 2013
Even though this film was meant to be at least average. This got very mild and yet features stuff like a spike trap that did NOT make sense. It is disappointing to see such a good movie go to waste.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
spollardMar 2, 2014
Worst of the series thus far. The movie is a history lesson of John Kramer a.k.a Jigsaw with a sick game every once in a while to keep the audience interested. The movie really was not needed and the story line was all over the place. I giveWorst of the series thus far. The movie is a history lesson of John Kramer a.k.a Jigsaw with a sick game every once in a while to keep the audience interested. The movie really was not needed and the story line was all over the place. I give it a 47.9 out of 100 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MichMartMar 4, 2014
Saw-movies with a dead John Kramer and many flashbacks aren't the same as the first three movies, but it's interesting to find out, who's his follower.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
LelandskellOct 20, 2013
The original Saw came out in 2004 and reached much success and critical acclaim, reciting mixed reviews from major critics, but heavy praise from many horror fans from around the world. 3 years later, as usual, we get a new Saw film, beingThe original Saw came out in 2004 and reached much success and critical acclaim, reciting mixed reviews from major critics, but heavy praise from many horror fans from around the world. 3 years later, as usual, we get a new Saw film, being Saw IV. This broke the Saw trilogy, and began to show how little the studio cared about the quality of their story and overall production of the Saw movies. This marked the first time a Saw movie had received a rating below 6/10, and to have a Metacritic rating in the red. Saw IV brought no special tapas to the table, and didn't have that great of a twist. Also, you really didn't give a f*** about the people being tortured and the story was a bit farfetched, BUT, this film has a saving grace, Tobin Bell. Don't watch this movie for the traps or main story with the victims, watch it for the backstory of John Cramer, and how he transformed from a warm civil engineer, to the sadistic serial killer, Jigsaw. This film has a lot of good backstory on him and his annoying wife, Jill. It features his first trap, a prototype for the puppet, and even a motive. All in all, not the best entry, but worth checking out if you care about the story. 6/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MarickFeb 22, 2015
I think the series of Saw is going down. No one sequel is not like first Saw. I think is problem with me because i'm very excited about what happing next.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MovieManiac83Apr 25, 2015
Horror films are like candy corn: familiar, bland, and sickening if consumed in large quantities. They're both ubiquitous at this time of year and there must be a large group of individuals who appreciate their dubious charms because theyHorror films are like candy corn: familiar, bland, and sickening if consumed in large quantities. They're both ubiquitous at this time of year and there must be a large group of individuals who appreciate their dubious charms because they never go away. I like a good, scary horror film - something that raises the hackles and keeps me on the edge of my seat. It's been a while since I have seen one, however. (Maybe the last one was The Descent.) I have watched all four Saw movies but didn't review installment #2 or #3. I have selected to review this one to show how far this series has fallen since its promising debut.

One of the depressing things about sequels in general and horror sequels in particular is the tendency to fall into a pattern of repetition. An idea that starts out fresh quickly becomes stale through overuse. This is evident in Saw IV, easily the worst and most pointless episode of the gore-saturated quadrology. Not only does Saw IV repeat (with a few variations) what has come before, but it does so without the involvement of the main villain, Jigaw (Tobin Bell), who died at the end of Saw III. To its credit, the movie does not bring him back from the dead, but that leaves a notable vacuum of insanity. There's a bad guy of sorts, but it's not the same.

Saw IV functions as a drawn-out, tedious epilogue to a series that began with an energetic bang three years ago with Saw, then progressively lost momentum, coherence, and intelligence with each successive annual installment. Saw IV is nothing short of a money-grab. Despite a couple of loose ends (that are tied up unsatisfactorily here), Saw III finished the story. Although Darren Lynn Bousman, the director of Saw II and III, is back for IV, screenwriter Leigh Whannell has not returned.

It's hard to disagree that there was a strong streak of sadism in even the first Saw, but the ingeniousness of the situation and the novelty of the approach trumped its gorier and nastier aspects. The balance changed for the sequel, however, where the "intelligence" became an excuse for a growing sense of mean-spiritedness. By the time the series reached Saw IV, questions of "morality" and twisted "choice" have largely been supplanted by gratuitous torture. The macabre has been escalated to a grisly level where all that seems to matter any more is figuring out new ways to eviscerate and slaughter victims. Saw IV has more in common with Hostel II than its progenitor.

Bousman's style is much the same here as it was in Saw II and III. The color is desaturated to an extremity where many of the scenes appear to be almost black-and-white. There are frequent jump cuts and occasional flash repeats of moments. It's all very showy but doesn't do much to enhance the overall experience. At least the action scenes aren't filmed using the shaky cam approach. When someone dies, it's not hard to figure out what has happened. Then again, for a film that revels in the inventiveness of its murders, an epileptic style would defeat the purpose. You need to see the gore in clear detail in order to get the full impact.

Saw IV will likely sate the appetite of long-term, hardcore fans of the franchise, but it offers nothing to anyone who does not fall into that category. The movie's dense plotting and frequent flashbacks demand familiarity with the previous installments to make any sort of sense, and even then there are some sizable gaps. Did I piece everything together? No. Do I care? Not really. There are no human beings in this movie - just blood bags waiting to be popped. It's a depressing experience to view something like Saw IV. It's not just the soullessness that's dispiriting, but the lack of invention. When a movie does little more than repeat what its predecessors accomplished with grotesque effectiveness, it's past time to tip this corpse into its grave and bury it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
EpicLadySpongeApr 2, 2016
Checklist.

Make Saw IV official: CHECK!
Get money at the box office: CHECK!
Make some unoriginal scary clich├ęs: DOUBLE CHECK!
Score still not changing: TRIPLE CHECK!
Would I want to see this movie again?: NO!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
robertoiglesiasOct 30, 2017
Saw IV is probably the most forgettable movie in the Saw franchise and is quite ridiculous. I couldn't enjoy it as much as the first 3 movies. I tried to, but it is mostly unnecessary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
MrTacoBobSep 3, 2017
Another one of the same movie! An awful story...if you read my past reviews Is say the same thing this series is like a cow. You milk it and you milk it some more until it dies out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews