Saw

Lions Gate Films | Release Date: October 29, 2004
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 614 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
497
Mixed:
61
Negative:
56
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
RyanD.Mar 7, 2005
This movie has the worst direction I've probably ever seen in a movie. The acting was horrible, the camera angles during the "action" sequences were horrible, and just the way the movie was done in general, was awful. The only reason I This movie has the worst direction I've probably ever seen in a movie. The acting was horrible, the camera angles during the "action" sequences were horrible, and just the way the movie was done in general, was awful. The only reason I give it a 6 is because the ending is so good & unexpected. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
TedNov 2, 2004
Okay, first I failed to see why they put danny glover in this movie. Can someone please explain to me again why he was in this film? Acting was below standard. The shock value was the only thing keeping this movie from being a 0. It did have Okay, first I failed to see why they put danny glover in this movie. Can someone please explain to me again why he was in this film? Acting was below standard. The shock value was the only thing keeping this movie from being a 0. It did have some scary moments I'll give it that. But that's all. Certain parts of the movie didn't add up. And some scenes need to be seriously re-written. Even some characters should have been re-written. You will laugh at the acting of the most serious scenes. Why couldn't the guy take his own advice from earlier in the movie? Use the shirt? Like duh. I guess I can't blame the actors, but I do blame the writers for giving them scenes in which they made obvious stupid mistakes and turned a possibly great movie and turned it into a disaster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ParmsSNov 5, 2004
Very entertaining to watch for the first time. Then you walk away and think about it and realise the number of flaws with it. They pitted a master serial killer against the worst cop in the world, Danny Glover was useless. Could have been Very entertaining to watch for the first time. Then you walk away and think about it and realise the number of flaws with it. They pitted a master serial killer against the worst cop in the world, Danny Glover was useless. Could have been much better but to many flaws. No where near as good as SEVEN and does not have the watch again appeal like SEVEN. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Nov 5, 2004
"Saw" grows increasingly annoying with each new plot twist, because this sometimes inspired thriller doesn't need it. Seeing people come to grisly ends isn't high on my list of must-sees, but the manner in which this serial killer "Saw" grows increasingly annoying with each new plot twist, because this sometimes inspired thriller doesn't need it. Seeing people come to grisly ends isn't high on my list of must-sees, but the manner in which this serial killer operates, albeit disgusting, is admittedly creative, and genuinely unsettling to watch unfold. "Saw" is also marred by some uneven acting (Cary Elwes doesn't do primal terror very well), and the final twist is throw your hands up in the air time, because it's more absurd than exciting. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
6
RichardG.Oct 31, 2004
[***SPOILER***] I saw the guy in front me in the movie theatre get up in anger and walk to the exit and come back after the scene where the woman was supposed to shoot the bad guy after he kidnapped them. This was really stupid, but I said to[***SPOILER***] I saw the guy in front me in the movie theatre get up in anger and walk to the exit and come back after the scene where the woman was supposed to shoot the bad guy after he kidnapped them. This was really stupid, but I said to myself "Self do you think that you can take bad acting, a poor script, and comical behavior anymore?" to my astonishment myself said "yes" and I stayed in my seat. Maybe the guy in front of me couldn't take it, maybe he needed to go to the exit to remind himself that he was not being tortured, and he returned when he noticed that he had this power of walking out of this movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
BubbaFreshOct 30, 2004
Good idea for a movie, butchered by everyone who made it. This movie is set in the director's reality rather than actual reality. eg. two cops go into a killer's hideout and find the killer, but at no point bother to call for Good idea for a movie, butchered by everyone who made it. This movie is set in the director's reality rather than actual reality. eg. two cops go into a killer's hideout and find the killer, but at no point bother to call for backup or at least shoot the killer. A series of these stupid unbelievable plot holes along with mediocre acting i.e. fake death scene make this movie which looked good in previews turn out to be crap. Wanna see a good movie see team america. wanna see a good horror see grudge. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BillyFeb 17, 2005
The ending was a complete shock. I thought i knew it but i was way off. The acting is what killed this for me. so cheesy is was ridiculous. great story, but it just fell apart late. good rental, not worth buying
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
IlirC.Jul 31, 2006
great plot and twist but terrible acting and dialogue has held this movie back... still deserves credit due to the fact that its a indie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
PamB.Nov 1, 2004
[***SPOILER***] To poster Richard G., many newspaper critics considered the extended scenes where the daugher is psychologically tortured a big 'no-no' by any movie standards. Like many of the scenes which fell flat on delivery -- [***SPOILER***] To poster Richard G., many newspaper critics considered the extended scenes where the daugher is psychologically tortured a big 'no-no' by any movie standards. Like many of the scenes which fell flat on delivery -- every movie patron I sat by grumbled about wasted money and time they spent watching "Saw." I have to agree because even network television does a better job at creating creepy psycho serial killer stories. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JackOct 30, 2005
Interesting premise, but could have been much better had it not been spoiled by horrible acting and numerous stupid plot twists.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
KevinMar 25, 2005
It kept me in it despite elwes's horrible performance and relative predictability and a few classic cliches. what really annoyed me was the twist at the end that made absolutely no sense. yes it was unexpected, but it completely ruined It kept me in it despite elwes's horrible performance and relative predictability and a few classic cliches. what really annoyed me was the twist at the end that made absolutely no sense. yes it was unexpected, but it completely ruined the movie that some guy in a hospital bed you saw for 2 seconds did everything. i think it would have been much i better if it had turned out to be one of the more central characters. it had a good premise, but i was left frustrated that they ruined an ok with the end. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
6
KaceyGMar 29, 2005
You'll never predict the ending to this one, which is about the only good thing in this film.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
EddieDSep 21, 2008
No Saw movie can be a Saw movie unless you include the rest of the series. Very clever movie, but many weak spots and bad acting. But I will admit that I was into this series for a while. But one day I opened my eyes, and said "What the fcuk No Saw movie can be a Saw movie unless you include the rest of the series. Very clever movie, but many weak spots and bad acting. But I will admit that I was into this series for a while. But one day I opened my eyes, and said "What the fcuk am I doing??" Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JamesKJul 15, 2009
The only movie in the series worth a touch, but even then there are better horror movies out there.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JoeA.Nov 12, 2004
A disappointment. I expected a little more from this movie, and got very little in return. The trailers are mighty enticing. Then again, when the main actor draw is Glover, I shoulda known.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MichaelM.Nov 2, 2004
"Saw" takes a really great and original idea, and turns it into something average and mediocre. I was expecting to see a deeply layered and thought out thriller, but what I got was a poorly acted piece of Indie fluff. The directing in "Saw" "Saw" takes a really great and original idea, and turns it into something average and mediocre. I was expecting to see a deeply layered and thought out thriller, but what I got was a poorly acted piece of Indie fluff. The directing in "Saw" isn't half bad, and the story is very much intriguing. But, the dialogue is very banal and embarrasing to listen to, and the acting is nothing short of atrocious. Although the cast rounds out some very talented performers like Danny Glover and Cary Elwes, they give quite possibly the worst performances of their lives. I always loved Cary Elwes acting, and I was excited to hear he was the main character in this. I wasn't too enthralled half way through the movie though. It's as if Elwes for some reason forgot all the acting skills he was ever taught for an hour and forty minutes (the runtime of "Saw"). Danny Glover phones in his performance as a creepy police detective to the point of actual embarrasment. The film uses gratitous gore and blood to somehow distract the viewers from the poor acting and dialogue, which is pretty lame if you ask me. The gore in "Saw" isn't as graphic or disgusting as most critics are saying. The only scene where I felt like I really couldn't take it, was when Cary Elwes saws through his own foot (and the camera doesn't pan away during the carnage.) The ending of "Saw" is about as confusing as it is ill-conceived. I almost let out a laugh at the end over how ridiculous it was. In conclusion, "Saw" is a second-rate average thriller that is definetly not worth the price of admission. Wait for DVD. Grade: C. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AMovieCriticMay 22, 2005
This movie really didn't impress me. The whole thing felt way too set up....it just didn't feel real for a second. There were some intense moments, (mostly flashbacks of this killer's past murders or attempted murders,) but This movie really didn't impress me. The whole thing felt way too set up....it just didn't feel real for a second. There were some intense moments, (mostly flashbacks of this killer's past murders or attempted murders,) but the movie was never very scarry. Things like clowns riding bicycles just don't really scare me in movies. Overall, it was only an OK movie. The twist at the end was cool, although it, like the rest of the movie, feels staged, and not believable for a second. Saw is a decent way to spend time if there's "nothing else to watch," but I didn't find the film to be something you should go out of your way to see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
StephenW.Jun 21, 2005
It had it's moments, but the trailers mislead you. Does have some shocking scenes. I expected much better, woldn't have been hard to make it better and more thrilling.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JunoO.Nov 2, 2006
Despite appearances from some high noted actors (Danny Glover, Cary Elwes) and some well placed blood and splatter for gore-hounds, Saw falters in the field of a coherent script, typical numetal-esque guitar riff soundtrack, and simple lapse Despite appearances from some high noted actors (Danny Glover, Cary Elwes) and some well placed blood and splatter for gore-hounds, Saw falters in the field of a coherent script, typical numetal-esque guitar riff soundtrack, and simple lapse in reason which will leave viewers shaking their head. Not to mention the "twist-ending" that doesn't really change anything really per-say throughout the film. I don't mind watching silly horror films and enjoying them, but films with a wee bit of logic for what's going on helps! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
ApocalypseBrownFeb 22, 2007
I really hate unintelligent horror flicks and this is a prime example of one. To be honest the story is quite engaging, despite the lacking element of surprise and real tension. But the conclusion is Sunday market standard and by then, you I really hate unintelligent horror flicks and this is a prime example of one. To be honest the story is quite engaging, despite the lacking element of surprise and real tension. But the conclusion is Sunday market standard and by then, you are passed caring. Sixth Sense it ain't! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
DWNov 17, 2009
A decent horror movie apart from... A plot that makes wicker baskets look water-tight, swiss cheese smooth, and rain during Monsoon unexpected. Shame, because it has some clever elements to it.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
6
TheQuietGamerMay 16, 2011
While the plot is a unique idea, it's hampered by bad acting, and poor execution, it could have been great but the way they set it up just makes this movie mediocre, the ending however was fantastic, another complaint is that it's not scary,While the plot is a unique idea, it's hampered by bad acting, and poor execution, it could have been great but the way they set it up just makes this movie mediocre, the ending however was fantastic, another complaint is that it's not scary, it just has a tense atmosphere at times, all in all if your looking for an ok gory movie for a rental this is a ok choice just come expecting mediocrity. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 18, 2011
"Saw" is a gruesome film that lacks the depth and development within the movie. However, the frantic, thrilling ride with a refreshing twist in the end scores the points for "Saw".
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
6
OfficialNov 2, 2013
"Saw", a low-budget horror movie, had well exceeded beyond my expectations. It's a different kind of horror film, one that you will have never imagine that it will be this way. However, to be honest, the plot is quite ridiculous.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
Saw is being mistaken for a gross-out horror. It's not. It's a crime-thriller with some unusual qualities.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
JacobparkerMay 30, 2013
Saw has some really clever ideas and it's a great torture film!
It's definitely not the best but if you are into those movies this is a MUST WATCH!!!!!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
marcmyworksAug 31, 2016
The original is in fact original, however does suffer from the cheese factor of most horror films. I was glad to see Danny Glover doing what he does best (playing a cop) and Shawnee Smithson returning to the horror genre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
deadrisingNov 27, 2013
Now, before you read this, keep in mind I've seen all of the saw movies, and I'm a fan of the series. Now, onto the review: This movie was horrible. I know it's the first out of the seven movies, and it's explaining everything, but are youNow, before you read this, keep in mind I've seen all of the saw movies, and I'm a fan of the series. Now, onto the review: This movie was horrible. I know it's the first out of the seven movies, and it's explaining everything, but are you kidding me... no... just no.... boring, and useless. Some of the movie was okay, but no... like, maybe twenty percent was okay, but the other eighty percent big no. Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
5
FilmVirtueFeb 15, 2014
A decent , effective, bloody explosion. This mystery horror film is strong in violence and brutal content that makes it two bloody thumbs up. Gruesome and twisted, "Saw" is scary as hell.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
McgillacuddyMay 19, 2016
The strength of this film comes from it's twisting plot, but is hardly anything more than another horror flick with the usual features: insane bloody gore and bad acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
killing4bloodMay 26, 2015
The Saw Series are good movies. But this one I think is the worse nothing really happened unlike the others they actually moved around. That is why it is a 6/10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews