Saw

Lions Gate Films | Release Date: October 29, 2004
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 614 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
497
Mixed:
61
Negative:
56
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
[Anonymous]Oct 20, 2006
Stupid. Pointless, Dull, Boring. Nothing to marvel here.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
2
GeoffFeb 15, 2005
It's just not a good movie. I figured out the ending in the first five minutes so I wasn't surprised at the ending at all. Maybe it's because every movie feels like it needs to have a twist ending these days. It had an It's just not a good movie. I figured out the ending in the first five minutes so I wasn't surprised at the ending at all. Maybe it's because every movie feels like it needs to have a twist ending these days. It had an interesting Se7en-like morality plot with the traps the victims need to get out of but ultimately the film could not deliever in the end. I would recommend Takashi Miike's "Audition" way before this. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
MarkL.Feb 20, 2005
Give me a break! Bad acting, no scares - not even the cheap gratuitous kind, a ridiculous "denouement" - you could make a better movie during the weekend at home. Do not see Saw.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
ZachG.Nov 20, 2004
It's like a high school production of Se7en, except you don't feel bad laughing at it!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
jzaOct 31, 2004
I'm not sure how much the guy from Film Threat was paid to give this movie a good write-up, but it is utter and complete crap. Its only redeemable quality is that its so awful that it's unintentionally hilarious. At the showing I I'm not sure how much the guy from Film Threat was paid to give this movie a good write-up, but it is utter and complete crap. Its only redeemable quality is that its so awful that it's unintentionally hilarious. At the showing I went to, the whole audience was cracking up during what I assume were supposed to be serious scenes. I'd like to give a shout-out to the guy behind me in the theater, though, who shouted a rather astute observation during a certain apartment scene: "You need to get some WD-40 for those doors, dawg!" Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
TomYApr 29, 2005
Perhaps the worst acting perfomance (Elwes) I have seen in the past 10 years. Great premise, but quickly becomes completely implausible.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
KayDeWJun 29, 2005
I gave this film a 3 for a creative concept, decent twist at the end, and the creepiness factor. With a better script, better performances and the closing of a few plot holes, this could have been another Seven. Sadly the acting was so bad I gave this film a 3 for a creative concept, decent twist at the end, and the creepiness factor. With a better script, better performances and the closing of a few plot holes, this could have been another Seven. Sadly the acting was so bad the movie was actually laughable. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
KevinB.Jul 21, 2006
uh...first of all...this isnt a horror film...its a snuff film...its not scarey, it just nasty...bad acting and stupid plot...as most snuff films have. However, if all you want to see is people getting killed, go to a search engine and type uh...first of all...this isnt a horror film...its a snuff film...its not scarey, it just nasty...bad acting and stupid plot...as most snuff films have. However, if all you want to see is people getting killed, go to a search engine and type :"Snuff Films". Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
MichaelE.Feb 23, 2007
Hilariously bad, dull, and almost completely un-disturbing, un-thrilling, and un-scary. Very predictable and even the promised bloon n' gore is underwhelming. About the only thing to be said about it is that it's better than the sequels.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
RossW.Apr 13, 2007
This movie isn't entertaining in the slightest, it is over-hyped and sick. Any level headed person will find this film disgusting and very unenjoyable
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
JohnFJan 3, 2008
A depressingly predictable movie that will only appeal to those who like to see people being tortured. There really is nothing else to the movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
SlipNinjaNov 2, 2004
[***SPOILERS***] There is nothing I hate more than a movie that compels you to put yourself in the characters shoes, but only if you're willing to leave your brain behind. If I found myself chained to a cast iron pipe, and had a hacksaw [***SPOILERS***] There is nothing I hate more than a movie that compels you to put yourself in the characters shoes, but only if you're willing to leave your brain behind. If I found myself chained to a cast iron pipe, and had a hacksaw at my disposal, I'd sure be trying to cut the soft cast iron before the hard steel chain (duh!) If I had all kinds of smaller exposed pipes attached to the walls around me, I'd be trying to cut, bend, yank, pull, and fatigue them off the wall, so as to SMASH through the relatively brittle cast iron pipe. If I had a FREAKING GUN and BULLET in the room with me, I'd be using my clothes, pieces of electrical cable, and ANYTHING else at my disposal, to reach said items so I could SHOOT OFF THE LOCK!!! I'd even try using the ceramic toilet to smash the cast iron pipe. Cast iron is not that strong (recall Andy Dufrane breaking the large pipe in The Shawshank Redemption with a rock.) All these things are what normal, survival minded people would try to do before lying down and crying like babies. If you want to make a situation hopeless, then do so! Bury the chains in the concrete floor, stick the characters at the bottom of a well, or in the middle of the ocean. Do WHATEVER, but don't create obvious options any reasonably intelligent person could try, and then expect us to feel for characters who do NOTHING because the script calls for them to be stupid. Either I want to be in their shoes or I don't. There are types of movies where one suspends disbelief. Psychological thrillers aren't one of them. That said, there were a dozen more stupid scenes, like the cop trying to find the "off switch" on the drills, while holding a loaded pistol in his hand (duh again!) Elwes' wife NOT shooting an apparently psycho who had spent hours terrorizing and threatening to kill her and her daughter. What was that??? For that matter, if that guy was truly being coerced to do what he did, why did he seem to take such pleasure in terrorizing the wife? Danny Glover was the most physically inept cop since inspector Clouseau (I guess he's castrated without Mel Gibson.) I could go on and on. Bottom line, if a movie is going to have half a chance at scaring me, I have to feel some of the same helplessness as the characters. Maybe I'm just too tough of a guy, but I felt more "trapped" seeing Meg Ryan's head lying on Billy Crystal's chest in Harry Met Sally, then I ever did seeing people chained up in Saw. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
SayedN.Nov 22, 2004
This film is total nonsence....
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
DanL.Oct 28, 2004
[***SPOILERS***] If you want to see a movie that has like 3 good parts (showing several victims attempt to escape their trap w/cool music playing the whole time) that span 5 min apiece, then this movie is for you. Otherwise, don't see[***SPOILERS***] If you want to see a movie that has like 3 good parts (showing several victims attempt to escape their trap w/cool music playing the whole time) that span 5 min apiece, then this movie is for you. Otherwise, don't see this till video. I saw this in an advance screening and watching Cary Elwes try to act and cry (which was unintentionally funny) was ridiculous. Danny Glover's character was entirely extraneous and the end has such a Hollywood twist that it quite annoys. (SLIGHT SPOILER) Look for the part where Elwes goes to a hotel room to secretly meet his secretary, gets an anonymous phone call, and then, unfazed, calmly says "I have to go." This basically sums up the movie for me - not very smart at all. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ChairmanS.Nov 2, 2005
Horrible movie. Some of the worst acting and dialogue I've seen in any movie ever. I suppose you might enjoy it if you don't care about that stuff.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
RyanL.Feb 21, 2005
The premise for the movie was excellent. Fire the casting director for hiring Cary Elwes as one of the main characters. He is brutal!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
GregM.Mar 11, 2005
If I thought this movie was trying to be funny, I would have given it a 10. Unfortunately I think it was trying to be shocking and clever, and instead it ended up being one of the worst acted, directed, and written movies I have ever seen in If I thought this movie was trying to be funny, I would have given it a 10. Unfortunately I think it was trying to be shocking and clever, and instead it ended up being one of the worst acted, directed, and written movies I have ever seen in a theater. I'm not sure where all these good scores are coming from. A good premise does not make a good movie, and this movie proves that fact. You will have more fun at the dentist's during a root canal. PS. My girlfriend liked it and I almost had to dump her because of this. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
DamienA.Jun 17, 2005
Some people have said the ending is the best thing about this film. No, the best thing about this film is it's central horrifying idea that people are forced into killing other people in order to save themselves. The ending merely Some people have said the ending is the best thing about this film. No, the best thing about this film is it's central horrifying idea that people are forced into killing other people in order to save themselves. The ending merely surprises because it is absurd and unbelievable; it's no revelation. The acting is attrocious, plot convoluted, it's edited like a cheap MTV video clip and the direction is disappointing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MichaelAug 17, 2005
An absurd atrocity!!! The film has no logic whatsoever. This was one of the worst films of 2004. This stinker deserved worse reviews than it received.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
GnarlesJan 10, 2006
The acting and writing in this movie aren't bad. They are hanging-your-mouth-open-in-wonder bad.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
FurbydudeDec 14, 2007
SAW was excruciatingly boring. you may go ahead and watch the whole film... if you want to waste 2 hours of your whole life that you may never get back.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
ElVidalF.Oct 28, 2009
Gross, stupid, sadistic, dumb, boring, sick, disgusting. It truly deserves at least a "36".
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ChrisGJan 8, 2009
After years of ignoring this series due to it being a poorly reviewed horror series I was finally persuaded by a friend to check it out. I found it to be a disgusting exercise in torture porn with a somewhat original premises. None of the After years of ignoring this series due to it being a poorly reviewed horror series I was finally persuaded by a friend to check it out. I found it to be a disgusting exercise in torture porn with a somewhat original premises. None of the performances are special, and there isn't much in the way of thrills. The story is a mess. There is a market for this stuff I guess, and it's definitely not me. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
2
MarshallT.Nov 14, 2004
Cary & Danny have jumped the shark while trapped in one of the worst movies I've seen in some time. Often laughably bad acting (inconceivable? no Elwes' Lawrence: MUST ... SAVE ... MY FAMILY makes Star Trek Shatner's Kirk--I Cary & Danny have jumped the shark while trapped in one of the worst movies I've seen in some time. Often laughably bad acting (inconceivable? no Elwes' Lawrence: MUST ... SAVE ... MY FAMILY makes Star Trek Shatner's Kirk--I ... HAVE HAD ... ENOUGH ... OF YOU-u-u-u--look like Oscar-worthy material). Awkward dialogue. Poor pacing & irrelevant plot developments drawn out, while development of character motivation nixed (no punch, for example, to the taking-life-for-granted motif since the script skips revealing the lives at all!). Way-y-y-y too many moments demanding suspension of disbelief. I also thought the gore aspect was less than most have said (but, then maybe my laughter had my gore sensors in a lockbox). END TAPE: Live your life & cut this one from your movie going line-up. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
tonyb.Oct 21, 2005
I did not find this movie to be the that good. the acting was horrible the twist wasnt even that great or big i dont see why everyones so blown away by it and i have a feeling that the second one is going to be even worse then this piece of I did not find this movie to be the that good. the acting was horrible the twist wasnt even that great or big i dont see why everyones so blown away by it and i have a feeling that the second one is going to be even worse then this piece of junk. i havent seen a good horror movie since the sixth sense that was a good horror movie with a good twist nothing worth seeing here not even the twist but i will give it a 2 because i think it had a good concept wish they just did more with it, it could have been a great movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ThomL.Oct 29, 2005
If you haven't seen the movie, and have read previous comments like the one linking this film on the same level as fight club, and then watch the film with that comment in mind, you will be bitterly dissapionted, it was bollocks.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
DonnaS.Jul 21, 2006
I looked forward to watching this movie after hearing the positive feedback from friends. However, I came to my own realization that this movie was just a seriously overrated, over-hyped movie that didn't deserve any good reviews. It is I looked forward to watching this movie after hearing the positive feedback from friends. However, I came to my own realization that this movie was just a seriously overrated, over-hyped movie that didn't deserve any good reviews. It is devoid of horror and puts actors such as Cary Elwes and Danny Glover in a bad light. I am so glad I waited until this movie came out on cable before I watched it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DelFeb 16, 2007
Great ideas, good story, lame actors. Could have been more if the cast could act. Watch it if you're a fan of "funny" horror movies.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
zachOct 19, 2009
Stupid pointless and sickening eben though all th Saw movies have awesome endings.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
drlowdonFeb 19, 2014
These sorts of ultra gory horror movies seem to have an audience (as evidenced by the multiple sequels to in this Saw franchise) but I've never been a fan. Partly this is because these types of movies aren't particularly scary but mainly itThese sorts of ultra gory horror movies seem to have an audience (as evidenced by the multiple sequels to in this Saw franchise) but I've never been a fan. Partly this is because these types of movies aren't particularly scary but mainly it is the fact that watching people get killed in increasingly brutal and graphic ways isn't my idea of entertainment.

I've often been told that Saw is one of the better examples in the genre but since I couldn't stomach any more than about twenty minutes I wouldn't know.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
1
oliver1hJan 28, 2013
I do not like these kind of movies. Sadictic... If you like torture scenes you might have serious mental problems.............................................................................
4 of 13 users found this helpful49
All this user's reviews
2
Freakazoid1Nov 15, 2012
This movie just proves that there are no decent horror movies out there. Like all the other horror movies, this movie isn't even scary. It's just a bloody, profane gorefest. Horror movies were meant to scare, but only The Exorcist has managedThis movie just proves that there are no decent horror movies out there. Like all the other horror movies, this movie isn't even scary. It's just a bloody, profane gorefest. Horror movies were meant to scare, but only The Exorcist has managed to give great scares. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
NFWJun 25, 2015
I fail see how anybody with an IQ above that of a 9th grader's could find this turkey intelligent. All the film is just one big contradiction after another.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
EpicLadySpongeApr 1, 2016
So if I'd love to see body parts getting severed on these posters and then they try to scare us by using already-used scary clichés, then Saw failed big time. Wow, that was so scary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MovieMasterEddyApr 7, 2016
A crude concoction sewn together from the severed parts of prior horror/serial killer pics, “SAW” marks a noisy, nasty feature debut for Aussie helmer James Wan and scenarist-thesp Leigh Whannell.

Middle-aged Dr. Gordon (Cary Elwes) and
A crude concoction sewn together from the severed parts of prior horror/serial killer pics, “SAW” marks a noisy, nasty feature debut for Aussie helmer James Wan and scenarist-thesp Leigh Whannell.

Middle-aged Dr. Gordon (Cary Elwes) and young malcontent Adam (Whannell) wake up at opposite ends of a decrepit basement bathroom, ankle-chained to girders, with no idea how they got there — and a corpse on the floor between them. Discovery of an audio cassette explains the doc must snuff Adam within the next few hours, or their unseen captor will murder Gordon’s wife (Monica Potter) and child.

Meanwhile, two police dicks (Danny Glover, Ken Leung) are on the trail of the mysterious “Jigsaw Killer,” whose prior victims were similarly abducted, then left alone to complete gruesome tasks by deadline. A single, traumatized exception aside, they all failed — and met with grotesquely customized “Seven”-style deaths. Ill-matched two current prisoners wrack their brains and bruise their bodies trying to avoid the same fate.

Convoluted screenplay deploys flashbacks within flashbacks, myriad red herrings, false scares and gross-out real ones. But sum effect is less ingenious than desperate, and wholly derivative. Too hyperbolic to be genuinely disturbing, pic nonetheless crosses a line of anything-goes shamelessness by dwelling on the screaming terror of Gordon’s preschool daughter (Makenzie Vega) as she and mom are bound, gagged and handgun-caressed by a masked villain.

Elsewhere, there are cheaply effective if unoriginal scares. Filmmakers bring a certain verve to such moments; but building atmosphere and suspense is well beyond them. Ditto handling actors: Left to their own devices amid escalating levels of narrative hysteria, Elwes, Whannell and Potter eventually grow ridiculous. It’s depressing to ponder just what Glover — one of our finest actors — is doing with a routine support part in this slick schlock. One can only hope he was very well paid for the indignity.

Tech aspects are pro; loud soundtrack is equivalent of an incessant “Boo!” goosing.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews