Lionsgate | Release Date: October 24, 2008
5.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 220 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
96
Mixed:
57
Negative:
67
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
EpicLadySpongeApr 5, 2016
When you officially run out of ideas, just think of another sequel to the Saw franchise to gain even more money than the first four installments and make it official. Thing is... this Saw installment hasn't even changed a single tiny bit at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
MovieManiac83Apr 25, 2015
Give the Saw franchise credit for sticking to its original vision, as repugnant and hypocritical as it is. Collectively, Saw's torture-porn series has grossed more than $500 million worldwide, yet its sequels still look like they cost theGive the Saw franchise credit for sticking to its original vision, as repugnant and hypocritical as it is. Collectively, Saw's torture-porn series has grossed more than $500 million worldwide, yet its sequels still look like they cost the catering budget of a studio horror film. David Hackl, the production designer for Saw II, III, and IV, graduates from hurling buckets of slime all over the film's grimy torture-dungeon sets to directing, but at this point, the series pretty much writes and directs itself. The driving force is inertia and commercial calculation, not inspiration.

Scott Patterson stars as a hard-charging FBI agent who survives one of the nefarious traps set by the Jigsaw Killer (Tobin Bell), then begins to investigate shadowy cop Costas Mandylor, a survivor of the bloodshed that ended Saw IV. For the audience's benefit, Patterson considerately announces the implications of every new clue he picks up, even when he's alone; apparently, he's unfamiliar with the concept of interior monologue. Patterson's investigation leads to plenty of flashbacks involving Bell, who, as in Saw IV, logs plenty of screen time even though he died two installments ago. Meanwhile, five hapless souls battle to survive another of Bell's sadistic games of death.

Saw V devotes so much time and energy to flashbacks and recycling footage from its predecessors that it threatens to implode. The film unwisely skimps on the gore in favor of endless scenes of Bell espousing his, um, unique philosophy of self improvement through surviving horrible ordeals—he's like the world's grisliest life coach—and the mystery plot grows less interesting with each passing frame. The death-trap scenes, always the franchise's money shots, feel like half-baked afterthoughts, and the plotting and deaths lack the scuzzy ingenuity of the film's predecessors. Saw V jumps back and forth in time in ways that are confusing to downright incoherent, but chronology isn't the only thing that's hopelessly muddled in this punishingly arbitrary retread.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MarickFeb 24, 2015
Sorry to say this, but the Saw series gets becoming worse. I do not understand the point of this film. For me it is just a continuation which is pointless. The long half hour of the film, that it does not make anything interesting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
horcrux2007Sep 4, 2014
"Saw V" is a low point in the series, but it's not the worst. The acting is pretty bad, and the story is somewhat boring. The traps scenes are great, though. I can only recommend this one for die hard fans of the series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
spollardMar 4, 2014
If you thought the last one of series was bad get ready for this one. This movie has two stories that do not relate to each other whatsoever. Similar to the last one there is a story that uncovers the truth of the Jigsaw character and anotherIf you thought the last one of series was bad get ready for this one. This movie has two stories that do not relate to each other whatsoever. Similar to the last one there is a story that uncovers the truth of the Jigsaw character and another where people are in his games. There is little known about that characters or their background especially those involved in the game. The other story again displays that hard police work is somehow a negative. Those who work the hardest and get closer to solving the case seem to suspect number one. Also for all those gore fans out there, this has less gore and it is under budget. Bad story, bad characters, bad actors, bad pacing gives this movie a 41.4 out of 100. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MichMartMar 4, 2014
The fight between Hoffman and Strahm is well done, but it's too long. I also enjoyed the meetings between John Kramer and Hoffman. The first trap is very intense and the last one my favourite trap. So it's a little bit better than Saw IV for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
OfficialNov 2, 2013
Ok, I really just don't see the point of continuing on with the Saw series. "Saw IV" was already garbage and guess what? "Saw V" is even worse. It's dull and sloppily filmed as if the budget has shrunken massively. "Saw V" is a terribleOk, I really just don't see the point of continuing on with the Saw series. "Saw IV" was already garbage and guess what? "Saw V" is even worse. It's dull and sloppily filmed as if the budget has shrunken massively. "Saw V" is a terrible combination: grisly and tedious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Annoymous1May 3, 2013
Beyond this I only liked the Pendulum and Agent Strahm's death it was not good at all. But put all five movies together that this can enter the trash DVD list. I am still hoping that Saw VI is better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
potatoes351Oct 30, 2012
Ok another year another Saw film. Saw V actually is probably the best out of the newer films simply because it was just mindless fun. It seems that the convoluted crime drama plot is wearing thin so I cant even be bothered to follow itOk another year another Saw film. Saw V actually is probably the best out of the newer films simply because it was just mindless fun. It seems that the convoluted crime drama plot is wearing thin so I cant even be bothered to follow it anymore and im just watching it for the kills. This film is something about Detective Hoffman and that bloke from IV who didn't die (if you know who im on about kudos to you) sort of fighting each other to prove that the other is the Jigsaw killer when we already know who out of the two is the killer and it becomes a bit silly. Anyway some pretty good deaths especially in the final scene that was **** hard to watch but yet again, for the clingy fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
HalfwelshmanJun 17, 2012
Repeated instalments do little to lessen the impact of Jigsaw's "games", and new director David Hackl (promoted from his previous position as the franchise production designer) makes every scene look appropriately unpleasant. The new villain,Repeated instalments do little to lessen the impact of Jigsaw's "games", and new director David Hackl (promoted from his previous position as the franchise production designer) makes every scene look appropriately unpleasant. The new villain, ex-cop Mark Hoffman (Costas Mandylor) who has adopted Jigsaw's mantle, is far less scary, and a little bland in comparison to the layered and complex original Jigsaw and his terrifying protege Amanda. The explanation for Hoffman's monstrous actions are also not particularly satisfying or convincing - seemingly we're just meant to accept that he kills people because he had a bad day. Tobin Bell's scenes in flashback, a staple of the series since his character's death, are still the highlight, the cherry on top of a rather underwhelming cake. The victims in this film are all thoroughly unlikeable, two-dimensional and annoying, and you'll probably be begging for them to be killed off more rapidly. The plot generally holds your attention, and meets the quota for grisly thrills, but it doesn't advance the main story of the series very far, feeling more like Saw 4.5 than an entirely new installment, and the attempts by writers Patrick Melton and Marcus Dunstan at social commentary is laughable. At least the ending of the film is decent, and while not as unexpected as the first film's brilliant finale, it is at least visually striking and memorable, and allows Mandylor to to prove he has the potential to develop into a more frightening horror movie villain in the future. Though it still delivers what you watch a Saw film for - gore and unpleasantness, Saw V is largely forgettable, though it is a step up from the hugely inconsistent Saw IV. I find myself quite sad that series creators James Wan and Leigh Whannell have reduced their involvement to that of executive producers, as their energy, warped creativity and tight control over their intellectual property is sorely missed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobFeb 9, 2012
Mandylor and Patterson have an amazing back and forth (similar to Bell and Wahlberg in Saw 2) and it works perfectly through out the film. The traps are not scary though, Rather generic imo as well but the story behind the plot isMandylor and Patterson have an amazing back and forth (similar to Bell and Wahlberg in Saw 2) and it works perfectly through out the film. The traps are not scary though, Rather generic imo as well but the story behind the plot is interesting. The general plot (outside the traps) is interesting as well. What makes this film so good is Mandylor and Patterson, Its a must watch just to see the two of them go against each other. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
spadenxDec 5, 2011
Actually pretty good, Finally a film that focused more on acting then on horror. David Hackl did a wonderful job as director and its a shame he didnt do anymore films. The acting was good and the leads were great. The traps were not thatActually pretty good, Finally a film that focused more on acting then on horror. David Hackl did a wonderful job as director and its a shame he didnt do anymore films. The acting was good and the leads were great. The traps were not that scary (the final one was though) but it had a greater overall meaning then pretty much any other trap in the series. Overall it was pretty good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
asylumspadezNov 25, 2011
It was actualyl rather fine, Probably one of the best in the series. Solid acting by the cast, Traps that didnt just focus on violence but really the idea of actual vengence and paying retribution towards the wrongs that the people in theIt was actualyl rather fine, Probably one of the best in the series. Solid acting by the cast, Traps that didnt just focus on violence but really the idea of actual vengence and paying retribution towards the wrongs that the people in the traps commited. It ended perfectly imo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
grandpajoe6191Sep 21, 2011
My god...I can't believe they dragged a brilliant film into a **** up franchise with exaggerated Cliches and preposterous plot twists. "Saw 5", a disgusting movie filled with 'gore' but no 'horror', precisely proves my statement. You have toMy god...I can't believe they dragged a brilliant film into a **** up franchise with exaggerated Cliches and preposterous plot twists. "Saw 5", a disgusting movie filled with 'gore' but no 'horror', precisely proves my statement. You have to stop your game, Jigsaw. It's not scary anymore Collapse
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerMay 22, 2011
With John dead and his apprentice Hoffman taking over his legacy, I was worried this would be the worst Saw movie yet, but, while not perfect, he may be a great replacement, as his intelligence is almost on John's level, and his "games" areWith John dead and his apprentice Hoffman taking over his legacy, I was worried this would be the worst Saw movie yet, but, while not perfect, he may be a great replacement, as his intelligence is almost on John's level, and his "games" are just as interesting, my only complaints are that when it shifts back and forth through time, it's a little jarring, as you never know when it's going to happen, but Hoffman has definitely proved he could have what it takes to be the next Jigsaw. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
FitriAmirrolNov 21, 2010
Fails explicitly to live up to the success of the third, the franchise has now tumbled into what it was trying to avoid to be in the first place - pure, narcissistic blood-gushing torture porn. The moral of the story is now overlooked andFails explicitly to live up to the success of the third, the franchise has now tumbled into what it was trying to avoid to be in the first place - pure, narcissistic blood-gushing torture porn. The moral of the story is now overlooked and almost neglected, and each scene is all about wanting to please the mentally-unstable gore fans. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
LegalsNov 8, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I believe this was one of the best saw movies, it demonstrated what a human being would do in situations effectively. It has us on the edge of our seat on who will be the last man standing and sums up with an excellent twist. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
MovieLonely94Oct 19, 2010
it won't bring new fans to the franchise, but Saw V is definitely worth a try.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ERG1008Aug 23, 2010
The fifth installment in the Saw series.
Again this is similar to the fourth one where it relies on flashbacks to link up the story so nothing really new. One or two nice traps again but the acting is dreadful. The tag line was "You won't
The fifth installment in the Saw series.
Again this is similar to the fourth one where it relies on flashbacks to link up the story so nothing really new. One or two nice traps again but the acting is dreadful. The tag line was "You won't believe how it ends" & it should have been "You won't believe how bad the acting is".
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
IvelinMatevDec 29, 2009
great movie!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
ChrisK.Mar 1, 2009
Are these movies starting to get disgusting and to similar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TimEJan 31, 2009
I've seen all the Saw movies and this one was really weak. The plot was sort of nothing, the "game" itsself was really short. I think this series is done.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
danieldanielJan 25, 2009
saw is the most disgusting thing ever,how can any of you saw saw 1-4 are the best is it nice watching others get tortured, i know it is only a movie but a movie represents something i am not saying dont watch em but still you cant say they saw is the most disgusting thing ever,how can any of you saw saw 1-4 are the best is it nice watching others get tortured, i know it is only a movie but a movie represents something i am not saying dont watch em but still you cant say they give you anything you to learn Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
mauriciol.Jan 22, 2009
Ok , if u have seen all the others u have to see this one ,. i really liked it. and it really gives a concluicion to all of the otthers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JayHJan 18, 2009
Unpleasant people doing extremely unpleasant things. My, what fun! Extremely gory and nasty, not much of a plot. The acting is fair. Pointless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JessicaS.Jan 13, 2009
At first I was a big Saw fan as i enjoy gory horror films, and i like all of the games throughout the films. This Saw went so far away from the first movie it was unbelievable, After all when you go to watch a horror you do expect blood, all At first I was a big Saw fan as i enjoy gory horror films, and i like all of the games throughout the films. This Saw went so far away from the first movie it was unbelievable, After all when you go to watch a horror you do expect blood, all there was in this was one game which was crap, a plot that jumped around from 1 saw to another throughout it made you feel dizzy and a ending which was a total let down, i mean i love saw 1 but it has now got terribly numb. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SawnoM.Jan 10, 2009
Saw 1 and 3 were great, (i personally prefer three) saw 2 was alright, but saw 4 was pretty bad. by saw 4 they were making shit up and production values were getting lower. But by saw five... well lets just say it was MORTIFYING.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DiegoL.Jan 5, 2009
It was a disapointment... "Saw IV" was pretty good and surprised me. This one is confusing. There's no more history to tell, and they already making things up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AronJ.Dec 1, 2008
The first saw was amazing, everyone after become progressively worse, and five is as bad as it gets. The acting was horrid, the production was horrid, as well with every other aspect
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DarziePDec 1, 2008
Contrary to common opinion, I actually believed that Saw V was one of the strongest entries in the series. I throughly enjoyed the film, especially the traps. While it did not really feel like a Saw film, I think that is what I liked about. Contrary to common opinion, I actually believed that Saw V was one of the strongest entries in the series. I throughly enjoyed the film, especially the traps. While it did not really feel like a Saw film, I think that is what I liked about. The gore was not as intense as the previous two films which I prefer. The Long Haul scene is a powerful scene and was well done, only let down by some dodgy lines and questionable acting. My only main criticism is the 5 Become 1 traps, as they felt tacked on and ultimately unimportant to the story. At least the Trap House in Saw 2 had greater importance. The lack of a "Game Over" didn't take TOO much from the ending but it was sorely missed. But all in all, I enjoyed the film and would definately recommend a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
EdgarV.Nov 26, 2008
The first was a great movie that was different, fresh, gory and very pleasurable to watch because of its unexpected turns and sense of latent diziness and ignorance... then came the second, not exactly better than the first but twice as fun, The first was a great movie that was different, fresh, gory and very pleasurable to watch because of its unexpected turns and sense of latent diziness and ignorance... then came the second, not exactly better than the first but twice as fun, then the third, not interesting but watchable, fourth was a pain in the... blah, blah... you get the picture. It should have been "Game Over" after the third right? And now the fifth? This is not even worth seeing, the acting is bad, the story is not interesting anymore, the ending sucks- lest not we forget that the cliffhangers on the endings of the first three were awesome- and so on... on top of a confusing "back and forth" script structure that explains events from the past that are not important at all... Avoid seeing unless you are a devoted fan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JackH.Nov 19, 2008
Saw V was not the strongest in the series or the weakest. It was more sick than any of the others. It could of been a bit better with some of the traps. At leased two or three of the traps were just pointless, Strahms head box trap was Saw V was not the strongest in the series or the weakest. It was more sick than any of the others. It could of been a bit better with some of the traps. At leased two or three of the traps were just pointless, Strahms head box trap was brilliant, the pendulum is my favorite out of the whole series. It was a good movie but could of been made into something great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KendraP.Nov 17, 2008
i have to agree with the critics! I;m sorry but saw was very sloppy the ending was terrible... the should've stopped after the real jigsaw died!!! I mean way to pull some messed up character out of your ass... and a cop! and put him as i have to agree with the critics! I;m sorry but saw was very sloppy the ending was terrible... the should've stopped after the real jigsaw died!!! I mean way to pull some messed up character out of your ass... and a cop! and put him as the lead! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GregC.Nov 16, 2008
Four was pushing it. Five is too much- this movie was unbearable to watch and was a complete waste of an afternoon, which I will never get back.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChelseaC.Nov 6, 2008
I don' t know if anyone else noticed this in their viewing of this movie, but you could see the microphones they use to hear the actors. It was hanging down the entire movie, and the shots were always off-center. Poor production from a I don' t know if anyone else noticed this in their viewing of this movie, but you could see the microphones they use to hear the actors. It was hanging down the entire movie, and the shots were always off-center. Poor production from a movie I expect a lot from. And the story was completely lost in this. They should have stopped at 3. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SandipP.Nov 6, 2008
I watched it yesterday and found it a wicked film, you need to watch all of them to get into it. The only part that put it slightly down is why the old man, the FBI agent was running around everywhere, when srath died anyway.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
R.G.Nov 5, 2008
Why did they made this movie, is it for more money from the jigsaw success. There is a simple formula to know the rating of these movies -2 each movie saw 1= a perfect 10 awesome movie to remember, saw 2 = 8 good but you already expect what Why did they made this movie, is it for more money from the jigsaw success. There is a simple formula to know the rating of these movies -2 each movie saw 1= a perfect 10 awesome movie to remember, saw 2 = 8 good but you already expect what will happened, saw 3 = 6 its starting to become more of the same, saw 4 = 4 I would gladly wait longer for the release of the next chapter if it means a better movie, Saw 5 = 2 I just don't understand why was this garbage released. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JackieB.Nov 3, 2008
Knowing the prequels really made this much more enjoyable than its meta-rating!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SeanA.Nov 3, 2008
A thriller/horror that does not thrill nor horrify. Dull story and you'd probably fall asleep in the middle with too much unnecessary flashbacks and not enough gore to boot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianP.Nov 2, 2008
You Know What? To Hell with what the critics say. They have only one genre in their heads and Horror/Torture/Mystery is not any of them. SAW V was more of a clean up of the the previous 4 films and still giving us the suspense and terror as You Know What? To Hell with what the critics say. They have only one genre in their heads and Horror/Torture/Mystery is not any of them. SAW V was more of a clean up of the the previous 4 films and still giving us the suspense and terror as it always have. Besides, Tobin Bell has been making it look so good and you can't criticize actors who make movies draw many people's attention to keep watching. I say Critics such as THE NEW YORK TIMES can suck it cause they don't have the passion to see a film or to keep up with a story such as this. They have been breast fed too long. Keep it up James Wan and Leigh Whannel and everyone who makes these films. Don't let the critics get you. Your Fans are the Real Critics and they still stand aside with you awaiting for the next installment. ROCK ON EVERYONE ! ! ! ! ! ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ToddS.Nov 2, 2008
You would think that after killing the protagonist off 2 movies ago, and receiving worse and worse ratings after each movie, that Lionsgate would be done here. But Jigsaw isn't dead yet. He's never dead. As long as Lionsgate keeps You would think that after killing the protagonist off 2 movies ago, and receiving worse and worse ratings after each movie, that Lionsgate would be done here. But Jigsaw isn't dead yet. He's never dead. As long as Lionsgate keeps pulling Jigsaw apprentices out of nowhere, kills them off, and repeats that process, Saw will continue. Saw 5 was truly a horrible movie. Production values, low. The traps, not so clever. The actors, bad. The ending, terrible. I really wouldn't even recommend this to hardcore Saw fans, which I am. I still kick myself to this day for wasting money on this horrible movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SebastienL.Oct 29, 2008
All of SAW sequel is not comparable to Friday the 13th or Halloween or even less Nightmare on Elm Street. This is way much better, the writers of these movies are amazing (you gotta be a bit crazy but...) I hope that they go at least up to All of SAW sequel is not comparable to Friday the 13th or Halloween or even less Nightmare on Elm Street. This is way much better, the writers of these movies are amazing (you gotta be a bit crazy but...) I hope that they go at least up to SAW #10. Its a shame that Jigsaw is dead !!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanT.Oct 29, 2008
Cannot believe some people didn't like this! So funny! I was actually hurting, I laughed so much. Beginning to end, not one unfunny moment. Brilliant! Best Comedy I've seen!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CoreyOct 28, 2008
Hey! Anybody that hasn't seen saw 1-4 cannot say anything about saw 5. Of course you didn't like it. Saw 5 spends its time explaning saw 1-4. If you went to the movie theater just tio see people get fu*ked up. then go watch an Hey! Anybody that hasn't seen saw 1-4 cannot say anything about saw 5. Of course you didn't like it. Saw 5 spends its time explaning saw 1-4. If you went to the movie theater just tio see people get fu*ked up. then go watch an edited verision of just people getting killed. But, if you want to see a complicated story unfold then saw 5 is your best bet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IANWILKINSONOct 28, 2008
Once any Horror film goes past a sequel, people automatically have a blinkered view to any of the proceeding movies. Saw was amazing and revolutionary, the rest were very good in their own right. Saw V has gone back to basics but with more Once any Horror film goes past a sequel, people automatically have a blinkered view to any of the proceeding movies. Saw was amazing and revolutionary, the rest were very good in their own right. Saw V has gone back to basics but with more emphasis on story rather than gore. This franchise can't win with some people who have made their opinion before they've even cast eyes on the movie!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChetSavageOct 27, 2008
Alright.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnSmithOct 27, 2008
Truly a waste of time and money, friend convinced me to go and see it with her, waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesCurentonOct 27, 2008
Saw has been a great series. Saw 5 has a major message. As in Saw I, the movie is introducing the heir Hoffmann. In Saw 5 the writers are informing us how and why Jigsaw choose Hoffman. This is setting up for Saw 6. As I read, people are Saw has been a great series. Saw 5 has a major message. As in Saw I, the movie is introducing the heir Hoffmann. In Saw 5 the writers are informing us how and why Jigsaw choose Hoffman. This is setting up for Saw 6. As I read, people are downing this movie but without Saw 5 we would not be informed how Hoffman was choosen by Jigsaw. In order to go forward in this series we have to fill in the blanks and that is what Saw 5 does. Next year, I believe Saw 6 will be amazing, Hoffmann will make a great heir and start a new legacy of death traps. I give Saw 5 10/10 because as soon as it was over, I was mad because I wanted to know what will happen next. SAW is a great series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
GeorgeMOct 27, 2008
is it a coincidence the Saw films have gotten consecutively worse and worse as the series has progressed???....getting more outlandish and unbelievable with each tell-tale flashback linking the new films to the old films via characters and is it a coincidence the Saw films have gotten consecutively worse and worse as the series has progressed???....getting more outlandish and unbelievable with each tell-tale flashback linking the new films to the old films via characters and scenarios, to the point where i think my mothers' sisters' former room-mate may be involved in all this. YES Saw 5 is silly and the traps are getting lamer and more uninspired, YES its worse than Saw 4, and YES we will have another one this time next year....you know this to be true because Saw 5 leaves holes the size of the moon open for interpretation in further installments. if you wanna see a gross out movie for Halloween....this will do the trick because while the traps aren't clever, they ARE brutal, bloody, and bone-crushingly nasty....this will fill your appetite for something bloody and pointless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RobDentOct 27, 2008
The scariest part about this movie was me knowing i couldn't get a refund, The HORROR!!!!! It was that bad. Sloppy job of putting everything together and loopholes everywhere.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MattGOct 27, 2008
If you pay to see this movie, you'll get exactly what you expect: a terrible plot, gore, and plenty of laughable moments. Don't take it seriously and you'll have a good time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RemingtonWOct 27, 2008
As a long time fan of the saw series I will not claim that any one of the individual movies is a masterpiece. Nor will I claim that the acting is great or the production values very high as well. To understand saw you have to have seen every As a long time fan of the saw series I will not claim that any one of the individual movies is a masterpiece. Nor will I claim that the acting is great or the production values very high as well. To understand saw you have to have seen every single one. The story is full of plot twists and the 5th saw cleans up much of the confusion left by saw 3 and 4. As a whole, the series is great and has been a 5 year tradition with my friends, week before Halloween go and see the new saw movie. At the end we leave each one, disturbed, frightened and generally confused waiting next year Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyJoeOct 27, 2008
Kick ass movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AlecBousquetOct 27, 2008
Personally Saw 1 2 and 3 were i thought to be a very good series alone.. Then you make saw 4?..witch wasnt as bad as i predicted.. but Saw 5.. come on now.. this serious is going down the drain just like the friday the 13th, hellraiser, and Personally Saw 1 2 and 3 were i thought to be a very good series alone.. Then you make saw 4?..witch wasnt as bad as i predicted.. but Saw 5.. come on now.. this serious is going down the drain just like the friday the 13th, hellraiser, and halloween series's. Saw 5 had nothing at all..even the traps are dumb.. You need only one thing to make the Saw Franchise good and thats jigsaw..but he died in saw 3.. the only reason why they keep making more saw movies is because eveybody including myself buys tickets to go see it every halloween and believe it or not when they make saw 6 next year everybodys going to see that too.. Saw is finally dead... Game over Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IvelinMatevOct 27, 2008
great movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshuaL.Oct 26, 2008
I understand that this series always gets a bad review but I personally LOVED it. This addition to the series is full of crazy twists and keeps you wondering all the way through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AnonymousOct 26, 2008
The Saw 'franchise' is an example of Hollywood at its worst. Take an interesting indie film and turn it into a series of boring, identikit, brain-dead films. Saw should have never been a 'franchise'. It should have been The Saw 'franchise' is an example of Hollywood at its worst. Take an interesting indie film and turn it into a series of boring, identikit, brain-dead films. Saw should have never been a 'franchise'. It should have been one standalone movie. Funny how the first movie is good and all the sequels are terrible. Could that be because they're trying to pull story out of their arse and add to a film that had no more story to tell once it ended? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EddieD.Oct 25, 2008
There has already been a lot of hate for SAW V, but I honestly think everyone needs to back off. Yes, a lot of the movie was flashbacks, but I really think that's what the fans asked for after SAW IV came out. It seems like this movie There has already been a lot of hate for SAW V, but I honestly think everyone needs to back off. Yes, a lot of the movie was flashbacks, but I really think that's what the fans asked for after SAW IV came out. It seems like this movie is mostly trying to make room for SAW VI, so don't expect a masterpiece. The movie goes further into Hoffman's motive and what happens after the end of SAW IV. And that's another thing. It's really impossible to like this movie if you haven't seen the previous 4 movies. Most people are ticked off that there are 'a million saws' and stuff like 'they should have stopped at 3'. SAW also has its competitor, High School Musical 3. A lot of teenage from High School Musical say stuff like 'its just watching people getting tortured, High School Musical is way better.' But SAW is really actually a very smart series that has some big plotline twists, and stuff like that. But I seriously think that a lot of people who haven't even seen the movie just assume that its 90 minutes of people getting killed. Overall, this is a great addition to a fantastic movie series with lots of scary scenes, and an AMAZING end. But DO NOT see it if you don't know anything about the rest of the series, or else throughout the movie, you'll only be wondering what is going on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AustinB.Oct 25, 2008
It was a decent enough film to watch if you have nothing better to do. Although there really was no twist at the end of the movie, I greatly preferred it to the fourth iteration, as it actually seemed to GO somewhere. They really didn't It was a decent enough film to watch if you have nothing better to do. Although there really was no twist at the end of the movie, I greatly preferred it to the fourth iteration, as it actually seemed to GO somewhere. They really didn't try for a twist in this one, which I consider to be better than trying to create one and failing miserably. As I said before, go and see it if you have nothing better to do and wish to get a glimpse into the mind of the man who was the Jigsaw Killer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MattKOct 25, 2008
It doesn't seem like they know how to progress the franchise at all. This doesn't even play out much like its own movie, but a grand prologue for parts six and seven. There are definitely wince-inducing moments, but after the It doesn't seem like they know how to progress the franchise at all. This doesn't even play out much like its own movie, but a grand prologue for parts six and seven. There are definitely wince-inducing moments, but after the opening scene (which I'll admit, I thought was kind of good), there was nothing resembling tension throughout the rest of the movie. Just a ton of idiots killing each other and limp acting all around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarcoM.Oct 25, 2008
Decent movie, especially for the die hard Saw fan but the film was way to short and half of it was flashbacks to 3-4. It had a pretty good Storyline though, expliaining Hoffman's involvement. Ending was decent although i would have Decent movie, especially for the die hard Saw fan but the film was way to short and half of it was flashbacks to 3-4. It had a pretty good Storyline though, expliaining Hoffman's involvement. Ending was decent although i would have chosen a differnt one. I think Saw 4 and 5 or 5 and 6 could probably be combined into one movie but where seperated for purposes of financial gain. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
EileenB.Oct 25, 2008
Zzzzz oh,it's over. Damn, I could have used a longer nap. BORING, and a waste of $11. Should have stopped after the third one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
GretchenSOct 25, 2008
Do you honestly expect this movie to have a high rating? C'mon, it's Saw.. It's more like a cult following. Surely nobody's expecting an Oscar winning performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
D.S.U.Oct 25, 2008
Not a masterpiece, but better than the last two and a solid, smart continuation of the franchise with gore to spare. No big twist as promised (though the final scene is freaky), but entertaining nonetheless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JustinS.Oct 25, 2008
Okay, this is probably the worst case of " The critics hate it, the audience loves it" I've ever seen. Sure there really isnt much of a twist but overall, the movie was pretty damn good. Much better than Saw IV. I'd probably rank Okay, this is probably the worst case of " The critics hate it, the audience loves it" I've ever seen. Sure there really isnt much of a twist but overall, the movie was pretty damn good. Much better than Saw IV. I'd probably rank it either 2nd or third. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ACOct 25, 2008
I enjoyed it for what it was having seen the previous films. The flashbacks were a bit hectic but it told me what it needed too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChadS.Oct 25, 2008
Danny Glover in "Saw", that was unexpected. Then again, after Miles Davis lended his sax to a Scritti Politti track("Oh, Patti(Don't Feel Sorry for Loverboy) from the album "Provision"), nothing could ever surprise me to quite that Danny Glover in "Saw", that was unexpected. Then again, after Miles Davis lended his sax to a Scritti Politti track("Oh, Patti(Don't Feel Sorry for Loverboy) from the album "Provision"), nothing could ever surprise me to quite that extent again. Davis actually went so far as to cover "Perfect Way"(from "Cupid and Psyche '85); he thought Green Gartside was a musical genius. Some music critic, at the time(I think it was Rob Sheffield), called Davis' assessment about Scritti Politti's music, "a cry for help". Glover, on the other hand, participated in the original "Saw", strictly for the money. By lending his name, he gave the low-budget film some credibility, just as Donald Pleasance did in John Carpenter's "Halloween". Now Glover is back, sort of, as a black and white image on a 8 X 11 photograph, and a flashback. Since "Saw", Glover has worked with Lars Von Trier, Michel Gondry, Fernando Merilles, and John Sayles. Thanks to "Saw", Glover underwent a renaissance. He became relevant again(the "Lethal Weapon" star was also in Bill Condon's "Dreamgirls"). Filmmakers saw "Saw"; saw his cry for help, and put his talent to better use. That 8 X 11 glossy, that flashback, are probably the classiest moments in "Saw V". Maybe seeing the last three sequels would help me understand whatever subtleties lie in this poorly photographed, poorly acted film, but being "Saw"-literate still wouldn't make the "creative" murders any more easier to stomach. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewH.Oct 25, 2008
This movie was so awesome. It was as good as the first and second film. I definitely recommend it to anyone who liked the previous saws. however it wasn't perfect, because they did leave some loose ends. Thats probably because of saw 6 This movie was so awesome. It was as good as the first and second film. I definitely recommend it to anyone who liked the previous saws. however it wasn't perfect, because they did leave some loose ends. Thats probably because of saw 6 next year! I can't wait!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MichaelB.Oct 24, 2008
Wicked awesome Saw V is super-cool this is a run-on sentence I can't find the period key what's going on somebody please stop me... Sorry, I went into a Roland G.-like frenzy there. No, but seriously, the movie is awful. Wicked awesome Saw V is super-cool this is a run-on sentence I can't find the period key what's going on somebody please stop me... Sorry, I went into a Roland G.-like frenzy there. No, but seriously, the movie is awful. You're better off spending an afternoon knitting a nice sweater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SpenceK.Oct 24, 2008
It was a good movie and clever like all the other SAW movies, but without the original jigsaw the movie doesn't seem as exciting. The movie also doesn't lacks a cliffhanger ending that all the other movies made great use of.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndrewB.Oct 24, 2008
The Saw series has stood above the rest in the horror genre by not just giving us a bunch of dumb teenagers running through the woods waiting to be killed, but by delivering a clever plot with characters that develop with each installment. The Saw series has stood above the rest in the horror genre by not just giving us a bunch of dumb teenagers running through the woods waiting to be killed, but by delivering a clever plot with characters that develop with each installment. Saw V does well with tying the knot between the previous films by taking what we know and teasing us with some more. As much as I'd love to praise this film for being more than just another horror movie, I can't help but point out the fact that some of the characters abandon sense. I can understand the feeling of self preservation, but I don't think they did a proper job relaying that feeling to the audience. The film also takes quite a bit of footage from previous films. At times, this made the film feel more like a rehash more than a brand new installment. Although, I would have to say this is a minor complaint as I haven't watched a Saw movie since Saw IV was in theatres and it was nice to have a refresher course. When all is said and done, Saw still stands above the crowd as an excellent horror film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BryceW.Oct 24, 2008
The Movies storyline was right on!!! I loved the movie, but was not to thrilled with the ending! Also it leaves you hanging on what happens with that Mrs. Tuck ladie??? Overall i think it was better then the other saws.. So yes i recommend The Movies storyline was right on!!! I loved the movie, but was not to thrilled with the ending! Also it leaves you hanging on what happens with that Mrs. Tuck ladie??? Overall i think it was better then the other saws.. So yes i recommend everyone to check out this movie at least once Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanSOct 24, 2008
Does anyone get that Saw 3/4/and now 5 are basically linked together and that it will all sum up on 6? I mean seriously, if u were able to put 3-6 together on just one movie, maybe then people will get what Jigsaw is all about, and find the Does anyone get that Saw 3/4/and now 5 are basically linked together and that it will all sum up on 6? I mean seriously, if u were able to put 3-6 together on just one movie, maybe then people will get what Jigsaw is all about, and find the meaning in what he does, and really disect the characterization, which is one of the greatest character developments i have ever seen. But if u were to put all films together on one film, then people will just complain about being too many hours (reason why they break it up into 6 parts) Seriously, if u actually sit down, enjoy, watch, and listen, and pay close attention, and disect everything and see the big picture, u see how everything is connected where Saw VI is the BIG PAY OFF, so u get what Jigsaw's message and meaning was all about. The people that bash it are basically the ones that don't really see the true meaning and get what Jigsaw is talking about and getting at, just like his victims. It's like people actually think that Jigsaw is wanting people to die, when that is not it at all, just like the victims, u are missing the big picture. Its Jigsaw....puzzle...Meaning, put ALL the pieces together. Now soon u will have 6 movie pieces. WHen u put all of them together, u will get the BIG Picture, and hopefully than, the people will finally figure out just how great this series was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
GavinA.Oct 24, 2008
The gruesomeness of saw still remains, but this seems more of a B-Movie rip off of what was once a decent series of movies, the acting is sub par as is the story and ending
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
xyzxyzOct 24, 2008
DON'T SEE THIS MOVIE! It's only out to make money and NOT to tell a good story. There are no surprises, nothing new, there is NO point other than to get your $10 dollars. Don't see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonathanC.Oct 24, 2008
Oh my god, i have just come back from seeing this film and all have to say is the critics need to stop slating films that are sequels. channel 4's own vortex gave this movie 1 out of 5???? i question if he had seen this film. go see it Oh my god, i have just come back from seeing this film and all have to say is the critics need to stop slating films that are sequels. channel 4's own vortex gave this movie 1 out of 5???? i question if he had seen this film. go see it nuff said. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RossH.Oct 24, 2008
I actually really enjoyed this (I always assume the worst from sequels as usually they go downhill and die). Like Lowe said, the pieces didn't com together completely, but it doesn't really diminish the fact that there are a LOT of I actually really enjoyed this (I always assume the worst from sequels as usually they go downhill and die). Like Lowe said, the pieces didn't com together completely, but it doesn't really diminish the fact that there are a LOT of loose ends from previous in the series that are tied together now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RolandG.Oct 24, 2008
Classic Saw movie better then Saw 4. Storyline is awesome loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MatthewR.Oct 24, 2008
Saw V. Yes indeed I saw this film, or in other words a self-mockery of what was once a pretty good movie series. This film is so repugnant and repetitive that one should feel a sense of "I have been here before". This series should have died Saw V. Yes indeed I saw this film, or in other words a self-mockery of what was once a pretty good movie series. This film is so repugnant and repetitive that one should feel a sense of "I have been here before". This series should have died after the third one. Just another reason to prove that talent in Hollywood has fallen so much. What a shame, or in this case for all you ticket buyers; what a sham! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LoweE.Oct 24, 2008
good movie but with no twist!where is the ending?in the end all the pieces don't come anywhere near being put together.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AndyR.Oct 23, 2008
Completely mediocre in every way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful