Saw V

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 203 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 203
  2. Negative: 63 out of 203

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. IvelinMatev
    Dec 29, 2009
    10
    great movie!
  2. Nov 8, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I believe this was one of the best saw movies, it demonstrated what a human being would do in situations effectively. It has us on the edge of our seat on who will be the last man standing and sums up with an excellent twist. Expand
  3. RolandG.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Classic Saw movie better then Saw 4. Storyline is awesome loved it.
  4. AndrewH.
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    This movie was so awesome. It was as good as the first and second film. I definitely recommend it to anyone who liked the previous saws. however it wasn't perfect, because they did leave some loose ends. Thats probably because of saw 6 next year! I can't wait!!!
  5. EddieD.
    Oct 25, 2008
    7
    There has already been a lot of hate for SAW V, but I honestly think everyone needs to back off. Yes, a lot of the movie was flashbacks, but I really think that's what the fans asked for after SAW IV came out. It seems like this movie is mostly trying to make room for SAW VI, so don't expect a masterpiece. The movie goes further into Hoffman's motive and what happens after There has already been a lot of hate for SAW V, but I honestly think everyone needs to back off. Yes, a lot of the movie was flashbacks, but I really think that's what the fans asked for after SAW IV came out. It seems like this movie is mostly trying to make room for SAW VI, so don't expect a masterpiece. The movie goes further into Hoffman's motive and what happens after the end of SAW IV. And that's another thing. It's really impossible to like this movie if you haven't seen the previous 4 movies. Most people are ticked off that there are 'a million saws' and stuff like 'they should have stopped at 3'. SAW also has its competitor, High School Musical 3. A lot of teenage from High School Musical say stuff like 'its just watching people getting tortured, High School Musical is way better.' But SAW is really actually a very smart series that has some big plotline twists, and stuff like that. But I seriously think that a lot of people who haven't even seen the movie just assume that its 90 minutes of people getting killed. Overall, this is a great addition to a fantastic movie series with lots of scary scenes, and an AMAZING end. But DO NOT see it if you don't know anything about the rest of the series, or else throughout the movie, you'll only be wondering what is going on. Expand
  6. JustinS.
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    Okay, this is probably the worst case of " The critics hate it, the audience loves it" I've ever seen. Sure there really isnt much of a twist but overall, the movie was pretty damn good. Much better than Saw IV. I'd probably rank it either 2nd or third.
  7. JoshuaL.
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    I understand that this series always gets a bad review but I personally LOVED it. This addition to the series is full of crazy twists and keeps you wondering all the way through.
  8. RemingtonW
    Oct 27, 2008
    9
    As a long time fan of the saw series I will not claim that any one of the individual movies is a masterpiece. Nor will I claim that the acting is great or the production values very high as well. To understand saw you have to have seen every single one. The story is full of plot twists and the 5th saw cleans up much of the confusion left by saw 3 and 4. As a whole, the series is great and As a long time fan of the saw series I will not claim that any one of the individual movies is a masterpiece. Nor will I claim that the acting is great or the production values very high as well. To understand saw you have to have seen every single one. The story is full of plot twists and the 5th saw cleans up much of the confusion left by saw 3 and 4. As a whole, the series is great and has been a 5 year tradition with my friends, week before Halloween go and see the new saw movie. At the end we leave each one, disturbed, frightened and generally confused waiting next year Expand
  9. IANWILKINSON
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    Once any Horror film goes past a sequel, people automatically have a blinkered view to any of the proceeding movies. Saw was amazing and revolutionary, the rest were very good in their own right. Saw V has gone back to basics but with more emphasis on story rather than gore. This franchise can't win with some people who have made their opinion before they've even cast eyes on Once any Horror film goes past a sequel, people automatically have a blinkered view to any of the proceeding movies. Saw was amazing and revolutionary, the rest were very good in their own right. Saw V has gone back to basics but with more emphasis on story rather than gore. This franchise can't win with some people who have made their opinion before they've even cast eyes on the movie!!! Expand
  10. DanT.
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    Cannot believe some people didn't like this! So funny! I was actually hurting, I laughed so much. Beginning to end, not one unfunny moment. Brilliant! Best Comedy I've seen!
  11. SebastienL.
    Oct 29, 2008
    9
    All of SAW sequel is not comparable to Friday the 13th or Halloween or even less Nightmare on Elm Street. This is way much better, the writers of these movies are amazing (you gotta be a bit crazy but...) I hope that they go at least up to SAW #10. Its a shame that Jigsaw is dead !!!
  12. ChrisK.
    Mar 1, 2009
    7
    Are these movies starting to get disgusting and to similar.
  13. JackH.
    Nov 19, 2008
    7
    Saw V was not the strongest in the series or the weakest. It was more sick than any of the others. It could of been a bit better with some of the traps. At leased two or three of the traps were just pointless, Strahms head box trap was brilliant, the pendulum is my favorite out of the whole series. It was a good movie but could of been made into something great.
  14. BrianP.
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    You Know What? To Hell with what the critics say. They have only one genre in their heads and Horror/Torture/Mystery is not any of them. SAW V was more of a clean up of the the previous 4 films and still giving us the suspense and terror as it always have. Besides, Tobin Bell has been making it look so good and you can't criticize actors who make movies draw many people's You Know What? To Hell with what the critics say. They have only one genre in their heads and Horror/Torture/Mystery is not any of them. SAW V was more of a clean up of the the previous 4 films and still giving us the suspense and terror as it always have. Besides, Tobin Bell has been making it look so good and you can't criticize actors who make movies draw many people's attention to keep watching. I say Critics such as THE NEW YORK TIMES can suck it cause they don't have the passion to see a film or to keep up with a story such as this. They have been breast fed too long. Keep it up James Wan and Leigh Whannel and everyone who makes these films. Don't let the critics get you. Your Fans are the Real Critics and they still stand aside with you awaiting for the next installment. ROCK ON EVERYONE ! ! ! ! ! ! Expand
  15. JackieB.
    Nov 3, 2008
    7
    Knowing the prequels really made this much more enjoyable than its meta-rating!!
  16. SandipP.
    Nov 6, 2008
    9
    I watched it yesterday and found it a wicked film, you need to watch all of them to get into it. The only part that put it slightly down is why the old man, the FBI agent was running around everywhere, when srath died anyway.
  17. DarzieP
    Dec 1, 2008
    9
    Contrary to common opinion, I actually believed that Saw V was one of the strongest entries in the series. I throughly enjoyed the film, especially the traps. While it did not really feel like a Saw film, I think that is what I liked about. The gore was not as intense as the previous two films which I prefer. The Long Haul scene is a powerful scene and was well done, only let down by some Contrary to common opinion, I actually believed that Saw V was one of the strongest entries in the series. I throughly enjoyed the film, especially the traps. While it did not really feel like a Saw film, I think that is what I liked about. The gore was not as intense as the previous two films which I prefer. The Long Haul scene is a powerful scene and was well done, only let down by some dodgy lines and questionable acting. My only main criticism is the 5 Become 1 traps, as they felt tacked on and ultimately unimportant to the story. At least the Trap House in Saw 2 had greater importance. The lack of a "Game Over" didn't take TOO much from the ending but it was sorely missed. But all in all, I enjoyed the film and would definately recommend a watch. Expand
  18. RossH.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    I actually really enjoyed this (I always assume the worst from sequels as usually they go downhill and die). Like Lowe said, the pieces didn't com together completely, but it doesn't really diminish the fact that there are a LOT of loose ends from previous in the series that are tied together now.
  19. BryceW.
    Oct 24, 2008
    8
    The Movies storyline was right on!!! I loved the movie, but was not to thrilled with the ending! Also it leaves you hanging on what happens with that Mrs. Tuck ladie??? Overall i think it was better then the other saws.. So yes i recommend everyone to check out this movie at least once
  20. LoweE.
    Oct 24, 2008
    7
    good movie but with no twist!where is the ending?in the end all the pieces don't come anywhere near being put together.
  21. MarcoM.
    Oct 25, 2008
    7
    Decent movie, especially for the die hard Saw fan but the film was way to short and half of it was flashbacks to 3-4. It had a pretty good Storyline though, expliaining Hoffman's involvement. Ending was decent although i would have chosen a differnt one. I think Saw 4 and 5 or 5 and 6 could probably be combined into one movie but where seperated for purposes of financial gain.
  22. AC
    Oct 25, 2008
    7
    I enjoyed it for what it was having seen the previous films. The flashbacks were a bit hectic but it told me what it needed too.
  23. D.S.U.
    Oct 25, 2008
    8
    Not a masterpiece, but better than the last two and a solid, smart continuation of the franchise with gore to spare. No big twist as promised (though the final scene is freaky), but entertaining nonetheless.
  24. IvelinMatev
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    great movie!
  25. ChetSavage
    Oct 27, 2008
    7
    Alright.
  26. BillyJoe
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    Kick ass movie.
  27. Corey
    Oct 28, 2008
    8
    Hey! Anybody that hasn't seen saw 1-4 cannot say anything about saw 5. Of course you didn't like it. Saw 5 spends its time explaning saw 1-4. If you went to the movie theater just tio see people get fu*ked up. then go watch an edited verision of just people getting killed. But, if you want to see a complicated story unfold then saw 5 is your best bet.
  28. JonathanC.
    Oct 24, 2008
    9
    Oh my god, i have just come back from seeing this film and all have to say is the critics need to stop slating films that are sequels. channel 4's own vortex gave this movie 1 out of 5???? i question if he had seen this film. go see it nuff said.
  29. RyanS
    Oct 24, 2008
    8
    Does anyone get that Saw 3/4/and now 5 are basically linked together and that it will all sum up on 6? I mean seriously, if u were able to put 3-6 together on just one movie, maybe then people will get what Jigsaw is all about, and find the meaning in what he does, and really disect the characterization, which is one of the greatest character developments i have ever seen. But if u were Does anyone get that Saw 3/4/and now 5 are basically linked together and that it will all sum up on 6? I mean seriously, if u were able to put 3-6 together on just one movie, maybe then people will get what Jigsaw is all about, and find the meaning in what he does, and really disect the characterization, which is one of the greatest character developments i have ever seen. But if u were to put all films together on one film, then people will just complain about being too many hours (reason why they break it up into 6 parts) Seriously, if u actually sit down, enjoy, watch, and listen, and pay close attention, and disect everything and see the big picture, u see how everything is connected where Saw VI is the BIG PAY OFF, so u get what Jigsaw's message and meaning was all about. The people that bash it are basically the ones that don't really see the true meaning and get what Jigsaw is talking about and getting at, just like his victims. It's like people actually think that Jigsaw is wanting people to die, when that is not it at all, just like the victims, u are missing the big picture. Its Jigsaw....puzzle...Meaning, put ALL the pieces together. Now soon u will have 6 movie pieces. WHen u put all of them together, u will get the BIG Picture, and hopefully than, the people will finally figure out just how great this series was. Expand
  30. AndrewB.
    Oct 24, 2008
    8
    The Saw series has stood above the rest in the horror genre by not just giving us a bunch of dumb teenagers running through the woods waiting to be killed, but by delivering a clever plot with characters that develop with each installment. Saw V does well with tying the knot between the previous films by taking what we know and teasing us with some more. As much as I'd love to praise The Saw series has stood above the rest in the horror genre by not just giving us a bunch of dumb teenagers running through the woods waiting to be killed, but by delivering a clever plot with characters that develop with each installment. Saw V does well with tying the knot between the previous films by taking what we know and teasing us with some more. As much as I'd love to praise this film for being more than just another horror movie, I can't help but point out the fact that some of the characters abandon sense. I can understand the feeling of self preservation, but I don't think they did a proper job relaying that feeling to the audience. The film also takes quite a bit of footage from previous films. At times, this made the film feel more like a rehash more than a brand new installment. Although, I would have to say this is a minor complaint as I haven't watched a Saw movie since Saw IV was in theatres and it was nice to have a refresher course. When all is said and done, Saw still stands above the crowd as an excellent horror film. Expand
  31. SpenceK.
    Oct 24, 2008
    7
    It was a good movie and clever like all the other SAW movies, but without the original jigsaw the movie doesn't seem as exciting. The movie also doesn't lacks a cliffhanger ending that all the other movies made great use of.
  32. JamesCurenton
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    Saw has been a great series. Saw 5 has a major message. As in Saw I, the movie is introducing the heir Hoffmann. In Saw 5 the writers are informing us how and why Jigsaw choose Hoffman. This is setting up for Saw 6. As I read, people are downing this movie but without Saw 5 we would not be informed how Hoffman was choosen by Jigsaw. In order to go forward in this series we have to fill in Saw has been a great series. Saw 5 has a major message. As in Saw I, the movie is introducing the heir Hoffmann. In Saw 5 the writers are informing us how and why Jigsaw choose Hoffman. This is setting up for Saw 6. As I read, people are downing this movie but without Saw 5 we would not be informed how Hoffman was choosen by Jigsaw. In order to go forward in this series we have to fill in the blanks and that is what Saw 5 does. Next year, I believe Saw 6 will be amazing, Hoffmann will make a great heir and start a new legacy of death traps. I give Saw 5 10/10 because as soon as it was over, I was mad because I wanted to know what will happen next. SAW is a great series. Expand
  33. Nov 25, 2011
    8
    It was actualyl rather fine, Probably one of the best in the series. Solid acting by the cast, Traps that didnt just focus on violence but really the idea of actual vengence and paying retribution towards the wrongs that the people in the traps commited. It ended perfectly imo.
  34. May 22, 2011
    8
    With John dead and his apprentice Hoffman taking over his legacy, I was worried this would be the worst Saw movie yet, but, while not perfect, he may be a great replacement, as his intelligence is almost on John's level, and his "games" are just as interesting, my only complaints are that when it shifts back and forth through time, it's a little jarring, as you never know when it's goingWith John dead and his apprentice Hoffman taking over his legacy, I was worried this would be the worst Saw movie yet, but, while not perfect, he may be a great replacement, as his intelligence is almost on John's level, and his "games" are just as interesting, my only complaints are that when it shifts back and forth through time, it's a little jarring, as you never know when it's going to happen, but Hoffman has definitely proved he could have what it takes to be the next Jigsaw. Expand
  35. Dec 5, 2011
    8
    Actually pretty good, Finally a film that focused more on acting then on horror. David Hackl did a wonderful job as director and its a shame he didnt do anymore films. The acting was good and the leads were great. The traps were not that scary (the final one was though) but it had a greater overall meaning then pretty much any other trap in the series. Overall it was pretty good.
  36. Feb 9, 2012
    8
    Mandylor and Patterson have an amazing back and forth (similar to Bell and Wahlberg in Saw 2) and it works perfectly through out the film. The traps are not scary though, Rather generic imo as well but the story behind the plot is interesting. The general plot (outside the traps) is interesting as well. What makes this film so good is Mandylor and Patterson, Its a must watch just to seeMandylor and Patterson have an amazing back and forth (similar to Bell and Wahlberg in Saw 2) and it works perfectly through out the film. The traps are not scary though, Rather generic imo as well but the story behind the plot is interesting. The general plot (outside the traps) is interesting as well. What makes this film so good is Mandylor and Patterson, Its a must watch just to see the two of them go against each other. Expand
  37. Mar 4, 2014
    7
    The fight between Hoffman and Strahm is well done, but it's too long. I also enjoyed the meetings between John Kramer and Hoffman. The first trap is very intense and the last one my favourite trap. So it's a little bit better than Saw IV for me.
Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 9 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Jan 27, 2013
    50
    Hackl weaves scenes from the previous films into this one in clever ways, without adding to the confusion. The director also does a good job of maintaining the dark tone, which includes FBI offices that look as if they're being illuminated by night-lights, and dungeons that look as if you'd catch a venereal disease or two just by touching the door handles.
  2. This year's installment is as disappointing as a Halloween bag filled with nothing but raisins.
  3. By-the-numbers retread.