Lionsgate | Release Date: October 26, 2007
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 235 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
106
Mixed:
74
Negative:
55
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
unknownJun 24, 2009
Apparently a lot of people watched the movies and didn't light up that they aren't what it looks like. They were like pieces of the big picture. If you'd like to know why you think they're stupid, well i will tell Apparently a lot of people watched the movies and didn't light up that they aren't what it looks like. They were like pieces of the big picture. If you'd like to know why you think they're stupid, well i will tell you...These movies are like one big puzzle. Each movie connects the pieces together and the 4th one really did introduce new hidden parts of it. All of the movies are very interesting and all of them twist in a way to keep your attention if your IQ is not that low enough to get it. IF you want to watch just horror and be left with good impressions of SAW then watch the 1st or 2nd one IF you want blood and slaughter, well all of them got it and IF you watched them and understood how entertaining the story is, well let's hope they keep it this way And i certainly don't think the ideas are ran out. Actually it seems like it is one big idea ever since the 1st one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JumpingJ.Nov 5, 2007
I haven't watched all 4 parts of this movie. I have only watched the first one and then the 4th. I have to say that I like the first one better, and sadly, 4th wasn't that scary at all. But overall, I wasn't bad either. I mean I haven't watched all 4 parts of this movie. I have only watched the first one and then the 4th. I have to say that I like the first one better, and sadly, 4th wasn't that scary at all. But overall, I wasn't bad either. I mean I cant really comment until I watch the 2nd and 3rd but I would probably rate it about 7. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SigyKNov 6, 2007
This movie was great. I would most likely rate it second best in the franchise following the original. After that i would say the second is good, and the worst in the series being the third, which was still a darn good movie. This movie had This movie was great. I would most likely rate it second best in the franchise following the original. After that i would say the second is good, and the worst in the series being the third, which was still a darn good movie. This movie had me constantly in suspense and had a twist ending that was great. Cant wait for V and VI. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlairB.Oct 28, 2007
I loved it i hope there is a fifth one!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JenniferG.Oct 30, 2007
Of course I love all the SAW movies so I'm going to give it a high rating but I must say...WHAT THE HELL HAPPENED? I'm so confused but it was still good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jan 29, 2008
1 of the best movies ever saw. Amazing acting from Tobin bell and writing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KareyGNov 2, 2007
This movie was really good. you had to watch all of the series to understand this movie. i think this one was the goriest of them all. i got confused at some parts and did not understand some parts of the movie. but overall it was a great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ErnestinaX.Nov 2, 2007
The movie was awesome, and believe it or not, it teaches us all a very important message which is to cherris our lives, although jigsaw chose an extreme method to do so, some learned the lesson all the same.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamieFNov 3, 2007
Even being a large fan of the saw series, i had reservations going into a fourth installment, for much the same reasons everyone else has. However, I left the cinema a very happy person. Saw 4 is definitely not for everyone though. You may Even being a large fan of the saw series, i had reservations going into a fourth installment, for much the same reasons everyone else has. However, I left the cinema a very happy person. Saw 4 is definitely not for everyone though. You may not NEED to have seen the others for it to make sense, but you do to be able to appreciate what does take place. I'll leave this free of spoilers, but part of the beauty of saw 4 is it brings so many characters back and gives them resolution, resolutions that simply wouldn't mean much if you hadn't watched their horrific sagas begin from the start. Others will also complain that this film deviates from the "saw" franchise; well, really making ANY sequels to saw 1 was deviating from the point of the movie. And if thats you're feelings, then of course you're not going to enjoy this. However, those that come into this with an open mind, and happy to accept the saw franchise evolves with every installment and is constantly changing ( imo) in a positive way, are likely to walk away happy. The traps are back, but more subdued compared to saw 3 ( which i believe was the right move), the twists are back in spectacular fashion, to the point where even if you figure out 1 or 2, there's going to be one or two more to catch you out, and a new killer is revealed....or is there? Due to the nature of the twists, saw 4 leaves the viewer with many new questions to ask, but thankfully these questions are enough to warrant a sequel in my opinion, so hopefully saw V will be the success this has already become! Overall, i give this a 9. I take away one point for the fact many involved in the movie are pretending its a movie where you don't need to have seen the sequels - its not. I'm not saying people won't understand everything (although a second viewing is advised), but the biggest thing is the saw series for me is the character development and the way the viewers become invested in such flawed people; because we can relate. You can't invest in many of these characters, and therefore the events if you haven't seen the rest. However, everything else was spot on, and as a whole movie, i think it may actually be the most compelling of them all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradC.Nov 4, 2007
I did not enjoy the third movie, so I was reluctant to see this one. However, I walked out of the movie theater smiling after seeing this one. It will be much better if you've seen the 2nd and 3rd movies. The ending wont be as good if I did not enjoy the third movie, so I was reluctant to see this one. However, I walked out of the movie theater smiling after seeing this one. It will be much better if you've seen the 2nd and 3rd movies. The ending wont be as good if you haven't. I'd say this this movie is about just as good as the first one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidKNov 5, 2007
How can you say that you DON'T need to have seen 2 + 3 to understand this one. there are many characters stories, in this one that started in 2/3. and Possible Spoiler*****4 is set at the same time as 3 and explains whats going on at How can you say that you DON'T need to have seen 2 + 3 to understand this one. there are many characters stories, in this one that started in 2/3. and Possible Spoiler*****4 is set at the same time as 3 and explains whats going on at that time*****End Spoiler the film can be watched without the others but if you don't watch the others you will undoubtedly like this film less than usual. there were bits in this film that were gross *opening scene* but compared to 3 this one was a breeze (imo) anyway i thought it was a great film but i didn't like the end , it rounded things off nicely BUT Possible spoiler******i felt it copied the original SAW's great Twist [*** END SPOILER***] overall i thought it was great and i cant wait for the next installment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertoV.Oct 26, 2007
An extraordinary and intelligent screenplay which puzzles us; a thrilling diagnosis about how things are in the world right now; a series of films that have been evolutioning getting better every time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattKOct 29, 2007
Great movie ... so exciting!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregS.Jan 24, 2008
way better then the 3rd
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BlueF.Jan 31, 2008
It's consistent with the rest series. If you liked the previous 3 like I did, you will almost certainly enjoy this one. Something I've always appreciated about the series, is it requires some thinking. It doesn't have cheesy It's consistent with the rest series. If you liked the previous 3 like I did, you will almost certainly enjoy this one. Something I've always appreciated about the series, is it requires some thinking. It doesn't have cheesy lines or a dumb story, like most films in the genre. Other reviews are likely harsh either because they're offended by the content, or don't understand certain plot points. It's true the plot is more friendly to people who've seen the previous 3. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NikkiC.Mar 17, 2008
This film is not just another gore-fest like everyone says it is, if you look past the traps you see why John is the way he is. There is a story behind all the death and destruction, but some people don't bother looking, and just want a This film is not just another gore-fest like everyone says it is, if you look past the traps you see why John is the way he is. There is a story behind all the death and destruction, but some people don't bother looking, and just want a reason to complain about a perfectly reasonable film about human survival. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Christines.Nov 11, 2007
Amazingly scaring. make sure you dont pee your pants.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CalebC.Nov 5, 2007
This is better than the 3rd one...it really tells a lot more of the background story...and I'll stop there cause I don't want to ruin anything...highly recommended for any true Saw fans...the end might be a bit confusing though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarrenB.Nov 7, 2007
kickass! cant wait til Saw 5.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jackd.Nov 7, 2007
Awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
eileenj.Nov 7, 2007
Saw IV was definitely worth the wait; however, it was a bit too short. All the gore and excepted twists were present. I thought it was confusing towards the end when it tied all of the characters together because there was way too many Saw IV was definitely worth the wait; however, it was a bit too short. All the gore and excepted twists were present. I thought it was confusing towards the end when it tied all of the characters together because there was way too many things going on at once. The ending was definitely a shocker. I was not expecting that at all and it keeps me on the edge for the next Saw movie. I would recommend people to see this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyP.Dec 26, 2007
I love the series. Very excited to see the 5th but then Twisted Pictures wonders how can the make another if they are wanting to work with Tobin Bell whose character Jigsaw is dead? Simple. Make it so that Jigsaw has an identical twin I love the series. Very excited to see the 5th but then Twisted Pictures wonders how can the make another if they are wanting to work with Tobin Bell whose character Jigsaw is dead? Simple. Make it so that Jigsaw has an identical twin brother who can plan the traps so that we may continue with the Saw phenomenon!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RichardB.Oct 26, 2007
Confusing, but not bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattPOct 26, 2007
Solid movie. Doesn't do much to innovate, but is satisfying nonetheless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshuaH.Oct 26, 2007
Holds true to the Saw formula that the fans expect. interesting, extreme, and heart-pounding.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KellyR.Oct 27, 2007
Fantastic! The ending will leave you with questions, but it's genius- and those who say it isn't aren't smart enough to really understand the power of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DerekS.Oct 28, 2007
Very great and gory movie but it was confusing
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VicFOct 31, 2007
This movie was awesome. Most the problems I heard about was from people who couldn't sit and put pieces together. It is a master piece. I originally thought it wouldn't be worth it, but it is a great puzzle
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewM.Oct 24, 2008
How many movie franchises can put 5 movies together with all the plot twists and charachters and revolving storylines? None.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SabJan 28, 2008
As previously stated, this was better than the third film. It felt like it returned to the track more so than the third, which seemed to have derailed a bit. In opposition to what many are saying, this has not turned into a mindless As previously stated, this was better than the third film. It felt like it returned to the track more so than the third, which seemed to have derailed a bit. In opposition to what many are saying, this has not turned into a mindless gore-fest. I am frankly amazed that they have kept this series relatively contained and seemingly away from any jet skis or sharks. This is still a slight thinker and definitely continuing the themes of survival, justice, morality, and patience, and how they all may or may not be warped, depending on whose eyes they are filtered through. However, the film did not begin on a good note. Although the first scene may have been somewhat necessary, it degraded the film by making it seem like the naysayers were right, like mindless gore and violence was the goal. It also gave me the feeling that the series was being cheapened before my eyes, and with that I can understand how some would be turned off in the beginning and would not be interested in sticking it through the rest of the film. That first scene really made me think the series was over, but with a little restraint and intelligent consideration, Saw V and VI still have a chance to keep this series more than afloat. This film also seems to brush up against an inevitability of failing in that it seeks an absolutely loyal audience. There is a choice between leaving certain nooks and crannies of the story to be pieced together by the viewer, or explaining it through flashbacks and references to the previous entries. The film seems to go for the latter, but both are detrimental to the experience. Nonetheless, a little mystery never hurt a film, and American audiences are aware that films more often than not insultingly attempt to walk them through things they may not understand instead of letting them think for themselves. It wouldn't seem to be such a bad thing to strike viewers with the urge to watch the previous entries to recall how all of the references to the previous films connected. The criticism that one would need to watch the previous three entries right before watching this is obviously on the mark, but would have been a minor thing if they didn't try to clip in multiple scenes from the previous films at the same time. It really broke up the suspense and added to the confusion. Maybe the film was a little too ambitious and should have been a bit more tamed instead of attempting to make it so all-encompassing. But even with all of these flaws, this film is still far better than most horror films with a relevant plot that doesn't just go for titillation, but comments on modern society, and attempts to force you in a most disturbing way to look at your own life. The fact that so many people have something to say about this shows in itself that this obviously has been worth more consideration than most horror films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Zackf.Feb 21, 2008
This movie was far far better than the original and the following two sequels. But although i gave it a ten for being just a great movie, there are limits to how many times you should repeat the same type of (in this case) "game" in the This movie was far far better than the original and the following two sequels. But although i gave it a ten for being just a great movie, there are limits to how many times you should repeat the same type of (in this case) "game" in the movies. And also may i add that the movies will just keep going on and on and on, when jeff dies in somewhere around Saw VI another person will take his place and they will die in like Saw VIII and so on. Overall Originality 8 creativity 10 repetition from previous movies 5 sequence of the "saw" movies 9 storyline 10 if you disagree with me , you are entitled to your own opinions and i respect that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MovieLonely94Oct 19, 2010
what? they actually made another movie despite the fact in the previous movie that Jigsaw died? that doesn't make sense. was there another need for this one? man, its like Lionsgate knew they were going to make a lot of sequels. so, whatwhat? they actually made another movie despite the fact in the previous movie that Jigsaw died? that doesn't make sense. was there another need for this one? man, its like Lionsgate knew they were going to make a lot of sequels. so, what about it? well, it beats Saws II and III in just one shot and its a perfect grisly movie in the series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerMay 22, 2011
Saw 4 fixes a lot of the problems from Saw 3, the "game" is once again taking center stage, the plot is better because you also get a look into John's past, and how he got started, and the ending once again is a great twist, even if itSaw 4 fixes a lot of the problems from Saw 3, the "game" is once again taking center stage, the plot is better because you also get a look into John's past, and how he got started, and the ending once again is a great twist, even if it doesn't make the most sense, if you were like me and Saw 3 disappointed you, this easily makes up for that, a must see for fans, but watch the others first. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobFeb 9, 2012
I am shocked people hate it so much, This is easily my favorite Saw film. Although I didnt like Lyriq Bent as the lead, Costas Mandylor and Scott Patterson are great and more then make up for what Bent lacks. The rest of the cast is solid.I am shocked people hate it so much, This is easily my favorite Saw film. Although I didnt like Lyriq Bent as the lead, Costas Mandylor and Scott Patterson are great and more then make up for what Bent lacks. The rest of the cast is solid. The plot is interesting (a sequel with a prequel built in) and the traps are scary and definently lives up to the Saw name. It may not be the perfect horror film but its close. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
p360assassinJul 10, 2012
The last good saw movie. Now most people think that the saw movies are all about the gore. Yes they are a key part, but while saw 5 and 6 were that, the first 4 used gore to increase the impact of the story. The movies also arn't horror, noneThe last good saw movie. Now most people think that the saw movies are all about the gore. Yes they are a key part, but while saw 5 and 6 were that, the first 4 used gore to increase the impact of the story. The movies also arn't horror, none of them are, they have and always will be thrillers, just because they are incredibly gory they arn't automaticly horror. If you come in expecting horror you will be disapointed. The first 4 movies feel like a constantly unraveling jigsaw puzzle (which is ironic for obvious reasons) that ends with the last piece finally clicking into place on the INCREDIBLE twist that 1-4 possessed. Each sequel feels like you didn't notice half the jigsaw hadn't been finished. Saw 4 should of been the ending for this very reason, it ended feeling like all four pieces of completed puzzle had been fitted together. Saw 5 ended feeling like a uncomplete, which is should never have done, and Saw 6 was the only one you knew from the start how it would end, with disapointing scenes one after the other, eventually feeling like the puzzle being created was actually of a gay porno.

The reason saw 4 didn't get a 10 like all the previous deserved (remember that I am NOT a gore fan at all) is because the whole movie wasn't nearly up to the standard that saw 1-3 were. While the twist was still the same awesome shock all the movies had, while still making sense.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews