Lionsgate | Release Date: October 24, 2008
5.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 217 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
95
Mixed:
55
Negative:
67
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
6
AustinB.Oct 25, 2008
It was a decent enough film to watch if you have nothing better to do. Although there really was no twist at the end of the movie, I greatly preferred it to the fourth iteration, as it actually seemed to GO somewhere. They really didn't It was a decent enough film to watch if you have nothing better to do. Although there really was no twist at the end of the movie, I greatly preferred it to the fourth iteration, as it actually seemed to GO somewhere. They really didn't try for a twist in this one, which I consider to be better than trying to create one and failing miserably. As I said before, go and see it if you have nothing better to do and wish to get a glimpse into the mind of the man who was the Jigsaw Killer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
GretchenSOct 25, 2008
Do you honestly expect this movie to have a high rating? C'mon, it's Saw.. It's more like a cult following. Surely nobody's expecting an Oscar winning performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
mauriciol.Jan 22, 2009
Ok , if u have seen all the others u have to see this one ,. i really liked it. and it really gives a concluicion to all of the otthers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DiegoL.Jan 5, 2009
It was a disapointment... "Saw IV" was pretty good and surprised me. This one is confusing. There's no more history to tell, and they already making things up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KendraP.Nov 17, 2008
i have to agree with the critics! I;m sorry but saw was very sloppy the ending was terrible... the should've stopped after the real jigsaw died!!! I mean way to pull some messed up character out of your ass... and a cop! and put him as i have to agree with the critics! I;m sorry but saw was very sloppy the ending was terrible... the should've stopped after the real jigsaw died!!! I mean way to pull some messed up character out of your ass... and a cop! and put him as the lead! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AndyR.Oct 23, 2008
Completely mediocre in every way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MattGOct 27, 2008
If you pay to see this movie, you'll get exactly what you expect: a terrible plot, gore, and plenty of laughable moments. Don't take it seriously and you'll have a good time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GeorgeMOct 27, 2008
is it a coincidence the Saw films have gotten consecutively worse and worse as the series has progressed???....getting more outlandish and unbelievable with each tell-tale flashback linking the new films to the old films via characters and is it a coincidence the Saw films have gotten consecutively worse and worse as the series has progressed???....getting more outlandish and unbelievable with each tell-tale flashback linking the new films to the old films via characters and scenarios, to the point where i think my mothers' sisters' former room-mate may be involved in all this. YES Saw 5 is silly and the traps are getting lamer and more uninspired, YES its worse than Saw 4, and YES we will have another one this time next year....you know this to be true because Saw 5 leaves holes the size of the moon open for interpretation in further installments. if you wanna see a gross out movie for Halloween....this will do the trick because while the traps aren't clever, they ARE brutal, bloody, and bone-crushingly nasty....this will fill your appetite for something bloody and pointless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ERG1008Aug 23, 2010
The fifth installment in the Saw series.
Again this is similar to the fourth one where it relies on flashbacks to link up the story so nothing really new. One or two nice traps again but the acting is dreadful. The tag line was "You won't
The fifth installment in the Saw series.
Again this is similar to the fourth one where it relies on flashbacks to link up the story so nothing really new. One or two nice traps again but the acting is dreadful. The tag line was "You won't believe how it ends" & it should have been "You won't believe how bad the acting is".
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieLonely94Oct 19, 2010
it won't bring new fans to the franchise, but Saw V is definitely worth a try.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
HalfwelshmanJun 17, 2012
Repeated instalments do little to lessen the impact of Jigsaw's "games", and new director David Hackl (promoted from his previous position as the franchise production designer) makes every scene look appropriately unpleasant. The new villain,Repeated instalments do little to lessen the impact of Jigsaw's "games", and new director David Hackl (promoted from his previous position as the franchise production designer) makes every scene look appropriately unpleasant. The new villain, ex-cop Mark Hoffman (Costas Mandylor) who has adopted Jigsaw's mantle, is far less scary, and a little bland in comparison to the layered and complex original Jigsaw and his terrifying protege Amanda. The explanation for Hoffman's monstrous actions are also not particularly satisfying or convincing - seemingly we're just meant to accept that he kills people because he had a bad day. Tobin Bell's scenes in flashback, a staple of the series since his character's death, are still the highlight, the cherry on top of a rather underwhelming cake. The victims in this film are all thoroughly unlikeable, two-dimensional and annoying, and you'll probably be begging for them to be killed off more rapidly. The plot generally holds your attention, and meets the quota for grisly thrills, but it doesn't advance the main story of the series very far, feeling more like Saw 4.5 than an entirely new installment, and the attempts by writers Patrick Melton and Marcus Dunstan at social commentary is laughable. At least the ending of the film is decent, and while not as unexpected as the first film's brilliant finale, it is at least visually striking and memorable, and allows Mandylor to to prove he has the potential to develop into a more frightening horror movie villain in the future. Though it still delivers what you watch a Saw film for - gore and unpleasantness, Saw V is largely forgettable, though it is a step up from the hugely inconsistent Saw IV. I find myself quite sad that series creators James Wan and Leigh Whannell have reduced their involvement to that of executive producers, as their energy, warped creativity and tight control over their intellectual property is sorely missed. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
potatoes351Oct 30, 2012
Ok another year another Saw film. Saw V actually is probably the best out of the newer films simply because it was just mindless fun. It seems that the convoluted crime drama plot is wearing thin so I cant even be bothered to follow itOk another year another Saw film. Saw V actually is probably the best out of the newer films simply because it was just mindless fun. It seems that the convoluted crime drama plot is wearing thin so I cant even be bothered to follow it anymore and im just watching it for the kills. This film is something about Detective Hoffman and that bloke from IV who didn't die (if you know who im on about kudos to you) sort of fighting each other to prove that the other is the Jigsaw killer when we already know who out of the two is the killer and it becomes a bit silly. Anyway some pretty good deaths especially in the final scene that was **** hard to watch but yet again, for the clingy fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
spollardMar 4, 2014
If you thought the last one of series was bad get ready for this one. This movie has two stories that do not relate to each other whatsoever. Similar to the last one there is a story that uncovers the truth of the Jigsaw character and anotherIf you thought the last one of series was bad get ready for this one. This movie has two stories that do not relate to each other whatsoever. Similar to the last one there is a story that uncovers the truth of the Jigsaw character and another where people are in his games. There is little known about that characters or their background especially those involved in the game. The other story again displays that hard police work is somehow a negative. Those who work the hardest and get closer to solving the case seem to suspect number one. Also for all those gore fans out there, this has less gore and it is under budget. Bad story, bad characters, bad actors, bad pacing gives this movie a 41.4 out of 100. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
horcrux2007Sep 4, 2014
"Saw V" is a low point in the series, but it's not the worst. The acting is pretty bad, and the story is somewhat boring. The traps scenes are great, though. I can only recommend this one for die hard fans of the series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews