User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 178 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 178

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 21, 2011
    4
    "Saw 4" is battered with preposterous Cliches and silly characters with dumb, idiotic plot twist. They should have stopped their Jigsaw game at "Saw 3".
  2. Sep 1, 2010
    6
    It continues, even with the main man & side kick dead.
    Bit lazy this one with lots of flashbacks although the history of John Kramer is good despite him looking like an old Chris Martin.
    Not as gruesome as the third but the story is still a bit weak compared to the first two.
  3. Jul 13, 2011
    0
    this is the worst movie i have ever seen. It's not actually a "horror" movie, and the "gore" in it isn't actually that gory, this movie is a waste of money and film. It's good for children who think that they've "grown up" and shallow people that believe that " ooh,when i watch saw people think that i'm strong and fearless !! " i almost slept when i watched this movie !!
  4. Oct 19, 2010
    7
    what? they actually made another movie despite the fact in the previous movie that Jigsaw died? that doesn't make sense. was there another need for this one? man, its like Lionsgate knew they were going to make a lot of sequels. so, what about it? well, it beats Saws II and III in just one shot and its a perfect grisly movie in the series.
  5. Nov 25, 2011
    6
    Saw 4 featured scary traps and good acting from the cast as well. I did enjoy it and I think other fans of horror will as well. The only down fall is that the lead actor (who plays Riggs) isnt that good and brings the film down a bit. Other then that, Its a good film.
  6. May 22, 2011
    7
    Saw 4 fixes a lot of the problems from Saw 3, the "game" is once again taking center stage, the plot is better because you also get a look into John's past, and how he got started, and the ending once again is a great twist, even if it doesn't make the most sense, if you were like me and Saw 3 disappointed you, this easily makes up for that, a must see for fans, but watch the others first.
  7. Feb 9, 2012
    3
    I watched Saw IV having only seen the first installment beforehand. Despite missing two installments, I didn't get the feeling that I'd missed much in terms of story. It's business as usual in Saw IV - we grimace at a series of inventive, grotesque "games" designed to teach undesirables the error of their ways. Sort of like I'm a Celebrity's bush-tucker trials but with more blood, and less Ant and Dec. By this point, Jigsaw (Tobin Bell) is dead, but that doesn't stop him pursuing his unique brand of justice from beyond the grave. His physical absence from the film (other than as a corpse on the autopsy table) does allow the film to indulge in a series of surprisingly effective flashbacks that flesh out John Kramer's life before he became Jigsaw, and goes some way to give him understandable motivations. The rest of the film, however, trudges through its run-time without any clear focus. The "games" are still inventive, and disconcertingly mesmerising enough if you're able to detach yourself from the gruesomeness of it all. As I haven't yet seen Saw II and III, I can't really judge the series as a whole, but when watching IV, I can say for certain is that there has been a sharp drop in quality since the original. The first Saw worked on multiple levels - as a very effective horror, an entertaining crime-thriller, and as a mystery. Saw IV only works on one level - as a gore-filled sideshow. You just find yourself drifting listlessly through what little flaccid plot the film has waiting for the next torture-based set-piece. You're unable to engage with anyone - all characters are just meat for the slaughter. Thank goodness for the still brilliant Tobin Bell, as without his flashback segments, the film would have no scope at all for drama, and very little at all to offer beyond rubbery-looking bodies being brutally destroyed by nightmarish D.I.Y. death machines. If that's your idea of entertainment, fine, I'm not going to judge - film is fantasy after all, and most adults are quite capable of distinguishing between what's on screen and reality. Personally, I can't honestly say I get the appeal. Perhaps if I watched all the films in sequence I'd get more out of Saw IV, but I highly doubt it. Expand
  8. Feb 28, 2012
    4
    The Saw Franchise is problematic at best with the first instalment being incredibly tense and dynamic with an ending that will go down in movie history. It has a haunting villain in Tobin Bellâ
  9. Dec 5, 2011
    6
    Wasnt that bad overall. I didnt really like the actor who played Riggs and I thought he did overact a few times or he just didnt act at all (showed no real emotion in times where there should be). The traps were good though and actually rather scary. The ending was a tad bit predictable as well. Overall it was a decent addition that had its flaws.
  10. Feb 9, 2012
    8
    I am shocked people hate it so much, This is easily my favorite Saw film. Although I didnt like Lyriq Bent as the lead, Costas Mandylor and Scott Patterson are great and more then make up for what Bent lacks. The rest of the cast is solid. The plot is interesting (a sequel with a prequel built in) and the traps are scary and definently lives up to the Saw name. It may not be the perfect horror film but its close. Expand
  11. Jul 10, 2012
    8
    The last good saw movie. Now most people think that the saw movies are all about the gore. Yes they are a key part, but while saw 5 and 6 were that, the first 4 used gore to increase the impact of the story. The movies also arn't horror, none of them are, they have and always will be thrillers, just because they are incredibly gory they arn't automaticly horror. If you come in expecting horror you will be disapointed. The first 4 movies feel like a constantly unraveling jigsaw puzzle (which is ironic for obvious reasons) that ends with the last piece finally clicking into place on the INCREDIBLE twist that 1-4 possessed. Each sequel feels like you didn't notice half the jigsaw hadn't been finished. Saw 4 should of been the ending for this very reason, it ended feeling like all four pieces of completed puzzle had been fitted together. Saw 5 ended feeling like a uncomplete, which is should never have done, and Saw 6 was the only one you knew from the start how it would end, with disapointing scenes one after the other, eventually feeling like the puzzle being created was actually of a gay porno.

    The reason saw 4 didn't get a 10 like all the previous deserved (remember that I am NOT a gore fan at all) is because the whole movie wasn't nearly up to the standard that saw 1-3 were. While the twist was still the same awesome shock all the movies had, while still making sense.
    Expand
  12. Oct 30, 2012
    4
    Saw IV...in other words the one that didn't need to be made. Saw III pretty much cleared up everything but now they have dug themselves a bigger hole by making the first of another set of films. This finishes the story arc of Detective Matthews first seen in Saw II and continues on its crime drama approach to storytelling rather than the edge of your seat thriller that I and III had. Good cinematography is perhaps the only saving grace but Saw IV is for fans who are just too clingy for their once beloved series to end. Expand
  13. Nov 2, 2013
    4
    I knew that at some point the Saw movies would begin to fall apart. "Saw IV" does not have the same intelligence like the previous three. Yes, there's plenty of gore, but it really isn't worth paying for a ticket to see bits of guts flying at your face.
  14. May 3, 2013
    5
    Even though this film was meant to be at least average. This got very mild and yet features stuff like a spike trap that did NOT make sense. It is disappointing to see such a good movie go to waste.
  15. Mar 2, 2014
    5
    Worst of the series thus far. The movie is a history lesson of John Kramer a.k.a Jigsaw with a sick game every once in a while to keep the audience interested. The movie really was not needed and the story line was all over the place. I give it a 47.9 out of 100
  16. Mar 4, 2014
    6
    Saw-movies with a dead John Kramer and many flashbacks aren't the same as the first three movies, but it's interesting to find out, who's his follower.
  17. Oct 20, 2013
    6
    The original Saw came out in 2004 and reached much success and critical acclaim, reciting mixed reviews from major critics, but heavy praise from many horror fans from around the world. 3 years later, as usual, we get a new Saw film, being Saw IV. This broke the Saw trilogy, and began to show how little the studio cared about the quality of their story and overall production of the Saw movies. This marked the first time a Saw movie had received a rating below 6/10, and to have a Metacritic rating in the red. Saw IV brought no special tapas to the table, and didn't have that great of a twist. Also, you really didn't give a f*** about the people being tortured and the story was a bit farfetched, BUT, this film has a saving grace, Tobin Bell. Don't watch this movie for the traps or main story with the victims, watch it for the backstory of John Cramer, and how he transformed from a warm civil engineer, to the sadistic serial killer, Jigsaw. This film has a lot of good backstory on him and his annoying wife, Jill. It features his first trap, a prototype for the puppet, and even a motive. All in all, not the best entry, but worth checking out if you care about the story. 6/10. Expand
  18. Sep 4, 2014
    6
    "Saw IV" is where the series started to go downhill, but, thankfully, not all at once. The story is very slow, but it's still reasonably entertaining for fans of the series. This entry probably had one of the better plot twists in the series. It tied up some loose ends and plot holes that the first three had. I say give this one a shot if you liked the first three.
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 16
  2. Negative: 6 out of 16
  1. 38
    It's a depressing experience to view something like Saw IV. It's not just the soullessness that's dispiriting, but the lack of invention. When a movie does little more than repeat what its predecessors accomplished with grotesque effectiveness, it's past time to tip this corpse into its grave and bury it.
  2. Director Darren Lynn Bousman, who also helmed the past two installments, doesn't deviate from the stylistic formula, which includes grinding industrial music, frenzied editing and a blue-gray color palette.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken Fox
    50
    The trouble is that if you haven't seen the other entries in the cycle, or don't have all the characters committed to memory, you'll have trouble figuring out who anybody is or, in the end, what any of it is supposed to mean.