Saw

Lions Gate Films | Release Date: October 29, 2004
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 562 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
471
Mixed:
50
Negative:
41
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
ChrisGJan 8, 2009
After years of ignoring this series due to it being a poorly reviewed horror series I was finally persuaded by a friend to check it out. I found it to be a disgusting exercise in torture porn with a somewhat original premises. None of the After years of ignoring this series due to it being a poorly reviewed horror series I was finally persuaded by a friend to check it out. I found it to be a disgusting exercise in torture porn with a somewhat original premises. None of the performances are special, and there isn't much in the way of thrills. The story is a mess. There is a market for this stuff I guess, and it's definitely not me. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
3
ThomL.Oct 29, 2005
If you haven't seen the movie, and have read previous comments like the one linking this film on the same level as fight club, and then watch the film with that comment in mind, you will be bitterly dissapionted, it was bollocks.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
MovieMasterEddyApr 7, 2016
A crude concoction sewn together from the severed parts of prior horror/serial killer pics, “SAW” marks a noisy, nasty feature debut for Aussie helmer James Wan and scenarist-thesp Leigh Whannell.

Middle-aged Dr. Gordon (Cary Elwes) and
A crude concoction sewn together from the severed parts of prior horror/serial killer pics, “SAW” marks a noisy, nasty feature debut for Aussie helmer James Wan and scenarist-thesp Leigh Whannell.

Middle-aged Dr. Gordon (Cary Elwes) and young malcontent Adam (Whannell) wake up at opposite ends of a decrepit basement bathroom, ankle-chained to girders, with no idea how they got there — and a corpse on the floor between them. Discovery of an audio cassette explains the doc must snuff Adam within the next few hours, or their unseen captor will murder Gordon’s wife (Monica Potter) and child.

Meanwhile, two police dicks (Danny Glover, Ken Leung) are on the trail of the mysterious “Jigsaw Killer,” whose prior victims were similarly abducted, then left alone to complete gruesome tasks by deadline. A single, traumatized exception aside, they all failed — and met with grotesquely customized “Seven”-style deaths. Ill-matched two current prisoners wrack their brains and bruise their bodies trying to avoid the same fate.

Convoluted screenplay deploys flashbacks within flashbacks, myriad red herrings, false scares and gross-out real ones. But sum effect is less ingenious than desperate, and wholly derivative. Too hyperbolic to be genuinely disturbing, pic nonetheless crosses a line of anything-goes shamelessness by dwelling on the screaming terror of Gordon’s preschool daughter (Makenzie Vega) as she and mom are bound, gagged and handgun-caressed by a masked villain.

Elsewhere, there are cheaply effective if unoriginal scares. Filmmakers bring a certain verve to such moments; but building atmosphere and suspense is well beyond them. Ditto handling actors: Left to their own devices amid escalating levels of narrative hysteria, Elwes, Whannell and Potter eventually grow ridiculous. It’s depressing to ponder just what Glover — one of our finest actors — is doing with a routine support part in this slick schlock. One can only hope he was very well paid for the indignity.

Tech aspects are pro; loud soundtrack is equivalent of an incessant “Boo!” goosing.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
MichaelE.Feb 23, 2007
Hilariously bad, dull, and almost completely un-disturbing, un-thrilling, and un-scary. Very predictable and even the promised bloon n' gore is underwhelming. About the only thing to be said about it is that it's better than the sequels.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
tonyb.Oct 21, 2005
I did not find this movie to be the that good. the acting was horrible the twist wasnt even that great or big i dont see why everyones so blown away by it and i have a feeling that the second one is going to be even worse then this piece of I did not find this movie to be the that good. the acting was horrible the twist wasnt even that great or big i dont see why everyones so blown away by it and i have a feeling that the second one is going to be even worse then this piece of junk. i havent seen a good horror movie since the sixth sense that was a good horror movie with a good twist nothing worth seeing here not even the twist but i will give it a 2 because i think it had a good concept wish they just did more with it, it could have been a great movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DelFeb 16, 2007
Great ideas, good story, lame actors. Could have been more if the cast could act. Watch it if you're a fan of "funny" horror movies.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
drlowdonFeb 19, 2014
These sorts of ultra gory horror movies seem to have an audience (as evidenced by the multiple sequels to in this Saw franchise) but I've never been a fan. Partly this is because these types of movies aren't particularly scary but mainly itThese sorts of ultra gory horror movies seem to have an audience (as evidenced by the multiple sequels to in this Saw franchise) but I've never been a fan. Partly this is because these types of movies aren't particularly scary but mainly it is the fact that watching people get killed in increasingly brutal and graphic ways isn't my idea of entertainment.

I've often been told that Saw is one of the better examples in the genre but since I couldn't stomach any more than about twenty minutes I wouldn't know.
Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
2
Freakazoid1Nov 15, 2012
This movie just proves that there are no decent horror movies out there. Like all the other horror movies, this movie isn't even scary. It's just a bloody, profane gorefest. Horror movies were meant to scare, but only The Exorcist has managedThis movie just proves that there are no decent horror movies out there. Like all the other horror movies, this movie isn't even scary. It's just a bloody, profane gorefest. Horror movies were meant to scare, but only The Exorcist has managed to give great scares. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
2
EpicLadySpongeApr 1, 2016
So if I'd love to see body parts getting severed on these posters and then they try to scare us by using already-used scary clichés, then Saw failed big time. Wow, that was so scary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
[Anonymous]Oct 20, 2006
Stupid. Pointless, Dull, Boring. Nothing to marvel here.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
1
JohnFJan 3, 2008
A depressingly predictable movie that will only appeal to those who like to see people being tortured. There really is nothing else to the movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
GnarlesJan 10, 2006
The acting and writing in this movie aren't bad. They are hanging-your-mouth-open-in-wonder bad.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
ElVidalF.Oct 28, 2009
Gross, stupid, sadistic, dumb, boring, sick, disgusting. It truly deserves at least a "36".
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
DonnaS.Jul 21, 2006
I looked forward to watching this movie after hearing the positive feedback from friends. However, I came to my own realization that this movie was just a seriously overrated, over-hyped movie that didn't deserve any good reviews. It is I looked forward to watching this movie after hearing the positive feedback from friends. However, I came to my own realization that this movie was just a seriously overrated, over-hyped movie that didn't deserve any good reviews. It is devoid of horror and puts actors such as Cary Elwes and Danny Glover in a bad light. I am so glad I waited until this movie came out on cable before I watched it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
oliver1hJan 28, 2013
I do not like these kind of movies. Sadictic... If you like torture scenes you might have serious mental problems.............................................................................
4 of 14 users found this helpful410
All this user's reviews
0
KevinB.Jul 21, 2006
uh...first of all...this isnt a horror film...its a snuff film...its not scarey, it just nasty...bad acting and stupid plot...as most snuff films have. However, if all you want to see is people getting killed, go to a search engine and type uh...first of all...this isnt a horror film...its a snuff film...its not scarey, it just nasty...bad acting and stupid plot...as most snuff films have. However, if all you want to see is people getting killed, go to a search engine and type :"Snuff Films". Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
RossW.Apr 13, 2007
This movie isn't entertaining in the slightest, it is over-hyped and sick. Any level headed person will find this film disgusting and very unenjoyable
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
ChairmanS.Nov 2, 2005
Horrible movie. Some of the worst acting and dialogue I've seen in any movie ever. I suppose you might enjoy it if you don't care about that stuff.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
FurbydudeDec 14, 2007
SAW was excruciatingly boring. you may go ahead and watch the whole film... if you want to waste 2 hours of your whole life that you may never get back.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
0
zachOct 19, 2009
Stupid pointless and sickening eben though all th Saw movies have awesome endings.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
NFWJun 25, 2015
I fail see how anybody with an IQ above that of a 9th grader's could find this turkey intelligent. All the film is just one big contradiction after another.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews